Reading Reviews for Goodbye...
  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LilyPotterGinnyMalfoy Goodbye...

20th August 2011:
I loved this story it was so well written

LPGM

 Report Review

Review #2, by harryginny1 Goodbye...

22nd January 2009:
Wow. That was so powerful and wonderful. I loved it-especially the ending when Ginny turned back to him and smiled- and you knew that they were going to be fine. Excellent job.

 Report Review

Review #3, by MyGinevra Goodbye...

29th March 2008:
Anne,

Oh, so beautiful! I cried. Thanks.

Peter

Author's Response: Hi Peter!

This little one shot - I can't call it a story, since there is no plot and it's all about thoughts and emotions - was one of my first pieces of writing in English. And it shows. I haven't re-read it since... well, I think it was just after I registered at SIYE. But I remember that I thought to myself that it would need some editing - editing that I've been postponing for months, because I've been busy writing my other stories. *blushes*

I'm glad you liked it the way it is. When I wrote it, I had not realized how many writers had filled in that 'blank' in the story, but using Ginny's point of view. I must admit that, back then, I wanted to write Harry and Ginny's story after the Final Battle. But it had to be a romance, and I thought I couldn't write a good romance to save my life. (I was wrong, or at least that's what I've been told.) And now that I've honed my skills, I'm glad I never did. There are a few authors, like yourself, who write them so much better than I could ever do. And I'm happy with writing them as secondary characters in TLO and LE (an OC/OC story, one of the OC being Ginny's best friend). This is my way of making the Potterverse a bigger place.

To answer your questions in your responses, yes, I have read Quidditch Through the Ages - not recently though. And, well, you know that I'm writing fan fictions.I've been writing original fictions for even longer, but I must admit that I've never finished writing any of them so far - there was always something 'more important' to do. But I will, now that I know, thanks to fanfics, that I can write a story from beginning to end.

Oh dear... my responses are longer than my reviews. Thank you so much for reading this and leaving a review, Peter.

-Anne


 Report Review

Review #4, by MyronWin Goodbye...

16th January 2008:
I know that it's been awhile and you've probably forgotten me but I am back. You were my first reviewee, for what it's worth. I've gone on to review many others and I've gone on to write my own stories and I wanted to let you know about them. There is an entry in the Wizard Duel, in the New Years to Remember catagory (I use the same name in my own writing) and I've submitted the concluding chapter of a two-part short story this very evening. Feel free to let me know what you think, as I've done to you.

But enough about me, on to your story. I'm not all that big on songfic, especially when I'm not familiar with the song, but I read yours as it related to one of my favorite parts of the whole Harry Potter experience: the relationship between Harry and Ginny. You wrote about that extremely well, at least as far as it had progressed at the time you wrote this story and I liked it very much. As I've said to authors who've touched on the same thing, I don't believe that Harry's breaking up with Ginny "for her protection" was the smartest thing he's ever done. I am a firm believer in the theory that any "chosen one" does not have to do whatever it is totally alone. While it may fall to him to destroy the enemy himself, there are plenty of other things his friends and allies can do. When Mary Jane told Peter Parker in the second Spider-Man movie to basically let her decide whether or not she wants to risk danger to be with him, I applauded. Felt silly doing that in my room, alone, but I did it. And, after all, Ginny wasn't all that safe in Hogwarts while Harry was running around England fighting the good fight, was she? (And how many times was MJ used as a pawn against Spider-Man before they became a couple?)

Anyway, again I must say that I enjoy your writing very much and, once time allows, I will get caught up to date with my first "favorite." Thank you for your story.

Author's Response: Wow, I really was your first reviewee? I feel honored. :) I'm glad you started to write your own stories. I'll check out your author's page.

I'm not that big on song fics myself. But I read (or re-read) that scene, I heard the song and everything fell into place and it felt right. I've read a few fics from Ginny's point of view following that scene, but none other from Harry's. Of course, the books are from his point of view, but just the same - it doesn't mean that his feelings couldn't have been more developed.

