Reading Reviews for Halfway To Infinity
  
728 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DraculoraMalfoy11 Epilogue

15th January 2014:
I honestly think this is one of the best fan fictions I have ever read she says as tears well up in her eyes. I had a roller coaster of emotions reading this, from anger to laughter to sadness. And it was all worth it to be able to read such an original, beautiful story. Thank you for this. Infinity/10.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Kline Chapter Forty: Detention with Snape

4th November 2013:
You say, “The Dark Lord rose to power in the 1980s." Don't you think that's incorrect?
He, actually, FELL in 1981...
he rose to power in the early '70s or the late '60s...

 Report Review

Review #3, by Kline Chapter Forty: Detention with Snape

4th November 2013:
You say, “The Dark Lord rose to power in the 1980s." Don't you think that's incorrect?
He, actually, FELL in 1981...
he rose to power in the early '70s or the late '60s...

 Report Review

Review #4, by Edwin Prologue

26th July 2013:
Cool. Promising. Starting to like it already though so yeah..

 Report Review

Review #5, by Claudi Epilogue

26th July 2013:
Wow this was the most impressive story I have been reading in ages. Can't believe how worked up I am right now... I hate and feel sorry for Lottie at the same time and still not over the strange feeling you have been putting my mind into...
Great Work!!! Thank you

 Report Review

Review #6, by WindsOfDestruction Epilogue

24th July 2013:
this is the best fanfiction out of all fanfictions that I
have read before. period.

 Report Review

Review #7, by turtlecalledzebra Epilogue

19th July 2013:
Oh my God.
This is one of the best Harry Potter fanfictions I have ever read. Well, the best really. It's the most realistic as well.
It took me almost an entire day, but I've read it all - all 78 chapters.
It was worth it.
Fantastically written, invoking the inability to stop reading. The way she changed, it's all explained and done in such a realistic way, I've never seen someone do a better job while writing a fanfiction like so.
It's as if it was a real book, a sort of... alternate ending. The horrors are portrayed in such a realistic way, it just grips your mind, and the suspense...
You've done a wonderful job, so well done.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Sarah Chapter Thirteen: The Other Side of the Wall

2nd January 2012:
I'm just wondering. are you American or Canadian.

Not that the story is very American like. But, some of the words you use. Like pants. Pants mean underwear in Britain. Not trousers. I assume you mean trousers?
Also Duffle bag. Is an American term. we don't have duffle bags. well we do. But they are just called something else.

Great story. I adore Lottie and Andrea.
I think Lottie becomes a favourite within the school, and top of her game. Her head of house sees her as a snotty little trouble maker. But maybe she will see different.

Author's Response: I'm American. I know there are differences in the vernacular between countries, but it would be absolutely absurd to spend all that time "translating" tiny words and phrases like that. I'm assuming my British readers are smart enough not to be confused.

Thanks so much for the review and kind words!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #9, by Sarah Chapter Four: The Ivory Table

1st January 2012:
I'm curious to know. why is it that food is plentiful. But other necessities like clothes and toiletries are not.
Surely they can duplicate clothes, and soap, like they can with food.
with books, I'm sure that a copyright charm has been performed.

But what about toilet roll? surely they don't ration that.
and they don't even have deodorant.

Well I'm sure they must have been used to stinking in the muggle camps. a hose down every week or so.

There has to be some perks to being a witch or wizard. having enough soap must be one.

Author's Response: The food isn't as plentiful as it is at Hogwarts--but to kids who grew up starving it sure seems like it. There's enough food for everyone to get a good amount, and occasionally (like the start of term) there are feasts.

Thanks for the review!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #10, by meryemaltiner Epilogue

19th October 2011:
this is honestly the best story I've ever read. I kind of started to love lottie.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review and the kind words!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #11, by meryemaltiner Chapter Twenty-One: Bereavement

15th October 2011:
it's 1;30 am and I want to sleep so badly, but this story is keeping me up, I just keep reading and reading. this is honestly I think the best story I have ever read.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #12, by Winkie Chapter Seventy-Six: Lottie’s Last Stand

15th September 2011:
I love this story. Anyway, I have several questions for you. Don't want to bother you with them, but I'd be pleased if you answered.

1. What happened to Hagrid and Grawp? I was slightly confused by the prologue.
2. I'd love to see a short sequel where Lottie reconciles with her old friends, or rebuilds Alsemore, or revolutionises Hogwarts. A prequel about the three founders (plus Melinda) also sounds good.
3. If Melinda survived, would she have had a house dedicated to healing and defensive magic?
4. Do you think Clynalmoy corresponds to Ravenclaw, Melinda to Hufflepuff, Maleoric to Gryffindor, and Palmyitor to Slytherin? Or should there be no link between the houses?
5. What happened to the Elder Wand?
6. What is Colm's ancestry?
7. Why did Palmyitor trust Snape so much?

