Reading Reviews for Head Count
  
57 Reviews Found

Review #1, by The Alta Loma Demon Three - Harry

19th January 2011:
OMG. This story was so awsome! Good job

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I hope you enjoy the other chapters too.

 Report Review

Review #2, by theelderwand One - Ron

9th September 2009:
Wow. That's a tear-jerker. Excellent writing. Too choked up to write more. Loved it.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much. Sorry about the tear-jerking ;)

 Report Review

Review #3, by AnakinsAngel One - Ron

19th October 2008:
*sniffs and grabs a kleenex* wow that was good

Author's Response: Thank you very much.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Ydnas Odell One - Ron

15th January 2008:
Wow a tear jerker, especaiily because Ron spent so many years alone. No kids and no Hermione. I find it hard to believe that Ron would really believe that Hermione would want him to spend all these years alone with no second wife.

Amelia is a marvelous Oc and Ron's line about letting the Queen take me is one of the best lines in fanfiction, ok I know its JKR, but you use it in a superb context here.

Author's Response: Mm, I agree that Hermione wouldn't have wanted Ron to be alone, but do you think HE would've wanted to be with anyone else? I didn't think so. Also keeping him single made the whole thing a lot more simple. =) I like that line as well, so I'm glad you appreciated it. Thanks for the great review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by morgana67 Three - Harry

20th December 2007:
Wow, this is an extremely well written scene. It's sad but I actually wanted a story in which Harry dies. You did it really well, I mean it is not the AK that kills him, which I think it is good because yes, I reckon Voldemort would like him to die slowly and painfully... Oh, my God, and Ginny is also dead. Harry would have found that difficult to live with if he hadn't died. I bet Molly is unconsolable! I also like the cloning potion (or whatever it was), also very unexpected.

Now, I'll go and read Hermione and Ron's reaction.

Author's Response: Thanks a bunch. I like that he doesn't die by the AK either - it was very fun to write. (I mean it in the nicest way, haha!) Hope you enjoy the rest.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Aidyl Two - Hermione

24th August 2007:
Oh, God!
That was just . . . wrenching!
I-- I don't know what to-- how horrid! But oh, my gosh, that was a brilliant story. The part where Hermione talks to Harry's tombstone is fantastic because it falls so nicely into her character. Hermione seems to have this ongoing struggle that she's trying to deny, and her overwhelming relization was, I thought, very well written. It's so sad to imagine Ron and Hermione after Harry's death, but this is an excellent dipiction.
I know this is kind of morbid, but I have a strang liking for unhappy endings. As much as I would never want Hermione or Ron (or Harry for that matter) to die, the fact that Hermione is killed in the end of this story made it extreamly . . . um, tragic, but in a beautiful way. For some reason, in a unexpected freak accident seems a very fitting way for Hermione to be reuninted with Harry in the afterlife, r whatever it is you believe in.
Now Ron is left alone and I'm very curious as to how his chapter will end.

Author's Response: Well, thanks very much! =) I don't think liking unhappy endings is morbid - I wrote this story, after all, so I think I share a similar liking. Can't wait to hear what you think of Ron's chapter!

 Report Review

Review #7, by itskodagosh One - Ron

6th August 2007:
You are beyond brilliant. These were three of the most touching chapter I have ever read on here and that's saying something as I have read quite a few. You diserve to be a Dobby Finalist and you diserve all the praise you get for this story. It is truley profound.
Dakota

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I appreciate your kind words more than you realize. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by SpringAngel One - Ron

31st July 2007:
Wow. That's the only word that comes to mind right now. This story is amazing. I love how you write each chapter from different perspectives and how that allows the readers to see one thing from completely different point of views. I loved reading how they dealt with life in different ways and how they met their deaths in different ways and different times. Stories like this are the kind that are worth reading and I really can't wait to read more of your's. 10/10 You are a truely talented writer! =)

Author's Response: Ohh, thank you! =) I'm so happy you liked the different perspectives, I enjoyed looking at it from each of their eyes. Thanks again, I'd love to hear more from you if you read more of my fics. =D

 Report Review

Review #9, by Aidyl Three - Harry

20th July 2007:
That was wonderul. My favorite part is Harry's death, or rather while he's dying. Not because he's dying, of course, but because the skill of this writing really shines through in that part.

It's interesting to think of two Voldemorts. I wonder-- Did Harry kill the New Voldemort first, or did the New Voldemort have all the memories that the old one had? All that aside, it was a very original take on the final battle. How horrid for Harry to die impaled on a fence post!