I do agree with you - obviously. Harry made a mistake there - all the heroes seem to make the same mistake. When I watch such a movie, I always think, "Duh, he's doing it again! And we know how it will end..." Ginny would have been safer with Harry. But I doubt JK Rowling wanted to develop her more than she had already done - in my opinion, she didn't develop Ginny as much as she could/should have. Oh well...

Thanks a lot for reading this fic and leaving a review.

And you are most welcome.


 Report Review

Review #5, by blackthoughtsredwriting Goodbye...

14th August 2007:
Lovely writing style. I love the overall mood and tone of the story. It's sad yet it leaves the reader with hope. It makes them think that one day Harry will get back together with Ginny which is what everyone wants. I the story of course.

Author's Response: Thank you for the compliment on my writing style. I've always thought Harry and Ginny were made to be together. Most people wrote this episode from Ginny's pov. I didn't know that when I wrote this one-shot from Harry's. It just felt right that way.
Thanks for reading and leaving a review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by andharrywokeup Goodbye...

28th June 2007:
Anne, I REALLY don't like songfics, but this was really lovely. Sometimes you need breaks in the text to make the thoughts flow and this song did it perfectly. Very well done!

Author's Response: To be honest, I don't much like songfics either. hehe. But this song was stuck in my head, with this moment in HBP... Let's just say that the only way to make the plot bunny stop hopping around in my head was to write it.

Thanks for reading this songfic - especially since you don't like them - and for leaving a review. *hugs* :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by Anony_Mouse Goodbye...

25th February 2007:
This fic produced a warm feeling in my stomach and a smile from me. I love it when fics can produce feelings like that from you-and this one definitely did!

It was a great insight into the feelings of Harry and though as you said, it's "far too short", I think it definitely fits the "Saying Goodbye" theme nicely. Believe me, Anne, I would have loved it even if I don't love Harry and Ginny together so much!

Stubborn Harry. As I said, you really did his feelings nicely. I loved this fic-10/10!

Author's Response: Another of Anony_Mouse's wonderful review!!!! *squeals*

When I wrote that fic, I was completly unaware that there were many fics giving Ginny's point of view around HPFF, but almost none giving Harry. But for me, it just felt right to do it this way. There's no real plot. It's thoughts and emotions and feelings put together, in a seemingly orderly way. It's a raw reflection. And since, like you, I want Harry and Ginny to be together (I think they are so right together - they are my favorite ship), I had to end it on a hopeful note.
JKR better write them being together at the end or... Grrrrr!!!! lol.
Thanks a lot for the review. *huggles*

Anne


 Report Review

Review #8, by CanadianStar Goodbye...

26th January 2007:
Very nice :) It's such a beautiful song, and it fits the story so well. You really did well in capturing Harry's thoughts, and it flowed very well.



The only thing I really noticed were a few grammatical errors, mechanically. The tone of the writing didn't really fit the song, but it fit the lyrics, so that's not a big deal. It just seemed a bit too exciting, almost, especially if you're listening to the song while reading this. There were a lot of exclamation marks (and while that's not bad or anything), the song's not very exclamation-y.



The only other thing I'd change would be the last words he says; the "Goodbye Ginny." is fine, but to fit with the song, I'd change "Goodbye my love" to "Goodbye my lover" or simply "Goodbye".



Other than that, great job :)

Author's Response: I'll have to re-read it... I didn't remember there were many exclamation marks - but I wrote it a few months ago now. And I've been writing a few chapters for a few stories since then. lol. I'll have to re-read it anyway, since you said there were a few grammatical errors. Thanks for telling me! I'll have to correct them. ;)

I'm glad you liked it anyway. Yes, it's a beautiful song. I love it! And I'm glad you think I did great capturing Harry's thoughts *insert happy dance here*.

