Reading Reviews for The Potions Master
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by fleetpaw The Potion's Master

28th February 2010:
The writing itself is very good, but I don't get what the heck the story was about.

Author's Response: The story was about Severus Snape having compassion and saving a troubled young man from killing himself. It also showed that Snape had also gone through some sort of the same trauma at one point or another.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dracoistroubled The Potion's Master

30th December 2009:
Wow. That was amazing. I really enjoyed reading this. Very emotional and accurate. :)

Author's Response: Thanks, and thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Stephanie The Potion's Master

29th December 2009:
This story is very nice and well written as well I most definitely give you five gold stars and two thumbs up. :)

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Rose of the West The Potion's Master

18th July 2009:
This is a really good work. You have a delicate touch.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love reviews like this and honestly they are a BIG part of what keeps me writing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by snapeangel The Potion's Master

4th June 2009:
great story, love the fact you showed the truly human /teacher side of Severus while so many stories just paint him as a villan or prat, thank you

Author's Response: Thanks. Yeah, I always thought there was another side to Severus and I enjoy writing the many different aspects that I feel he has.

 Report Review

Review #6, by hypercell The Potion's Master

5th February 2008:
I really want to know what was tearing up Donovan Demarkus.

Author's Response: I left that up to the reader's imagination because the central focus point of the story was Severus and what he did for Donovan. Personally I like to think Donovan was having problems because he felt like nobody cared about him, and nothing mattered to him anymore because of it... if nobody cared about him, why should he care about anything else in his life? Sometimes we underestimate the power other people hold over us by what they think... sometimes we also underestimate the power of our own mind... sometimes we think things that aren't true.

Hope that helps clear things up for you. Thanks for the review.

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #7, by celestlyn The Potion's Master

14th November 2007:
This was amazing! Great writing! I could visualize all of the details and it was so real. Loved it! I love stories about Snape. Working on one myself. He's just the perfect character. Good job!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad I did so well and I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the review!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Strawcherry The Potion's Master

24th October 2007:
This was lovely. It was different from any other Snape story I've read on this side, and for that reason very refreshing.
I like how Snape and Donnie are so much alike. Both have had schooldays filled with being bullied around (or at least that's what I thought happened to Donnie, I'm not sure if I'm right...), and seeing Donnie so detached -you had me scared for a moment that he'd decided to become a Death Eater as well! It is good to see though that while Snape stayed alone for the rest of his life even after being saved by Dumbledore, Donnie seems to have a somewhat brighter and less lonely future ahead of him.
Your Snape was, even though dealing with some very un-Snapish business, quite in character. His motivations for liking and deciding to help Donnie, his dialogue... It was all well done. The only time he felt a little ooc to me was when he called Donnie 'son'. It seems to me something that Dumbledore would have said, but not Snape. That's a matter of opinion though.
For the rest, you did a great job and I enjoyed this very much!

Author's Response: :) I'm really glad that you enjoyed it! I try hard to keep the characters... well, in character. As for Snape calling him "son" in the end, I believe he knew that was something Donnie needed to hear.

I never wrote exactly what was bothering Donnie because I felt it wasn't important enough to write about. For this story I felt the important thing was the way Snape would handle the situation, and the relationship that would be formed between the two, and also the saving of somebody's life.

Thanks so much for the review! I appreciate your opinion!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #9, by essenni The Potion's Master

5th October 2007:
A wonderful story. I like the way how you pictured Snape - caring, but reserved, not willing to admit that he doesn't hate all Gryffindors. Very realistic.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Have you checked out any of my other Snape-centered stories here on HPFF?

Thanks for the review!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Entmaiden The Potion's Master

3rd September 2007:
Such a sweet story.

The whole idea was quite lovely in more ways than one: I found it interesting and fresh as well as being very well written. I think you did a wonderful job of capturing Severus' character...and Dumbledore's at the end. Especially about Kindness being Inescapable. That was actually pretty brilliant.

Donnie was a well-thought-out character. He seemed very real...and quite sad. I wish I could expand more, but I'm not so good at explaining why I think something's good without blathering on like I just did. Hopefully it will suffice to say that I thought your characters were excellent. :)

I really don't have any criticism for this story along the lines of plot or ideas. There were some typos, like you used accept for except once, and sometimes it seemed like the dialogues was squished into one paragraph, but not near enough grammar kind of mistakes to actually distract the reader from the moving story.

Once again, congrats on writing such a good fic. Good capturing of emotions and thoughts. I'll probably be back to read some of your other fics (probably only one-shots though...I don't have much patience for long-fics unless I start when only their first or sec. chap.'s out :)

Happy Writings!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks for the review! I'm glad you liked the story. I don't have very many one shots up, but I promise that I try to make the longer fics just as good as the one shots... you may enjoy those as well :) Two separate characters dialog being in one paragraph is a writing technique I was taught to use when two people have become emotionally close.

Thanks for the long review! It certainly helps!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #11, by malikali The Potion's Master

29th August 2007:
This one was great!

Author's Response: Thanks!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Hermione12124 The Potion's Master

22nd August 2007:
Great story, you made Snape very in-character. It was alsowell written, with a lot of details. I hope to read more of your stories!

Keep writing! ;o)

Author's Response: Thanks a bunch! Have you checked out my other stories? Some of them are very Snape-centered. I like writing about him because he's an interesting character.

Thanks for reviewing! I appreciate it!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Laiquendi The Potion's Master

28th March 2007:
A most enjoyable read & not just because it featured my fav character written in a similar way as to how I see him, it was very well put together with lots of nice details & I really liked Donavan''s character.

