Reading Reviews for Not a Magical Bone in My Body
  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Bella An Alcove Filled of Flowers

22nd May 2008:
Really enjoyed this as it just seemed so well written. Thank you for a good read.

Author's Response: Thank you! It means a lot.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Masquelette An Alcove Filled of Flowers

5th April 2007:
Wow... I found that perversely amusing. I love how you illustrated her freaking out during the whole... 'incident'. The whole moth to flame concept you've got going was fascinating. Hehe... I love embarrassed Malfoy...

Was that little bit at the end foreshadowing for her specifically, or in general for the upcoming war with Voldemort?

Author's Response: Again, thanks for the review! "Moth to flame".... Oh, what a lovely analogy/cliched sort of phrase (and I don't mean that in a derrogatory way, of course. I love myself a good ole cliche!).

Embarrassed Malfoy is always fun.... And, just to make you squirm a little... I shan't be telling you if it's foreshadowing either, or both. ^_^.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Masquelette Bonjour!

5th April 2007:
I really like your OC- not Mary-Sue-ish at all. I kinda like how she's reasoned herself out of wanting to be magical by convincing herself that they're probably all insane anyway. And I love how she doesn't know what anything is but tries to go along with Malfoy anyway.

... who knew butterbeer had that effect on Muggles?

Author's Response: Ah, thank you!

By the way, I know it never really says that Muggles would be effected by butterbeer, but you do have to realize - one: it effects magical creatures (you know those danged house elves), so I suppose it could hold true for non-magical beings in general, two: Malfoy is there, so it might not just be butterbeer... and three: this is fanfiction. MAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Thank you, again, for the review, my sweet Masquelette!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Dracana An Alcove Filled of Flowers

26th October 2006:
This was beautifully written, and you captured the character of Penelope so well. I loved the way you wrote her.
“I thank you humbly for such a disgustingly awful day." This declarative was so amusing, I think she has a quiet wit and a loveable character. A nice, new, fresh idea which I do very much hope you continue with.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm hard at work for the third chapter, but it's being exceedingly difficult with me.

 Report Review

Review #5, by lightningstruck An Alcove Filled of Flowers

19th September 2006:
Oh my goodness! Sooooo good! Just the perfect amount of romance. Penelope's personality is simply delightful. Her indignance at not being picked to be sent to Hogwarts is very amusing and bittersweet. Great work!

Author's Response: Ha! Romance - I still find it odd, but yes, there is that sensual, animalistic sort of romantic element within the story.

I'm glad you could appreciate her struggle with the magical world, as well as her personality over all. Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #6, by PreTeenWriter- Too Lazy To Sign In An Alcove Filled of Flowers

25th July 2006:
Omg really really good! I wish you'd update...

Very perceptive ;). I can feel this review just pouring out of me. Woohoo! I love it all!

PS - Sorry about not reviewing the first one :)

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! No big deal on not reviewing the first, you reviewed! And that's good! The third (and perhaps final...) chapter is in the works.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Abhorsen An Alcove Filled of Flowers

4th July 2006:
Bubbling indeed! Well, I say 'Excellent' and 'Inspired'. Is that good enough for you and Penny?

Author's Response: Good enough? It's splendiferous! Which isn't even a word! Penny and I are forever grateful. Inspired? I'm honored, Lady Abhorsen. Honored.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Abhorsen Bonjour!

4th July 2006:
Eeeek! Whyever didn't I mosey (I don't know how to spell that, do you?) on over here and read this before? It's delicious! Yum!

Author's Response: I'm sure mosey is a perfectly acceptable spelling of the term. I however, and estatic that you finally read it! Glad it's so darn tasty!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Aiden An Alcove Filled of Flowers

3rd July 2006:
That is a wonderful second chapter! I absolutely loved it! You wrote everything so perfectly; I especially loved Malfoy's reaction to the situation. I can't wait for the next chapter! ^.^

Author's Response: Thanks! It's nice to know that my characterisation of Malfoy is *seemingly* spot on, seeing by people's reactions. The next chapter is in the works!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Red Corona An Alcove Filled of Flowers

29th June 2006:
wOOt! I really like it!! All I can say is that I hope for an update soon, cause this story rox my sox!! ^.^

Author's Response: What a nice review! I'm working on the third installment, but it's slow in coming. ^.^ Hopefully inspiration will hit soon!

