Reading Reviews for A Handful of Play Sand
  
41 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ShellBell It's All Child's Play

16th January 2008:
This is amazing. I have a friend whose brother died of this about 7 months ago. It was hard for all of us, because we were all really close to him; he was like our big brother. I'm so glad you wrote a story about this. It was great. I'm sorry for your loss.


Author's Response: Thank you! I'm sorry for your loss as well. I know that they never really fade away.

 Report Review

Review #2, by NevunaRomione It's All Child's Play

6th November 2007:
I love this, but it's so sad, I almost cried. And then I really almost cried when I saw the dedication, it broke my heart. :-(
May Matthew rest in peace, and my condolences to Joann and Katie.

 Report Review

Review #3, by SiriuslyCrack It's All Child's Play

29th April 2007:
That was beautiful, Kenzie. I read my way to the end with a large lump in my throat. I have never heard of viral myocarditis and it seems like I never want to, now. I am so sad for Matthew and his parents. Poor people. I was so happy just reading about how Ginny and Matt became friends and I had no idea that he would leave like that :(

Great story. Well done, Kenzie. Oh, and my heartiest condolences to Joann and Katie. I hope they are over it, now.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. You're amazing, and I'm sure they'll be reassured. But just so you know, it's never a thing you "get over". It's always there, tugging at your mind occasionally. But I understand your message. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #4, by OllyCoop It's All Child's Play

24th April 2007:
Beautiful.

A lovely little story, despite draging me so close to tears.

You captured it so well, innocence and play...brought to such an abrubt end that is so unfair.

A beautiful story in memory of Matthew.
-Olly

Author's Response: Aww, thank you, loff. You're amazing.

 Report Review

Review #5, by taylorj828 It's All Child's Play

18th February 2007:
Wow. This is your Round Robin Reviewer, here and present. Didn't expect this. Where to begin...

You have great writing. I'm in a terrible habit of quickly judging good writing from bad. But, yours is great. I shall try to read some more of your stories, if you have more, when I have some time. (o:

Some specifics (Only 2):
- Do 3 year olds high five? Maybe. It seemed a bit old for them, or sometimes they seemed older than 3, but it's not a terrible thing...

- And wow, I didn't see that coming - Matt dying. Total shocker, a 'success,' there. But since it's based on a real event, gosh it's terrible. Hard to say anything, because it seems like more than just a nice story.

Excellent writing, excellent twist in the story. Cute, well done. Great work. (o: And, my condolences to the family who inspired this story. Death is so difficult, especially coping with the death of a child so young.


Author's Response: Thanks so much; your compliments are so kind! I'm glad that my writing style got through your "radar".

About the high fiving, I really didn't know what to have them do. And after all, my barely two year old brother high fives. So that's what I drew it off of. And I'm glad that you thought it was good. You are far too kind; thanks so much! I'm hoping of (inadvertantly) showing this to the family soon, so they should know everybody's condolences soon. Thanks so very much for the great review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by HermyJane It's All Child's Play

22nd December 2006:
Oh wow, who would flame this? That was beautiful and heartbreaking. May your cousin rest in peace. It's going into my favorites and I highly recommend it.

Author's Response: You never know with flamers, really. They're so odd and unpredictable. Like, the other day, I forgot to leave a "flamers will be deleted warning" on one of my stories, and I got the most offensive review I've ever recieved in my life. Best to warn them right away. ;)

Anyhow, thanks so much! You're far too kind, and I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reccomending it!


 Report Review

Review #7, by EmeraldWolfEyes It's All Child's Play

20th December 2006:
This was... beautiful. You used your talent, writing, to do something special. You've used life experiences in your stories, bringing them to life. You've let others, readers, know about your cousin. We know how much he was loved, you clearly depict that love in this story. And you've also educated hundreds or thousands of readers. I had never heard of viral myocarditis until I read this. Now I know, and I think I can do more with that knowledge. Thank you for writing this. If you feel comfortable, maybe you should show this to your cousin or your aunt (if you haven't already). People are now thinking of them and I know that I for one am sending my love. I have a 7-year-old brother myself, and I cannot imagine the pain and heartache that they and the rest of your family must have gone through. No, I don't think I would have been strong enough to survive.

Thinking of you and your family, and of Matthew.

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so touched! I'm so glad that the love leaked through the writing. I hadn't heard of viral myocarditis until I was old enough to know more than "your cousin's up in heaven praying for you", either. I haven't shared this but I hope to in an indirect way. I might just leave it on his grave and hope that they read it. Thanks so much, and I'm sure that Matt's family will appreciate your wonderful thoughts!

~*~KeNzIe~*~


 Report Review

Review #8, by ginnyp It's All Child's Play

15th December 2006:
This was so sad. I'm sorry for your loss. But this story is really well written. I love it.

Author's Response: Thanks, thanks, and thanks. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Hermione Fan It's All Child's Play

27th November 2006:
Beautiful. Simple and beautiful, heartbreaking and lovely. I think it was a wonderful tribute, so good job and I am sorry for your loss. :-( x Hermione Fan (Also missing a cousin- a nameless, infant girl who was died just and hour after being born.)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for such a kind review. I'm so glad that you liked it! I am also sorry for your loss; thanks so very much!

 Report Review

Review #10, by hpginny It's All Child's Play

27th November 2006:
Wow, that was really good! I feel sorry for Matt. & Ginny. :')

Author's Response: Thanks; I'm so glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Anony_Mouse It's All Child's Play

23rd November 2006:
I'm so sorry about your cousin! It was a cool way to remember him by writing this story.

