Reading Reviews for The Itsy-Bitsy Spider
  
119 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Blackiee Sensory Overload

22nd May 2011:
okay i love love love this story!! your writting is amazing and the plot-thing is so good! i wish you would update but its already been over 2 years so my dreams are dying. PLEASE UPDATE!? does that help any??

i hope you keep writting because your so freaking good at it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by make you want it Sensory Overload

24th August 2009:
That was a fantastic end to the chapter. It showed briliantly how the dark arts can lead to not only the suffering of others but also self damage. I can see this is where her intrest in dark arts really starts to become self damaging. It seems almost as if it sparks some kind of mental illness. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #3, by make you want it A Ceremony of Sorts

24th August 2009:
A brilliant description of the great hall, most that I have read tend to be rather flat but this was pretty good. I really like the way Arachnae seems to be reflecting on the past, for example when she is first introduced to the people who will become deatheaters at the slytherin table and she reflects on the knowledg that the majority of them are now dead, in askaban or something equally bleak.
It gives the impresion that their lives are alredy planed out and theres nothing they could do to change them, which give the story a somber feeling which is contrasted by the youth and excitment which are felt when they first discover the dark arts.
Archnae looks back on her life and while she regrest the pain she caused she knows the only other option for her would be to live a boring and arvage life which in a way is a must worse fate. This kind of hoplesness really brings the story alive.

Long review but I think there was a lot to say about this chapter and It's such a good fan fic it deserves it :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by make you want it Train Ride

24th August 2009:
I'm still really enjoying this it's the best fan fic I've read in a while. I'm not useally a fan of dark angsty fic's but this is just perfect.
One little thing I have no idea how the characters names are pronounced, Arachnae and Facetia any chance you could write them phoneticly..? keep up the fantastic writing :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by make you want it Up the Water Spout

24th August 2009:
This is the first original and well written fan fic I have come across in a long time, I can tell I'm going to enjoy reading it. x

 Report Review

Review #6, by mercurialxsmile Sensory Overload

9th July 2009:
Dude. :)
Very different, I like it. A lot. You should... update.
Though to be honest, I have to get used to reading something that doesn't even pretend to have a happy ending. It's kind of disheartening, actually. But I'm enjoying it, in a morbid sort of way...
Thank you ^_^

 Report Review

Review #7, by amessageintheicing Several Shades of Black

8th March 2008:
Whee! I decided I needed to review this on here. This is such an amazing story. It just draws you in and refuses to let go. Impatiently awaiting the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #8, by SilverThimble Up the Water Spout

9th December 2007:
wow...already I love it. Arachne seems like a very interesting character, and your writing is brilliant.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! That means a lot.

 Report Review

Review #9, by joojoo Several Shades of Black

27th October 2007:
*gets self ready for revieiwng*
Wow. This story is simply superb. I love Arachnae, and I adore how you've slowly built her up from a child. In fact, all your characters are superb, and the darkness of this tale gives me chills.
The best thing though, is how easily the whole thing flows. Your vocabulary isn't extraordinarily difficult, and it gives exactly the right effect to your story. The little snippets of Rachie's-future-voice is amazing - and I absolutley adore that they are just that - little snippets. Like with everything, you've kept it in compelete balance. Not too little, not too much. Just right.
Wow, I sounds like Goldilocks, but you get the picture.
The American transfer thing is generally looked down on, but you got this down right. And I liked how there was more than just one of them... very unique.
Talking about the American side - Quodpot?! How genius is that? I have to rate you for thinking of these things. It's really admirable how much obvious effort and detail you've put into writing this story.
I don't know how this story is going to develop, which is good, ebcause it would have been boring if I did. Rachie and Sirius need to get some stuff in the open, though, I think. Some sort of confrontation is soon to come?
She's being influenced by the Slytherins, but I adore how you make us still feel sympathy for her, even through all she's going through. Facetia, for one, doesn't seem to be making much of an effort to stop Sirius bugging her 'best friend', so we feel a bit of animosity towards her.
Anywho, I'm going to stop theorising (i think that;s the word, right?) about your story, and I'm going to leave you to continue as remarkably as you are. AMAZING job!


