Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Ivy and the Art
  
39 Reviews Found

Review #1, by krazyboutharryginny Ivy and the Art

20th April 2017:
Jailbreak

Pansy Parkinson isn't a character that I usually have a lot of sympathy for. I mean, she's a pretty big bully in the books. But I actually really liked this story. And even though Pansy and Seamus is a pairing that I had pretty much never even dreamed of, I thought it worked very well here. Do I think it would be endgame? No, but I do think after reading this that it's a bit of shame this didn't happen in canon, because I think Seamus could have been very good for Pansy.

Taking Pansy and separating her from other characters like that, putting her against the wall with the ivy, was a very good move, as it allowed us to see a different side of her. Rather than the mean bully, we see her as an insecure teenage girl who's dealing with a lot of cruelty herself. And Seamus was very well-written here. I really like the thought of him being willing to extend kindness to someone in need even if they're a Slytherin, instead of laughing and walking away or simply ignoring her.

Your writing itself is great in this. Wonderful descriptions. My favourite was "And he laughed. It rose from deep inside his chest, spread its wings and lifted into the air as he leaned back. He was shouting to the gods and Pansy was staring. "

And that last line! Oh, it made me smile myself.

Really fantastic job, I am honestly in a little bit of disbelief over how much I enjoyed this story hahaha.

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #2, by melian Ivy and the Art

19th April 2017:
Awww, that was the sweetest thing! Pansy wanting the world to swallow her up, and Seamus helping her see some of the sunshine again.

I liked Pansys characterisation. Shes had enough of school for the time being. Shes been humiliated by the most popular boy in her House (in her year) and she wants out. She wants to not be noticed. You know, I can understand that. Everyone likes to be invisible on occasion, and for a teenage girl any humiliation is too much. You would know as well as I do that teenage girls are judged on their prettiness who am I kidding, all women are, but teenage girls dont have the self confidence to be able to let that run off them yet and so to be told in front of all of Slytherin House that shes not pretty enough would have to be her worst nightmare. I get it. I really do.

And then, help comes along from what would have to seem like the least likely source. Heck, she probably barely even knew his name before this event. But he sees shes crying even before she does, and he wants to help. I like how she tries to fob him off, dismissing his good intentions as Gryffindor chivalry. Perhaps it is. But that doesnt stop it being the right thing to do. She was upset, and by the end, she wasnt anymore. And that was just due to Seamus treating her like a human being, offering a handkerchief and a figurative shoulder.

I liked his characterisation too, by the way. Free and easy, always smiling, like he doesnt have a care in the world. Im guessing he does we dont know what year this was set in but the older they got, the more the war reared its ugly head but he doesnt let it show. Perhaps thats his defence mechanism. All we know and all we need to know is that at this moment they are good for each other. I never thought Id be convinced by a Pansy/Seamus ship, Im happy to admit that. I think youve made me reconsider. Great job!

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jchrissy Ivy and the Art

8th October 2012:
Hi darling! I thought I'd come check out some more of your pieces.

Okay. This was adorable. My heart mushed. You made me feel so sad for Pansy. The scene you painted was really well done, I could imagine the ivy with Pansy tying to become part of it. And her thoughts regarding Draco and the things he'd said to her felt accurate, it was extremely easy to imagine him doing that.

Her haughty attitude toward Seamus at first also seemed really realistic, and I loved the contrast to that with his joking and smiling.

Great one shot!

Author's Response: I LOVE SEAMUS FINNEGAN. And I want everyone to do the same... :) Also, odd pairings really tug at my heart strings. I also like Luna/Remus, Lily/Remus, Narcissa/Remus... basically Remus and anyone weird ;)

Thanks so much for coming back to check out my stories! I really appreciate it. Even though they were written forever ago they still need some love every now and again.


 Report Review

Review #4, by shenanigan Ivy and the Art

24th July 2010:
I love this. I really, really love this. So much, in fact, that I can't even express it in words. My favorite line:

"He was shouting to the gods and Pansy was staring."

