126 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HollyStone73 Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

14th July 2013:
This was awesome!! I absolutely loved this! I love that his teacher took notice to the things that happened to Harry. I always wondered why it was that the teachers never took care to realize how bad things were for Harry and it always made me so sad. I love how you showcased the teacher's uncertainty about how to proceed and yet allowing her to find a way to try to get the information she wanted. I actually can't wait to read the sequel to this and see what else happens. Great job on this!

 Report Review

Review #2, by shoveitsunshine Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

2nd July 2012:
Oh my god. I love how you've shown aspects of Harry's past from what could have been gathered from canon. Little!Harry was precious, and I especially like how you showed that at least /one/ person in the entire school seemed to care.

Also, this line: "She could only hope he had gone somewhere a little brighter."

Just.

 Report Review

Review #3, by angelicdemon1209 Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

28th November 2011:
It's really great.. :D
I haven't seen many people even attempting to, or thinking of writing a story which is based on events in Harry's life, between his first Halloween and Dudley's 11th birthday..
So, bravo for that, plus, a great insight into what Harry was like, and he seems to be such a li'l sweetheart.. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by RumbleroarRedvines Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

10th June 2011:
LOVED IT! i think Harry's past is so intruiging, and you portray it sooo well. I'm DEFINITELY going to read the sequel! Great job! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by Snapdragons Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

4th March 2011:
Was heartbreakingly beautiful. Poor Harry. D: I don't think I've ever given much thought to what happened before Hagrid came and he went to Hogwarts. Miss Morrison's concern is touching, but the last line brings a bit of hope. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #6, by oblivious_fool Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

23rd June 2010:
This was really fantastic. (:

 Report Review

Review #7, by Laughing_My_Tail_Of Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

20th September 2009:
god this was so good ! and kind of sad :(

 Report Review

Review #8, by TheDirigiblePlum Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

25th August 2009:
:( Poor Harry! That was honestly my first reaction when I read this, because you got his bravery and vulnerability so perfectly that I felt like I was reading JK's version of Harry. It was interesting to see the outsider's perspective of Harry's early life with the Dursley's, and you managed to make it as horrifying as it's portrayed in the books.

"She could only hope he had gone somewhere a little brighter."
This last line was my favourite. I don't know why. :)

10/10

 Report Review

Review #9, by IceBird101 Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

2nd July 2009:
A great story! I loved how you described Harry and how helpless Miss. Morrison felt about Harry's condition. I really loved every moment of it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by KRenee Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

1st July 2009:
That was really beautiful. I don't even have the words to describe how amazing this story was. I mean you merged canon with things that could actually happen in real life.
Bravo! Well Done.

 Report Review

Review #11, by TyrannicFeenix Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

15th May 2009:
WOW. This is so really well done. I've never read a story about Harry's early years but this one was amazing. So well written. It really captures Harry's nature even though he barely speaks. I will have to read the sequel now. Excellent work. 10 out of 10.

 Report Review

Review #12, by inkscribble Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

2nd April 2009:
Brilliant. Beautifuly written and it really showed how poorly Harry was treated. Although it is of course talked about in the books it's written in the same way as the rest of the books and doesn't seem to show how serious it really is. This was wonderful, heart-breaking and amazing.

 Report Review

Review #13, by saraie12 Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

15th December 2008:
that made me want to start crying! wait, i am crying! very good job!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Weasleys Forever Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

10th May 2008:
Poor Harry. What a miserable childhood.

Well written.

 Report Review

Review #15, by ^__^ Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

27th January 2008:
I love this story! This is a great one-shot about life before Hogwarts for Harry, and I want to read more fics like these! Great job!

 Report Review

Review #16, by CheleCooke Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

22nd November 2007:
I love this! It's beautifully written, and I love it that it's from the POV of someone who has NO idea what happened to Harry (I suppose that's the point. Lol) Anyway, I just wanted to say. This is beautiful and definitely going on my favourite list.

 Report Review

Review #17, by AK Carmel Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

20th November 2007:
oh dear this was terrible sad... :(
great job though!

 Report Review

Review #18, by angelbittertears Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

15th November 2007:
Oh my God.

I absolutely adored this story. It was such a brilliant idea, and I loved how Miss. Morrison was so real and believable and all that fun stuff.