Oh, and I love the banner. Really good job.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

As for your questions--

1. Hagrid was killed by Greyback in the battle that happens right before the Prologue. Grawp killed Greyback after that, but was also killed later on in that battle.

2. Hmm I really can't promise I would write any sort of companion piece to this, but if I did, I'd probably write a prequel. I don't have much more to say about Lottie, but the founders had seven years at Hogwarts and a few years after before the prologue. (I'm really not making any promises! I currently have no plans for a prequel.)

3. Yup, you got it exactly!

4. The founders *were* in those four houses themselves, but the Alsemore houses do not necessarily correspond to them. The Alsemore sorting is done by skill, whereas the Hogwarts sorting is done more by personality and values. Andrea, for example, would have been a Gryffindor, and Lottie a Slytherin, but they're both in Palmyitor.

5. It stayed in Dumbledore's grave. Voldemort never had a need for it (so never went to the trouble to find out it wound up with Dumbledore) because he never had to overcome Harry's wand.

6. Colm is a pureblood.

7. I never explicitly said it, but I always imagined that Palmyitor was a bit enamored of Snape. They had a complicated relationship--Snape was her teacher when she was at Hogwarts, but as she got older, they were both in Voldemort's Inner Circle. (Palmyitor at a spy, but they were operating together for a very long time.) I think they may have known each other pretty closely over that time.

Thanks so much for the kind words! I hope I answered your questions!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #13, by Kristine Epilogue

11th September 2011:
I read the whole thing! It's amazing and I plan on terracing it I think it should be a published book!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #14, by Victorie Epilogue

11th September 2011:
This is a brilliant story. It's dark, and full of angsty, but it's one of the few ones out there which are well-written and a satisfying read. This, or at least the writing, is good enough to be published in real life. It's exciting, and unpredictable, and although many of the events are tragic, it's still gripping and I can still sympathise with the characters. I hoped for something a bit more orginal than Lottie going into limbo and meeting Harry, and I was very disappointed with Andrea's death. Still, an excellent job.

Author's Response: Thank you for all the kind words! I'm sorry that a couple of things disappointed you--I sort of had a feeling not everyone would like that, but it was the best option for the story.

Thanks for the review!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #15, by pinks Epilogue

28th June 2011:
You have written a wonderful story. Unlike most of the fluff, you painted a vivid picture of the sacrifice and heartache that would inevitably come with being part of the resistance. Fabulous job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for all of your kind words and for sticking with me to the very end!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #16, by pinks Chapter Seventy-Six: Lottie’s Last Stand

28th June 2011:
Wow. That was incredible. A poignant ending to a wonderful story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #17, by pinks Chapter Seventy-Three: The Battle at Alsemore

28th June 2011:
Wow, I didn't see that happening! Poor Andrea!

Author's Response: Agreed. =( It was hard to write, but it had to happen.

Thanks for the review!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #18, by pinks Chapter Sixty-Seven: The Old Ministry

28th June 2011:
Great chapter! I was wondering when Snape would confront Lottie and what would become of him.

Author's Response: Thanks!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #19, by pinks Chapter Sixty-Three: The Death Eater’s Task

28th June 2011:
How sad! I wondered if it would come to this.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #20, by SmartHermionelovesRon Epilogue

4th June 2011:
Wotcher, I couldn't post a review on the Mugglenet version of this story, so I'm posting it here.

This was by FAR the best HP fan fiction I have ever read. I would wake up early in the morning just to read it. I still have some comments though.

1. What ever happened to Luna? Or Seamus Finngian, Ernie MacMillian, Hannah Abott, Parvati and Padma Patil, Cho Chang, Katie Bell, Alicia Spinnet, Angelina Johnson, Fred and George Weasley, Charlie Weasley, McGonagal, you get the point! Did they die in the battle where Harry died too?

2. No offense, but there is no way that Lottie could have some of Lily's protection in her blood. Lily sacrificed her life for Harry when Harry was only a little over 1 year old, and Dudley was older then him. And anyway, it would have to go from Harry to Dudley, and I'm not sure how that would be accomplished.

I don't mean to critize with those comments, I still absolutley loved the story idea and the plot. And I'm so much like Lottie it's scary. Honestly, if she had brown hair, I WOULD BE her!!!

-SmartHermionelovesRon

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind words! =)

1. All of those characters had died by the time this story began. Not everyone died in the exact battle--but once Voldemort took over, the Death Eaters didn't take long rounding all of those people up and taking care of them. The Alsemore crowd kept their heads down for the most part, since they weren't sure who they could and could not trust, so they couldn't offer help to them.

