Reading Reviews for Mourning's Wake
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Prince Of Darkness At the Graveyard.

10th June 2007:
A Severus fanfic which actually makes sense and is in keeping with his true nature. Bravo indeed.

 Report Review

Review #2, by kissedbyavampire At the Graveyard.

10th April 2007:
i loved this fic. it truly shows the kinder side of severus.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Elle Winters At the Graveyard.

6th April 2007:
Aww

Poor Snape

Well done!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. Thanks for the review ~~juls

 Report Review

Review #4, by roberts_dread_piratess At the Graveyard.

22nd February 2007:
Thank you! I needed a story of redemption today.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Snape_Malfoy At the Graveyard.

3rd February 2007:
One of the first stories I've read in which Narcissa is part of the Order; a very interesting choice for her, but one that works extremely well for the overall story. An enjoyable read.

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind words and the review. Huggles juls

 Report Review

Review #6, by ElissandrAnne At the Graveyard.

27th December 2006:
I loved it, juls! I like to read Snape's emotions. And though I'd never thought I'd say that, I DO agree with Narcissa: looks don't matter. They are subjected to changes. What does matter is what a person is inside.

Anne

Author's Response: There is so much unknown about Snape, so many secrets, so many hurts... and somewhere love. His outside is all the world sees, the inside is what needs to be drawn out and shown. Ok ramble done, thanks Anne huggle ~~juls

 Report Review

Review #7, by The Last Gentleman At the Graveyard.

21st November 2006:
This is the most emotional HPFF I've read in awhile. It's dark, serious, and incredibly sad. You, madame, are a truly talented writer, and not just a fan with a keyboard.

Author's Response: I thank you heartily, my friend. Glad you liked it. AND you made me feel a heck of alot better. HUGZ ~~juls

 Report Review

Review #8, by The Last Gentleman At the Graveyard.

21st November 2006:
This is the most emotional HPFF I've read in awhile. It's dark, serious, and incredibly sad. You, madame, are a truly talented writer, and not just a fan with a keyboard.

Author's Response: Hugxx and thanks again Anth. ~~juls

 Report Review

Review #9, by Scriblerian At the Graveyard.

29th October 2006:
This was so very sad and beautiful. Again, it's the little things you add in that make your writing so wonderful. Like the rose that would never die just like his love for her, and the fact that Draco now calls him "dad". Brilliant. The relationship between Narcissa and Snape was so heartbreaking and sweet at the same time. You captured the whole "star-crossed lovers" thing perfectly I think. Another amzing one-shot, juls. I hope I'm not being too repetitive with all these reviews..lol. I just can't get over how well you write. Fantastic job! 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks, hun. My Snape/Narcissa story =) I'm glad you like it. huggles juls

 Report Review

Review #10, by tiffers At the Graveyard.

17th October 2006:
Another beautiful story to add to the favorites. You do such a wonderful job of tying all your stories together, and I can really understand Circle of Love better now. I really like how you've expanded the idea of a Narcissa/Snape relationship and that you start the feelings at such a young age. It makes sense to me that Lucius would be an arranged marriage, especially considering her family. You did a fantastic job of writing a passionate scene between the two of them and it's evident that they have a great chemisty. It was bittersweet to see Snape at the end still holding on to the woman he's always loved. Very eloquently written, touching and poetic!

Author's Response: This my darling. I wrote it cause I was intrigued by JKR saying that Snape has been loved. I don't see him as the 'devil' he is portraying himself to be. huggles ~~juls

 Report Review

Review #11, by snaperox At the Graveyard.

10th October 2006:
yeeeaahhhh i loved this fanfic!!!! i love snape...well, in reality, i love alan rickman (the guy who plays him) but he's awesome. even tho he killed dumbledore...but let's not get into that. Anyway...10/10!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks. I love Snape/AR also. Kida shows I guess. =) huggles ~~juls

 Report Review

Review #12, by Princess Lily Snape At the Graveyard.

3rd October 2006:
Don't let the name fool you. I love Snape/Narcissa fics and this one is exceptionally well writen and sweet. Snape was a little OOC but I know how hard it is to make him in character with a romance fic. Still, I'm giving you 10!

Author's Response: Thank you from one Snape lover to another. /bow huggles juls

 Report Review

Review #13, by Serenity0047 At the Graveyard.

1st October 2006:
i loved that one! almost brought me to tears! who married draco???? will we never know? do you even know? nah, it's best this way. great job again! this is one of my fave snape stories!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. Also, thanks for tucking it into your favs =) And, just maybe your question on who Draco marries will be answered in my new fic Circle of love after its validated =) huggles ~~juls

 Report Review

Review #14, by TheFalk At the Graveyard.

1st October 2006:
aw..
That was so sad.
But I liked the happy ending..

