Reading Reviews for A Wizarding Christmas Carol
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GailGreen Chapter Three: The Ghost of the Past

21st March 2009:
I cannot but leave a review. It's a great concept. Obviously AU, but a fantastic concept. I really loved how Draco's emotion leaked out about Pansy's death. And using Cedric! Priceless. I'm not a huge Dicken's fan, but this is a great use of his Christmas Carol, and a good pick of a HP character.

Nice Work.

 Report Review

Review #2, by bpmull Chapter Three: The Ghost of the Past

16th January 2009:
You must have familiarized yourself with the characters. This one was much more in character for everyone.

Excellent job.

I hope you finish this story.

 Report Review

Review #3, by bpmull Chapter Two: The Warning

16th January 2009:
Only one pick -- and you could not know if you were unfamiliar with the characters, so do not take it bad. Draco is forever being described as "shrieking like a little girl" whenever he is frightened in any way.

Other than that, very well done.

 Report Review

Review #4, by bpmull Chapter One: Introduction

16th January 2009:
I don't think I've ever read fanfiction from someone who doesn't know the characters. Should be interesting.

The first chapter is well written. I enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #5, by BKL8008 Chapter Three: The Ghost of the Past

10th January 2009:
Pity it wasn't done...I'll add it to favorites.
I like the plot line of using Draco for Scrooge. How fitting.

I was thinking of doing one of these, but I won't, now that I see you have one up.
Please do continue.

 Report Review

Review #6, by kyrandia Chapter Three: The Ghost of the Past

7th June 2007:
this story is so good please dont ever delete it i want to read it the rest of the way thru

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing Kyrandia! I'm glad you like it - at the moment I've no idea when I'll update, hopefully it won't be too long :) ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #7, by sweetrose9864 Chapter Three: The Ghost of the Past

13th January 2007:
I like how you are comparing Draco Malfoy to Ebeneezer Scrooge, because in a way they both are really similar. Well I like this story and I hope that you will update again soon.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm really glad you liked the comparison; I promise to try to get the next chapter up soon! ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #8, by mosa_hufflepuff Chapter Three: The Ghost of the Past

5th January 2007:
I like this story. I like any spin off The Christmas Carol. Keep writing it sounds really good.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'll be trying to update soon, thanks for reviewing! ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #9, by harrystrulove Chapter Three: The Ghost of the Past

2nd January 2007:
Another wonderful chapter, spectacularly written:) cedric was a perfect ghost of Christmas Past. And I loved this sentence: The sudden CRACK shattered the happy bubble the two had created around them as quickly as a stone shatters a mirror. That was an excellent way of describing the sudden mood change. It was so sad what happened to Pansy! Please please please post chapter 4 ASAP, I can hardly wait!

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much, Anne! I'm really glad you liked the choice of Cedric, I wanted someone who no-one would guess, lol. I agree, what happened to Pansy was sad, and I'm glad you think that, because I wanted people to feel sympathetic for her. I'm a bit stuck on four, but I promise I'll have it up as soon as possible! ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #10, by harrystrulove Chapter Two: The Warning

2nd January 2007:
That was an awesome chapter. I'm still tickled that you chose to take up my challenge, and I must say you're doing a wonderful job so far! Zabini is the perfect Jacob Marley to Draco's Scrooge! I also like the way you incorporated some of the things that Scrooge and Marley actually say in A Christmas Carol. I'm off to read chapter 3 now:)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Anne! Your challenge was a great one, how could I not take it up? ^_^ I'm glad you liked Zabini; I didn't really think Crabbe or Goyle suited the role of the ghost to warn him, lol. And as for incorporating what they said; I had to refer back to your email numerous times on that, trust me! Thanks so much for reviewing! ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #11, by Potterholic Chapter Three: The Ghost of the Past

26th December 2006:
First of all, congrats on making the Top 5! Second of all, that was a really, really, brilliant chapter, Cat! I was quite surprised that the ghost was Cedric, but it makes sense since Draco made that comment after Cedric’s death. The first memory was so sweet. It shows how much The Malfoys had changed since then, and that’s quite sad. Everything money could buy for a five year old was under that tree, and the thing money couldn’t buy shone in his eyes; happiness... He noticed a million little moments he hadn’t at the age of five; the kiss his father brushed across Narcissa’s head, the smiles they shared, the love in their eyes as they looked at their son.

The second memory was rather heart-wrenching. I love how you wrote the difference between this Narcissa and previous one. Your description on the Azkaban was really nice, there weren’t too many words but they did convey the sense of emptiness in the prison. he was standing in a dark, dank room. It was windowless, and the only light came from cracks in the doorway. I really felt for Draco when his father disowned him, and the argument was really strong. “But I’m your son! You’re meant to forgive me!” That line was really sharp.

