Reading Reviews for Rise
  
78 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CallusedSilk Chapter Six

4th December 2010:
I really, really liked this chapter and I loved the explanation of what's gone on. It's very 'V for Vendetta'/the rise of the nazi power. After all, people seem to forget that when the nazis came to power, Germany was all but in ruins. Germany had been forced to pay for damages in World War I and not only that, much of their population had been killed during that war, so by the time Hitler came around and promised prosperity and hope, they were starving to death.

It was a desperate fear and they combatted it the only way they could by clinging to someone who did start to turn their lives around. Hitler did do some wonderful things for Germany before he started unveiling his epic craziness. That aspect of the regime always fascinated me, so I'm impressed you brought that sort of element into this and gave a realistic explanation for it. Wonderfully done. :)

Author's Response: You've hit the nail on the head, I think. That is the part that always fascinated me- what about the other, desperate people? How do these things happen? Of course, this is coming from an International Sociology major... soo...

I think if I were to pick up a story again, this would be the most likely candidate. It's been so long that I hardly remember what its about, let alone what I planned for it, but I think there are enough possibilities that I could conceivably do it. I feel so bad when you go and read all of these things that I abandoned! Blah.


Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #2, by CallusedSilk Chapter Five (Part Two)

4th December 2010:
I did wonder for a moment if he was actually dead and not just, insane or something like that, I need to learn to trust my instincts more. However, I still think just having Ginny and Harry break up (since I never really liked their pairing anyway) would have sufficed, but this is a refreshing change of pace. Even if it is sad.

Even though Draco wasn't in this chapter, I'm still going to repeat that I love him. I'm weird.

Author's Response: I think the reason I decided to have this happen to Harry was because Ginny is such a fiercely loyal person that if Harry was still around in any capacity, she'd be by his side. And she'd have gone to him for help, rather than Draco, regardless of what Draco's done. Besides, Harry was an easy victim to show exactly how much Ginny has lost in the war. He was a casualty of my vicious imagination.

It's okay I love him too. Can you tell? Main character in what... everything...
Thank you!!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by CallusedSilk Chapter Five (Part One)

4th December 2010:
I honestly have no idea what you have as to what happened to Harry. Especially with all the different ways it could have happened.

I still love Draco.

Author's Response: I love Draco. And Harry, as I am responding to your reviews backwards, I obviously know you've learned what happened to him.. so I will just... say thank you and awkwardly move on!

 Report Review

Review #4, by CallusedSilk Chapter Four

4th December 2010:
Ah, Draco. His snarky wit is magical. I love it. I mentioned it last chapter but I feel it needs repeating.

I. Love. This. Draco.

He's made of so much win and he seems to be winning most of the little 'fights' between him and Ginny so I'm very happy.

Author's Response: I tend to pick one character in a story to give all of my best, snarkiest comebacks too. All of the things you think about when you think back to a fight and go OH I WISH I'D SAID THAT! Early on, it was Draco. Now when I write Draco I usually make him fairly snarky but also a bit drier. The one who gets all of my best quick wit is Blaise Zabini.

Thank you!!!


 Report Review

Review #5, by CallusedSilk Chapter Three

4th December 2010:
I actually really liked this chapter, if only because Draco is amazing. For some reason I just absolutely adored every word that came out of his mouth and I loved every little detail about him. Sigh. I love post-Hogwarts Draco Malfoy. Possibly way too much.

Author's Response: Post-Hogwarts Draco is my favorite too! Actually everything I've written recently is Post-Hogwarts Draco, and Post-Hogwarts Draco is wonderful because he is still a bit of a butthead, actually quite a bit of one, but he's also gotten a BIT more humble... being nearly killed by a crazy warlord will do that to you.

Thank you thank you!!!


