Reading Reviews for Tutelary
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by JLHufflepuff Tutelary

28th June 2010:
It took me a while to try to figure out who the narrator was because I was listening to the podcast and didn't see the banner. I LOVED the way you set it up that it was not just a given who it would be. It gives the piece an air of mystery. It's amazing that he notices what Tom can do with his eyes. The characterization of both Tom and Dumbledore REALLY work given what we know about them. I think it's interesting that you make comparisons if not a direct connection between Riddle's ideology and Grindelwald's. The concept that loyalty is Voldemort's ultimate weakness is very powerfully portrayed. I love the ending - "Checkmate."

 Report Review

Review #2, by StarBright Tutelary

24th November 2008:
This was very nice! I really enjoyed it. It was very well written. It was so interesting to see Dumbledore's thoughts on everything. I also like the flashbacks. :]

Author's Response: Thanks a lot!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Lena Tutelary

18th January 2008:
I am speechless. You have probably written the best Dumbledore-Voldemort fanfic I will ever read. You've hit the two characters' personalities exactly on target. Amazing dialogue. Words cannot describe how good this is. You've flawlessly tied in essential parts of DH, as well as previous descriptions of Tom Riddle, and at the same time, explained things other readers may wonder about. Excellent job.

Author's Response: Wow, it's good to see you liked it so much. I may do a few further edits for HBP, not sure if I will though. Dumbledore became a very intriguing character in the last book.

 Report Review

Review #4, by celestlyn Tutelary

8th November 2007:
Excellent! What a wonderfully, insightful, look into Dumbledore's psyche. Written so well! I love it!


Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Elf_ears13 Tutelary

8th August 2007:
I read this before but didn't want to review because I thought I'd read it before, which was just crazy. So now I read it again. First, I love love love the way you address Tom through the writing, because it really feels like I'm getting into Dumbledore's thoughts. You write both of them so well, it's unbelievable. The dialog is fantastic and it really plays out like their conversations in the books - both thinking they know more than the other, both condescending with the guise of politeness, the awkward pauses and suspicions and repeating what the other said. These are probably the only two characters who talk so formally, so it's always interesting to see what they have to say.

I loved how you edited in the Grindelwald stuff in so seamlessly, as it really adds to Dumbledore's character and shows his faults - he always struck me as the sort who would regret the foolishness of his youth, but I never imagined that it would be so grand in scope of a regret. You brought that forth really well. In any case, I think you stuck well to Dumbledore while still illuminating the trickier parts of him - especially with the addition of Grindelwald - and this is probably the best Dumbledore fic I've ever read.

Back to the tone: I always expect to end in the same place that I began - the present, Dumbledore speaking in first person - so I was sort of surprised by the path you took at the end. However, I think it worked very, very well, as I can almost imagine Dumbledore doing this all the while knowing that he would be sort of showcasing the memory to Tom in ... his memory, if that makes sense. Maybe I'm reading way too much into it, but it's fantastic any way you look at it precisely because you can look at it in any way.

Author's Response: Wow, I think your review is actually longer than the story. The Grindelwald stuff I was very inclined to edit in (especially seeing as this is going to be on a podcast, and if it wasn't canon I'd be rather embarrassed). Dumbledore's very fun, yet very difficult, to play around with, as is Voldemort/Riddle (I need to do a fic from his POV, now that I think about it). Glad you liked it (especially the end, which originally wasn't in the fic but was written at the suggestion of a friend), and thanks for the (mammoth) review as always.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Kate Tutelary

1st October 2006:
wow that was amazing i love how you did that entwined so many things into one it was just well wow is the only word to describe it love your writing i think it's amazing keep it up

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #7, by purewings Tutelary

11th July 2006:
This is my favourite story from you, so far.
It was an excellent idea to show Dumbledore's other side, then always smiling and eating candies. You described his way of thinking - very well done. You should work on this topic more, I think, it's worth dealing with. Dumbledore's character often becomes the cliché of "the wise old mage", something like Merlin. But people reaching this level of wisdom, I believe are pretty much familiar with the darkest sides of life, since there is a great dark mage in them. The difference is that they have already learnt how to make a free choice, unlike most people who are pulled on the strings of their fate. I believe, you could show the greatest wizard - Dumbledore in a longer story with great talent, as you did in this one-shot.
Hope I encouraged you to write!
wings