Thanks for reading and reviewing. :)

Anne


 Report Review

Review #9, by CelticPrincess Goodbye...

22nd January 2007:
LOL I don`t want to leave one of those reviews that just says `love it, it was great` but what else can I say. I don`t usually read Harry/Ginny but this one caught my eye. It was sweet, sad, poignant (sp) and above all hopeful. For if love can`t cure all what can? Even when you have to let that love go, you keep it with you, and that feeling comes through in this story.

Author's Response: Well, it's my favorite ship, but I don't write it very often. Probably because I like writing to fill some blanks in the stories, and JKR writes about Harry better than any of us could do...
It had to be hopeful... I want them to get together again! lol. And love is supposed to be Harry's superpower, after all.
Thanks for reading and reviewing. :)

Anne


 Report Review

Review #10, by planetsmoothie Goodbye...

19th January 2007:
this is really good. perfect song! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you liked it. I love that song.
Thanks for r&r!

Anne


 Report Review

Review #11, by Christie Goodbye...

19th January 2007:
Anne that was so fluffy I don't need my pillow to go to bed tonight haha. Loved it! Oh Harry needs to suck it up, we know that IF he lives he and Ginny will be as they were before and she will have lots of babies... Harrys a sissy jks.

Author's Response: haha, Pip. Maybe he is... or maybe I just suck at writing fluff. lol. Yes, lots of babies have they will. Or all of JKR's books burn I will. LOL. ;)

Anne


 Report Review

Review #12, by tiffers Goodbye...

5th January 2007:
WOW! Anne this was absolutely amazing! So many people try to lay it on thick (me included sometimes) but you took this song-fic and made it simple and to the point! That is why this story is so powerful! I love how he feels like she can be the only one for him, how he knows deep down that this is it. he has found her! I just cannot express to you, how deeply these emotions rocked me, I felt like I was there, feeling everything that he was feeling. I love how you describe Ginny, too many people make her this boy-crazy snobby person, and she isn't. I love how you talk about her being so proud, because I really see Ginny as a very proud character who would keep her cool in most situations. I also loved how you talked about Harry's jealousy, and how she snuck into his life. I love that he wishes he didn't have to be the-boy-who-lived, and that for a brief time, with her, he was normal!

I love the ending, it is also just so powerful, how he knows that there is always hope as long as she is there *tear* Overall this was such an amazing piece. Sure, it was fairly short, but that is also what makes it so endearing! You have a beautiful style Anne, it is very poetic and so eloquent. I loved this, thank you for sharing it with us!

Author's Response: You are most welcome, Tiff. I'm very glad you loved this song-fic.
Harry's emotions and feelings at that very moment seem so obvious to me. Once again, he was like a trapped rat in his own life, and even if it was unfair, he had to say goodbye to the love of his life. I love Harry - he's the one character that got me hooked. And I love Ginny. And I don't see her like some crybaby who will spend her whole summer crying over her lost love. She's not Cho! I'm positive she really understood Harry, the reason why he chose to break up with her.
There is no real plot there, mostly raw feelings and emotions. Harry's looking back on his relationship with Ginny, then towards the future. Because there is hope.
Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing.

Anne


 Report Review

Review #13, by Ydnas Odell Goodbye...

4th January 2007:
Wow this is realy good. You should have entered it.

Author's Response: Thank you. It was a strange coincidence, because I had just written that fic when I noticed the challenge. I would probably have entered it, but it was too short - a fic was supposed to be 2,500 words minimum.
Thanks for reading and reviewing.

Anne


 Report Review

Review #14, by wild4harryp01231 Goodbye...

