Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Kaleidoscope
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jennybear Kaleidoscope

28th June 2007:
Absolutely amazing story! I've never been much of a Neville/Luna supporter (I guess I never really thought about it), but this story points out a lot. The song fit the story really well, and I loved your use of description. You portrayed both Neville and Luna very well. :)

Author's Response: Thank you. ^_^ I love Neville and Luna together, personally. I think they make a great couple that makes a lot of sense, so I'm glad you thought this pointed a lot out. And, of course, I'm always ecstatic to receive compliments on my portrayal of Luna - she's such a difficult character! Thank you so much for letting me know what you thought and I'm really pleased you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dumbleydorey Kaleidoscope

25th May 2007:
Awsome!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing and I'm pleased you thought it was awesome!

 Report Review

Review #3, by ginnyinlove Kaleidoscope

26th April 2007:
awww it's so cute!! You should wright a longer one about them!!

Author's Response: Thank you. I doubt I will write a longer one, but I love the couple so I'll keep it in mind. Thanks a lot for reviewing and I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #4, by dim at best Kaleidoscope

4th January 2007:
For me, this story is a mixed bag. I liked it of course, as I do all your writing, but I'm going to have to be completely honest and blunt. Of course, this won't be a flame though. I could never ever flame anything... but if this review comes across that way, please pm me over at the forums to let out anything you might want to say because flames suck and me giving a better explanation of my review, or even just you letting out some anger, might help.

ANYHOO, this review won't be too bad... just wanted to give you a head's up.

I admire you for picking this song. It's what immediately attracted me to this story. I know the lyrics off by heart, so I knew how odd and random they are. This song, amongst others, is probably one of the hardest to write a songfic to (excluding most rap/dance/reggae/jazz of course) and I was intrigued to see how you handled it.

While the story itself is good, the insight into Neville's character quite brilliant, I didn't think that it suited the song. Or rather, it could have, but didn't quite. I saw where you were linking the lyrics with the story, understood how you were doing it... but still, it just didn't seem right. The lyrics were too random, and even overlooking that, it just didn't suit the character sketch of Neville you created.

That's what I thought this story mostly was - a character sketch of Neville. It was well thought out, and I truly enjoyed this portrayal of him, the depth to his personality was great, and the originality of the reasonings you gave to his various actions within canon was high. But this was supposed to be a Neville/Luna fic, not a Neville character sketch, and although the sketch was amazing, this song, in my opinion, suits more Luna than Neville, and this story was focused on Neville.

I'm not suggesting you change the focus of the story, because I loved what you wrote and it helped me understand Neville a bit better, but I'm saying that in order for this songfic to truly work as a songfic, story and song would have to mesh better together, and in order to do that, you'd have to include a bit more Luna (given how random and strange the song lyrics are).

A Neville narrated fic focused on his observations of Luna suits this story best, and while you have that within this story, the other only Neville bits distract from how well the song and the other parts of the story went so well together.

Do you get what I'm saying when I just feel that the song doesn't suit the story as well as it could?

I'm pretty sure I'm being quite redundant within this review, but it's early in the morning (or late at night, whatever you prefer) and my brain isn't as up to speed as it usually is (or never is, whatever you prefer).

Once again, if you found this too harsh, just tell me and bonk me over the head or something. I don't mean to be mean, I like the story, the concept, and love the originality of it... but I'm just not sure about how well it was pulled off in the end.

- Terri

Author's Response: Woah, what a review! When I opened my unanswered reviews and saw the length of this, I was just like :O

Anyway...I want to give you truly honest thanks for this review, because sometimes it seems like I rarely get anyone telling me what to improve (and I know there's a LOT to improve).

I think I understand what you're trying to say. This fic is, in essence, a character sketch of Neville (most of my fics seem to end up like that) and the song reminds me SO much of Luna that I get where you're coming from. Someday, if I ever get inspiration for a proper Neville/Luna, I might switch this song to that fic instead, because Kaleidoscope is really just for Neville, isn't it? Or I'll add some Luna POV in, or do you think that will ruin the focus?

See, I don't want to take the song out completely, because to me, it really suits Luna and their relationship. But I see now that it doesn't fit the story as well as it could.

Hmm, I'm not quite sure what I'm saying, so I'll wrap this up here!

Thank you so much for this review, Terri - you've really helped me think about what's wrong with the fic. And it was nowhere NEAR a flame, I'd never be offended by a bit of CC. Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Step_Up Kaleidoscope

3rd January 2007:
That was beautiful. lol I envy your writing, and your right, that songs does seem to fit Neville/Luna perfectly. I saw Train in concert and they are wonderful, I love them. lol So I guess that adds to why I love this one-shot... anywho, amazing job. 10/10.

Author's Response: Oh, you're so lucky, I'd love to see Train in concert! Anyway, thanks so much for your praise and I'm really pleased you enjoyed it so much!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Girl With a Pearl Earring Kaleidoscope

31st August 2006:
Aw, I love Neville/Luna stories, very touching. You do an excellent job of portraying Neville. So many authors just sort of brush him by and never touch on his character, but I think it's just as important as everyone else's. The same goes for Luna, you did a great job for her. Great job!

Cheers!
Lia

Author's Response: Neville/Luna is adorable, isn't it? I love Neville to absolute pieces, so I'm really glad you think I portrayed him well. We need more fics about him AND Luna! Thanks so much for reviewing and I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by sageofdawndreams Kaleidoscope

31st May 2006:
omg! the song is so perfect! And I love the way that Neville describes Luna, its is sooooo sweet.

Author's Response: Thanks! Again, I'm pleased to hear the song was good and that people seem to view it the same as me. I ran into problems with this fic; Neville and romance just don't mix for me, so I had to keep it mostly one-sided! Thanks again for reviewing and I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by lightmasterofchaos Kaleidoscope

31st May 2006:
This is very good! This is the perfect song for Neville's and Luna's relationship. I love it!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks for the review! I'm really pleased to hear the song fitted - it makes me think of Neville and Luna but it's also slightly random, so I wasn't sure. Thanks again for reviewing and I'm pleased you loved it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login