Reading Reviews for Mouth Shut
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by christinacruciatus Mouth Shut

31st December 2009:
Wow. This was so sad. Good story, though. It was very well written and I absolutely loved how you described Merope's self-disgust and guilt with herself. The very ending was intense. It gave me shivers. Hehe.

Good job!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Queen Shamama Mouth Shut

21st November 2007:
first of all, love this song! and it fits so perfectly with merope's story .. one thing though, merope gave birth in the muggle orphanage tom grows up in. great story though :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Andromedatonks Mouth Shut

31st July 2007:
It is a really good story, and the pairing is not often written about. I always kind of felt for Merope - because I know what it's like to love someone who doesn't love you back. You portrayed her obsession amazingly well, and the consiquent self-disgust, and the feeling of guilt. I could truly relate with her at some point. One tiny thing that didn't feel right was that the story seemed a little too impersonal.. I can't really explain it any better, sorry, and probably never mind because the story is really great anyways.

 Report Review

Review #4, by jenniiiiii Mouth Shut

22nd May 2007:
I'm so ashamed that I never got around to reviewing this story. I read it a while back and thought it was awesome, I don't know why I didn't review!

First off, I LOVE the song Mouth Shut. It's so awesomely cool! And it fits so perfectly with Merope that I don't know why I didn't see it before I read this fic. I think it's so right that she hated what she was doing to him - that she truly did love him - and it's so heartrending. She's not a bad person deep down and I'm glad you show that. Oh, and it's so sad how she carries on because she just can't help herself. And how he leaves her in the end. :( You really made me feel for Merope here.

"She was reminded of her childhood, of her father. She felt like a Squib, as if she’d become powerless yet again." I really liked that part because she did fall for someone who treated her very similarly to how her father did, and that just makes it all even more sad. She never had a chance.

So yeah. Awesome job. I really like your Merope, she's not whiny or anything, and she's actually very likeable. And I never would have known this was your first attempt at angst or songfic!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Plata Mouth Shut

21st May 2007:
Touching. But it's very distant. I mean it doesn't have any direct speech or describing what's happening at a particular time. Other than that though, it's very well written

 Report Review

Review #6, by Flourish and Blotts Mouth Shut

26th April 2007:
I liked this story very much and the idea is very unique. ;)
I just have one nitpicky question - in HBP, Mrs. Cole (a Muggle) says that Merope stumbled into her orphanage already in labor, had her baby, and then died soon after. Since this all took place in a Muggle orphanage, I'm not quite sure how a healer could be there (it doesn't quite fit in with canon, but if you're not aiming for that, then it's ok).

Besides that, this was well-written overall, and I liked the portrayal of Merope's questioning of her actions. It's exactly how I imagined it.

Well done!

Author's Response: At the time I wrwote this, I was undergoing a very unusual writing experience. I'd gotten the plot bunny, listened to the song on repeat, and had it all written down within two hours (ridiculously fast for me). Then.. doing something once again entirely out of character for myself.. I posted it on here without it being beta'd or me even revising it for canon-mistakes. The result? Major mistakes like the one you just pointed out lol.

I'll fix it eventually, once WioQ becomes too difficult for me to handle and could use a breather. :) Thank you for pointing out my mistake, and for even reading and reviewing at all!

- Terri


 Report Review

Review #7, by DarkFaerii Mouth Shut

13th April 2007:
*teary eyed*
OMG...This is so SAD!! You do very well with angst. I've never really heard Merope's story from Merope's point of view...and...well...I dont want to. THE SADNESS IS UNBEARABLE. UGH. STUPID TOM. STUPID MEROPE. STUPID POTION *whacks everything very hard across the nose* ...all you can say now is 'if only' ...I dont think Tom realised that by leaving, he, in essence, killed hundreds of people. Or, that he spawned the worst of wizard kind. I swear, if there was a magical equivalent to Romeo and Juliet, THIS WOULD BE IT.
You, can give yourself a hearty pat on the back for this. You deserve it. A very good, if very SAD story.
Perfect song-choice by the way. Good song for a good story. Claps for you. You should write a sequel to this. About Voldy and his angst...about being orphaned and growing up like that...it would be wrong of him to curse his parents like that, but well...he wouldn't know any better. Damn. Maybe THATS why Romeo and Juliet never had a child. *shakes head sadly*
Everyone is smarter in hindsight.