23rd December 2006:
I like this. It's very emotion-filled, and I think that the song fit the story. It made me want to hear the song! :) There were a few things, though. For some reason, I didn't like the lyrics centered. It made it harder to read, so I might suggest left alligning them. I think that it is really cool that you did this from Harry's point of view, because we always hear the same kind of thing, only from Ginny's point of view. And that gets old, so having Harry tell it is fresh. One thing, though, is that Ginny seems really indifferent, and doesn't seem to care. I might change that, but I like it, as I said. I really liked the analogy of her "taking a part of her with him". It seems really accurate, from what I've heard of break-ups. It was really emotion filled, and I really liked it. Good job, and happy holidays. :)

Author's Response: Yes, I know. After I wrote it, I read lots of one-shots from Ginny's point of view, and none from Harry's. I was very surprised, because I thought Harry's was even more interesting than Ginny's.
I know what you mean about the lyrics being centered. I'll change that when I can edit again.
No, I didn't mean for Ginny to look indifferent. I wanted to show that she understood Harry's choice...
I'm glad you liked it. Thank you for the compliment... and for R&R.
Happy holidays!

Anne


 Report Review

Review #15, by xElusive Memoriesx Goodbye...

21st December 2006:
Wow, very nice. The song didn't exactly go with the story in parts, so I'd rethink it, but otherwise it was wonderfully descriptive and specially designed. Yes, I loved it and am still in awe... wow... on favourites list...

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it, girly! I heard the song and it was so close to what I could imagine Harry was feeling just after he broke up with Ginny. There's no real plot, I know, just raw emotions and feelings.
Thanks for giving it a try and reviewing.

*huggles*

Anne



 Report Review

Review #16, by almost_witch Goodbye...

18th December 2006:
Finally got around to reviewing this story.

Well it's a nice song-fic, and it was good to finally see after after-break-up from Harry's perspective. I have read what seems like thousands from Ginny's perspective but finally I have come across one from Harry's.

All that you have said makes prefect sense and I support your views fully.

The song flowed into the song nicely, and you played off the lyrics well. It wasn't like the words just sat there, you wrote paragraphs that were relivent to it. And seeing it's a big song I can acually hear the emotion of the words which gets me into the emotion that Harry is feeling too. A wise choice. :)

Overall a nice fic, you wrote it well and I couldn't see any spelling or grammer problems so nothing was distracting. :)

Almost_witch

Author's Response: Yes, I read some from Ginny's point of view too. I guess that authors don't write Harry's point of view because he was the one who broke up with her... so obviously he can't he as sad as she is. I disagree. lol.
I love that song! I was listening to it just after reading HBP and I thought about Harry's feelings. And I had to write them.
Thanks for reading and reviewing.
Happy holidays,

Anne


 Report Review

Review #17, by Sophia Montgomery Goodbye...

18th December 2006:
' How could he have not kissed her that day !' The exclamation mark is a bit too spaced.

OTher than that I foudn this a very sweet songfiction... The song works perfectly.

You might be able to add in a bit to this sentence:
Then he saw her look back at him and smile, and his heart missed a beat.
You could add some description of her smile.

OTher than that it was a very enjoyable story!

Author's Response: Ah, thanks, I'm going to correct that - the French format makes the space before "!", "?" and ";" and I have to correct those manually.
I like your suggestion, about Ginny's smile. I'm going to think about it.
CC is always welcome. I want to improve my skills. Really.
Thanks for reading and reviewing.
Happy holidays,

Anne


 Report Review

Review #18, by juls Goodbye...

15th December 2006:
Simply beautiful. I like seeing Harry's thoughts. And I'm glad Ginny turned to smile at him. I'm hoping this break up is short.
Hug ~~juls

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm sure Ginny really understood why Harry had to break up with her. That doesn't mean she won't be there, when the time will come. They belong together, after all.
Hug

Anne


 Report Review

Review #19, by screaming_madman Goodbye...

13th December 2006:
You mentioned this in your review of my story and peeked my curiosity.

It is very touching and includes enough detail of his thoughts to convey the moment and the emotion but not so much that the reader is thinking "oh get on with it". Very well written and you should be proud of it.

