Reading Reviews for Hate Me
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lady Malfoy of Gisbourne Hate Me

17th January 2009:
OMG, Lucius! My eyes we filling with tears as i was reading this. It was so well read that even when i didn't want to read more i had to! 10/10 for an amazingly gripping story.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Bella_Portia Hate Me

18th January 2008:
This was an outstanding story. I loved your descriptions of Azkaban, the way you imagined the Dementors, the relationship between the Malfoys. Very sad and poignant.

I am not familiar with the song, but I liked lyric; and the way you integrated it into the story worked extremely well.

Great ending.

 Report Review

Review #3, by harrysmistress_e81 Hate Me

22nd November 2007:
Oh. My. God. That story was phenomanal... the ending almost made me cry. I also wanted to ask you if you could make me a banner for my story? I just started using HPFF and really wish that my story could have a banner, and yours was amazing. I also hope that you dont think I rated your story so high because I wanted a banner... your story really was amazing! Definitely one of my favorite Lucius/Narcissa ones I have read. :]

 Report Review

Review #4, by boxter Hate Me

7th October 2007:
Wow!!
This is a great story. very well written and believable. One of the best fics I have read!!
Great job

 Report Review

Review #5, by mysticalshadows Hate Me

7th September 2007:
briliant. and the song is perfectly placed. and plus i love this song anyway. beautiful. brilliant. and awesome!! you are fantastic. this is a new fav for me =P great work. priceless

 Report Review

Review #6, by Rupertluver2012 Hate Me

26th August 2007:
Okay.
this was amazing for quite a few reasons.
1. you made Lucius have emotion.
2. you made Narcissa seem human for once.
3. You showed that even the evil can love.
4. you made me feel sorry for a Malfoy.
and finally.
5. you made me like Narcissa and Lucius for once in my life.


Sad/Sweet story.
10/10
and new add to favorites.

if this is long i'm sorry.

*chow*

 Report Review

Review #7, by Winni3 Hate Me

12th August 2007:
Oh wow o_0
This was so depressing but so brilliant as well :O
I could really image this happening.

 Report Review

Review #8, by UtopiaAnonymous Hate Me

16th July 2007:
That was so powerful! The description was explicit and full of mountains of detail! The story held within it was so depressing! The changing and conflicting emotions of Lucius were brilliant! Narcissa's never ending love and hope an indication that perhaps, just perhaps, Lucius did once have a choice and a heart. MARVELOUS! Simply exquisite!

 Report Review

Review #9, by lilyandjamesfan Hate Me

18th June 2007:
wow i have never read a lucius/narcissa fic before. i think you potray the characters really well, especially narcissa. i can see her being forever loyal to him no matter what he did/does. its good the way you have portrayed lucius as well, you don't really get to see his personality with his family alot. i also think the song you have chosen fits extremely well. im abit dubious about song fics but this was great and i found it interesting

 Report Review

Review #10, by Mr Smee Hate Me

10th May 2007:
This was absolutely amazing. You have to feel for Narcissa though. Putting everything she had into a belief like that, and then having to watch it all fall to pieces before her very eyes. Her husband becomes a lifeless shell, and her son is meant to perform menial, life-threatening tasks for a man that will eventually kill him anyways.
This was simply beautiful. Awesome job.

 Report Review

Review #11, by emeraldflames Hate Me

20th December 2006:
it was just simply beautiful...

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! =)

 Report Review

Review #12, by absolument Hate Me

6th December 2006:
that was amazing. you are a very good writer and i was completely terrified!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! =) I'm glad it came off the way it did - that makes me happy :D Thank you!!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Scarhead Hate Me

21st November 2006:
OK Jessi this story gave me goosebumps. It was a pairing that I do not usually read but this story was incredible. I was hooked from that first beautifully descriptive paragraph.

The wonderful way you portrayed Lucius was mesmerizing. You gave the man we love to hate a soul and passion. I was absolutely riveted to every word. Your descriptions were so vivid that I could see the story playing out in my mind. I am looking forward to reading more of your work!

Author's Response: Eeek! Thank you so much!! I'm so glad that I got you hooked; that was my major "to-do" for this story. I really appreciate how you viewed Lucius in this story. I was trying to hard to make him a "real" person. Thank you SO much, I really appreciate the review, dear!! *HUG*

 Report Review

Review #14, by Shadow of the Moon Hate Me

16th November 2006:
Wow. Great job. This is a very well written story, and it manages to stay true to the characters in a way lots of Lucious/Narcissa fics don't. I've actually never heard this song, but the lyrics were perfect for the story. You are a very talented writer.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It means a lot to me that you thought the characters stayed true to canon! I really appreciate the review and the great compliments - thank you so much!! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by bambino Hate Me

13th November 2006:
oh, so so wonderful! so so sad! usually when i read Lucius/Narcissa fic's, with any amount of tenderness, they seem so out-of-character, but this was fantastic and very believable. Naecissa's reactions and speech feel very cannon.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!! I'm SO happy they seemed in character to you. It was a personal challenge for me to stay canon with a more 'evil' couple - and still show the love between them. I'm glad it worked!! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by dracolove Hate Me

27th October 2006:
wow it was good it made me see from a diffrent perspective, than most harry potter stoiries

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked the change of perspective. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Dont Have One Hate Me

16th October 2006:
Actually i havent read the story... sorry... i caught the name of the fic and just wanted to say i also love that song!!! its on my myspace right now!!Lol

Author's Response: Hmmm.. Well... If I were the band, I'd definitely be really happy that you like the story so much, but seeing as I'm the author of the story, I really wish you'd read it. ;)

 Report Review

Review #18, by ivoryquill Hate Me

18th September 2006:
Wow. It's so good. Frightening, but really well-written.


Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Mci2 Hate Me

30th August 2006:
I think that you are amazing at picking songs and writing fics...i hope to somedayy get some reviews and become a more skilled writer...for now i'll settle with writing at my level.

Author's Response: Thank you!! :) I appreciate the compliment on my songfics, mainly because it is one of the least reviewed genres. I'll have to check out some of your writing this weekend! I've been so busy lately, I haven't had a chance yet.

 Report Review

Review #20, by jenniiiiii Hate Me

28th August 2006:
Wow. Jessi, the emotion in this was just heartbreaking. I'm a huge fan of this ship anyway, mainly because Narcissa is such an amazing character, and you did such a wonderful job with it! I knew from the first couple of paragraphs that I would love this fic; they were just described so chillingly.

I thought the way you did the flashback was really unique; I've never seen it done quite like that. It all flowed together really well, even with the song words, and that's something really difficult to achieve. Also, the song fitted amazingly well. I'm actually listening to Radiohead's Street Spirit, which gives me chills anyway, and this fic just added to that!

It might have been a little heavy on description, but the emotions in this piece just carried me along. Anyway, that's the only bit of CC I can even think of!

Amazing job!

~ Jenni

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Jenni! I'm glad you liked it. I think you're one of the first ones I've seen that actually likes this ship. I know, it's growing on me too. Narcissa is definitely one of my favorite characters - ever since HBP.

The flashbacks were the hardest thing to write in this. I didn't want them to be simple forward and back. So, weaving the song lyrics in, while having a flash here and there made it different from what is normally seen. I'm really happy that you like that part - it's what I worked the hardest on.

The description - I have this problem...I always overdo it with the description. It's hard for me to tell what I should describe, so I just describe everything :P But, I'm glad that's the only CC you have!!

Thanks again!! :) ~Jessi


 Report Review

Review #21, by HPFchamber Hate Me

22nd August 2006:
I found it very interesting. I didn't know if I would like it because it is a Lucius/Narcissa. I tried it though because it was by you Jessi. I enjoyed it. You did very well on it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you branched out to Lucius/Narcissa enough to read this one. I'm most proud of it because of the light it shines on the normally brutal ship. Thank you again for the great review!! ~Jessi :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by sammy lupin Hate Me

9th August 2006:
im crying! really truely crying, you really kno how to write a tear jerker. i loved it, so full of emotion.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you sammy lupin, I'm glad you liked it!! :) ~Jessi

 Report Review

Review #23, by Arithmancy_wiz Hate Me

7th August 2006:
So very many goods things to say about this piece. Where to begin? How about with the characters… I don’t really know why more people are not a fan of this couple, but perhaps pieces like this will change their minds. I thought you covered the dynamic between Narcissa and Lucius really well here. Pure-blood families like the Malfoys and the Blacks are such a strange contradiction…so much hate toward others yet a strange obsessive loyalty to each other. For that reason, I can totally buy into a true loving relationship between this pair—much more so than the more common abusive/hate relationship. I thought your portrayal of Narcissa tied in perfectly with what we know of her from HBP, and Lucius’ partial “change of heart” works here as well by tying it in with his horrible experiences in prison.

The flow of this piece worked really well also, even with the back and forth reflections and song lyrics. This could have easily been disastrous and confusing but it was far from either. It just made the piece more interesting—more stylized.

As to description—there is no doubt this was packed with all sorts of great visuals. And I can see from your other reviews that I am not the only one who thought they took center stage here. If I might interject though one small bit of CC, if you can even call it that. From this and many of your other works, it is clear that you can paint a vivid picture of anything…just make it jump off the page. However, I think it is also important to be a bit picky when choosing what to describe. It is really easy to get lost in a sea of adjectives, making it harder to get the things you want to really pop out to your readers. I know, I know…not enough description, we reviewers complain…too much, we complain some more. But, alas, just some food for thought.

Great job. You should definitely be proud of this piece.


Author's Response: Eeep! Thank you so much. You know your words always mean so much to me! The thing I was worried about the most here was the characters -- not a lot of people are savvy to Narcissa and Lucius getting along. But, I have to think that they stayed together for a reason. And, of course, HBP did show us an amazing side of Narcissa that really opened her character up to debate.

You know, I love doing the flashbacks. But, weaving them along with song lyrics was so difficult. Especially because the lyrics reflected both past and present. I'm really happy that that came off well.

I always appreciate your CC, and I know you've told me about my strange choices with description. I wish I could understand where description works best. I think that's why I try to do it all. I'm always unsure what I should show my readers and what I should tell them. So, it means a lot that you pointed that out here--I'll work on it, definitely. :)

Thank you so much for the review. I always appreciate your words of wisdom. ~Jessi


 Report Review

Review #24, by antlers Hate Me

3rd August 2006:
good job! good job! good job! good job! good job! and a million times more

Author's Response: Thank you so much, antlers! I'm glad you enjoyed it that much!! :) ~Jessi

 Report Review

Review #25, by wannabe Hate Me

1st August 2006:
Well lookie here. You've gone and made me feel bad for Narcissa AND Lucius. Favourited :)


Author's Response: Thank you so much, wannabe! I'm glad you liked it and I'm flattered that you've added it to your favorites! ~Jessi

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>