 Report Review

Review #11, by ten_oclock An Alcove Filled of Flowers

19th June 2006:
Another amazing chapter! Sorry this review won't be anywhere near as long (I have so many fics to review - my eternal apologies!)!

What was with those crazy flowers? Do I care? Probably not! They were a great touch and the way you described her physical and emotional feelings that were caused by those crazy flowers!

Your depiction of Malfoy's reaction was jaw droppingly perfect! Very good! I loved all of the references to the other canon characters, they made it seem even more real.

I didn’t see the red hot blaze of embarrassment across his cheeks, though, when he had turned around. I have to say, if I had, I wouldn’t have cared in the least.

This is my favourite line in the past two chapters- it's just... *speechless* stunning!

Apologies again for the shorter review! *sobs*
Bethan
xxxxxx

Author's Response: Ah, Bethan! You needn't apologize for something so silly as a 'shorter' review. It's still one of the longest I've ever recieved. You know, I find it funny that you picked out that particular line, because I was considering deleting it before I put the chapter up. An internal debate I'm glad I lost to now, seeing how you liked it so very much! However, the problem with it was that I wasn't sure how a character would know what they would have felt, if they never experienced the situation. She's commenting on something she's never found out, which was rather conflicting in my head - I, as the author, could see Draco's flushed face, but Penny couldn't, yet she still talks about it. Well, whatever. It's just how things like this go, I suppose. Thanks again! You have my eternal gratitude!

 Report Review

Review #12, by ten_oclock Bonjour!

19th June 2006:
Oooo I'd read this fic before, I'd meant to leave a review but thought I'd read the second chapter first...then I didn't! *begs forgiveness!*

I like to get the nasty bit out of the way. I'm glad to say there wasn't really much I can offer on the spelling/grammar side of things. There were only three things I picked up on:

You've build like This should either be 'you've got a build like the' or 'you're built like.'

I hear tell This just sounds a bit quaint to me. You could just get rid of the 'tell' - it'd make it sound better, in my opinion.

seventh term In England we use term like Americans use semester - we'd say year.

Now onto the good things! Zomgf! This was REALLY good. The flow was great - a good mix of humour, description and dialogue. This is a hard balance to strike and I think you've done it really well! *fangirl squeal*

What really contributed to the flow very well was your capability to mix shorter and longer sentences. The longish descriptive sentence at the start and then the plain "I hate it here" worked really well

I wish I could melt into the wall, get away from his stare. It’s almost sharp, not deterred by the window glass. This was my favourite bit of description and was, in my humble opinion, a small stroke of genius! This fitted Draco so well!

Your characterisation of Draco was stunning. You kept him nice enough that Penny would want to go out with him, but didn't make him OOC. OOC Draco is something I cannot stand! But you've made him your own and done it really well here! “There is if you’re going to have such an atrocious accent. My ears are still ringing.” This was just such a Draco comment - I loved it, I can almost picture the smirk...

Oh, a very debonair greeting from the dashing magical man. That was one of my favourite lines - it's so true to real life, a guy looks so suave and then all he comes out with is...hi! I also loved the lines cripes it's a guy! and rubbish, all of it! I loved that last line, because I'm like that sometimes when I'm thinking of something (especially if I'm reading a crappy fic and actually *shudder* starting to enjoy it!)

Your portrayal of the sibling relationship ( attention drifting away ) was spot on. There's always that great rivalry (especially between sisters!) but you've got that balance of a healthy rivalry - not forgetting the fact that they love each other really!

I love the attention to detail! Tabitha is a great name for a witch - it made me smile instantly. I LOVED the book titles - little things like that show how much effort you've put into it. I also loved the way you kept it canon - little references to the TriWizard Tournament.