Author's Response: This review made me laugh :D

I'm not sure if Romeo and Juliet are quite the equivalent of Tom and Merope... but they both do share the same sense of tragedy. *sigh* If only indeed...

However, I'm afraid that I don't think I could write a sequel to this. This story came to me really fast and completely randomly... it was honestly the strangest writing experience I've ever had. But who knows? Maybe the sequel's plot bunny will bite me lol

Thanks for such a great review! I loved hearing your opinion, and honestly... one of the better reviews I've ever had. :D

- Terri


 Report Review

Review #8, by Dark Angel Mouth Shut

25th February 2007:
I really loved this story. I think you wrote this beautifully! Also, it helps that this is one of my favorite songs. You totally deserve a 10!

Author's Response: Thank you! It always makes me so happy when someone likes what I've written :) And while I don't think I deserve a perfect 10, I'm not complaining :P

Thanks, once again!

- Terri


 Report Review

Review #9, by liandhate Mouth Shut

13th February 2007:
I love how you described the way Tom Sr.'s eyes were glazed over. I was wondering if you could make me a banner for my story. if you could contact me at dramatic_as_a_cloud@hotmail.com that would be great.
thanks
great story:
9/10
;)
li

Author's Response: Thanks! I figured there would be some sort of indication that someone was under a spell, and I was inspired by the Imperio curse. They're alike, and both illegal, so why not? :P

I'm really flattered that you would like me specifically to make a banner for your story, but I'm afraid I don't do so through emails. Instead, how about you join The Dark Arts? There are lots of links around to get there, and although you have to join in order to request a banner, it's worth it. You can request one from me there, I'm dim at best on TDA as well. :)

Thanks for reviewing!

- Terri


 Report Review

Review #10, by mraudbdyy Mouth Shut

6th February 2007:
I read this a while ago and it's such a wonderful portrayal of Merope it had always stuck in my mind, so I came back to re-read it and couldn't believe I'd forgotten to review!

I love the song Mouth Shut and it fits so perfectly with they story. For your first attmept at angst and songfic, you did amazingly well! You really got me to empathize for Merope, even though what she did to Tom was wrong. And she wasn't a snivelling mess either, that had deluded herself into thinking Tom really did love her back. She knew it was wrong and that it was because of the potion, but she still had hope that he would understand.

Surprisingly, I wasn't put off by the fact that there was no dialogue. Merope's thoughts and emotions felt very real and kept my eyes glued to the screen. And even though it jumped from time to time, I thought you made it flow quite nicely.

So overall, wonderful story. 10/10. This is definatly going in my favourites :)

Author's Response: This review's got to be one of the better ones. :) Even with the extreme cold weather alert outside in the Canadian winter, I could feel a happy warmth setting into my stomach after I finished reading.

I can't believe that you thought it was good enough to re-read and have stuck in your mind - huge compliment right there, to be able to write something that resonates.

So you actually know the song? Impressive ^_^ Once I heard it, I immediately started looking for a Harry Potter connection - and Merope's story just fit. With the song playing on repeat in the background, I just whipped this out of my imagination. It was surprising, and I'm thrilled and shocked that so many like it.

Merope, to me, was never a snivelling mess. I thought her to be quite a strong character to be able to live with an abusive, hateful father and a crazed brother, while still retaining some sort of sanity. She wasn't perfectly stable - but she survived. I guess that sort of came out in my writing...

Ah, the lack of dialogue. :) For me, the song seemed more like an inner mantra, Merope arguing with herself, and I didn't want to ruin the mindset of the story with speech (as I was bound to do had I put some in). I'm glad that you weren't too put off by the unorthodox writing. It certainly is a jump from my usual style.

Thanks for leaving a great, well thought out, review! And leaving a perfect rating too... *hugs*

- Terri


 Report Review

Review #11, by GinnyWeasleyPotter Mouth Shut

25th January 2007:
Here I am! Sorry it's taken me a bit, but I'm home from school today, I'm sick, so I have time to read.

Oh, for your first attempt at angst, it was really very good! The story was written beautifully, though some parts were a bit confusing, and didn't flow very well. Tom was born in the Muggle orphanage, not in a hospital. There were no Healers around. It was a bit confusing when, after the song lyrics, you would write about something that happened a while later. Otherwise, I really liked it, it was so sad...good job! 9/10

GinnyWeasleyPotter

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing :)

I'm sorry that some of it was confusing - this was the fastest I'd ever written, and I haven't had a beta go over it yet.

