Reading Reviews for Charming Charlie
  
166 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DontBeSilly Sacred Fire University for Dragon Studies

18th September 2011:
I'm interested to see where this story goes. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by xxblackxx Fly

18th February 2011:
I love this story.
It's had to find Charlie Weasley's story.
But this is awesome!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Labby Fly

12th May 2009:
Gah.. I'm such a terrible reader and reviewer, but I finally made it here! Aww.. such an awesome chapter! I'm loving this relationship growing. I just love Irene's character and her figuring out what this relationship between her and Charlie is. You've created such a great OC, and I'm looking forward to reading more about the relationship. Great chapter, and I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Hi! That's okay, I'm a bad author myself for not responding to this earlier. :P I'm really glad you like it! It was quite a difficult one to write; I've never written them together just the two of them like this. :P Anyway, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Ayaka_chan9854 Fly

11th April 2009:
wow this is a really cute story I really like it, and I can't wait for the nexy chapter ^o^

Author's Response: Thank you so much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #5, by FoundriaPenguin Fly

5th April 2009:
ahh i fell in love with this story from the first chapter! I'm excited now that Irene is starting to like the university now, though! Maybe this will change the whole perspective of the story. Please update! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It is fun to write her adapting to the university, and I'm glad you enjoy it too. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #6, by madelgranger Fly

16th March 2009:
I really like this story so far. It's really fun and I really like Freckle. (and Charlie of course!) Yay for flying lessons!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Freckle is a lot of fun to write, and so are Charlie and flying lessons. =P Glad you enjoyed it! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #7, by RemusGal Fly

10th March 2009:
It's great you have come back to this story. I like the way you started in the middle of a scene with Freckle. The flying with Charlie was nice, and Irene seems to be keeping her cool. Still wondering what her father is planning, but I guess time will tell. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It was quite difficult getting the flying lesson right, so I'm glad you like it. ^_^ Can't say anything about her father's plan though. =p Thanks again, RemusGal!

 Report Review

Review #8, by rachm34 Someone to Talk to

31st December 2008:
so i've read all the chapters. They are all wonderful and amazing. and i had no cc. Well done! :) i love Charlie and Irene

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Your reviews really made my day! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #9, by rachm34 New Friends, New Admirer?

31st December 2008:
oh wow. This is another great great great great chapter. I love Irene. I love her thoughts, i love the descriptions you are adding. I have no cc. I'm sorry to dissapoint.

Author's Response: Awww, don't apologize! It's great to hear you love it. ^_^ Thanks again, Rachel!

 Report Review

Review #10, by rachm34 Sacred Fire University for Dragon Studies

31st December 2008:
wow. So i absolutely like fell in love with the first chapter. I love your oc, Irene. This was great. Honestly i have no cc for you. I'm loving it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really thrilled that you enjoy it. =D

 Report Review

Review #11, by SpringTime Someone to Talk to

26th December 2008:
Sorry about the last review, didnt realize that there was one more chapter.
This was an informative one, the only discrepency I noticed was the I thought the egg had white freckles? In this you say he had blue freckles just like the egg...
Glad that the mystery was solved, I thought it might be something to that effect, but it is nice to finally know.
I look forward to you requesting again (if you want to) and reading about what happens more with our dear Charles. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I thought I had checked that, but apparently I didn't. *grumbles at self* I'll get right on it. ^_^ I'm really glad you enjoy the story so far, and I'm definitely going to request again once I finish the next chapter. Thanks again, SpringTime!

 Report Review

Review #12, by SpringTime Sighisoara

26th December 2008:
Poor poor Gavin, though I know it had to happen it is too bad because he was so nice (maybe that was the problem, nice guys finish last, right?)
I wonder what his reaction will be when they do see each other again. You have built up a very nice story here and I am enjoying the read.
The main things that I suggest as I have said earlier would be to work out the tense issues and the timeline and little details to make sure that it is all cohesive.
I hope that these reviews helped and feel free to come back for more when you update again.