Author's Response: Thanks! I love writing, it's what I like best and am best at, so I've been remembering people a lot through my writing. I wrote an essay on him as well, a month ago. I'm glad that you liked it. I think I'm gonna print this story, my essay, and the reviews out and put 'em on his grave. :) For some reason, this review gave me that idea. So thanks!!!

 Report Review

Review #12, by GinnyWeasleyPotter It's All Child's Play

3rd November 2006:
Wow, this was so sad...I loved it though! Great job, and the dedication was so sad and sweet!
GinnyWeasleyPotter

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Pink_Princess12 It's All Child's Play

26th October 2006:
OMG!! That was so cute!!! Sad, but cute!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Natalia_ It's All Child's Play

15th October 2006:
Ouch. That was excellent. I just got goosebumps. Amazing one-shot!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad that you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #15, by harrypotterfan8187 It's All Child's Play

12th October 2006:
The story was sweet and well written, but it was the dedication that really brought tears to my eyes.

Author's Response: :) Thanks so much!!!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Izzieluv It's All Child's Play

8th October 2006:
This really shows you the innocence of little kids, they were playing five minutes and were allready the best of friends.
I'm so sorry about your cousin, if he was anything like Matt in the story he must have been a great kid.
P.S. that made me cry

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much! I'm glad that you caught that, because that was very much what I was getting at. Matt in the story was based on what I've been told about my cousin Matt, so he was probably a bit like that. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #17, by almost_witch It's All Child's Play

29th September 2006:
Aww... my eyes just filled with tears, espeicially your dedication. I'm so sorry for you loss, espeicially for such a young age, those deaths hurt alot more then most.

I loved how you wrote Ginny and Matt, they were like so many common kids the way they acted. The way they became friends from little more then sand and then the was Ginny said goodbye - that is how kids react, they don't know how to feel yet and you wrote it the way it should be.

The start had a warm, summer glow to it which was given by the banner too and as it went on it seemed to get sadder and sadder. I loved how you mentioned that it was ashtough a movie and that anytime someone was going to yell out 'cut!' I understand that that is what it is like, many of my friends have described something simlar to that.

This is unlike any other story of death I have written, mainly because it was centered around little kids insted of adults/teenagers.

You wrote this beautifully, well done which such a perfect story.

almost_witch

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the long review! I'm glad that you like Matt and Ginny. It took a bit for that to come. I give credit to my parents for telling me all about Matt, and all the incredibly sweet little girls in the Sunday school class that I teach.

I love the banner, too; isn't it gorgeous? Alohomara made it, and it really fit. The 'cut' thing came from the death of my grandpa when I was about eight, and that's what I really remember about it. It was as though you'd wake up any second. Only you never did. Thanks so much; you are way too kind!!!!!

~*~KeNzIe~*~


 Report Review

Review #18, by Atheana156 It's All Child's Play

28th September 2006:
That was absoluty heart wrenchingly beautiful.

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #19, by JolieFille252 It's All Child's Play

26th September 2006:
hey! I was glancing over your stories and the cute banner for this one caught my eye! :P

wow, that was a really beautiful story. No story has actually given me chills quite like that...I think because when you imagine all the bad things in the world that could possibly happen to a person, it hits you harder when it happens to a child; they're so beautiful and innocent. That actually reminds me of this lovely poem by victor hugo..."Le toit s'egaye et rit", or "One-Year-Old". anyway, awesome job!

Author's Response: I absolutely love the banner as well; isn't it amazing? Alohomara made it, as well as several of my other banners. Thanks so much! I'm so glad that you enjoyed it, especially since you're quite a distinguished writer here! Thanks so very much for the amazing compliments!!!

 Report Review

Review #20, by mrshermioneweasley It's All Child's Play

2nd September 2006:
Love It!

Author's Response: Thanks!!! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by harryluvsginny It's All Child's Play

29th August 2006:
Awww...that was soooooooooooo sad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response: thanks!

 Report Review

Review #22, by mrs_heather_grint It's All Child's Play

25th August 2006:
Kudos to you. Wanna hear some irony? I just posted a "Make me cry" challenge, and none of them have so far. Then I looked at someone else's challenge, saw yours, and IT has reduced me to mild sobbing. You broke my heart, wild4harryp01231. I started crying when Matt's mom went into his room. It's just...you really know how to make someone cry. Write about a little kid's death, and add a dedication like that. I'm very sorry about your cousin...I know that I'd be a wreck if anything happened to my cousin's daughter, Becka. :[:[. This is also dedicated to his mom, Joann and his sister, Katie, who had to live on, despite their broken hearts. That line of the dedication really got to me. You've successfully made me cry, and didn't even try. You're a remarkable author and you have no idea how many people this fic has touched. 10/10, amazing.

Author's Response: Oh, you're way too kind, Heather! Thanks so so much! I really don't know what to say except...wow. Katie and my aunt would/will really appreciate your compassion, I'm sure. Thanks so much; you are far too kind!

 Report Review

Review #23, by pigwidgeon385 It's All Child's Play

19th August 2006:
Oh, that was very good!!!! The story didn't make me cry, though. (I read this becuase of my "Make Me Cry" challenge.) After reading the dedication I got a bit misty eyed- I'm so sorry about your cousin. Nice story.

Author's Response: I am glad that you enjoyed it!!! :) Thanks for reading it! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Meggie It's All Child's Play

16th August 2006:
awww...that was soo sweet. I loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks!!! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Haley_Pitter It's All Child's Play

13th August 2006:
oh that is so so sad. my heart goes out to you and your family. you are a great writer!

Author's Response: O, thanks! I am glad that you enjoyed it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>