Author's Response: Thanks for your review =) Glad you enjoyed my story. huggles ~~juls

 Report Review

Review #15, by dreamdancer7 At the Graveyard.

1st October 2006:
aww! that's sweet! I love it! Great job!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it!! huggles ~~juls

 Report Review

Review #16, by ValhallaAdonisSnape At the Graveyard.

1st October 2006:
Awe, that was beautiful, absolutly beautiful. Though I personally never have been one for liking Narcissa as a character, I actually feel sorry for her in this fic *feels kinda bad for the way she wrote This Love now*

I'll be back soon. -Valhalla Adonis-Snape

Author's Response: Thanks. I have been building this 'ship through alot of my stories.
Huggles ~~juls


 Report Review

Review #17, by jlcarey At the Graveyard.

28th September 2006:
Pretty good! I love the story line, I am of the strong belief that Snape killed Dumbledore for a good reason, and it's good to see fics that portray that. The love-making scene is a little cliche I think, but I'm not a big fan of love scenes, so, you can maybe discount my opinion, lol. Overall, it was a pretty interesting story. I never would have placed Snape as having a thing for Narcissa, and I always felt that she was probably forced into marrying Lucius, although I think the books hint at that somewhat. But I'll stop rambling, great job! Keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you my dear for your review. Glad you enjoyed it ~~juls

 Report Review

Review #18, by almost_witch At the Graveyard.

27th September 2006:
Aww I've never read a ship like this before, the whole aranged marraige thing makes a whole lot of sense and it doesn't suprise me.

You have a thing for having long chapters, though they all contain things that you need to know and I always seem to forget how long they are and read! Well done for that because normally I just skip down the page thinking 'you don't need that! why make it so long!'

I like the name of your fic too, it has a mysterious sound about it that will take in readers - now thats always a bonus!

Your spelling is yet again fine and well done for getting a chapter pic - it makesfics look complete and polished for the reader and it shows that you put alot of effort into the fic.

Your plot is yet again good,

Almost_witch

Author's Response: Thanks, dear for coming through with another heart pleasing review. I'm so happy you enjoyed it. Huggles ~~juls

 Report Review

Review #19, by Fish and Bird At the Graveyard.

26th September 2006:
It's original and that's high praise in the world of fanfic! I've not previously read anything pairing Severus and Narcissa and it was interesting to see then cast as the desperate lovers with Lucius as the threatening, ever-looming antogonist. I wasn't so sure about the pairing of Draco with Harry, but perhaps I'm a little too traditional in both my tastes and my writing. I'll certainly recommend this story on to other readers!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, and the comments. I strive hard to be original and I'm so happy you said that =).
Huggles ~~juls


 Report Review

Review #20, by elsbeth22 At the Graveyard.

26th September 2006:
First, the beta in me is screaming out so here's what I found:


Now(,) the dark haired man...


changed. Irrevocably in twining their fates.> ...changed; irrevocably intwining their fates.


"Let(')s get out of here."


*** >> instead, it looks more proffesional (and I think it's becoming mandatory on this site)


arrousing>> arousing


Time passed and the two starcrossed >>star-crossed


not have knowledge of his where abouts>>actually, believe it or not (I didn't at first) where abouts is one word: whereabouts. why? I have no clue :P


It(')s well...


possible... It(')s Mum


With a cough, he arrived before young Draco Malfoy surrounded by Tonks and Kingsley. Tonks had her arms around Draco, his head buried in her chest. Without a word, Tonks nodded her head towards the sitting room. Tears could be seen on her cheeks also.>>I'm not sure if you said this right did he arrive before or AFTER Draco? How could Tonks be holding Draco unless he came before, maybe a change of words or a new sentence might clear that up.


That(')s when he saw


Himself, he had went straight >>I would consider using "gone" instead of "went", proper english stuff like that :)


and magicked it to never die>>magicked isn't a word so I would suggest using>> cast a spell so that it would never die.


disasparated>>disapparated (i think).


Anyway, now on to the actually story: (sorry my beta monster always releases herself on any story I read). I thought it was an interesting take on this particular ship. I'm a sucker for description and imagery so It would have been nice to "see" the grave sight, you know, through your words. This story also might not do too shabby with a tad bit more explination, at least in the beginning, how did Lucius break into HER thoughts (taught BY Snape) when even the Dark Lord could not get into Snapes mind? But that's just a thought. Over all, I thought it was fairly good, the plot development and the transition to scenes was very smooth and enjoyable. I do have to say, "Keep writing", for I believe you have the potential to be a great writer on this site, with a little work, but your imagination is enough to carry you. Good job on a rare pairing...and I'm glad I saw this on the forums.


~Elspeth

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the CC. I have put some of the changes through in editing. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Huggles ~~juls

 Report Review

Review #21, by Velith At the Graveyard.