Author's Response: Yes, I felt terrible about that, but it was bound to happen. Lol, maybe if he had known about Irene's feelings about Charlie, he would have fought harder for her heart. =)

You have been a tremendous help! I am fixing up the mistakes as we speak and they should be up once I get them to my beta. Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #13, by SpringTime Faint and Faith

26th December 2008:
That was quite good. I know that Irene hurting Gavin is going to effect hr relationship with Lisa and I can only imagine the drama ahead.
The memory was good and added some much needed bit of information into the mix.
sorry this review was so short, but I really dont have much to say on this one...

Author's Response: Thank you! Her friendship with Lisa is going to be affected, but I can't say anything about the drama. ;) Oh, don't apologize! It was a short chapter after all. ^_^ Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #14, by SpringTime Hatching Day

26th December 2008:
This was a nice chapter, I like the growing friendship between those two. It was a clever way to interrupt their conversation just when it was getting good too ;) Poor Gavin, gone and fallen in love with the wrong girl.
I also liked the way that you had her insticts take over and stop over thinking everything. Showing the dragon loving spark that her father knows is inside.
Still a couple of tense issues otherwise very good chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It was about time Charlie made another appearance. And I did feel bad for Gavin, but it just wasn't meant to be. =P I'm glad you notice that part! Despite everything else, Irene is her father's daughter. ;) Thanks again, SpringTime! Your reviews really made my day! =D

 Report Review

Review #15, by SpringTime Freckle

26th December 2008:
I really like the lab and the way that you had them name and choose the egg... I will mention that it seemed like an afterthougth that you had them get an egg instead of a dragon after it had hatched. You also said that Lisa had never seen a dragon but she just had the lesson before hadnt she? Also I thought the eggs were all from that one dragon? They are minor things, but to make this story as good as I know it can be you should straighten them out so as not to deter people from reading it, because it really has been enjoyable to read.
There are still some tense issues and some typo's that you should sort out.
Otherwise it is a good chapter and the dragon lore, or whatever it should be called, I think you have down pretty well. It does sound believeable as if you had once raised a dragon yourself. :0)

Author's Response: *sighs* This is why I should learn to plan and be more patient about posting. I will definitely clear up all the confusions once I finish working on the timeline. Thank you again! I'm glad you're still reading despite the mistakes. =D Lol, thank you again for the review, SpringTime!

 Report Review

Review #16, by SpringTime Dreading a Question

26th December 2008:
I forgot to mention last chapter but I thought that the school was SFU and in last chapter you have it as SCU, just thought I would point that out.

There were still some typos in this and the tense changes from past to present a few times.
I like the possible tension that you are creating.
I do also want to mention the time line...I thought that they were going to the part the night of the first lesson, but then you had said that she had been there a week and then they werent supposed to get the dragons for two weeks but in this you said that they would be getting it that monday? Maybe I am reading it wrong, but thought I would point it out none the less.
I am glad that you so far havent made Lisa go after Charlie, that would be very un freindlike.
see you next chapter.

Author's Response: OMG, I feel so stupid right now. *hides* This is what happened when you update after three months without thoroughly reading the previous chapter. The timeline problem is entirely my fault. I changed my mind midway through writing and completely forgot to check the previous chapter. So sorry! And thank you for pointing that out! I've been told that I messed up the timeline, but I kept putting off editing it because it's quite a big thing to tackle. But I'm working on it right now and will fix it right away!

I thought about making Lisa go after Charlie but quickly dismissed it. As you said, it's not something a friend would ever do. ^_^

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by SpringTime The First Class: Homework Already?

26th December 2008:
The dragon information did seem resonable. There were a couple of typo's here and there, you might want to do a quick read through, but you should be able to spot them easily enough.
I am wondering what the professor meant by cheating? Not sure how you could cheat on this project, but maybe it will be explained later.
I like how you show her relationship to her father and it's layers. I think a bit more work on the memory would help to improve that even more, just some more detail, maybe some more showing instead of telling.
I look forward to reading on (especially as there seems to be a party!)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am currently working with a beta. She's doing this chapter right now. =)

Ah yes, I should have clarified that. What he meant was the students can't pretend to forget to pick up their dragons from the Infirmary or bribe a senior to do most of the work for them. It seems rather impossible, but he was just being cautious in case anyone felt like being creative. =P Thank you, I'll definitely clear that up once I get the chapter back. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #18, by SpringTime New Friends, New Admirer?

