Reading Reviews for The Killing Joke
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Strawcherry The Killing Joke

22nd October 2007:
This was very good! I am aware of the fact that you have written this a long time ago and will probably not be expecting any reviews after such a long time, but I'm just stupid for not finding this faster, hehe.
First of all: your Snape. In the beginning I had some difficulty with the fact that he was giving away so much of himself to this stranger in a bar, but as the story continued, I understood and in the end I really think he was very believable. He is only human, after all, and at some point it felt, to me, as if he was talking to himself more than to the bartender. I work in a bar as well in the weekends, and I'm familiar with situations like this, which made the story all the more believable to me.
The fact that this was written from the bartender's pov worked so well, it enriched the story so much! The bartender doesn't know what we know, and that fills the story with nice little details that make the reader go 'ah!', like when Snape uses his wand and Utley thinks he's brandishing a knife or when Snape grabs his underarm (to which he reacts so... Snape! Well done hehe) and Utley doesn't understand that...
All in all, I think you did a great job with this and I really enjoyed it!
Ohh, and didn't you prove to be right in the end? Hehe. Personally, my belief in him never wavered, either!

Author's Response: I can definitely understand how it's not exactly believable at first - that was something I struggled with - but I'm glad you thought I overcame it. Telling it from Utley's view was very interesting, really put a different spin on things: sometimes you learn more from someone else's interpretation than just hearing the narrative from the character's (Snape, in this case) perspective. And I was right! Huzzah. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Zacharias_Smith The Killing Joke

21st August 2007:
I loved this. I love how you show Snape more from the bartender's perspective and don't necessarily show what he's thinking himself so it's more mysterious. And I always believed in Snape. This fic is canon now, so well done for believing in the truth all along! I thought this was well written, with the joke and everything and I love how in character you kept Snape.
Excellent stuff!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review and glad you liked it! It was more interesting to write from an outside perspective, particularly a Muggle one. (And I knew it all along!)

 Report Review

Review #3, by author of seven The Killing Joke

11th January 2007:
Very nicely done; it has the feel of something that was inspired by an arbitrary event and just sort of flowed onto the keyboard. It's always a pleasure to discover fics like that, as they're always unique and seldom deal with over-exhausted topics. Once again, you did a fabulous job.

Hugs, Al

Author's Response: Glad to see you liked a fic of mine that was a different genre. It had floated around in my head for a while, but once I started writing it just kind of flowed on out onto the screen, as you said. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by almost_witch The Killing Joke

23rd December 2006:
Interesting story, I like it alot :)

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #5, by InDeMoMalfoy The Killing Joke

7th December 2006:
Wow. 0_o that just made my brain pop. It was amazing.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Iroquoxes The Killing Joke

7th December 2006:
I really enjoyed reading this and it waasn't because i was sitting in scholl board to death. You could figure stuff out even though you didn't write it. or should I say typed it. Snape isn't my favorite character but then agian who's is he? Thank you Bye!

Author's Response: Haha, happy to see that I've improved your educational experience. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #7, by wired2damoon The Killing Joke

6th December 2006:
Ha ha!! I liked that joke!! T'was funny!! I really like this story!! I thought the writing was suberb and the plot was very clever well done to you!! This is going in my faves and I'm giving it 10/10 for its sheer brilliance!! Can't wait to read some more of your work!! ~wired2damoon~

Author's Response: Glad you liked it and glad you decided to read more! Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Trina216 The Killing Joke

29th November 2006:
wow that was interesting but i'm a little confused...i liked the joke at the end it was pretty funny...

was snape's "old friend" voldemort or dumbledore i'm confused. i'm thinking that its dumbledore but that would mean that you think snape isn't a death eater no offense but i just don't agree with that...sorry but that was kind of on my mind the entire time i was reading it but i thought it was very well written and very descriptive...

Mabye you would like to read some of my stories??? I give you a 10/10!!! great job!

~*TRINA*~

Author's Response: His old friend is Dumbledore, or at least that's what I'm implying, at any rate. I'd love to get in a debate with you about this, but maybe you should just head over to the forums and look at the Snape thread there. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Amy Hon Potter The Killing Joke

28th November 2006:
Not Bad Not bad keep it up

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #10, by ih8snape The Killing Joke

27th November 2006:
Hi
very well writen story however i dont quite agree with the story line, you see i have never liked Snape and have always doubted him, i dont think that he could ever be 'nice' an i think that D would ever ask him or anyone else to kill him. Sorry thats just the way i feel.
(just to say the story was very well written and interesting)
p.s sorry about all the negative comments!!!