Overall, that was quite entertaining. I'll look forward to reading Ron and Hermione's chapters.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I had Harry kill the Old Voldemort first, then the New one. I sort of left the memories and such up to the reader, but in my head he had all of Old Voldemort's memories, because they were the same soul, even though they'd been disconnected for a while. Does that make sense? =) Can't wait to see what you think of the rest.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Rigal One - Ron

21st June 2007:
Great story

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ibreathemusic987 One - Ron

21st June 2007:
The thing that i love about your story is that each chapter is a completely different story in and of itself yet they all can be strung together by a detail or two. You are a truly gifted writer, I loved reading it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked reading it as much as I liked writing it. =D

 Report Review

Review #12, by Ibreathemusic987 Three - Harry

21st June 2007:
wow. This story was recommended to me on a thread of the Hufflepuff Message board and man am i glad to read it. You are an amazing writer. Thank you so much for writing this story.

Author's Response: Oooh great! I'm glad you're enjoying it and thanks so much for your compliments!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Ripley Three - Harry

20th April 2007:
Damn. I'm not much for Harry dying, but you did a great job. The storyline was original, and for once, his stubborness was a good thing.

Author's Response: Thanks! I didn't want to kill him off, I swear. ;) I'm glad you liked it anyway.

 Report Review

Review #14, by taylorj828 One - Ron

28th March 2007:
Wow. Seems to be all I can say. Well, this was the perfect story for me to read. I love the Trio, reading and writing about them. They’re my fave. And I love, love, love drama, angst, sadness, emotions, death, etc. Terrible eh? I like reading it, it’s my flavour for some reason. I suppose because any real story, any real life, is never void of these things. This is where real life happens. And so it is with this story. Truly amazing.

I love that we progress through the chapters with Harry’s story, then Hermione’s, then Ron’s. I love that we see each meeting death at different times – young, in the middle, and at the end. I love the commentary and thoughts on death and life. Gosh, this story just has so many different layers. It’s beautiful.

Well, first thing from this chapter… In the beginning, shouldn’t it be Hermione Weasley, not Hermione Granger??

Luna. I loved Ron saying that he always admired her going on emotions - just cool. I love the chemistry that Ron and Luna have, and even Harry and Luna. You know what I mean, not love just… that interplay between people. She’s so odd, and yet they in some way care about her, respect her, stick up for her, appreciate her. I think that’s rare in Luna’s life. Anyway, I like her appearance in this story. I also like when Ron decides to wear the robes Luna picked out because Padma, well, who’s she? Yet Luna was always a loyal friend. She’s terribly loyal in fact, funny she’s not a Gryffindor. Wonder if Book 7 will show us why she’s a Ravenclaw?? Maybe I’m just daft… lol.

So many flowers… I liked this detail from the funeral. My mother to this day hates roses because years and years ago she attended a funeral with a room filled with roses, and now the scent forever reminds her of death. Interesting that this made its way, sort of, into your story. Excellent accuracy and realism.

Ah, the image of Ron there, peeking out at his fingers, seeing his wedding ring still there… This image got to me. Nearly made me choke up a bit, just seeing him in my mind staring longing and forlornly at the wedding ring, recalling everything it meant and years and years of memories in that single instantaneous moment. Well, you’re quite good with words, and you definitely stir up some wonderful mental images.

Next, I love the colors described at the lake, and that part about throwing a stone in, in the exact right spot. Poetic, beautiful, vivid. Felt like I was there, I had the whole thing painted in my mind. It really conveyed Ron’s mood or, feelings, or… the air about him in the moment, at that age. Wonderful sensory language and descriptions all through your story…

Really, just amazing language. I have to confess that you have probably the most beautiful and artful language of anything I’ve read on hpff. You have a way with words. I don’t know any better way to say that, so I hope you’ll take it at its fullest and greatest meaning. I love what you’ve done here.

Moving on, I liked the bit about the ‘minor heart failure.’ I laughed before Ron even mentioned the peculiarity of calling heart failure minor. Hehe.

Oh, the moment at the wedding when Ron is watching the dancing, and he remembers friends and happier times… My heart ached for him. Just so sad and… sad! Old people really are a wonder to me. I want to delve into their minds like a pensieve and see all their stories and moments. I think Old people and their memories are beautiful…

The Queen… Well, maybe I’m being complicated but I like that little bit. It seemed layered. Okay, so first he was just saying that Time was going to take him. No, he said Queen. So the Queen was going to take him, like chess, get it, because Ron is the chess man. No… like First Year. He had to sacrifice himself, and let the Queen take him, so Harry and Hermione could get through to the end. And here on his death bed, an ancient memory from age 11 appears. Incredible. He had to let the Queen take him. Layers and layers. Maybe I read into things, but man I love things like this….

