21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SiriusxRemus4life Once Upon a Time is Right Now

6th March 2008:
I loved the story. It was quite nice. Funny too.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by henryjones Once Upon a Time is Right Now

11th February 2008:
so, um, wow. this was absolutely brilliant. im sort of in awe. i cant, however, seem to be able to put into words why i liked it, only that it made me feel happy inside. so, um, thank you for making me feel happy inside with this brilliant little story.

Author's Response: So you got the warm fuzzy! Good, that's what I wanted! Frankly, I was a little disappointed with the way Ginny got handled in DH. She's so determined and so no-nonsense... except where Harry's concerned. Then she just takes whatever he gives her. I like my version better. Glad you liked it too.

 Report Review

Review #3, by ~v A Knight of Shadows

17th January 2008:
Awesome portrayal of Harry in a particularly foul mood. I was completely drawn into it and thoroughly enjoyed the dialogue. Excellent!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. This was a partial tribute to an old college professor of mine, who introduced me to Arthurian romances and mythopoesis in general.

 Report Review

Review #4, by byrne108 Once Upon a Time is Right Now

3rd March 2007:
i got into grail romances on my own a little while after i graduated college, i find them colorful and entrancing. i think your stories are a good homage to the old tales.

Author's Response: That's what I was after! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by byrne108 A Knight of Shadows

3rd March 2007:
Ha! Field of the Cloth of Gold. I actually imagine Bellatrix LeStrange looks rather like Anne Boleyn herself. That dark, hooded eyes thing going for them. good stuff

Author's Response: Seeing as how the Field of Cloth of Gold bankrupted both England and France, I thought Arthur should be allowed a bit of hyperbole. Glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by MysticalE Once Upon a Time is Right Now

7th February 2007:
Great story! I loved the talk with Arthur (and would be very interested to see how Nick helped him and Molly get together!), and I liked how you interpereted Harry's mood.

I think you did a great job expressing his anxiety and just how worried he is about making sure everything gets done, and no one he loves is harmed in the meantime. This is very true to his character, and you did a great job!

I love the references to the one-shot, and I absolutely LOVE how Ginny slapped him as soon as she got the chance. That's also very in-character for her, and you did a great job explaining everything out. Why he's stupid for trying to protect her that way, and how she was sometimes confused about his feelings.

Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks! You know, you're the first person to catch that little mention of Nearly Headless Nick. I'll tell that story later, after I finish this dadblasted novel. No doubt JKR will tie up all the loose ends in "Deathly Hallows", but until she does I'm going to have some fun with her toys. Again, glad you enjoyed the story.

 Report Review

Review #7, by magicflute Once Upon a Time is Right Now

22nd August 2006:
Oh yay, that's romantic and chivalrous and I just feel as if I had seen the 4 musketeers, Ivanhoe and Lord of the Rings in a row, can't stop smiling! :)))
Thanks for this cute little fic :)

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! I was trying for the sweeping romance, and judging by the responses I think I've hit it. I was going to have this mirror the events in "Perceval" a bit more closely, but I couldn't figure out how to get Harry and Ginny together for a night of unrestrained snuggling. Had to settle for the glove.

 Report Review

Review #8, by magicflute The Lady With the White Flowers

22nd August 2006:
“Salutez a l’homme et sa femme, a la nouvelle famille!” Greet the man and his wife, greet the new family!

Uhm little nit: It should be "Saluez l'homme et sa femme, à la nouvelle famille!" :)
By the way, butterbear = bière au beurre and Pumpkin juice = jus de citrouille ;) (I don't live in Paris, France for nothing hahaha).
Cool chapter, looking forward to more...

Author's Response: You can tell my seventh-grade French didn't stick with me! My Spanish is much better. Thanks for the correction; I'll go back and change it. Besides, they're in Brittany; they should drink cider! They're a little young for Calvados, don't you think?

 Report Review

Review #9, by magicflute A Knight of Shadows

22nd August 2006:
Oh cool, somebody has read Chretien de Troyes :D :D I love that you have painted Arthur Weasley as the wise man, not just as the family man, father and plug collecting freak people keep writing him. He is being a father and a friend for Harry here, love it a lot.

Author's Response: One of my college professors was a colleague of the famous mythologist Joseph Campbell, and he introduced me to Arthurian legends in general and Chretien de Troys in particular. Arthur has his own wisdom, earned through long sleepless nights with sick kids and all the joys and pains of fatherhood. It's as profound as Dumbledore's, in its own way. I'm planning a more detailed story involving his friendship with Sir Nicholas and his wooing of Molly later. Got a novel to finish first, doncha know....

 Report Review

Review #10, by hurricane Once Upon a Time is Right Now

11th August 2006:
that was cute

Author's Response: All together, now... "AWWWWW!!!" I like the cute and fuzzy!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Potterholic Once Upon a Time is Right Now

29th July 2006:
Aww, is that all??? I didn’t want this to end yet. :( Oh well, it was still brilliant. I love the part where Ginny was hitting him. It really showed that she was mad. =D You did a good job through and through. Keep writing!!