 Report Review

Review #6, by CallusedSilk Chapter Two

4th December 2010:
Very mysterious. I'm very intrigued about what's going on and who all is around and what all they're doing. I'm also curious as to where Harry is. I'm pretty sure I don't remember it being specified what happened to him. I know Ginny claims in this chapter he gave up everything for it, I'm just wondering if you mean his life as well? AH. Now I have to keep reading.

Author's Response: No, sad, just his Harryness. I'm a bit of a vicious writer, it turns out, and I tend to kill off main characters with far too much enthusiasm. But I think maybe we're all guilty of that once in a while- sometimes fan fiction is so much more convenient with a few less characters :P

Thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by CallusedSilk Chapter One

4th December 2010:
Very nice. Very 'V for Vendetta' meets 'Harry Potter'. I rather liked it. Then again, you also once again made Ginny at least semi-likable as a character. This had more peeks into the lives of the other characters, and I am very curious about their relationships (although you did point out that you have Hermione and Ron together) but I'm still very curious. It does make me want to keep reading though so well done.

Author's Response: Ginny is not my favorite character to write, but she is not my least favorite either. I think we all have a little bit of Ginny in us... but not a lot.

Actually re-reading this story, and having a bit of outside inspiration, is part of what inspired my next project, to be done after Persuasion is quite finished (soon). It will be a sort of Rise-meets-Sinners-meets-Film-Noir kind of premise, starring, of course, Draco A. Malfoy. I'm rather excited.

Anyway shameless promotions aside, thank you so much, dear! I really appreciate that you take your time out to read these things eeven though you know its been awhile.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Fragile Words Chapter Six

21st February 2009:
I love this ff. You have to keep updating :]

Author's Response: I am sorry I've been gone for so long- its just one of those things where once you have to force yourself to keep writing, it makes the story not meaningful. But now I'm back, at least tentatively, so I will see if I can jump back in. Thank you so much for your support :]

 Report Review

Review #9, by lunarlovegood Chapter Six

2nd January 2009:
wow... this story is brilliant, I personally am not confused at all so please please PLEASE keep writing! :-)

Author's Response: I am so sorry I've left you hanging! Hopefully, if I get to updating this story again, you might forgive me and keep reading :] Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #10, by crookedhat Chapter Four

11th December 2008:
As always this chapter was fun to read.

Author's Response: Thank you! I really appreciate it :]

 Report Review

Review #11, by crookedhat Chapter Three

11th December 2008:
You have portrayed all of the characters really well. They are all believeable and the fact that their exact motives for their actions is still unclear makes this story really instresting. This story is turning out to be one of the best fan-fics that I have ever read.

Author's Response: Wow, that is incredible to hear, thank you! I am so glad you're enjoying it as I find that the suspense is one of the most interesting parts to write. I hope its working :]

 Report Review

Review #12, by crookedhat Chapter Two

11th December 2008:
Wow loved the ending.

Author's Response: Thank you! Gotta love a good Malfoy moment :]

 Report Review

Review #13, by crookedhat Chapter One

10th December 2008:
This story is GREAT. I can tell that you have put a lot of effort in in both the description of the setting, as well as characterization, and the plot. The only thing that really irritated me about this story is the un-even spacing between the paragraphs. Apart from that though, great job. I hope you keep it up.

Author's Response: I'm sorry about the funny formatting, something always gets lost in the translation from Word to Web, I think. Or maybe I'm just insane. Regardless, I am so glad you like the story so far, and I hope you keep reading even though I have mysteriously disappeared. Keep the faith, Draco/Ginny! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #14, by HaleNelson(Draco_GinnyShipper) Chapter One

29th February 2008:
Fantastic! A great start. I was looking for a Draco/Ginny fic that didnt suck plot-wise, and it looks like I got one. Fellow Draco/Ginnyers, I recommend Dark Directed and The Past Didn't Go Anywhere, by Fearthainn (You can find it on MagicalTheory.com, a site for only Draco /Ginny Fanfiction).
Alot of the stories on this site have brilliant ideas behind them, but many are crudely written. I approve of this one though. Keep it up! And give us alot of good G/D moments!