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it! Many of my other stories that have Snape in it feature a similar man in almost all of his features as I see him if you want to check them out. Thanks for the review!
-JW.


 Report Review

Review #14, by RadiantRavenclaw The Potion's Master

23rd February 2007:
I really liked how original this chapter was! You seem to have perfectly captured the personality of Professor Snape, from a different point of view. This was one of my favorite parts. I am excited to learn more of what will come of Donnie, and how Professor Snape will help him! Please keep writing, this chapter was great!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. Unfortunately it was only a one shot which means that there will be no more forthcomming chapters. You may want to check out some of my other works on this site. I like writing about Snape a lot, and so he is included in many of my other stories. Thanks for the review,
-JW.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Hermione713 The Potion's Master

21st February 2007:
Brilliant! The way you have Snape deal with this is just so...Snape-ish...but it's brilliant. You've got an amazing grasp of his character, which is rare and a joy to read. Nice OC as well...I was a bit confused as to why he was suicidal at first, but other than that, it was great. Thanks for writing such a good story, and have a nice day!

Cheers,

Hermione :)

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it so much. Yeah, I had fun writing about Snape, he is one of my favorite characters because he is so intriguing to me... I have to hold the belief that he has some ammount of goodness and decency inside.
Thanks for the review!
-JW.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Snape_Malfoy The Potion's Master

7th February 2007:
Snape the hero...I don't read many stories that show him doing good things for others or even helping them. It was a nice departure from the usual Snape stories.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. Snape is one of my favorite characters, and I hold faith that he has some ammount of decency in him, and is mostly just understood. Mostly he is an interesting riddle of a character that I'm still trying to figure out.
Thanks for the review,
-JW.


 Report Review

Review #17, by lila The Potion's Master

28th December 2006:
very un expected and tottally cool! um.please tell me you are gonna continue this story!

Author's Response: Sorry, it was just a one shot to take a look into the life of Severus. Severus is one of my favorite characters, and I'm definitely thinking of writing some other fics about him. I'm glad you liked the story, have you read any of my others? Thanks for the review!
-JW.


 Report Review

Review #18, by LillyRoseanne The Potion's Master

11th October 2006:
love it, really good, shows a side to snspe that we havent seen before

Author's Response: Thanks!
-JW.


 Report Review

Review #19, by QueenRowena The Potion's Master

30th September 2006:
OOh, I liked it!

Author's Response: Thanks!
-JW.


 Report Review

Review #20, by XxMagical_Miss_MugglebornxX The Potion's Master

18th July 2006:
Oh wow...I simply LOVE this one-shot. It's so amazingly touching!!! You're a great writer too. Keep up the spiffing work!

Author's Response: Thank you. Reviews like this keep me writing. Thank you for taking the time to review. I'm glad you liked the story. You may also like some of my other works. Take a look at some of them. Thanks again for reviewing,
-JW.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Thelastwolf The Potion's Master

29th June 2006:

I'm a community college history instructor and the scene with Snape not being able to stand reading the same wrong answer over and over is right out of my life. :-)

Author's Response: Heh. I'm not a teacher, but I wanted to be one at one point in time, and I am friends with quite a few teachers from my highschool, and a few professors from my college. My boyfriend is also a TA for a programming class, and both he and the professors complain about it all the time. Thanks for the review,
-JW.


 Report Review

Review #22, by xxEmma The Potion's Master

29th June 2006:
wow, snape actually seemed nice... not a death eater even. good work, very bone chilling.

Author's Response: Thank you. I've always had faith in the man... well, the character that is the man rather, to be a good person. I think he is a good person, and I have my theories about book six, but those will have to wait for either another story, or an e-mail, should you want to know about them. :) Thanks for the review, I enjoy hearing opinions and constructive criticism,
-JW.


 Report Review

Review #23, by purewings The Potion's Master

29th June 2006:
Hello! I liked the story especially because of Snape. He's a very deep and peculiar character. What I missed is that you didn't explain what happened to Donnie, why he was so badly hurt inside. I think, if you explained, the story would have been a lot more realistic and shocking. Without that it can also bee a ususal teenage "I wanna die" mood. If you don't want to reveal then maybe you should describe feelings and passions fight within him. You've chosen a "heavy weight" topic, but it became a little "light", it wasn't really supported by deep pain. But I loved your description of Snape's reactions and behaviour, it seems you focused a lot more on him than the rest. But don't get discouraged, I liked it anyway, besides it was only an opinion. Go on! wings

Author's Response: Thanks for the review and your opinions, they are appreciated. I held off on writing this story for a little while because I was debating on writing about what was bothering Donnie. I gave very subtle hints all throughout the story, but I hadn't really expected people to put them all together. I had meant the focus to be mostly on Snape, and I'm glad that came through int eh story. It was mostly to show one of the many sides of his personality, which is another reason I held off telling what was reallly wrong with Donnie. I was also trying to show the circular path a good deed can sometimes follow... Dumbledore saves Snape, Snape lives to save Donni from the same fate. Hey, thanks for your review,
-JW.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Caty The Potion's Master

29th June 2006:
Like this story!


Author's Response: Thanks,
-JW.


 Report Review

Review #25, by lili The Potion's Master

29th June 2006:
I loved it. It show a different side to snape. i really enjoyed it. keep up the good work.


Author's Response: Thanks. I'm glad you enjoyed it. If you liked this story you might enjoy some of my other works too. Thanks for the review; I love to know what people think!
-JW.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login