Reading Reviews for The Rose of Duplicity
  
34 Reviews Found

Review #1, by snapeluvr The Rose of Duplicity

16th August 2009:
Aw that was really really good. Great job

 Report Review

Review #2, by mrs_muggle_malfoy The Rose of Duplicity

10th April 2008:
beautiful and poingant. well done.

 Report Review

Review #3, by essenni The Rose of Duplicity

24th October 2007:
A strange fic, not very realistic, but it is written very good!

 Report Review

Review #4, by sunshinedreamr The Rose of Duplicity

13th August 2007:
Wow. I've never really been into the whole Severus/Hermione thing, but this was just so brilliantly written. I loved all your descriptions and the way you conveyed Snape's emotions. I almost felt like I wasn't only reading this fic, but I was inside of Snape. You made this so real. Beautiffuly written. :)

Author's Response: Wow! That's such a great compliment! Thanks. =D

 Report Review

Review #5, by Novatrix The Rose of Duplicity

11th June 2007:
The words that come to mind to describe this one-shot are chilling and maddening. Words simply can't do it justice. Perhaps I know a little of how Snape feels, given that you rely so much on less-imaginative readers to fill in the gaps between present and point of departure, canon. Not to mention the future that awaits Severus... You've kept him perfectly in canon (and Dumbledore as well, which is an unnerving feat of great ability). I've read quite a few H/S stories that try and deal with the age difference, but this is the only one that doesn't have to. The last dozen or so paragraphs bring the reader so close to understanding this enigmatic figure, but I'm glad that, in the end, you conceal the character as much as you reveal him. There's a very interesting idea of balance here, and, fittingly, nothing is overdone. I think the shortest way of saying what I want to say is to say that you have inspired me, and I heartily wish you the same inspiration! -- Dana

Author's Response: As a writer, I can only hope to be inspired and to, perhaps, inspire others. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Strawcherry (not logged in) The Rose of Duplicity

15th May 2007:
You did a great job on this one! I think one of the hardest things in HP fanfiction is writing Snape 'in love', while keeping him in character. He just seems... unable, no, maybe he has just forgotten how to show the small signs of affection. I think you did a very good job on keeping him in character. He's been fooling everyone including himself (okay, maybe not Dumbledore) in denying that he loves her. And now, when it's too late... It fits within the tragedy of his character very well.
Your Dumbledore was very good as well! He plays the role of know-it-all very well in this, and I liked how you showed Snape's irritation for that.

 Report Review

Review #7, by almost_witch The Rose of Duplicity

10th April 2007:
I have had this story in my favourites for what seems like forever, and finally I had a chance to read it. It was so different to other Snape/Hermione stories I read, it was far more believable and heartbreaking, well done!

Author's Response: Why, thank you for coming 'round for a review. Believability is always a plus, haha.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Romina Stephanie The Rose of Duplicity

2nd April 2007:
Simply wonderful. Your language is so rich and with every word you capture my attention, and they draw me in. The characterization of both Severus and Dumbledore is perfectly made and you describe Snape's emotions beautifully.
Excellent job!
- Stephanie

Author's Response: Why thank you! I love your stuff, so any praise for you is really a compliment.

 Report Review

Review #9, by xx_harry_n_hermione_4eva_xx The Rose of Duplicity

17th March 2007:
Well I really liked this fic. it captures all the characters in the way JKR has written them. it doesnt take any characters out of their depth. Snape is such a difficult character to write about when hes still "mean" which is what I think he will be until the day he dies. Dumbledore is also a difficult character to write about, he just has so many emotions and sooo many ways of thinking about stuff, he has many different perspectives and you did amazing in keeping them all in mind when writing this.

Good Job!! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you think I kept everyone in character.

 Report Review

Review #10, by dev11 The Rose of Duplicity

16th March 2007:
best story i have ever read on HPFF. fantastic.
P.S-Rating: 15/10

Author's Response: WOW! That's such a high compliment, considering all the wonderful stories on here. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Your favorite foo' The Rose of Duplicity

11th March 2007:
The imagery in the story was extrodinarily vivid.You also did a great job of understanding the characters so their responses were believable.It is definitely a new relationship I had never thought of, but an interesting one none the less.I loved the mix of flashbacks and thoughts that were woven together.Also when snape lost it, that was just brilliantly written.You're writing is vivid, captivating, and extraordinary.

Author's Response: wow, thanks for the positively glowing review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by CelticKisses The Rose of Duplicity

7th March 2007:
Heh heh so this is my official first foray into the world of Hermione/Snape. It was interesting to say the least. I did nejoy your description of the church, but some of your words were a little off so if you ever go back and edit just keep a heads up for that ^_^. I liked your description of the crucifix. How odd to find Snape in a church, eh? Was there a specific reason you chose a church as the setting? This had a very enjoyable flow to it and I enjoyed it (especially as my first Hr/S ^_-) 8/10. I must agree though, description is certainly a strength of yours ^_^.

Author's Response: Hey you! Thanks so much for your review, especially since I love your work.

As a fan of HG/SS, I welcome you to this twisted ship. Don't we all love shamelessly un-canon fics?