Beautiful. Just beautiful.

Author's Response: I think this is a great pairing. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #5, by inkismyworld Ivy and the Art

10th January 2008:
Aw this was great! I've never read about this pairing before but I'm glad I did :) great job! I love the character as well as the physical descriptions.

Author's Response: thank you! :] i love this pairing, random as it is.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Fleur Delacour Potter Ivy and the Art

20th August 2007:
That was great. I just added it to my favorites. It was short, but if you would have continued it wouldn't have had the same effect on the reader.

10/10

Fleur


Author's Response: thanks! i'm glad it ended where it did. i've said it a million times but i think the kiss at the end is overdone--and i'm at fault for doing that too. so yeah. just trying something different. :] glad you liked!

 Report Review

Review #7, by girlygothtomboy37 Ivy and the Art

21st July 2007:
god... i've never even considered this pairing before.

beautiful. that was just beautiful.

10/10

never stop writing

Author's Response: i promise can honestly promise you that i never will stop writing. :] thank you.

 Report Review

Review #8, by stargazer Ivy and the Art

9th July 2007:
Oh my. I absolutly loved this. I never thought of Seamus and Pansy together before. They do make a very interesting couple. Your descriptions are quite good. I love how you captured Seamus, I've always loved him as a character. I also like how you've portrayed Pansy, for once seeing that Draco is not the perfect guy in the world. But how dare you stop right there! This was much too short for me. I want more. This was splendid and it's going in my favorites. :]]

star

Author's Response: woop woop! haha i was actually trying really hard to stop before it came to a point where they'd have to kiss. i'm afraid too many of my one-shots end that way. but yesh, thanks so much for your review and the add to your favorites!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Romina Stephanie Ivy and the Art

1st July 2007:
This was so heart-warming! Everything from the pairing to the handkerchief. I've never read a Seamus/Pansy, and never even considered the pairing, but now, you've given me something to think about.

The characters weren't out of place, yet you managed to give them something else, something that hasn't been there before. Sounds wierd, but can't really express myself at the moment. The point is, that you did a good job with the characters.

I loved the way you described Seamus, with not a care in the world and a smile upon his lips. Pansy was described equally good. “Oh, that’s chivalrous,” she scoffed. “How very Gryffindor of you.” - That kind of says it all!

The writing in all was also beautiful and descriptive and it flowed perfectly. Great job!

Author's Response: thank you! this review made me really happy. :] i love seamus, i like to think of him as not so much happy-go-lucky, but more like "living for today." i don't know, i can't really describe it either...haha, i'm with you. anyway, thanks so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by LostMaeblleshire Ivy and the Art

2nd June 2007:
I think that Seamus has just taught me the art of smiling! What an excellent little story! I've never thought of this pairing before, though somehow, it actually works. How odd... Lovely story, though! I might just have to go and look for some Seamus/Pansy stories now.

Author's Response: i know, i just love this ship now, even though it's completely random. i haven't thought to check for other fics with it, though, hmmm...! thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ydnas Odell Ivy and the Art

24th March 2007:
Really good. A piece of art even prettier then those at Hogwarts. Just a well written piece and of course a unique ship. 10!

Author's Response: haha, i like the fic reference there :] thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #12, by aCCIOcOOLNESS Ivy and the Art

24th March 2007:
Wow, I never thought of a Seamus/Pansy ship, but this was very well written. It's nice to see that Pansy might actually have an ounce of humanity in her. Great job!

Author's Response: i don't think we really know pansy very well, since the books are told through harry's eyes. she's a slytherin and friends ("friends") with malfoy...of course he's going to hate her.

 Report Review

Review #13, by almost_witch Ivy and the Art

31st January 2007:
Aw...! It's such an odd ship but you wrote it well enough to make it so realistic.

I loved it, I loved the way you made Seasmus to charming and everything.

Well done. :D

Author's Response: yes, an odd ship indeed... :] thanks!