Author's Response: *gets self ready for responding*
Wow! It's so difficult to answer such immense praise! And in such a large measure, too - what a huge review!
But I can honestly say that I adore the fact that you have chills. One of the things I aim for, you see.
I often feel like bashing my head against a wall for employing that transfer cliche - but your calling it unique has made me feel much better, so I thank you for that as well!
Any genius regarding Quodpot is owed to the marvelous JKR, since it really is her creation.
Confrontation? Maaaayyybee... Probably not in the next chapter, though, if there is.
And I will continue to pursue the conclusion of the next chapter, and I apologize greatly for the long delay.
Thank you again for the lovely review! *salute*


 Report Review

Review #10, by raven_child Several Shades of Black

4th September 2007:
It's taken me a while to get to do this review, but there's little more I can say than the story is still very good! It's so cool how well written the whole story is. I really love the Snape moment towards the end. Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by RoseCrimson Train Ride

23rd August 2007:
I just realized I didn't review this chapter! OMG! (And, I will add, I'm simply revolted to see you don't get more reviews. It's a scandal!)

It's so cool that Rachie didn't talk much, it made the conversation all the more funny and interesting to read XD "Merlin, these people talk a lot." I just love that sentence (I hate talking too, it's so annoying. Writing is much more fun. Ok, moving on).

Erm, sorry... no constructive criticism. You're obviously a much better writer than I am, so I have really no advice to give you.

Author's Response: Heh, I didn't even notice. Thank you so much for coming back and writing one! That's awfully kind of you.
Hey, I agree completely. Talking is often a very bothersome activity.
No criticism? Ah well. Better luck next time, I suppose... =)
Thanks for the review! *salute*


 Report Review

Review #12, by Pretty Purple Pelican Several Shades of Black

19th August 2007:
I didn't even stop to write my review as I was reading, which is what I normally do. It was too good to do that. I can't remember what year this is in, but has Snape already called Lily a Mudblood? I figured that was how he "understood". It really was an amazing chapter. Fantastic.

I hope you update soon :)

Author's Response: Yeah, you're right about Snape. This is sixth year (I can't remember if I actually mention that or not), so that particular event has already taken place.
Thank you so much, and I will try to update as soon as possible! (Or as soon as school permits...)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Pretty Purple Pelican Slippery

19th August 2007:
I'm plunging back into the reviewing world, so here I am. I don't totally remember what's going on, but I'm sure I'll catch on quickly enough. I love that you made Peter the one who was decent enough to greet her. Very good of you. :)

Hahaha. I'd forgotten how much your story amuses me. I loved the bit about Clue. Fantastic.

Amazing. The way that you've thought up the entire history of the Unforgivables is absolutely fantastic. You make it sound as if it truly is known history. Your story is so good that it's hard for me to stop reading to make comments, but that was just so impressive, I had to say something.

Ooh, I've got chills from this. Absolutely excellent. :)

Author's Response: You're back! That's so exciting! I'd wondered where you'd gone off to...
Peter, Peter, Peter. DH kind of completely wrecked what I had planned for him, but with any luck I'll be able to work it out.
Huzzah! I was hoping someone would find that part funny. ^_^
And thanks for the comments about the Unforgivables... At the time I didn't know what else to do with this chapter and had to fill up space with something... Thanks a lot, I'm glad you liked it.
Chills? Chills? I must've forgotten to take the ice cubes out before submitting this. You know, it was getting so old I had to freeze it to keep it from going bad...
*coughcough* Really lame jokes aside, thanks for dropping by, and it's good to see you around again! *salute*


 Report Review

Review #14, by lava lue Up the Water Spout

14th August 2007:
Oooo...I love it! Welcome to the dark side.

Author's Response: Thank you! *maniacal cackle*

 Report Review

Review #15, by RoseCrimson Several Shades of Black

14th August 2007:
Now I'm really out of constructive criticism. Exellent chapter, as always, and please update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you, once more!
And I shall do my best to update as soon as possible!


 Report Review

Review #16, by RoseCrimson Slippery

14th August 2007:
Yet another splendid chapter! I'm so sorry, I have no more original and constructive criticism to give you. You're just so darn talented!

So, erm... that moment in the classroom, with Colbert, was really well written and pretty freaky, so congrats =)

I'll have to say once again how much I love Rachie. Her entire personality, her sense of humour, her shyness, it's all so perfect. And her sins make her so very human. I LOVE her. Good job =D

Author's Response: I'm almost wishing I hadn't given Colbert a less minor role, because now I actually have to figure out what to do with him... Hopefully it'll turn out all right.
I'm so happy you like Rachie! I really enjoy writing for her...
Thank you much too muchly much!


 Report Review

Review #17, by RoseCrimson Superman

14th August 2007:
Ah, the illustrous Superman boxer shorts... I love that part of the story XD
Now, where did you get such a pretty vocabulary? I need one like that too.