Author's Response: You're not the only one, but we'll see in Book 7, eh? Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Opaque The Killing Joke

26th November 2006:
Hmm... very interesting. I like the perspective. Snape dosen't seem the type to spill his troubles to a London bartender, but then again, he's not particularly sober.

Author's Response: Haha, yeah, that was the reason I had him in a bar actually. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Verdigris Fille The Killing Joke

25th November 2006:
Incredible... I love how you humanize Snape, just as Ms Rowling, I believe, intends to do in Book the Seventh. I've seen too many fictions where Snape is the quintessential "bad guy," where the authors don't bother to look beneath the surface and read between the lines. Yours is a truly spectacular story.

I also enjoyed how you included, or rather, alluded to, Snape's Dark Mark. The way that Snape handled the situation of being summoned by Voldemort seems very real.

The only thing that I believe detracted from the fiction was the parentheses... For some reason, when authors use them, it bothers me. This was very minor, however. Incredible job. I can't wait to see what else you've written!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! I'll look back at the parentheses and see if any changes need to be made. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Rachel86 The Killing Joke

25th November 2006:
I liked this, I dont usually read on shots but this took my fancy and i have to say i am impressed.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Abhorsen The Killing Joke

22nd November 2006:
I really enjoyed that. Very dark, but very good. I hadn't really thought that Snape would be much of a drinker, but I guess, if I'd done that, well, I'd drink too.

Nice perspective, and interesting plot. 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by holly bergman The Killing Joke

22nd November 2006:
Interesting...I like it!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Agrolass The Killing Joke

21st November 2006:
I don't get it! What's the joke mean?

Author's Response: See my other reviews.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Aidyl The Killing Joke

20th November 2006:
That was very nice. You somehow managed to keep Snape realistic to his character, which I would think to be very difficult in a situation like this. It was a very nice short read, and I like that you fit in a plot and characters all in such a small space without overwhelming. It was very entertaining. Thank you.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Aziraphale The Killing Joke

19th November 2006:
wow haha that was a really good story. :) applause all around. and yea the joker pretty much owns. he always reminded me of snape =P 10+

Author's Response: Haha, yeah the Joker is just a slightly funnier version of Snape really. Although you could make a case that Batman's quite like Snape as well.

 Report Review

Review #19, by xybolic The Killing Joke

16th November 2006:
I, too, believe that Snape is innocent even if I hate him. We think likewise. It's Dumbledore's request. I like the joke at the end. lol.

Author's Response: I liked that joke as well!


 Report Review

Review #20, by dramione4ever The Killing Joke

14th November 2006:
dq should have read the disclaimer. but i dont get the joke either.
great fic.

Author's Response: See below. :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by dq The Killing Joke

14th November 2006:
true snape! excelent. hes tough! I thougth you were gonna make your position on the snape issue vauge, but i guess from the last couple of paragraphs that your pro. i d k maybe im missing something, i didnt quite get the joke :-/

Author's Response: The joke is saying that one of the inmates will make a bridge using a flashlight while the other one will walk across the bridge of light, which obviously won't work. The irony is that the second inmate says that it won't work, not because it's light can't be walked on, but because he thinks the other one will turn off the flashlight. Hope that cleared it up.

 Report Review

Review #22, by MistressEva The Killing Joke

11th November 2006:
ooo i like

Author's Response: Thank 'ee.

 Report Review

Review #23, by ashladon242 The Killing Joke

10th November 2006:
:D HAHAHAHA! :D LOL! That was VERY good!!! I REALLY REALLY REALLY liked that1!!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Order The Killing Joke

6th August 2006:
Hey good job there, Jembo. you preserved every aspect of snape. Very nice story. I took some time finding you though.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Yeah, I should probably put a link in my sig or something. Sorry about that.

 Report Review

Review #25, by narges The Killing Joke

31st July 2006:
Ah...nice...kind of sad. I liked it anyways


Author's Response: You know, one of of these days I might just write a happy story. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>