Lastly, “Ron had shaken hands with time.” Wow. Just wow. Beautiful work. I am so happy to have been able to find and read this little gem. I’m not sure if I’ll read your others, because as I said I’m quite the Trio-girl… But I’ll see what I can manage. Hehe. I love this story. Excellent, amazing, magnificent, beautiful, superb, incredible, splendid… I could go on and on. (o:

Author's Response: Oh, your reviews make me go all melty. Sigh! You and I seem to enjoy the same types of fanfiction (although I like things outside the trio =P) so I feel really fortunate that we came across each other. We look for and write about the same things, so it's kind of nice, isn't it? =) Well, I think so anyways!

Actually, I view Hermione as the type of girl who would keep her own last name. She's built a name for herself, right? She went through so much with Harry and has worked so hard, and she's widely known as Granger. So I thought I'd let her keep it.

I like that about Luna too! That's why I had to include her - she just gives a little something extra to certain scenes, doesn't she? Like with Harry at the end of OotP, talking about death... I just think she's a wonderful character to identify with. And Hufflepuffs are known for loyalty too (the Sorting Hat brings it up on various occasions), so she's a bit of a mix.

I appreciate you sharing that story about your mom and the flowers. I imagine things turned out the same way with Ron.

You know how to pick out the images that stood out to me as I wrote! Harry being unresponsive during the Horcrux hunt, the hide-and-seek scene, and now the moment Ron peeks at the wedding ring. I'm so happy you recognized them because they were scenes I based the fic around and put so much thought into. THANK YOU!

Your comments leave me just... speechless. After reading your fic (sooo lovely, and one of my favourites EVER), and then hearing these things from you... Well, you sure know how to boost a kid's ego. Thank you so, so much for the GENEROUS compliments.

The Queen was, in fact, about the chess game in Philosopher's Stone. I thought that was a real defining moment for Ron, so it would be nice to reference back.

Well, if you're into the trio, I might have to write more just because your reviews make my head inflate MAJORLY, but in a good way. =D And I do have some other trio works, just not with them all in a group, there are other characters involved. =/ Thank you so much for the wonderful, lovely, all together too good to be true reviews. I loved reading them (several times!), and I appreciate that you wrote them. THANK YOU x 1000000000000000000


 Report Review

Review #15, by taylorj828 Two - Hermione

28th March 2007:
Where do I find words for this chapter? It’s beautiful. I liked it even more than the first… it just had this depth, so much to dwell on and think about, put together, add up, and so many layers! Layers of friends, of love, of loss, of grief, of pain, and healing, of denial, or burying the past… incredible work. At moments I was so wrapped up in it, I forgot to note the things I really liked. But here are some:

The charmed books- wow these were too cute!!! ‘Course, it ended up being sad, but it was such a great idea!!! What a smart idea. I liked this detail. Perfect. Ah, I like where you mention Hermione being willing to pull old wounds open... That bit really conveyed to me a deep love for Ron… but later seeing her pain, it only multiplied. Truly her wounds were ripping…

The vision of the four children playing hide and seek! Wow, that was a nice moment in the story. I could see the whole thing in my eyes, and I could feel the pain in Hermione when the vision vanished and she was alone, and half of those four make believe children, who they represented, were dead. It was very spot-on though the way the children were acting, coinciding with the four characters… Great wok…

Ah this chapter is a bit mysterious, but you have a nice way to unfold the story. In the beginning there are lots and lots of questions marks, and in the end it all folds out in its own time. Definitely think it’s a great skill in your story and writing… (o:


Beautiful descriptions; loved the images of the rock and storm. And I loved Ron’s line about brilliant Hermione still being human. It would be easy to forget, just like the two boys often forget she’s a girl. Gosh, I love your writing!!

“The tornado was on them as it ripped apart houses of hiding places and tore up trees of excuses.” Ah! This line! Egads! This line gripped me. I’ve grown up around tornadoes… the way you use the imagery, shattering Hermione’s world, the houses of hiding places… oh gosh! You’re brilliant! Truly! Your imagery and analogical language is superb! I love it.