Author's Response: This is one of those times when I'm glad Abby writes most of this stuff first - I couldn't have come up with something so brilliantly hysterical.
When shopping for vocabularies, I find that small, local shops have them available at a far higher quality than that of large chain department stores. You might have to shell out a bit more cash, but I think it's worth it. ;)
Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #18, by rosse A Ceremony of Sorts

14th August 2007:
The talking armor was very funny XD And congratulations on the way you portrayed Dumbledore, it felt very Dumbledore-ish.

Author's Response: I was worried about having to write Dumbledore, but I'm quite pleased that you enjoyed it.
Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #19, by RoseCrimson Queens, Quods, and Transfers

13th August 2007:
Hm, somehow, I prefered the first two chapters to the last three ones. But they're still excellent, don't worry. Maybe it's because they're less dark. I'm looking forward to reading about Rachie's time at Hogwarts, that should be more interesting :)

So, writing style, grammar, vocabulary, plot, etc. = spectacular. What else can I say?

Author's Response: Hm, I just realized in my last response I said 'got understood,' which just doesn't make any sense. Oh well.
I apologize for the lack of darkness; with any luck things'll start to lean that way again soon.
Thank you! *doffs hat*


 Report Review

Review #20, by RoseCrimson Facetia

13th August 2007:
* I meant to say 'good' not 'goog'.

And I forgot to say it's really cool and creative that your story and Abhorsen's are connected.

Author's Response: Heh, no problem, I got understood you. :)
I love writing alongside Abby, it can get very fun at times.
Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #21, by RoseCrimson Facetia

13th August 2007:
I love Rachie. I love anyone who's not goog at talking :)
Okay, constructive criticism... well there's not much to critize, your writing style is divine, your vocabulary simply amazes me, the depth of your characters is stunning,... that's about it.

Author's Response: I'm glad you love Rachie. I do too.
Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #22, by RoseCrimson Catalyst

13th August 2007:
Beautiful descriptions :) You make it all sound so real, like I'm really there in that attic with Rachie... And the characters feel very real, too, it looks like you've really thought about their personality and their history. I like that =)

And you have quite a large vocabulary, I might add ;)

I like Rachie's reflections, makes the story more interesting. Your writing style reminds me of Abhorsen's (that's a good thing). I love it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And, of course, being compared to Abhorsen is quite flattering.
Thanks for the review! *bows*


 Report Review

Review #23, by RoseCrimson Rewind

13th August 2007:
BRAVO!!! *claps hands furiously* Now you've really got me hooked. Ah, if only the weather was bad, I would stay inside and read all the next chapters...

I absolutely ADORE that last part. The way you describe this addiction is simply so... how should I say? Well, it's beautifully written, that's for certain. I can't find words worthy enough to review this chapter!

The description of Arachnae's parents is brilliant, simply amazing. Good job, miss! =) This deserves a 10/10!

Author's Response: Oh, don't spend all your time inside reading fanfiction, that can't be healthy. *total hypocrite*
*clears throat* Well, I'm certainly VERY happy your enjoyed that last bit. Arachnae's addiction is my favorite part of this story. It probably IS the story, and I'm eager to get nearer to the end of sixth year so I can write more about it...
Thank you muchly! *salutes*


 Report Review

Review #24, by RoseCrimson Up the Water Spout

13th August 2007:
Wow, very powerful chapter :)
I've read 'My name is Facetia' and absolutely love it, so when Abhorsen said we should also read 'The itsy-bitsy spider', I thought I'd give it a try. And I'm not disappointed =)
I'll go read the next chapter now :p

Author's Response: Oh yes, listen to Abhorsen, she's amazing. Really, really glad you're not disappointed. This first chapter always makes me wonder what kind of impression I'm making...
Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Iloenchen Several Shades of Black

9th August 2007:
Amazing! This story draws me in faster than any other story has done so far. It's great, you write all the characters so perfectly, giving them depths and making them three-dimensional.
Now I'm impatiently waiting for the next update, wondering what else will happen and make Rachie turn towards the dark for good, and if she'll ever come closer to Remus.

Author's Response: Praise, praise, praise... It's so difficult to respond to so much praise! I'll just tip my hat to your ability to make me feel really good. *goes to find a hat so she can tip it*
Eh, I'm impatiently waiting for the next update, too. It's coming along faster than the last one, anyway, I can tell you that. Thanks to our dear Abhorsen, I actually know what to do with this chapter. Hehe.
Thank you! *tips newly found hat*


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>