Author's Response: Oh thank you for the recommendations! I love trying to find new stories but I am also picky plotwise. I will definitely check them out. I think the key to good Ginny/Draco is to keep the plot big enough to justify such dramatic shipping, because honestly, if Draco and Ginny were just sitting around bored, would they just up and decide to get together one day?
I am glad you enjoyed reading :] Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Noir Chapter Six

22nd January 2008:
AHhHh!! Update Please!

Author's Response: I will soon! Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Noir Chapter Two

22nd January 2008:
Hahaha, well Draco Malfoy is wonderful.
Love the story!
I like how you've created Ginny. I was thinking the same thing about myself recently, that there must be something wrong with me in relationships, it just doesn't work I'm too independent. LOL "It's not you, it's me"

Must read on!

Author's Response: Hahah thanks! I'm not sure when I will next update this story but I really do like it, so I'm not abandoning it. Ginny is actually a lot like me, and one of the things I've learned about myself is that its hard to depend on anyone. Maybe Gin just needs to find a relationship that doesn't make her depend on anyone... muahaha. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ravenclaw Chica Chapter Six

5th January 2008:
I LOVE this story! It's so creative and well-written. I can't wait for an update.

Author's Response: Hopefully I will be able to update soon. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #18, by too lazy to sign in Chapter Six

25th October 2007:
You need to update. Please? I'm going absolutely CRAZY waiting for the next chapter! It's just so good!

Author's Response: Sorry its taking so long! Hopefully it will be soon. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Me Chapter Six

30th September 2007:
Update soon please! This is such an original story, I love it!

Author's Response: I am back to updating my stories again so hopefully I'll be able to do this soon. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Judith Chapter Six

26th August 2007:
Wow. That's all I can say. Wow. You've written such an interesting story. I actually get nervous for the characters at certain points. Please keep writing.

Author's Response: Thanks! :D Don't worry, I definitely will.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ami Soang Chapter Two

17th August 2007:
Nice...very nice...except why did Tonks stop working as an Auror?

Author's Response: She was forced to. As an ex-member of the Order of the Phoenix, she was one of the ones who knew the truth about the battle against Voldemort, and she was silenced when they took away her job.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Ami Soang Chapter One

17th August 2007:
Very well done. Not a very D/G fic, admittably, but, still, great job. Reminds me of a movie called 'V for Vendetta'.



Geez, it's only the first chapter and I'm already inspired...

>.

Author's Response: Hahah the D/G will not be the main focus of the story, but it will be in there quite a bit later. I saw that movie since a couple of people said that and its freaky how close it is. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #23, by xxxMagicx13 Chapter Six

6th August 2007:
I really think that chapter cleared up some of the questions I have had. The ministry seems very realistic and the new laws seem like laws that the ministry might actually have.
Keep up the great writing.

Author's Response: Great! I will update soon, hopefully, and I'm glad it cleared things up. I hope the next chapter is good too! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #24, by delta Chapter Six

5th August 2007:
Hmm . . . this really cleared a lot up. I'm really hating the Ministry right now.

It's like the oppression by the Nazis - it was safer not to do anything than to speak out and be punished. Now, I'm wondering even more about Draco's motives (although I'm tending to hope they're for the good :P) and how exactly Ginny and the rest of them will be able to do anything against the Ministry's 'Reign of Terror'. Anyways, this was a brilliant chapter as always. I'm looking forward to the next one. :D

Author's Response: It really is. I think in a lot of these situations; where the government is more powerful than its people, its easier to stay quiet.

As for Draco's motives, I'll throw you a rope and say they're not specifically good or bad. He is making judgements that are leading him to conclusions. :]

The next one should be up soon, thanks!


 Report Review

Review #25, by daisyCHIC963 Chapter Six

4th August 2007:
wow, that was extremely intense :)

that was a rather quick update, too--thanks!

Author's Response: I hope so :] I will update as soon as I can, thank you!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>