26th September 2006:
Very nice! This is the 1st piece i've read on this site in a while and my first in a LONG time that hasn't been slash AND the 1st Sev/Narcissa! A lot of firsts and it's lived up to expectations. I was intrigued by the summary, and it was engaging from the start, and Sev's emotions were quite well done! Well done! Velith xx


Author's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed this fic. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. huggles ~~juls

 Report Review

Review #22, by Jessi_Rose At the Graveyard.

18th September 2006:
How did you NOT tell me I haven't reviewed THIS one yet!!!?? Ahh! This is probably my favorite piece.. definitely my favorite piece by you. Severus is so darn sad here and of course, with good reason. I just absolutely LOVE it!!!!! Ahh, juls... not much to say except the ending makes it and the beginning creates it. Beautiful!

Author's Response: Lol. sorry Jessi. Thought I had reminded you about this. I'm ao glad you finally reviewed. Thanks so much huggles juls

 Report Review

Review #23, by Pure Muggle At the Graveyard.

18th September 2006:
Juls,

This was a really great One Shot! I love the idea of Severus and Narcissa together!

Hm... a little bit of CC: I think Severus was a bit OOC in this. I just cannot picture him crying like that. I think he's a character who doesn't allow himslef to cry, rather keep it all in and show it in other ways... like for example he seems to let things out on Harry during his school term, seemingly as revenge for what James had done to him.

I find it very plausible that Severus sees himself as a father figure to Draco, the son of his love - and that Draco looks up to him as a father figure. Lucius killing his wife also seems like something I think might just be probable to happen.

All in all, I really liked this! Keep up the good work!
~Mon *huggle*

Author's Response: Thanks Mon for reviewing =) And I will take your comments to heart. I made Snape more emotional because this was his love, and love does make one emotional. thanks so much sweetie.

 Report Review

Review #24, by TheOne (not logged in) At the Graveyard.

16th September 2006:
Wow! I really liked it! I think you're description has definitly improved from the first story i read by you :) Good job!

However, I have to put in a little bit of critisism... i kind of found Snape a little OoC, which really shocked me since you did such a good job with that other story. He seemed a little too sad, too... whats the word... sensetive.

Other than that great job! And sorry it took so long for me to review! I haven't been on for a while :) Catch ya later!

Author's Response: Thanks, Shel... I appreciate your review and will use the CC to improve the story. My thought was this was the loss of his first/only love and let his emotions carry through that. As both you and A_wiz pointed out, I may have gone overboard, just allowed myself into him to express. I'm glad you liked it though, and when I get to rewriting it, I will pm the link so you can reread. =) Thanks again huggles ~~juls

 Report Review

Review #25, by Arithmancy_Wiz At the Graveyard.

10th September 2006:
You are right, this indeed makes a very nice companion to the Death Eater's Pensieve. It was great to see you flesh out those memories a bit more. And this was overall much less rushed, though I think you could even expand further if you wanted to! I thought the bit about occlumency was a very interesting twist to add in. What Snape really thinks of Lucius has always been a point of interest to me. He’s been described as Lucius’s lap dog, but you have to wonder…It is kind of a neat idea, thinking about how Snape might feel inferior to him in some ways yet still have something (Narcissa’s affection) over him. Not really the central point here, obviously, but interesting nevertheless.

My guess my main critique here would have to be that I found Snape to be a bit too emotional at times. I have a really hard time picturing him cry. I imagine his sadness would come out more as anger, like when he sought revenge on Lucius. Perhaps it is just me but if he only shed one tear at the very end, that would have been almost more powerful than a lot of tears throughout. Does that make sense? If Narcissa was able to see through his anger and recognize it as pain that too would attest to some strong connection. Anyway, just my opinion.

There a fair few typos/grammar things that could use cleaning up, but I won’t fill up your review box with them. I will just point out that you repeated a few sentences…

He groaned and lowered his hand to grasp hers to stop. “My luv, you know not what you.” Quietly he breathed out an anti-conception spell. She said it with him. The consequences of forgetting were dire.
He groaned and lowered his hand to grasp hers to stop. “My luv, you know not what you do.” Quietly he breathed out an anti-conception spell. She said it with him. The consequences of forgetting were dire.


I think you want the second one!

Yea, I’m glad I got to be the first review. Thanks for updating the link. So very helpful of you. Feel free to stop by with another request anytime. I do love my Snape stories :)


Author's Response: Thanks for your review. I'm guessing (and I sent you a pm concerning this) that the repeated sentances were part of an UNvalidated edit being tucked in with the validated one. (from the server move). Thanks hun for your CC. And I'm glad you enjoyed it, even though it was blended all together. I'm confounded by it myself. huggles ~~juls

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login