 Report Review

Review #14, by queenb_jan Ivy and the Art

20th January 2007:
oh more plz this is good

Author's Response: thanks! but i think it's best to stay as a one shot. HOWEVER! i have an entire author's page for you to peruse--was that too obvious? :] seriously, thanks though.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Mariska Ivy and the Art

14th January 2007:
Beautiful! This was amazingly beautiful! I loved it!!! And I am completely and deadly serious. I have never seen this pairing, but now you made me actually want to read it.

Hope that helped with your story. Your descriptions were powerful, your dialouge enough to sustain the story. It is one of the best stories, one-shot or not, that I've ever read.

Much love,
Mariska

Author's Response: aww, yay! thank you so much for your compliments, i'm so glad you enjoyed it. :]

 Report Review

Review #16, by lolhee Ivy and the Art

6th January 2007:
This was very cute, and I enjoyed it, but it was also very sad in a mannor.. I was going to review the wild, but I see that you have over 200 review which are a lot

Author's Response: ha, i guess it is... :S thanks for this review any way!

 Report Review

Review #17, by LuvDraco Ivy and the Art

2nd January 2007:
Awww... I absolutle love this! Even if the pairing is insane, I love this. You did a very good job making these two go together. Wonderful. And really, very very sweet. Also, well written! Two thumbs up!

Author's Response: haha, insane is a good descriptive word here. thank you!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Dobby101 Ivy and the Art

23rd December 2006:
That was very cute! I liked the way you handled Seamus' character, which isn't seen very much in the books. When I was reading I was thinking that he sounded like a real Gryffindor, being brave and going up to a crying Slytherin girl. It was extremely believable.


I couldn't find any mistakes to point out to you as you did such a great job writing this story. Good job and you should continue to pick some random characters from the list as you have done a tremendous job at writing something most likely new to you. Thanks for asking me to review and Happy Holidays! =D


~Dobby

Author's Response: well thank YOU for reviewing, and happy holidays right back at you! thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by ginnyp Ivy and the Art

12th December 2006:
This was really sweet. It's an unusual ship (of course), and really fun to read. A lot of fics that have Pansy as a main character are dirty, but this one wasn't. I like it.

Author's Response: dirty? que? oh well, haha, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Kbugmc1229 Ivy and the Art

5th November 2006:
Very Cute and Well written!! Good Job!!

Author's Response: thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Potterholic Ivy and the Art

22nd October 2006:
Wow, that was really good! I never thought Pansy and Seamus could work as a pairing, but you certainly have pulled it off. I love how you wrote their characters. The story was really sweet too. This is going on my favourite. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: yay! thanks so much for the favorite and the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by dance10191 Ivy and the Art

13th September 2006:
Aw.......... that was such a cute fic. siriously. I've never read a semaus/pansy fic. This was well written and extremely funny. I really liked it great job
100/10


Author's Response: yay! thanks for the review. and the... one hundred? :o

 Report Review

Review #23, by April Wilson Ivy and the Art

10th September 2006:
Aw, that was great! It was spectacularly written and great for a challenge! And no cliche kiss-at-the-end, that was a nice touch. All and all, it was very sweet!

Author's Response: ewww kissing, gross! :) no seriously, i didn't want to use that. haha. thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by xXsilent_tearsXx Ivy and the Art

10th September 2006:
Wow. This is such a sweet and short story! I haven't ever really read a Pansy/Seamus one but I still loved it. I normally ship Harry/Pansy but still, it's a Gryffindor/Slytherin pairing so I'm bound to love it. Lol. Anyway, you captured the characters very well and let Pansy be known as something other than a pug-faced whore like alot of others.

Author's Response: yeah, i've been hearing a lot about pansy/harry lately? i guess if you write some i should look at them because it sounds interesting. :) thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by silver phoenix Ivy and the Art

8th September 2006:
This was so sweet! Yet another random pairing (I read a Remus/Narcissa one-shot a while back O.o) but this was adorable. I love your writing style :) Another 10/10! I must add this to my favorites ^.^

Author's Response: yay! thanks for adding it. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>