The last memory was seriously depressing. No wonder Draco’s an old Scrooge now. =P I love how you wrote the relationship between Pansy and Draco, how he instinctively protected Pansy. It was really sweet, though it makes the memory even more sad, realizing they really loved each other. I loved how you ended it, and I can’t help but wonder who the next ghost is. Could it be Dumbledore? =P

Look at that, I wrote a long, detailed review. Probably one of my longest ever. ^_^ Anyway, can’t wait for the next chapter! Merry Christmas!


Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review, Priss! I love long ones, thank you! Thanks on the congratulations...I was so shocked when I saw that!


It seems I surprised everyone with my choice of ghost, which I'm glad about. I was aiming to make it someone no one would guess. The first memory...I enjoyed writing that one. I liked showing a different side to the cold Malfoys we see in the books. I figure that they, too, must once have been a happy family.


I'm really pleased you noticed the difference in the earlier Narcissa and the later Narcissa. I was aiming to use her to show the difference in the family dynamics and overall happiness in their family life; where youthful beauty once was, there was only weariness now. The disowning part, as I said in answer to a previous review, was difficult to write; I couldn't imagine how it would feel to be treated like that by your own father.


With the last memory, I wanted to make you sad...glad I succeeded, lol! I wanted to make sure the reader knew how in love Draco and Pansy were, and then feel sorry for them when it was all ruined. And to help them understand why Draco is the cruel man he is now.


Next ghost...hmm. No comment! :D Thanks so much for reviewing, Priss! Hope you had a great Christmas and New Year! ~Cat


 Report Review

Review #12, by QUEEN OF MAGIC Chapter Three: The Ghost of the Past

24th December 2006:
AMAZING! GREAT IDEA! MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! And a merry Christmas to you too! ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #13, by tiffers Chapter Three: The Ghost of the Past

23rd December 2006:
TIFFERS REVIEW: TAKE TWO

Okay Cat my most sincere apologies, I just wrote out a fantastic review and it didn't go through, sadly I fear this review will not be as cool as the one I originally wrote for you! *tear*

Cat, this chapter was WONDERFUL, in fact it was so freaking amazing that I have to repeat myself, WONDERFUL! I am so relieved and estatic that you have continued with this amazing story! I love the story A Christmas Carol, because you have this horrible guy that somehow you end up feeling sorry for the main character, and you have definitely channeled that Cat! I am already finding myself feeling sorry for Draco, despite the way he has acted in the past.

I was quite shocked that you chose Cedric as your ghost, but upon further thought I have realized you made a fabulous choice! First off, Cedric is the polar opposite of Draco, second, by the way he treated Cedric's death, it is a prime example of everything wrong with Draco. He has no compassion, feelings for others, ziltch! Overall, it was a wonderful foil for everything that had happened thus far in the story!

I loved this first memory, it just shows that at one point Draco was happy, and his family was making things work. It saddens me that when Draco looks back the most important thing is his happiness and the relationship between his parents. I think it shows that somewhere deep inside that boy still lives, and Draco can redeem himself if he chooses!

The second scene was heartbreaking, I can just imagine the pain that he felt when his father denounced him. That whole scene was painful to read, because you knew that no matter what Draco had done, it would never have been good enough for his father, and that's horribly sad! Wonderfully beautiful and powerful, but amazingly sad as well.

The last memory was heart-wrenching though, and can completly justify why he is so cold-hearted now. You wrote the anguish and the pain of the situation perfectly though, I could really feel for him. Just everything about the scene tied together beautifully, and I can't wait for the next ghost *dances excitedly*

CAT, I am so sorry it took me so long to get here, but I was busy and had lots to catch up on. Overall, it was fantastic and worth the wait my dear and I am anxiously waiting for more! I am so glad you continued, and CONGRATS on making this months TOP 5, YOU ROCK! Now get started on the next chapter *poke poke* I am getting a head start ;)




Author's Response: Tiff, I first read this review last night, and I literally laughed with happiness. I was too tired to do it justice in a reply, so I left it till today, and I have to say, I think this is the best review I've ever gotten. And the fact that you had a cooler one makes me grin even more, simply because this review is so wonderful I couldn't imagine a better one!


I'm really glad you're feeling sorry for Draco, because it's what I was aiming for by the end of this chapter. And I'm glad you think I'm channeling the book well; I've not actually read A Christmas Carol, so that really makes me happy!


