Reading Reviews for Always the hero
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Alopex Always the Hero

30th October 2009:
Happy HPFFSAD!

Well, I feel a bit silly for not realizing Ginny was the third character in this piece. Absurdly, at first I thought it was Fred, before deciding it was probably George. o_O Duh, of course it was Ginny.

The miserable weather, of course, reinforced the grief and misery everyone was feeling, but the sunrise near the end did suffuse the ending with a sense of hope. I thought Ginny's words and thoughts at the end were well-done. They definitely provided closure and summed up a portion of Harry's life fairly well.

I did find it odd as I was reading that the third person was observing and not participating . . . perhaps that's partly why I thought it might by Fred or George. However, I can see Ginny standing off to the side, and the ending had more impact if she stayed to grieve privately after the other two left. So even though it seemed odd on the first read-through, I think the set-up is important.

 Report Review

Review #2, by moolatte Always the Hero

2nd July 2009:
Oooh...I believe I see a Moulin Rouge reference there at the end :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by comic_freak Always the Hero

15th September 2007:
wow. another harry's dead fic that's actually good. you almost got me to cry. i never cry, you have to understand that. never. and i almost did.

 Report Review

Review #4, by AloneintheDark Always the Hero

21st April 2007:
Hi.

This made me want to cry, no beating around the bush. Its a good thing though. Ginny and Ron's emotions (and Hermione's, for that matter) are captured absolutely perfectly.

The roses was a genius idea, it sounds a lot like something I would say; something Ginny would say. I could picture her wording it, in my head, just a tad differently (and It was gorgeous he way you wrote it)

it goes like this (and I've done a similar thing once):
a rose for the love you gave me, a rose for the hope you destroyed, a rose for nobility; which saved us but killed you, and, Happy 18th

It was such idea, no matter how you word it (thats just what I would have said, above) to include the roses. Not something I think I've heard of in a fic before (common in real life)

You ended it terrificly: I turned my back on the grave of the man I love. He died to save the world we live in; already dozens of books have been written to tell the story on the savior of the great Harry Potter. How no one remembers him as the Boy-Who-Lived, because that’s no longer true. He’s the hero. He was always the hero… he will always be the hero… always our hero.

That really put the icing on the cake, as the saying goes, and I thought it wrapped it up perfectly. A great way to end a heart-felt one-shot.



Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you thought the emotions were captured. I have (in the last few months) just done a major edit of this story and got it beta-ed nicely.

I liked the roses idea too, I once wrote it into another fic (which was horrible now I think about it) but it went better with this one.

I like that wording acually.

Thanks, that last paragraph annouyed me alot acually. But thank you again for the review.


 Report Review

Review #5, by miss regulus black Always the Hero

3rd April 2007:
so sad. :(
o
o
o

Author's Response: thanks

 Report Review

Review #6, by Kait Hobbit Always the Hero

5th March 2007:
Is it bad to say that I was happy Ron and Hermione where alive for once? Once again, this is amazing. Poor Ron, it seems like he's in a post tramatic state of living and as for Ginny, to go through all this at 17, bless her heart. I loved the story, very well written, I love your writing style, it almost feels as though you actually are ginny placing these roese on your dead love's tombstone... very good job!

Author's Response: No, no, it's good you like them being alive.

Ahh... I love you so much for liking just about everything in my fics, I'm so glad your apprectated Ron's post traumatic stress!

Thank you so much (again) haha


 Report Review

Review #7, by ralj1640 Always the Hero

14th February 2007:
Agin you are trying to make your readers cry and agin I can not shed tears ofer meaning less things:

Author's Response: It's called angst. Duh.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Trixiebell Always the Hero

11th February 2007:
I haven't looked at your reviews, but I don't doubt a few of them say that you've made them cry. I've come to join the number. It was so realistic, but depressed me. Oh well, you win some, you lose some. Great job.

Author's Response: Ohh thank you so much. I've improved it so much lately, I'm so glad someone noticed. :D

Thank you.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Anon Always the Hero

10th February 2007:
This story is really starting to grow on me, I can't say that anything is wrong with it. It's pretty good and has improved alot. Maybe have a mention of the 'ridiculous obsession' challenge at the start. Otherwise it's good

Author's Response: Thank you for your thoughts, I will definately work with them.