Normally I would try to make a longer review for a story I liked so much, (my general rule is two or three sentences per number in rating), but, well, right now I really don't want to bother, as I'm going to go read all of your other stories. Starting with 'And His Cousin's Hand-Me-Down Clothes". YAY! Keep writing, and I'll keep reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by OvergrownEden9 Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

15th November 2007:
Omg.

I Cried. It Was So Sad. It Reminded Me Of A Boy In My Primary School. Omigawd.

Well Written. Amazingly Written, Actually.

10/10 M'Dear.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Dragonballgt88 Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

27th October 2007:
very nice 9/10

 Report Review

Review #21, by JLHufflepuff Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

27th October 2007:
Aww! I absolutely love this. It conveys the emotional abuse Harry received from the Dursleys in a realistic way. I don't think their abuse of him was ever very physical, but this shows the emotional side of it. I really like that it is from the teacher's perspective... I see you have a sequel posted, which I am anxious to read!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Dojh167 Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

26th October 2007:
Very good - creative, unique, and very well written!

You did an excellent job of showing us the character of Miss. Morrison, even through a very limited amount of dialogue, which I thought was good.

I have had this story on my favorites list for some time. I just came across it one day and it looked very interesting, but I did not have the energy to read it (that is why almost all of the stories on my favorites list are there in the first place). But I did get a very different idea of what it was about. From the summary and beginning of the story, it felt like Miss. Morrison was not going to have liked Harry - to have found him a strange and uneasy child whom she had no desire to have to cope with.

But the story turned out totally different altogether, which I thought was a bit surprising. This is a side of Harry's childhood that we really don't see much of in the books. We only ever see him in the present of his aunt, uncle, and cousin, and therefore the way that they treat him is the only thing that we know. We are therefore driven to assume that everybody reacted to him in this way but, as proven by your story, this is not necessarily true.

I think that you did a very good job of bending the natural assumptions of the reader and creating something that feels realistic and highly possible.

The only part of it that I do not agree with is your portrayal of Harry. For the most part his behavior seemed to be overall the way that the character would actually act, but what I really had a problem with was when he spoke. You had very little dialogue in this story, and most of the time was the rare occasion when he spoke. My personal impression was that he had become a house elf. That is honestly how I felt. Every time that he was spoken to he responded with "yes miss," which seemed very unlike him, especially as a small child.

Harry was not raised in a household or environment where he was expected to be studious and polite. Quite the opposite, he was taught to pretend that he didn't exist, that he was a nothing. A child like this would unlikely be found so composed and refined. Instead (at least I assume) he would be uneasy, perhaps doubtful that he should be talking to his teacher, and showing signs of social unease, which I really didn't detect at all.

One other small thing that bothered me was when you said "They had lived with him for almost eleven years now, hadn’t they?" I know it is not really important, but it just sort of annoyed me. He may have been eleven at the end of this story, but they would not have known him for that long. He probably wouldn't have started school until he was five or six, and, knowing the Dursleys, it is very likely that many people outside of the house would have known him at all.

Overall, I really loved this story. It is indeed rare to find something like this. I, personally, long to be a teacher for young children when I grow up, and so it is especially close to my own heart. I felt that I could identify with Miss. Morrison in many ways.

It was also interesting to read all of this from another (and quite unknown) point of view. Harry Potter was, of course, a very important figure. But here is a person who had no clue of the world that he came from or was headed to, the things he would do, the amazing man he would become. And yet she saw that he was special, and that was very important.

Umm... I'm sure I had more to say, but I suppose I have said enough. So congrats on the story, and I shall be back to read the sequal once I summon up the energy!

 Report Review

Review #23, by morgana67 Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

12th October 2007:
Oh, this is so sad but so nice, I almost cried! I wish I could have told Miss Morrison that Harry was for the first time happy, in a really interesting place (well, I guess happy until he found out that Voldemort was after his blood) but all the dangers and adventures he faces at Hogwarts seem nothing in comparison to the sadness that he felt in this story. God knows how he would have turned out if he had never gone to Hogwarts! Very well done!

 Report Review

Review #24, by liandhate Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

9th October 2007:
wow, wonderful story. 10 out of 10 and on my favorites
i'll be sure to check out the sequel

 Report Review

Review #25, by infested_with_NaRgLeS_14 Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

21st September 2007:
BRILLIANT COMPLETELY BRILLANT! That's all I have to say. Welcome to my favorites.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>