26th December 2008:
Nice chapter, I see the little wrench in the love story (although maybe it will be a Gavin/Irene love story hm...
Anyway, it is coming along nicely and I am enjoying Irene's personality (I don't always like first person, but you have done a nice job here).

I am a sucker for the Weasley boys (except Percy, he is a bit stuffy for me) so I think I will really enjoy this fic. :) Sorry i dont have much to say on this chapter, but it was very enjoyable and the characterizations are developing nicely.

Author's Response: Lol, you'll just have to wait and see. ;) I'm glad you like her. This was my first try on first person, so it's great to know that you enjoy it. ^_^ Thanks again, SpringTime!

 Report Review

Review #19, by SpringTime Sacred Fire University for Dragon Studies

25th December 2008:
Hey, come to review your story, I will try to get most of it done today.
You write very well, and so far the flow is very steady. I would suggest maybe adding a bit more to the part that explains her mothers death more, that was the one sections that I felt could use some more detail and description.
Since it is only the first chapter and I am not yet sure how this is going to go you can ignore this comment if it doesnt apply, but I just wanted to warn you about making Charlie too nice, dont get me wrong I think of him as a nice guy, but he is also a Dragon trainer and a Weasley (so I feel a little smart aleckyness (as I cannot say the word that really should be there) would apply to him later) This is also a personal oppinion though and since it is your story characterization is up to you.
So far though it is a nice beginning. :)

Author's Response: Hello! I'm glad that you enjoy it. Thank you for pointing out about her mother's death. I didn't think that it was necessary to explain it all at the beginning, but I promise it will be given more details as the story goes on. ^_^ I'm working on showing Charlie's character more in the chapter I'm working on, so thank you for the comment about him too! =D

 Report Review

Review #20, by Girldetective85 Someone to Talk to

14th October 2008:
That does it, I'm in love with Freckle. I think he's the cutest thing ever - I laughed out loud when he screeched before following Irene ... hilarious! You could totally write an original story just about raising dragons because the way you describe their behavior, their appearance, the nuances of their everyday lives, is so believable. It's like you've done an incredible amount of research only it's coming all out of your head! So creative. :) It's very cute that he chose Irene to be his mother, although I'm not so sure she's very thrilled about that LOL. So Margareth knew Irene's mother - I like her a lot, she seems like a really kind and understanding woman. I didn't know she had so much to do with the "incident" but I'm glad Irene isn't blaming her. Anyway, I'm curious to find out what Ignatius's present for his daughter is! Please update soon! 10/10

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! Writing the dragons are the hardest part of the story, since there's nothing about them in the book, except for what we know in GoF, and Fantastic Beasts don't go into details, so I'm really happy that you like it. ^_^ Lol, Irene is definitely not happy about that at all, and we're going to see her struggle with Freckle more. ;) I originally planned Margareth to play an entirely different part, but I read the whole story over and I thought Irene needed a mother figure, or at least someone who she can really talk to. Otherwise the poor girl would break before chapter 10. =P Thanks again, hun!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Girldetective85 Sighisoara

14th October 2008:
Hey hun! I wanted to check to see if any of my reviews for you had been lost, and sure enough these last two chapters were missing! So here goes :)

I really got a "just friends" vibe between Gavin and Irene. Obviously he likes her a lot more than she likes him, but I think they'd be really good as friends. I love the chemistry you give to each relationship in your story, it makes it well-rounded and realistic, by the way! Their date sounded amazing - imagine a quaint little town in Romania that's just like Hogsmeade! He was definitely jealous about her friendship with Charlie when he asked about the egg. Poor Gavin, I feel kind of bad for him but what can you do? Lisa is a good friend to understand that. It's not Irene's fault she can't fall for Gavin!