Author's Response: I wanted to word Harry's thoughts, feelings and emotions. I think Harry grew up a lot in the last book, and I wanted them to reflect his new maturity.
Thanks for the compliment, and for the review.

Anne


 Report Review

Review #20, by SexyDoorFrames Goodbye...

12th December 2006:
I loved this. It was amazing. You did wondeful on this one shot. Really good work.

I loved the last little part, It's so sweet!

Author's Response: I heard the song and I thought about Harry. And I wanted to write Harry's feelings, and his fear turning to hope.
I'm glad you liked it.
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Anne


 Report Review

Review #21, by my_voice_rising Goodbye...

12th December 2006:
for some reason, "good and brave" stuck out to me as a wonderful description of ginny. i think readers are so used to flowery adjectives that simple ones such as those just strike a right chord. nice job!

i also like how you mentioned that harry and ginny had both faced voldemort, and that was their deeper connection. i can definitely see where that would grow from...

and your ending line was great. i'm glad that you had her smile at him, instead of the tragic "and she never looked back" that's so over used. really great ending!

the only critique i have is that it seemed kind of...empty of plot. yes, it's a one-shot, and a songfic at that, but it seemed like all you were doing was describing the same emotions long enough to cover an entire song. you were so great for bringing up that she had faced voldemort as well; what if you embellished that and brought in flashbacks? especially if you made some up, so that you weren't retelling the story? flashbacks really help to unveil a plot without having to make it a lengthy fic.

also, there was a spelling error: i think "gnowing" should be "gnawing," but that's all that i saw!

nice job and happy holidays!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the great review!
That's how I see Ginny - she's certainly no Lavender!
Yes, I must admit it's empty of plot. I was listening to that song and the words just came to me. I wanted to express feelings and thoughts more than writing a story. I will think about your suggestion, though. That might be interesting... Ah, if I weren't that obsessed by the OCs fic I'm writing! lol.
Thanks a lot for signaling me the spelling error. I already made the correction.
Happy Holidays to you too,

Anne


 Report Review

Review #22, by SYN Goodbye...

11th July 2006:
Mum_Weasley told u were a good author so I had to come and check you out. She was absolutely right. This story is sad becasue he leaves her but also filled with hope becasue the ending makes it sound like he will tell her after he destroys Voldemort.

Author's Response: Well, I'll have to thank Paula... And thank you for reading and reviewing. That's exactly what I wanted to say in that fic... I'm glad I did it right. lol. I really do hope there's hope for Harry and Ginny.
~Anne


 Report Review

Review #23, by mum_weasley Goodbye...

24th May 2006:
"Thanks to her, he was better now." I absolutely adore that statement!

Oh damn! I need tissues! Such a touching write. Absolutely loved it. *sigh

Author's Response: Thank you, Paula. I'm glad you loved it... Since you're a member of the HPUFS now, you may know that English is not my mother tongue, so I sometimes wonder if I'm using the right words, you know. That's why reviews are so important to me.
~Anne


 Report Review

Review #24, by sagesolon Goodbye...

24th May 2006:
I usually don't like songfics, however, yours is one of the better one's I've ever read. Good job. I think that the story could stand alone without the song, however, the song does offer a nice backdrop to the tale. Thanks for reviewing my fics. I'll be sure to drop back by and read the rest of yours when I have a bit more time.
Sage

Author's Response: Thank you very much. It's the first song-fic I've ever written... I didn't know so many people read them! You know, sometimes, when I read a book (and I read lots of books, not only fanfics!), or only a scene, or even a series, it reminds me of a piece of music or of a song. That's what happened with that song.
I'll read the other chapters of your fic as soon as I'll have more time - it's a good thing HP fans are used to wait, lol!
~Anne


 Report Review

Review #25, by Tini Goodbye...

23rd May 2006:
That's so adorable beautiful!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reviewing. ~Anne

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>