There isn't really any specific reason as to why I chose a church for the setting. For me, it's usually the setting that pops into my head first, and then the plot. I always have very image-driven plotlines, so it was the middle of last summer, and I thought that dark, twisty Snape would go great with an old church in the dead of winter.

Thanks again! =)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Rose Phoenix The Rose of Duplicity

7th March 2007:
hey i'm rosyn anwylaeth from the forums, i said i'd review you so here i it is.

well wow that was quite amazing. i love your desciption of the church it was amazing. your whole style of writing is great, you write very well. the whole idea of the story although a little OC was very amazing. i liked how snape asked why she had died and he hadn't.

this is a very well writen fanfiction it's really good. i really enjoyed reading it.
rosie :P

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by the_zerbiac The Rose of Duplicity

3rd March 2007:
Brilliant! absolutely brilliant!
10/10

Author's Response: Why, thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Playboy Mommy The Rose of Duplicity

3rd March 2007:
I really enjoyed this, thanks for asking me to review it! Your writing style suits this subject perfectly. You build a mood and tension brilliantly, which is no mean feat in a one-shot. You really delve into the emotion behind what's going on, something which you really don't see enough in fanfic. You've captured Snape's character well, the fear of losing control, self-deprecation and bitterness behind what he was feeling.

I really loved this. Well done.

Jessica xxx

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the detailed review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by therosereader The Rose of Duplicity

24th February 2007:
Oh my gosh I cried.
That's all I'm gonna say.

Author's Response: Yay! I moved someone to tears!

 Report Review

Review #17, by TheFalk The Rose of Duplicity

22nd February 2007:
aww.
i liked it tho.

 Report Review

Review #18, by juls The Rose of Duplicity

20th February 2007:
Wow... great one shot dear. ~~juls

 Report Review

Review #19, by OpheliaDameDansLeBleu The Rose of Duplicity

19th February 2007:
...hm... First off, i loved your writing style. You're very fluid when it comes to writing, and it feels easy going. My only problem. I did find the whole Snape lusting after little under age Hermione just a teensy bit creepy. Don't get me wrong it was really well written and it was really good! It just sort have reminded me of the movie "American Beauty" with the father and all.i just find that stuff weird. Well i loved it anyways, it was great, kind of poignant, you know. Well.tis all i can say! Have a lovely evening, maybe you shall see my name again in a review, no? Ciao then.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Dumbledores_Army The Rose of Duplicity

18th February 2007:
Brilliant. I loved it. Well written, and well plotted!

-Bradi

 Report Review

Review #21, by Breakaway615 The Rose of Duplicity

10th February 2007:
Wow. That was amazing. Amazing. The detail was amazing, the characters were amazing. The plot was amazing. I am... amazed. This was truly a great fanfiction. It should definitely have more reviews. I would review this a hundred times if I could.

I think that the grammar was right on for the most part, and the characters were in character. The detail was excellent, and the ending was sweet. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your positively glowing review! I'll be sure to return the favor. =)

 Report Review

Review #22, by dream_catcher The Rose of Duplicity

2nd February 2007:
This story made me want to cry! You are an amazing author. Your descriptions are incredible and your characterizations fit just as I imagine the characters while adding depth to what we already know. It was beautiful and sad, and though I don't know normally like angst I enjoyed this immensely.

Author's Response: Oh, I'm sorry I made you want to cry! It's always good to hear how a story made the reader feel, though. That's pretty essential to our work as authors. Thanks so much for your awesome review! =)

 Report Review

Review #23, by BelleCeline The Rose of Duplicity

1st February 2007:
That was beautifully written and poetic. If you aren't secretly a published author, you probably will be one day. I don't think I'd have changed anything really, because the overall effect was stunning. 10/10.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Although it is my dream, I am not a payed author, haha.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Dolphinluva The Rose of Duplicity

31st January 2007:
OMG! That was amazing! That story was so good, I can't wait to see more from you, very good style of writing, interesting pairing, absolutley brilliant! 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I can't believe I'm "OMG"-inducing.

 Report Review

Review #25, by xLostxFaithx The Rose of Duplicity

29th January 2007:
First off, I loved it, absolutely loved it.

Your writing style is almost poetic, and it is slightly hypnotizing to read. I love it. You first paragraph was an amazing, descirptive poem in itself. All the descriptions in the very beginning were a perfect way to reel the reader in. Your descriptions of both Snape's and Dumbledore's feelings and thoughts were very welld one as well.

I must applaud you. You are one of the only people whose story I read kept Snape COMPLETELY in character, but in love as well. It was wonderful. You added just the right mix of spite, and anger at Hermione for throwing her life away for nothing, with guilt and loss. You wrote him as perfectly as anyone short of JK herself could write him, and he is such a difficult character to write.

The only thing I have to add is the the ending may have been a teeenyy bit rushed. I think you might have been able to draw out that ending scene where Snape is alone a little bit more before you dropped the "L" bomb. haha

But other than that, this story was overwhelming beautiful. And I really, really love your style. I will probably be reading other writings of yours, so, please keep up the good work. You get a 10/10 and I almost never give that out. =]

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's honest, constructive reviews like yours that keep me going.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>