2. I sort of changed the way that piece of magic worked in my universe to make it work. (It is AU after all, isn't it?) I think how Jo envisioned it--you're right, it probably wouldn't work, since it's Harry's blood that she focuses on. But in the alternate version that I created works so that the protection lies in Lily's blood--not Harry's, so that anybody (who is magical) who has any of Lily's blood will have the protection too. (I took a lot of time thinking this through--it does bend the rules a bit, but not any more than the general concept of the story haha.)

I don't mind the criticism! It's how we get better. =) I'm really glad you enjoyed the story!

Thanks for the review!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #21, by angie123 Epilogue

18th April 2011:
I love this story so much. It was a real rollercoaster rude for me. I give it a 100/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #22, by Maitri Harys Epilogue

11th April 2011:
Hello Eponine,
I'm not a great person like Dumbledore to be quoting very solemnly how moved I was by Lottie, and how I wish her soul could have grasped Dark-lessness better.

Hey, I go with Lottie. If it's ad for you, then it's ad for the enemy too; if it saves you, it's friendly.

Gosh, I really did admire Andrea, though. I love the name, anyway, and loved the character. She seemed... kindred. Like I could relate to her...

And Colm? Perfect Slytherin heir growing up to be the Death Eater, hiding behind a good cause. Or was it good? It was selfish, it served his death right. Sometimes, one has to make sacrifices, and his sacrifice was his trust. What a complete betrayer, a complete, obsolete, imprudent person he was made out of love and war!

It's cool, mate... In any stance, I understand Lottie's urge to kill, even though it feels kinda far away. I can be emotionless, but it's hard for me to act in rage and hatred. Like I want to reach, but I'm still scared it would hurt the other person. What if they were just hurt in a different way that caused them to turn bad? This one question plagues me over and over again. I know it was the same Harry Potter had felt in the Half-Blood Prince, after discovering the pathetic way Tom Riddle was brought up. What if the same happened to Peter Pettigrew? One small mistake, one whole war...

Bringing Hermione into the fray was realy entrapping! And Neville. :)

What of the other Weasleys? You've framed the deaths of Molly, Arthur, Bill, Ron. what of others? Why did Bill and Fleur never decide to have children? I loved the Weasleys...

I like Lottie's seeming detachment, and the unnerving sensitivity underneath it all. She learned from Snape, and even though Severus was the villain through and through, he was truly by only one person's side. Lily's, right?

And... Harry. Blimey, Harry was so cool... so brave... so foolish. I almost wished he said he had no choice. C'mon, I understand, too , that he was in pain, hadn't lived the best life in the world with everybody he loved, that he hadn't got a happy destiny. But he... I... I cried. Harry was brave, loyal, noble, and would never abandon his friends. I kinda hoped he was hiding in the backstage, somewhere... I still am. Harry Potter has been known before to have lied. I Believe.

Cheers,
Maitri Harys

Author's Response: Thanks for your kind words!

Unfortunately no Weasleys made it through the course of this story. They all died during the last battle or very shortly after Voldemort's reign began.

Hm... I'm not sure if I would agree with you about Snape being a villain through the entire thing. I purposefully left it ambiguous. But yes, his loyalty to Lily is really what creates this grey area; this loyalty to Lily gets passed down to be a loyalty to Lottie, who is her last living relative. Snape was really playing the game to preserve himself, but he DID honestly help Lottie because he loved Lily.

Thanks for the review!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #23, by louisa_21 Epilogue

26th March 2011:
Eponine-
This question just came to me: Did Voldemort have control over Australia and New Zealand? It would be devestating to me for that to happen.

As with other reviews that other people have sent in, I reckon you should write a sequel of sorts- I just don't want the Lottie spirit to end!

Author's Response: He was slowly moving outwards to colonize. So places in Europe (as seen when they go to France) were pretty much under the same regime, but places farther away hadn't been entirely taken over yet. Australia and New Zealand were more like the Americas, where the good wizards are still putting up a big fight. But he was well on his way!

Ahhh a sequel is so tempting. Believe me, I miss Lottie terribly as well. Not much more happens in her life to merit a sequel, I don't think. A prequel I could fathom (with Palmyitor, Maelioric, and Clynalmoy), but I don't think I'll make any promises now. After this saga, I'm taking a short break from fan fiction to focus on original projects.

Thank you so much for the review!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #24, by nirvana14 Epilogue

28th February 2011:
A wonderful finish! Thank you Eponine.

Author's Response: Thank you!
Eponine


 Report Review

Review #25, by the pretty reckless Epilogue

28th February 2011:
hey your probably really bored of hearing this but...WOW
this fan fiction is amazing and i think you should definatly write a book or more of fanfictions. you should write more on lottie like a sequel of some sort, or something on Hermione's story :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'll definitely keep writing--I couldn't stop myself even if I wanted to!

Thanks for the review!
Eponine


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>