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks so much for rereviewing! Writing the date was tougher than I expected, with the new location and the chemistry, so I'm really glad I got that across. ^_^ Sighisoara sounds perfect for a date, doesn't it? I was really thrilled when I read about it on Wikipedia, because it suits Irene better than the Dracula Castle. =P Lol, exactly! I think Lisa understands that as well in the end, but that doesn't mean their friendship won't be rocky. ;)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Labby Someone to Talk to

10th October 2008:
I love how you've created the dragon world here. It's so creative the way you have them training them and the whole process. I've loved this idea of this dragon type school from the beginning and I love how you're creating the classes, the characters, and even the traits of the dragons. I'm glad Irene is getting to know a little bit more about the accident and at least Margareth was able to get her apology across. I've enjoyed reading this story a lot and I'm looking forward to reading more. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Creating this world is a lot of work, but it is incredibly fun to do. I'm really glad you like it. ^_^ At some point, Irene will have to overcome her fear for dragon, and understanding the incident better would help her do that. I'm planning for a larger role for Margareth, but I haven't decided yet. =P

 Report Review

Review #23, by Labby Sighisoara

10th October 2008:
Poor Gavin, but at least Irene was able to tell him now, sooner than later that the two aren't meant for each other. He'll probably be jealous for awhile, but at least she isn't leading him on falsely. I just think it's really cool that they're able to go to such cool places for dates. I guess I never really thought about how well wizarding technology would help out for a date. I liked this chapter a lot and I'm glad I got to reread it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for rereviewing! ^_^ I think leading a guys on when your heart's not in it is as bad as cheating on him, so I didn't want Irene to do that. And Sighisoara is a real town in Romania. I was going to have them visit the famous vampire's castle, but I thought that was a bit too spooky for a first date. So I asked Lucretia Neva and she suggested a couple of places. I looked up Sighisoara in Wikipedia and the medieval city ties in seems like the perfect place for their date. =D

Anyway, thanks again, Jamie! I really appreciate this. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #24, by Beyond the Veil Faint and Faith

13th June 2008:
I love this chapter more than all of them so far! I sound redundant, but you're getting better and better. I read this chapter in about twenty seconds because I was so drawn in :-P

Again, the only technical problem I'm seeing is the tense changes. And also, I noticed a couple of confusing things - for example, you wrote that the egg would hatch within a week - and you said that would be 'today or tomorrow'. If I remember correctly, they chose their eggs a couple of days after the party, right? And yet the date with Gavin hasn't happened yet...? Maybe I'm missing something, but either way, make sure you use the correct time spaces, etc. Don't want to confuse anyone!

So now that I've read all you have up, I can say PLEASE update soon! And can you do me a favor and request again in my review thread when you have some more up, so I know? I'm afraid otherwise I'll forget to keep track of this.

Great job!

Blaire

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really thrilled that you like it! And the timeline, well, the date between Gavin and Irene was supposed to happen two weeks after the party, but I suppose I didn't explain that too well. I'll make sure to fix that part when I'm editing. And I'll definitely let you know when I've updated. Thanks again, Blaire! *huggles*

 Report Review

Review #25, by Beyond the Veil Freckle

13th June 2008:
Still really good! Like I said before, I'm just liking everything more and more. The reactions are good and you place explanations about Irene so well, and they're not overdone either. I'm completely hooked now. You've grabbed me for good, I think ;)

Again, though, I'm noticing more tense issues. You switch around quite a bit, and although I know that can happen when you get distracted or stop for a few minutes, etc., but you do need to watch out for those. It can feel awkward sometimes.

Overall though, I'm impressed yet again :)

Blaire

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This chapter was quite nerve-racking as this was the first time we really see a dragon up-close and I didn't want to mess it up, so I'm thrilled to know you enjoy it. =D I really should be more careful with the tenses, shouldn't I? Thank you for pointing them out again, I definitely am going to fix those. ^_^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>