 Report Review

Review #10, by mrs_heather_grint Always the Hero

10th January 2007:
This was a good story. It's kind of funny that I read it trying to geta a title for you :). You had a few spelling mistakes, and some moments where it looks like you were just in such a hurry that you didn't feel like editing :). And for that you can always get a beta. (I know you're on the forums a lot :P.) If you ever just want someone to proofread, you can PM me! Overall it was a very nice story. Well done :).

Your official title girl gives you a 9/10 :).

Author's Response: yay for my official title savior!

Yeah, my speeling is horrible, about half an hour ago it was even worse!

I'm off to PM you now!

:D


 Report Review

Review #11, by Unicorn Girl Always the Hero

4th January 2007:
that was sad...but really realistic

Author's Response: Ohh thanks, I was startingto doubt this piece.

 Report Review

Review #12, by PadfootBlack16 Always the Hero

15th December 2006:
OMG, that was great. another great story, even if it was really sad and had me on the verge of tears there at the end, lol. Buy, yea, great job. 20/10. And it, too, is going in my favs.

Author's Response: Ohh your so nice!

 Report Review

Review #13, by endlessly xx Always the Hero

23rd November 2006:
This was great! Really sad, but I loved it!

Author's Response: thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by angel007 Always the Hero

23rd November 2006:
I'm crying. Great story.

Author's Response: aww.. sorry!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Meggie Always the Hero

5th September 2006:
i loved it, it was so sad.

Author's Response: awww im glad you thought so

 Report Review

Review #16, by rose phoenix Always the Hero

2nd September 2006:
you made me cry again. Seriously i'm wiping tears away. that was so good, so sweet!!.

Author's Response: aww! this one doesnt really make people cry as much but thankssssss!!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Shyanna Always the Hero

29th August 2006:
Ooh, I love the agony that's written here. It's tempting, driving yourself mad with grief over the death of a loved one, and it's obvious presence amidst the three lead characters is a nice baiter for the story. Very good job, I seen a few spelling mistakes, 'Sence - Sense', 'holing - holding', and a small sentence that needs needs a few corrections.

Her breath stumbled ad straightened It should be something like 'Her breath stumbled and she straightened'.

Other then that tiny bit, fantastic job!

Author's Response: Ohh... thank you! I'll fix those spelling mistakes soon. i can't belive it took me so long to answer this. Thanks for the review though!

 Report Review

Review #18, by juls Always the Hero

23rd August 2006:
It was good. A few misspellings but over all good. Knowing you are from Astralia, I understand the wrong season. Another view on handling grief. Keep on writing. =) ~juls~

Author's Response: I will fix them. Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by pigwidgeon385 Always the Hero

19th August 2006:
Hm... I didn't really like that one. It was just kinda... bland? ooc? I dunno... It was well written, but it wasn't my favorite. and didn't make me cry......


Author's Response: Hmmm... damn thats disappointin.. :(

 Report Review

Review #20, by Tiger_Cruise_Ginny Always the Hero

6th August 2006:
oh...so sad...you had me almost in tears near the end! very good job.
8/10
-aly

Author's Response: Thanks heaps! haha

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ms Fred Weasley (too lazy to log in) Always the Hero

27th July 2006:
WOW! Totally in tears now... Great Job with the story. I have one question though... When Ginny says 'Happy 18th' does she mean his 18th Birthday or something else. Because his birthday is in July the complete opposite of winter. Either way it is a great story and I love the four roses.

MFW

Author's Response: Aww thanks.. Yeah it is his birthday, I sorta forgot that Englands seasons are different then Australia's... Damn.. lets just pretend it's winter shall we? Sorry again!

 Report Review

Review #22, by melleyg Always the Hero

26th July 2006:
"I fumbled with the last rose and stood up. I dropped it on top of the others. “Happy 18th.” I stood at the stone for several seconds. “I still don’t get it.” I muttered. “But thank you Harry. Thank you for curing me from my ridiculous obsession with you. You cured me from my ridiculous obsession with love.” "

...That's my favorite part. Very dramatic ending. =). Props!

!melleyg

Author's Response: Aww thanks heaps! my first review for this fic. I'm glad you liked it :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login