Ah, and lastly I noted the light in the eyes, you keep referencing. I like your imagery and theme there. The light that was in everyone else’s eyes after Voldemort’s downfall, fighting to have its space in Hermione’s eyes… Magnificent. Love it. And the final paragraph – ah what a shocker! The reader simply must go on to the next chapter! (As if anyone could put this down, anyhow!)

Author's Response: It's strange, I liked the first chapter better than this one, but it seems most readers are opposite. =/ Ah well, I'm glad you enjoyed it none the less!

The charmed books were actually what created this entire chapter! They're somewhat like instant messaging to Muggles, I suppose. But yeah, I actually thought of them first, and then created the situation between Ron and Hermione around them. So I'm happy you liked them!

Thank you SO much. There are meant to be a lot of questions at the beginning, but I assure you it's nothing to do with great skill. It's just me rambling and then getting lucky when it all makes sense in the end, I swear. =) I'm so grateful for your comments, thank you thank you thank you!

You know, the line about the tornadoes actually was a bit weird in my eyes. I didn't like it much; it rolled off the tongue in a strange way. Again we differ, but I appreciate that you liked it. =)

Thank you so, so much for this review. I always viewed this chapter as a bit (... or a lot) lower quality than the others, but you do make me feel much better about it. Writers are always their worst critics, of course. =D


 Report Review

Review #16, by taylorj828 Three - Harry

28th March 2007:
Oh wow! Well done! Can’t wait to read the rest. This chapter definitely hooks me! (o:

First, great opening paragraph, it really grabs you! Good work there. Also you are great at getting us into Harry's head. All the paragraphs at the beginning really help the reader see and think and feel from Harry’s point of view. And great characterization, by the way. (o:

The filmstrip of Sirius' death, excellent! I love this analogy, and the imagery of the film skipping or the sound going out or the edges getting fuzzy. This definitely happens quite often, the memory becomes worn, if that’s possible. Anyway, I love the filmstrip memories, perfect!

Oh, I like how you give us just enough information about the Horcruxes; we get the idea that it was a terrible thing, but you don't have to spell each individual thing out. Besides, I'm sure JRK will do that nicely for us. Anywho, the idea is quite clear that the Horcrux events were horrific. And I like the episode you describe with Harry sitting down, unresponsive to Hermione and Ron, and later getting up and walking off, not realizing what had happened. Funny, but seems like something that would happen with him.

I thought it was a little weird that Voldemort and Harry were being civil, and not just killing each other. But then, it became quite clear why Voldemort was toying with him. I mean, holy cow, TWO Voldemorts? Ah!

I like Harry’s thoughts about not taking the easy way out. That’s definitely Harry – not allowing himself to do anything un-noble, un-heroic, wrong or lowly. Excellent characterization!

Oh, I thought it was a nice detail, when you describe the pain as Harry kills Old Voldemort. No one usually considers the fact that part of Harry dies with Voldemort. Also, doesn’t the AK curse rip the soul?

Harry impaled? Eughh I have a very active and vivid imagination and I did not like that picture. But I’m not saying it’s bad. Just the image is, yuck.

Oh, and I liked the comedy in a very tense, deadly situation – Harry not taking it, lying down in a figurative sense, hehe. I laughed. After all, he was lying down, sort of. And yet he killed ‘em. Way to go Harry! Good show!! But… I’m so sad.. He died…

Author's Response: My, my, what long reviews! I was so surprised to see these. Thank you so very much for taking the time to write them. They're so long in comparison to the itty bitty reviews I left you. ;)

You pointed out so many things that I specifically wanted to be noticed! The filmstrip memory is one of my favourite segments I've ever written and I can't tell you how pleased I am that you enjoyed it. I spent a lot of time considering it as I wrote it because I wanted it to be memorable. (No pun intended!)

With the Horcruxes - I actually wasn't sure how I wanted to approach destroying them, but I had this image in my head of Harry sitting like a rag doll, catatonic and still, as Ron and Hermione circled, panicking. I'm so glad you got the impact of the vagueness there, because I wanted it to be significant without having to give tons of detail. Thank you so much.

The AK curse does rip the soul, but that's not what was happening with Harry. The way I interpreted the soul ripping was that it had to be intentional in order to make a Horcrux. The books never specify if the soul is ALWAYS torn, just that it's necessary for Horcrux creation. But Harry is within Voldemort because of the blood thing, plus they have such a strong connection, I thought it would be reasonable to have Harry go through some distress as Voldemort dies. I'm glad you liked that detail. =) When I wrote it, I thought it was neat too.

The fence scene, I know, is gross. I wrote it with hopes it would be disturbing. That's key for the next chapter.