Tiff, your train of thought concerning Cedric is EXACTLY how mine went when I thought of him, lol! I wanted someone no-one would think of before hand, and Cedric seemed perfect; like you said, the way he treated Cedric's death is a perfect example of everything wrong with Draco. I'm glad you liked Cedric!


The first memory was the easiest to write, because I really only needed to think of family interactions when I was a little girl, and I had a scenario. I didn't want all sad memories; I wanted to show that once, the Malfoy's must have been like any other family, happy and content and loving. And I wanted that to stand out to the older Draco when he looked back on it, because, as you say, it shows he can fix himself.


The second was a bit more difficult to write. I could honestly not imagine how heartbreaking it would be to have a parent tell you what Lucius said to Draco (you may have noticed that in the second memory, I didn't go into Draco's thoughts as much as I had in the others) and I really wanted the reader to feel sorry for Draco, and the fact that, as you say, he could never be good enough for Lucius.


The last memory was even more difficult to write, specially as I dislike Pansy as a character, but I really wanted her to come across as likeable in this. I'm so glad you thought I wrote it well, because I was really worried about that scene in particular. The next ghost...I'm actually tossing up a bit as to who it'll be. I'm considering a few options, though.


Tiff, you could take 10 years to get around to reading it because it's worth it for a review like this. Thanks for the congratulations; Terri told me and I was so excited! I went around grinning for like a week afterwards! Anyway, thank you SO much for this beyond fabulous, novel length review, I love you so much! The next chapter won't take as long as this one, because I know more what I'm goingn to write :) Thanks again so much, Tiff, and Merry Christmas! *huggles* ~Cat


 Report Review

Review #14, by semmadali Chapter Three: The Ghost of the Past

22nd December 2006:
Nice
Story
Kep Up

Author's Response: Thank you! ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #15, by OneDamselsKiss Chapter Three: The Ghost of the Past

21st December 2006:
Aw, that was sad. like this story but that was very sad. it gets better right? Hopefuly.

Damsel

Author's Response: I'm actually glad you thought it was sad, if that makes sense...lol. I was trying to get the readers to feel sorry for Draco, so I'm glad I seemed to have succeeded! Thanks for reviewing (and yes, it gets happier :) ) ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #16, by OneDamselsKiss Chapter Two: The Warning

21st December 2006:
Cute, i like it!

Damsel

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Damsel! ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #17, by OneDamselsKiss Chapter One: Introduction

21st December 2006:
I like it! Hope to see more posted soon!

X's nd O's

The Damsel

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Damsel! I'm really pleased you enjoyed it, thanks for reviewing! ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #18, by dim at best (nsi) Chapter Three: The Ghost of the Past

20th December 2006:
Cat! What a wonderfully spectacular chappie! I believe I am the first reviewer, and I'm quite proud considering my lateness last time lol.

The memories you took Draco through were great - it must've been hard deciding which ones to choose for his past. I can't imagine what else you've got in store for us lucky readers :D

TOTALLY not expecting Digoory by the way. Can you say random much?? :P I'm still going for Harry as one of the ghosts, and Pansy too. Hopefully. Maybe. You better not change the future chapters jsut to spite me! ahaha.

Merry Christmas!

- Terri

Author's Response: Yes, Terri, you're the first reviewer, and this review has made me very happy! :D *hugs*


I'm glad you liked the memories...it was hard picking, because I would have liked more with Pansy, and more with his father, but when I finished I was pretty sure it was okay the way it was.


Cedric was a bit of a random choice, but I figured no-one would figure that out. And I remembered how Draco laughed at the memorial service for him, and I thought he was a pretty good choice for memories of the past.


Actually, I am rethinking the ghosts now. LOL don't worry, it's not to spite you. It's more that I'm trying to decide which ghosts will work best in the chapters they'll be used in. I'm not going to tell you who, but at least one of the two you've mentioned will almost definitely be used.


Merry Christmas to you too, Terri! Thank you so much for reviewing! ~Cat


 Report Review

Review #19, by dim at best Chapter Two: The Warning

8th December 2006:
Hey Cat! Sorry for not reviewing this chappie right away.. I'm really bad at checking for updates.

But anyways, this was a really good chatper. You managed to combine the Wizarding World's concept of ghosts into the traditional speech that the chained ghost gives in A Christmas Carol and I thought that it was a really nice touch.

Draco's reactions to Blaise were really funny, his skeptical and shocked thought pattern comical. It was very 'Draco-like' of him, and written very well. His general snobbery works quite well int his chapter, even though it makes me want to smack some humble into him.