Author's Response: Yeah, there are times when I want to reach into the book and slap Harry. The end of HBP was one of those times. So I had Ginny do it for me. (Geez, I love fanfic!) I've seen so many versions of thier next meeting where Ginny is just a doormat, and that's one thing she isn't. Now, go over and read "Blues for my Father", it's not bad, if I dare say so myself!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Potterholic The Lady With the White Flowers

29th July 2006:
Oh, I love your description!! It really makes me feel as if I were really there. I really like how you use the reception line for Harry and Ginny to meet.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. This grew out of te "Wedding Day" songfic. The reception line is the one place everybody goes through at a wedding, unless it's the buffet line. :-) The mythopoetics didn't get to be too much, did they?

 Report Review

Review #13, by Potterholic A Knight of Shadows

22nd July 2006:
Great first chapter! I really love your style, and how you tie in Harry’s dream with the story. It makes me wonder what’s gonna happen next. And I love the mild jokes you put in: “You know, Harry, I think he’d prefer flowers.”, “Eat enough garlic and onions and it might work,” Brilliant. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: That's why I like writing Arthur so much, he's very funny but never cruel. He's also got the wisdom earned by many years of wrangling children, which is just as profound as Dumbledore's in its way. Keep reading, Ginny's going to surprise you!

 Report Review

Review #14, by AliKt716 Once Upon a Time is Right Now

21st July 2006:
Awww! I luved it! You're a wonderous writer! I read the other peice, more vaguely about Bill. I adore them both! I t was a very good ending point, but I think you would do well if you wrote, well, I wouldn't say more, I was happy with the ending. Maybe start a sequal about the horcruxes. Very Good!

9.5/10

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! This story started as a loose thread in the first one (what were Harry and Ginny saying to each other?) and took on a life of its own. I'm going to leave speculation about Horcruxes and so forth to other writers: I tend to be more interstitial and 'lost moment' oriented. I do have something big coming down the pike, though, so check back for the first chapter!

 Report Review

Review #15, by AliKt716 Once Upon a Time is Right Now

21st July 2006:
Awww! I luved it! You're a wonderous writer! I read the other peice, more vaguely about Bill. I adore them both! I t was a very good ending point, but I think you would do well if you wrote, well, I wouldn't say more, I was happy with the ending. Maybe start a sequal about the horcruxes. Very Good!

9.5/10

Author's Response: Hey, twice is just as nice.

 Report Review

Review #16, by kitty2231 Once Upon a Time is Right Now

18th July 2006:
Whoa....... I Don't really know what to say..I think you have a great imagination and I think you are capable of creating a really great story....I just don't think this is it. Good luck next time though....

Author's Response: To quote Groucho Marx: "Well, folks, they can't all be gems; you just have to keep up." The one that's coming has a very different tone; check back in a few days and see what you think.

 Report Review

Review #17, by stephanie74 Once Upon a Time is Right Now

15th July 2006:
yay! A slap in the face and then a kiss! GO Ginny! I love her character, you know. Another lovely piece, I love your writing style. I'm a bit unhappy about the fact that this is already the end... I liked your idea of comparing Harry's situation to Arthur's knights... as there's a lot in common with The Round Table imaginery. Good work! 10/10
Stefania

Author's Response: Aw, gee, shucks! Ginny is many things, but doormat is not one of them. I've seen to many fics where she just blithely accepts the breakup, and that's just not her style.
One of my college professors was a colleague of the mythologist Joseph Campbell, and he introduced me to the story of Perceval. If you're interested, the original epic poem is by Chretien de Troyes, and is available in translation in most public libraries. It's a great read: lots of mysterious castles and knightly head-bashing.


 Report Review

Review #18, by stephanie74 A Knight of Shadows

15th July 2006:
That was fantastic! I loved every line in it, in particular you're able to write Harry and his dark humor perfectly ... something that I wish I was able to do better in my own story.
Very good work! 10/10
Stefania

Author's Response: All I had to do was remember what I was like when I was sixteen. Ye gads, I was emo before before emo existed! Glad you liked it, though. Harry's fun to write, but everybody writes him. I've got a new fic going; first chapter just got submitted. If the mods are merciful, it'll be approved soon.

 Report Review

Review #19, by starry_night The Lady With the White Flowers

14th July 2006:
really kewl :). i'll post the code for the banner on the dark arts so you can put it in your summary... anyways, really good story. :)

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. And thanks for the banner!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Roonil Wazlib A Knight of Shadows

14th July 2006:
i made you a banner : http://i2.tinypic.com/1zx6zjd.jpg

you dont have to use it if you dont want to... if you do want to use it and you dont like the font, would you beable to tell me a site where i can download the font you want for free : ) i will change it : )

Author's Response: Wow, I'm touched! When I got no response to my request on the Dark Arts, I got one out of the Up For Grabs section! Nice work! Pity I can't use them both...

 Report Review

Review #21, by starry_night A Knight of Shadows

13th July 2006:
hey. i really like it. (i'm samiam in the dak arts, by the way.) i'll get your banner to you very soon. i'm changing it right now. :) really really cool, this kinda reminds me of like a mixture of da vinci code and harry potter... good work, keep it up!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. The third chapter's just waiting for approval, so you get to see exactly how things shape up between Harry and Ginny. Da Vinci Code? That's high praise: I like Dan Brown's thrillers. Thanks for the banner, by the way: I just have to figure out how to get it on the site!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login