Thanks so much for this AWESOME, detailed review. I enjoyed reading it so much and seeing which parts you enjoyed most. =)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Sophia Montgomery One - Ron

13th December 2006:
The 'shaken hands with time' idea is cool. 'He wasn’t offering any explanation.' shouldn't that be past tense? Anyway, so sad but in a way it was bittersweet because Amelia loved him so much. Good story- really, really good story!

Author's Response: It was in past tense - "was" isn't present. But looking back over the paragraph, I can see how that got a little weird. Thank you forever, doll! I'm so happy you read this one. =)))

 Report Review

Review #18, by Sophia Montgomery Two - Hermione

13th December 2006:
' HARRY JAMES POTTER stared back at her unflinchingly and emotionless. ' Good line. And you like surprising people with that last bit, don't you? I really like how your writing is descriptive yet still to the point in this chapter.

Author's Response: Eee, thanks! I made a special point to include that bit. ;) Thanks so much, dear. I'm glad you're enjoying it so far.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Sophia Montgomery Three - Harry

13th December 2006:
Nooo, Ginny, noo!!!

It was about time I read this. And it's pretttyy awesome as well.

Author's Response: =))) Thanks, doll! I'm glad you finally did read it, it was definitely something I wanted to share with you.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Jessalynn Quirky One - Ron

18th October 2006:
I'd just like to tell you that this was perhaps the most touching fanfiction I've ever read. Your writing abilities and imagery are simply amazing.

Author's Response: Awww, thank you! I love this review, it's short and sweet and I'm very grateful for your compliments. =)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Belle Heart One - Ron

9th October 2006:
Wow...that was so beautiful! I think this is my favorite chapter! Oh, it was so brilliant! Very powerful and very deep. I loved it! So much vivid description! I loved how you described Amelia! She's such a great granddaughter! And Ron...oh what a guy! I love him! The line from him that really go to me was at the end when he said, "Can I have permission to go, Ameila?" That was so sad! I was like, "Don't go, Ron! Don't go!" SO SAD! I think I cried through every single chapter!

Wow, this was an amazing story! I loved it and it's definitely getting a stop in my favorites list! Well done! You are a brilliant writer and you're definitely going to go places! Thank you so much for writing this! 10/10!

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much! That's so nice of you. Ah! =D I hope you're right. And thanks for putting this in your faves! Hurrah!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Harry Potter Fan One - Ron

15th September 2006:
I'm not sure why, but this was the saddest chapter for me. I am usually devastated by deaths when they happen to the young - Harry, and Hermione's who's lives were cut short. But the fact that Ron lived his life until the end for some reason touched me more than the other chapters. I was sincerely devastated when he died at the end. It could have been that your wonderful story was over, it could have been simply that he's lived his life and the other two hadn't, I guess it could have been any number of other things. Regardless, it was a wonderful story and I enjoyed it immensely. Thank you.

Author's Response: Awwww! *hugs* Thanks! This chapter was the saddest for me as well, so I think I know where you're coming from. =) I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #23, by holly bergman One - Ron

12th September 2006:
10/10

If you're expecting more comments, I'm fresh out of them due to speechlessness. Sorry.

Author's Response: Haha, no worries, I'm grateful anyway. =)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Quibler One - Ron

8th September 2006:
Yet another endearing, heart wrenching chapter. Just like that and life is over. Time is so human and we understand it so humanly. One of my favorite hymns has a beautiful line "swift to it's close ebbs out life's little day" And so they trio is gone. This story was well written and deeply emotional. Even magic can't stop what is enevitable. Good work! Five stars!

Author's Response: Hurrah, thank you! That really is a beautiful line. I wish I'd heard it before I started this, because it's quite relative, isn't it? =)

 Report Review

Review #25, by dauntra One - Ron

8th September 2006:
Oh my God...a beautiful end to a beautiful story. At this last chapter, I shed a few tears, I'll have to admit. It was really the line "I've got to let the Queen take me" that got me. It took me a moment, but then I realized the connection to the end of PS and it really struck a chord there.

I'm so surprised at how well you got into the mind of the elderly Ron, a feat few at your (well, our) age could accomplish. It's hard for me to describe how enveloped I became in the story as you laid out his feelings so brilliantly. This is without a doubt the best piece of fanfiction you have ever published.

Author's Response: =))) Oh, Dauntra. Thanks so much, munchkin. I really don't know what else to say, I'm just so happy and proud because you enjoyed it and it touched you the way it did. =DDD Thank you times a million.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>