So... Hermione's got a rival book publishing company, eh? Ahahahahaha. Who knew that the book publishing industry could be so cut-throat? And why on EARTH is Luna working for dear old Drakie-poo when she could be working for Hermione??

Predictions for ghosts: Pansy and Harry, though in what order I know not. I tried to make sense of the clues you gave me in your response, but alas no, I'm no detective.

Oh, and a huge CONGRATULATIONS on making HPFF's December Top Five. This fic is totally worthy of that status, and I completely agree with the site's recommendation :D

- Terri

PS. 10/10

Author's Response: Hey Terri! Thanks for reviewing! I'm really glad you liked the combination of the two...I really wanted to stay to the original but still keep it HP, so I'm glad it worked!


I'm also really pleased you liked my Draco...I spent ages writing him for this chapter, I'm glad it shows and he's 'Draco-like' as you put it. And don't worry, I often want to give him a good kick up the rear end while writing this! :P


I really wanted to mention Hermione, and I thought that'd be a good way...and I couldn't see Draco being too impressed! And Luna...I guess she needed the job and Hermione's wasn't opened yet, I don't know. Lol, you know, I hadn't even thought of that!


Your predictions...well, I'll never tell! And another thing...ZOMG ZOMG ZOMG! I didn't even know till reading this that it was on the list, so you have honestly made my day! Thanks so much for the review and the congratulations, Terri, I'll update soon! ~Cat


 Report Review

Review #20, by Potterholic Chapter Two: The Warning

22nd November 2006:
Great chapter, Cat! I really like Draco’s characterization, the way he was plotting to take down Hermione and Luna was really in character. I love the way Draco constantly frowned upon the idea of Christmas, so much like Scrooge. Your description is wonderful, there are not too many words but enough to make me really see the scene. Zabini is very well written too. I really love the way he explained his situation. “ It is because of these actions that I am doomed to stay here forever . . . to walk the Earth as an invisible being, not quite dead yet nowhere near alive, forever.” The way he said it made me shudder. I’d love to see an update as soon as NaNo is over. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Priss! I couldn't help but think that Christmas wouldn't exactly be Draco's favourite holiday...I mean, it's a time for happiness, love and family, and none of them seem too high on his list of priorities :P Oh, that line was one of my favourites. I don't often have favourite lines in my own stories, but I admit to liking that one ^_^ Thanks so much for reviewing! I admit I gave up on NaNo, and I'm writing a chapter of Sirius at the moment; but as soon as that's finished, I'll start chapter three of this! ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #21, by Potterholic Chapter One: Introduction

13th November 2006:
Great chapter, Cat! Draco definitely fit right in as Scrooge and I can’t wait to see who are going to be the ghosts. ^.^ I love Luna’s entrance there. She always made you wonder whether or not she’s telling the truth, and here I could almost be sure she is. I also like the way you wrote the employees’ dialogue, with the accent and all. The situation you set up for the story is very believable too, how everyone was desperate for jobs after the war. I don’t know why I keep on delaying reading this before. =P Loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks so much Priscilla! I liked having Draco as the Scrooge character...I played around with a few different characters for Scrooge, but Draco worked best. And Luna is telling the truth...or at least, she THINKS she is :P. Thank you so much for the lovely review, Priss! *hugs* ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #22, by tiffers Chapter Two: The Warning

5th November 2006:
Another spectacular chapter Cat, I think you did such a nice job with this follow up chapter. I also think that you did a magnificant job of explaining the ghost situation; I had never thought that would seem normal to Draco. Silly me forgetting that ghosts are a common occurance to them.

I love Draco's thoughts about Christmas, and the way he constantly berates his peers. I love that you had Hermione opening a book publishing company, that fits her personality wonderfully! I also loved that he, just like his father, has such a big influence on the Minister of Magic, a spectacular touch!

I love how you describe Zabini and in my opinion the whole story just seems to come alive in front of my eyes. I love A Christmas Carol; and I think you have done a beautiful job of making it your own.

Another wonderful chapter, and I would really love to see an update, I think you have really good story on your hands!!! With the christmas season approaching I think it would be an amazing way to get yourself and everyone else into a christmas mood. Spectacular chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for another wonderful review, Tiff! I'm flattered! I'm glad you liked the ghost thing...at first I had him with the typical shocked reaction, but then I was like...wait. He saw ghosts every day at Hogwarts...lol.


I think that a grown up Draco, who has lost what little things he loves, would probably be even more bitter than the Draco we all know and love, lol. I like the idea of him being all bitter at Christmas. And Hermione's book publishing company...I agree, it just seems to suit her.