I didn't know that Tom was born in a muggle orphanage, thank you for telling me. I'll go fix it when I have the time. I want to stay as close to canon as possible.

I'm glad that you still liked it though :D

- Terri


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jessi_Rose Mouth Shut

22nd January 2007:
Okay, it's taken me forever to get here. But, as soon as I took a look at your author's page, I KNEW I had to read this fic. WOW. This was your first attempt at angst? You pulled it off beautifully!!! And your first song fic!! You did it SO well! I could hear the words being whispered behind the fic. And Merope's emotions and her thought processes were perfect! The fact that you didn't spend an immense amount of time around Merope telling Tom... and there was only one little bit of dialogue that really wasn't dialogue... I think you REALLY had the feeling of the situation pegged. Not to mention the superb writing!! I'm so glad I sat down to read this!! 10/10 - brilliant one shot, dear!!

Author's Response: JESSI! *glomps*

That's okay, I'm just happy you read something of mine at all. :)

This was first angst, and first songfic. :) I had no idea what I was doing other than what I liked from having read some. The song inspired me, and, I just let it flow. Easiest thing I've written, especially in comparison to Weasley is Our Queen lol.

Thanks a ton for the huge compliments!! Merope was strange character to write in, I'm pretty sure the only thing us two have in common is not being liked back by the person you have a crush on... but I guess that was enough :)

A perfect 10?! Really?! Well, this review gets a perfect 10. It was brilliant :D

- Terri


 Report Review

Review #13, by RubyRed Mouth Shut

20th January 2007:
i loved it..i really do feel sorry for Merope in this story

Author's Response: Thank you! For me, it's a huge compliment to know that someone out there empathized with my writing.

- Terri


 Report Review

Review #14, by Magic_Marker Mouth Shut

17th January 2007:
This was really, really good. I think the character of Merope had alot more to her than the book could have possibly included, and I'm glad you vindicated her.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm happy that you think so, Merope intrigued me right from the start in the books, and once I heard the song, it all just fell into place. Fastest bit of writing I've ever done. ^_^ I'm suprised it didn't turn out horrible. lol

- Terri


 Report Review

Review #15, by lia_2390 Mouth Shut

13th January 2007:
This was really good, honestly. I think the song suited it too. You've made Merope easy to sympathise with. I think you achieved you're goal with the angst as well. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you! It was my first time tackling both angst and writing a song-fic, I'm surprised by the positive feedback this has gotten, but ridiculously pleased as well.

Thank you for being such a doll and reviewing!!

- Terri


 Report Review

Review #16, by Noblevyne Mouth Shut

12th November 2006:
I really enjoyed this, a less...snivelling portrait of Merope than I've seen in other fics. She understands things and yet holds onto hope and hat seems to be the driving force of this fic and that distinguishing use of characterasation. I like Merope in this, that she's strong and incredibly flawed and very human. Mothers in HP seem to get the short stick of the complex characterisation tree.

Author's Response: Merope is a character that I hadn't read a lot of in fics, and that seemed so tragic in the books. I heard the song and immediately wanted to write a songfic about Merope's story... I'm glad that the Merope I envisioned came out properly, since you seemed to have picked up everything in her character I wanted her to be.

Mothers in HP... hmm... you've just given me a plot bunny! *runs off to catch it*

Thank you tons for reading and reviewing. I 've read some of your fics, and loved them, so it's amazing that you liked one of mine.

-Terri


 Report Review

Review #17, by xElusive Memoriesx Mouth Shut

9th November 2006:
Wow, this is really good. Its sweet the way you portrayed her emotion, and you did that very well. It was sad and I almost cried. Its going on to my favourites.

You kept me engaged, which is a strength not many writers have and which makes you unique and more likely to be read. The song definitely fit the plotline and the lyrics were in the right places. I cannot fault this story, well done :)

Author's Response: A favourite? Really? Awww!

The moment I heard this song I immediately started to plan a songfic to it. I'd been wanting to write one for awhile, and this one just screamed 'perfect!'. Not long after, Merope's story occurred to me, and then, like some sort of miracle, what you just read popped out. You don't know how happy I am to receive reviews like yours that claim this story is faultless and suited perfectly song to story.