Author's Response: I agree, Dumbledore obviously knows a lot about darkness and such to be so wise - it's impossible for him to not know, really. I like portraying him as a character with many layers; he hides his flaws very well, but as he said in HBP, as he is cleverer than the average man, his mistakes tend to be correspondingly huger. Dumbledore's just great fun to write. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by padfootssugar Tutelary

27th June 2006:
this is another outsanding piece of fic, i love they way that you write as if you were the character. this one as dumbledore and the one when sirius dies(sorri cant remember wot its called)but u do it so well and your fics are testiment to that. again i love you fic.
love ya babz kirstyxxxxxxxx

one by one the penguins are stealing my sanity!!!!
grrrrrrrrr bloody penguins

Author's Response: I enjoy these kind of fics that are mainly just the thoughts of a certain character, as you can probably tell. They're fun (or at least I think so). Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #9, by hermione006 Tutelary

2nd May 2006:
I really enjoyed this story and enjoyed that it was different then any other story that I have read before. The beginning seemed confusing because if you haven't read HBP then you wouldn't exactly know who's thoughts you were reading. Also, in some parts of the story, the sentences were a little short and choppy. Your story flowed very well and you transitioned between the thoughts and memories perfectly.

Dumbledore's character was excellent and very realistic. He seemed intelligent, witty, and confident which are all good. At the end of his last thoughts he did seem a little too confident and somewhat arrogant. I loved this line It’s a pity you never were interested in chess; it’s a common thing, sacrificing your pieces. I was just a pawn in this grand game. Do you not see it now? because I felt that it summarized Dumbledore's part in the war and the logic behind his death.

I loved the ending and thought it finished the story nicely. This one-shot was excellent. Fantastic style of writing-Hermione006

Author's Response: Wow, thanks for that! That was an excellent review, really. I'll go back and look at the sentences - they probably were fairly choppy.



I'm glad that he seemed in-character, although it's nice to know that you thought he seemed too arrogant. That was something I deliberately did - to the victor go the spoils, as they say - but I may have gone overboard. Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Rekhyt Tutelary

1st May 2006:
Starting and ending with a single word creates a nice dramatic effect. The Grindewald scene was quite interesting; we haven't heard much about him in the books, so it was a good plot hole to fill in. Nitpicking time (can you ever escape it with me?): there were two times when you had 'all ready' instead of 'already'. It not like the way 'alright' is the incorrect form of 'all right'; those are actually two different words.

Giving you reviews always forces me to get a Thesaurus, because 'nice' and 'good work' just aren't cutting it. Here you are, then: incredible.

Author's Response: Ah, I always get those two confused. I'll stop being lazy in a second here and go back and change it. Thanks for the other comments, though - I was wondering how many people besides myself were intrigued by the prospect of Grindelwald.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Winterrose Tutelary

1st May 2006:
Interesting, and I don't think that it's that far off from the truth to be honest.

Author's Response: In all honesty, neither do I. *is too arrogant*

 Report Review

Review #12, by delta Tutelary

1st May 2006:
This is a very interesting piece. I really like the other view of Dumbledore. At points, however, the speaker is confusing, but, as you read more and more, the speaker becomes evident. This is a unique story and definitely something that you should be proud of. Great job! :)

Author's Response: Yeah, the inclarity might be something I'd consider going back and changing, since it wasn't intended (I didn't think to clarify who was speaking), but it seems it added a little intrigue for some readers. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Siriusly Obsessed Tutelary

30th April 2006:
Very intriguing. A well written story as well. It's not a concept most would think about. I particularly enjoyed reading how Dumbledore acted towards Riddle in the flashbacks. Your story worked out quite well for what you were intending. I liked it : )

Author's Response: I'll admit that I first began thinking of a manipulative Dumbledore when I read Insane Asylum Escapee No 9's story "Puppet Master", which I absolutely loved and added to my favorite stories. But I branched off quite a lot from that and took a different perspective; I'm glad to see that you liked it. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Me 'n Him Tutelary

30th April 2006:
Really enjoyed it!!! Great thought, I loved the way that you got into Dumbledore's head.....well planned and great character depth. Wonderful job!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the characterization! Since this is pretty much a character-based fic, I was screwed if I messed that up.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login