You like my Zabini? Yay! I hated writing that part...we see so little of Zabini's real personality in the books.


Well, these reviews have convinced me to keep the story. I'll try update soon...I admit to being pretty uninspired at the moment, but hopefully soon I'll have inspiration before Christmas :) Thank you so much for the reviews, Tiff *huggles* ~Cat


 Report Review

Review #23, by tiffers Chapter One: Introduction

5th November 2006:
Cat I really enjoyed this first chapter, and I think the entire concept is a wonderful idea! I love that you chose Draco as the main character, his entire personality just fits in this part! I love how you started this chapter by giving us some important backround information, and I like that Draco was sad about his mother's passing, very life-like.

I loved that you added Luna into this story, and you write her perfectly! I love the tension between her and Draco as she blabbers about make-believe creatures. The clash wonderfully, if that makes any sense; kinda like pairing chocolate and cheese. I guess some things never change; and pairing her with Neville, interesting idea.

I just can't tell you how much I love Draco's character and obvious dislike of anything but making money. I love that he treats his workers like dirt and he has no patience for the holidays. In my opinion it just all screams Malfoy, and he is so in character.

Overall, a wonderful beginning to what I can only imagine is going to be an amazing story. I loved your author's note, and I completely understand the idea of annoying everyone at SAYS until they just tell you to post it! I think you have a beautiful style and I'm excited about reading the next chapter. Great Work!!!

Author's Response: Tiff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! I'm really glad you liked my choice of main character...Draco was the only one who really suited what I wanted to write, but the concept of writing him slightly terrified me, because I'd never even considered writing him. And as for his mother's death...well, it was proved in book 6 that Draco feels emotions, and after all, he's a human being. I thought it natural he would mourn his mother.


You liked my characterization of Luna? That means a lot, because she's another one I'd never written before. It was really fun writing that scene between the two of them, with the creatures. And the pairing with Neville was almost natural...they've always seemed to go together so well.


Draco was fun to write, although, like I said, I wasn't really sure how to go about writing him. I tried to write him kind of like Lucius; I'm really glad you liked him!


Anyway, thank you again so much! Lol, I think I drove everyone (Nic in particular) practically mad that night! Thanks so much for your compliments and comments, they mean a lot :) ~Cat


 Report Review

Review #24, by Jessi_Rose Chapter Two: The Warning

25th September 2006:
Cat!! What a marvelous chapter!! You are doing Dickens proud, you know? You've got the whole thing down perfectly. And I LOVE your choice of character as the warning ghost -- very nice touch bringing Zabini into it! Oh my... Did I mention how incredibly attractive I find him as a chained ghost?? LOL.. Sorry. I loved this chapter and I cannot wait to find out who the three ghosts will be!! You've got a nice touch on this -- something unique. You seem to know Draco well. I loved it!!! 10/10 my dear!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Jessi! I was getting depressed because that chapter had no reviews, but you've made me happy again :) Thanks for the comments on Zabini; and honestly, what will Sirius think? :P Thank you so much for this review, Jessi, it really means a lot :) ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #25, by dim at best (not signed in) Chapter One: Introduction

26th August 2006:
Oh, I love it! Draco makes the perfect scrooge, and you wrote everything beautifully. Luna was perfectly in character (you wrote her so that I felt the same pity/laughter for her that I usually get while reading the books), and the way you portrayed Draco was both accurate to Scrooge as well as himself.

I'm definitely going to continue reading this story, and I'm sure you're going to insert clever parallels that I won't recognize (I'm familiar with A Christmas Carol, but not that familiar with it) so, because of my prediction, I say a job well done on those future clever inserts lol.

Now, are you going to reveal who the ghosts are going to be? Pleaaaase?

-Terri

Author's Response: Oh, Terri, I love you so much! Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm glad you liked Draco and Luna...it was absolutely terrifying writing their characters. I generally stay away from Trio era in general, and Draco and Luna...anyway. Thank you so much for the compliments!


Yes...clever parallels...definitely...*cough* Thank you for the compliments on something I have written yet, I have to admit, I think that's made my day :P


Hehe...I could...but...no. I won't be cruel, though, I'll give you clues; the first ghost, who comes to warn him of the three main ghosts, is fairly obvious, he's mentioned in this chapter. Ghost Number One is (at current planning) someone who I wanted to put in mainly because of something Draco did in the books tha I was cranky about. Number Two should make him regret his pureblood obsession. And number three...I'm too tired to think of a clue for that one. Lol.


Okay, I'll shut up now. Thank you so much for the absolutely wonderful review, Terri! *hugs* ~Cat


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>