Thank you soooo much!

-Terri


 Report Review

Review #18, by St Jade (nsi) Mouth Shut

25th October 2006:
I liked this story, and I have no CC for it. It's just really good. I loved your characterization of Merope because it fits perfectly with the description of the Merope in HBP. I didn't judge her throughout the whole fic even though she was immorally feeding her lover a love potion to make him love her (... lol). I felt sorry for her. I like the way you presented her in this fic. I can't find a reason not to give you 10/10. :)

Author's Response: Oh, wow. What a great review!

Merope is an... interesting character. I felt sorry for her, despite her being entirely mad for feeding her husband an illegal substance and giving birth to the greatest evil in England. So, the Merope I wrote reflected that. I'm really glad you picked up the same opinion while reading it. :)

Thanks bunches for reviewing!

-Terri


 Report Review

Review #19, by Potterholic Mouth Shut

1st September 2006:
Oh wow, that was really good! I’ve seen a couple of Merope story, but I love this one. I love the song and it fits in well with the plot. For a first attempt in angst, you did a good job. Keep it up! ^_^

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much for the review! This story held a lot of firsts for me - I'm excited that everyone who's reviewed liked it :)

-Terri


 Report Review

Review #20, by Camelia Mouth Shut

25th August 2006:
I loved it. Usually I don't read songfics, but I decided to give this one a try, as I love reading about Merope, and you did a fantastic job. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your review! It's great to know that you gave my fic a shot, adn even better that you gave it a 10. :)

-Terri


 Report Review

Review #21, by Sparks Mouth Shut

23rd August 2006:
This was a perfect song choice for this story; I've always wanted to hear more about Merope! Great job, Terri :-D The angst works very well. Keep it up! You are too good at songfics, you need to do some more xD And congrats on your CGYT promotion ;-) ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Author's Response: Lina! ♥

Angst was kind of weird for me to write... I was in a strange mood when I wrote this. The idea came to me like a month before, and then I just listened to the song over and over and in less than 2 hours, it was done (I edited it later though). i hope that all further attempts at angst and sonfics will be this easy and be met with such enthusiasm... but I highly doubt it. Maybe it was just a fluke lol.

And I wouldn't have gotten the promotion if you and Rin hadn't decided to, so thank you!!

-Terri


 Report Review

Review #22, by teen hearts beating Mouth Shut

22nd August 2006:
That was really good! I don't see many ficcys about Merope but I think you can write so many intresting things about her. This one was very intresting. I loved it!

Author's Response: I also noticed the lack of stories about Merope... and it made me both sad and excited at the same time. Sad, because a lot of good angst writers aren't writing about such a perfectly tragic character, and excited because I got a chance to write her without falling into too many cliches.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #23, by iluvgreenday Mouth Shut

20th August 2006:
that was a beautiful story. well done! This is definately going on my favourites page!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! Knowing that my fic was good enough to be put onto your favourites page is wonderful :)

-Terri


 Report Review

Review #24, by Order Mouth Shut

20th August 2006:
The first song fic I enjoyed! Very beautifully written. The best part is that we hardly know about the character but she should be one of the most important, being Voldemort's mother. This must have been difficult, cannon and everything. Once again congrats and thanks for the good read. An excellent first attempt.

Author's Response: The first song fic you enjoyed? Really? Wow... that makes me so happy :)

Keeping to canon was a bit difficult, and I kept having to add in things here and there to make it more believable... but the whole sonfic came together rather quickly. My muse was working with me, and I just put the song on repeat to keep the ideas rolling.

Thank you so much for your very kind review!

-Terri


 Report Review

Review #25, by Lucid Mouth Shut

20th August 2006:
I really liked this. I've never read anything that included Merope, but you have really made me love her here, despite what she did to Tom. Its so very sad, and the imagery you have used is wonderful. I liked the choice of the song you used also, and I normally hate songfics, but as usual theres always one that so good it changes my mind. Really well done, and straight in to my favourites.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for this wonderful review! This songfic was a lot of firsts for me, and you don't know how good it feels to know that other people enjoyed it, not to mention think it's worthy of being put into a favourites list. Thanks again!

-Terri


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login