What I loved about this the MOST though, was the way you portrayed the Wizarding world through a Muggle's eyes. It was perfect - a great mix of uncertainty but with enough knowledge to suit a girl who's sister is a witch.

I loved this fic! I'm looking forward to reading the next chapter - but I'm sorry if it isn't as long as this review!

Bethan
xxxxxx

Author's Response: Oh. My. Stars.

I am officially one of the luckiest fanfic writers in the world. Bethan, What a splendid, splendid review. You've targeted things that I just wrote, and really brought them out, and you've done exactly what I've always dreamed about in a review - you told me what you liked, what needed to be fixed, everything. You used quotes, and examples, and critqued my work while also tossing in a rash of compliments that make me positively squirm with delight. Thank you, so very much, for this review. I hope you can read more of my work soon (as I am now dying to read yours)!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Vera Wayrthe An Alcove Filled of Flowers

15th June 2006:
Okay, so I'm finally getting around to reviewing this... Spectacular, as usual. You desribe everything so amazingly, and when I say everything, I mean it. Not one little detail is left blank. Absolutely spiffing. Hehehe. I think I'll use that word more often. ^_^
Draco is a naughty little boy. That last line is a bit... ominous... Undoubtedly curious as to what's going to happen next. I await the next installment!

Author's Response: And I'm finally getting around to responding! The next installment is... coming... from the depths... and trying to breathe right now. It's rather stuck in the shallows, turning in the mud. Hopefully it can clean itself off and get moving soon. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by thisSHPWRECK An Alcove Filled of Flowers

14th June 2006:
I'm excited for the next installment.

The imagery you portray is perfect. I can see everything clearly in my head. It's nice. Overall, the story has a nice air about it.

It's a bit odd though, for me, since they're so young. Should kids that age be snogging each other senseles? haha, oh well.

Good luck with the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a lovely review. I do suppose that they are just a smidgen young, but Draco is sometimes just a naughty, naughty boy. And we shall have to send him to a corner for his terrible actions. I'm glad the imagery is appropriate. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #15, by LostPessimista An Alcove Filled of Flowers

12th June 2006:
...That was fabulous. Holy --! Now to put this in my little favorites thingy magigger somewhere around here.... *clickity click*

Author's Response: Yay! What a nice review to come home to. And an add to favorites! Splendid, splendid! I thank you heartily.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Alianora56 An Alcove Filled of Flowers

12th June 2006:
YAY! That was lovely! Absolutely marvelous!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you, thank you! First review yet again I see, too. You're getting good Tess. Perhaps... perhaps too good. *dun dun dun*

 Report Review

Review #17, by lizzy=) Bonjour!

3rd June 2006:
it is really good.interesting beginning.in fact that is the first story i have rad from the PoV of an muggle.you really should continue that.love the writing.lol

Author's Response: Well, thank you! I love that you loved it. The second chapter is in waiting, so hopefully it will be up soon!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Alianora56 Bonjour!

29th May 2006:
YAY! It's up! And I'm not your first reviewer. Hmph! It's lovely...and nice names.

Author's Response: Well, at least you got in the top three, and that's gotta count for something! I love that you reviewed, thanks a bundle. And of course I know who to credit for those lovely names.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Vera Wayrthe Bonjour!

29th May 2006:
It's just so wonderfully lovely, and sweet, and all that jazz, but still cliff-hanger-ish and suspenseful at the end. If I could, I'd wrap it inside a pancake and eat it with chocolate syrup. But I'm not sure that's possible. Nor do I believe you'd let me if such a thing were possible...
I await the second chapter with fevered anticipation, and award you again with the Molly Clap. *claps*

Author's Response: Oh, yay!!! Thank you so much, and the Molly clap means more to me than you could ever know. The second chapter is in waiting....

 Report Review

Review #20, by Chantalle Bonjour!

27th May 2006:
This story is magnificent.
I really like how you wrote it too, it actually sounds like Penny has a british accent.

Well, I think you should post the second chapter! I would definitely love to read it.



Author's Response: Thanks, nice to hear that it was appreciated! The second chapter needs some editing, but it'll posted when I find it ready.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login