Reading Reviews for A New Hope
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Karkaroff Epilogue

1st November 2008:
I thought this was a cool idea and I thought Snape was in character. Thanks for writing.

 Report Review

Review #2, by CJ_Black The One

3rd April 2007:
The final chapter...it was really good, though I'm sad this is over. I really liked this sory it was very original. I lovedyour version of Snape and what really happened that night. I rstrained myself from arguing about Snape not telling Voldemort in the previous chapter, but I figured you knew what you were doing. And I was right. This version is plausible, and certainly one I never really thought of. Once again, you portrayal of Dumbledore and Snape was fantastic. This was a very interesting story, I liked it a lot, and I'm happy I got the chance to read it. I shall read more of your stories as soon as I can, I did promise I'm going to read ALL of them, and I shall do so. In the meantime, let me just congratulate you for this awsome story. Much love, CJ

Author's Response: Well, I thought this fic was over till a friend of mine suggested I could add some sort of epilogue, from one of the character's point of view. And it's a brilliant idea I'm going to use when I have the time to do so.

The twist with Regulus turned that fic that should have been a 3-chaptered fic into a 4-chaptered fic. I don't know if it's plausible... it made for a better story though.

I'm glad you liked that fic, and you certainly don't have to read all of my fics - I know you don't like Lily. hehe. Thank you for reading and reviewing. :D
~Anne


 Report Review

Review #3, by CJ_Black A New Ally

3rd April 2007:
I simply love your style - it's so natural and simple, and I enjoy reading this story a lot. Once again, small remarks upon Snape bring him even closer to what I envisioned. Then it comes - Lily. The one character I've always loathed (well, maybe except Peter). I loved her portrayal here (I don't let my feelings get in the wa of objectivity), I think you pulled off a great character, even if it wasn't much developed. But let's go back to Snape. He is easily one of the best Snapes out there, the exact same way I pictured him. Nether good nor evil, but simply doing whatever is in his best advantage. He wants knowledge and power, independence, and he does everything he can to achieve them. Spectacular portrait, awsome descriptions, very good chapter. Can't wait to read the last one.

Author's Response: At first I thought I would be unable to write a believable Snape and I would hate to write him. I was wrong. Especially about the second statement. The first... I entertained doubts till I was told my Snape was fine. lol. Yes, my Snape discovered one can't have too much power and independence when one serves a dark lord. Dark lords are jealous of their powers. They don't share. lol. I'm glad you like my Snape. I know most people like to read him as a romantic character. I don't write him like that. But I think I'm showing more of his human side in another fic...

Lily... She's one of my favorite characters, I must admit it. She's so mysterious. We don't know much about her. I've always imagined her like Ginny is characterized in the books: gutsy, brave, smart, loyal and powerful. Oh, well, everyone is entitled to their opinion. lol.

Thanks a lot for the review. ~Anne


 Report Review

Review #4, by CJ_Black The Prophecy

3rd April 2007:
Another spectacular chapter! I loved it. The bit about Aberforth's reputation in the beginning was very funny - you are very talented with subtle humor. Also, I loved your portrayal of Trelawney. You stucked to the canon, but made a very good job of her. Again, the humor shows up with the comment upon her "Inner Eye" and when she says "I know you're going to sit down". The transition between humor and angst/drama/action is very well dne and very naturally flowing. When describing Snape, you did an amazingly good job as well - wonderful portrait and very close to my perception of him, of course :) I loved this chapter as well, and I'm off to read the next. Much love, CJ [Black Kitty]

Author's Response: Thank you! I couldn't resist using that bit of information given to us by JKR - through Albus - about Aberforth.
As for the portrayal of the characters, I must admit that I wrote that fic at a time I was re-reading the books, and I had not read any fanfics yet, so I guess it helped me write them in character. Trelawney is annoying sometimes, but she's not a bad person. She's a fraud when she tries consciously to make a divination, but she's a real seer. As for Snape, I would never have thought I would be able to write him. But he's such a useful character in some situations. So even if I don't like him, I like the character. I'm glad you like the way I read him in the books.
Thanks for the review! :D
~Anne


 Report Review

Review #5, by CJ_Black The Interview

3rd April 2007:
I think you gave this story a most interesting beginning. I seriously loved this chapter - very well-written, very promising and very original. I liked your portrayal of Dumbledore and the relationship between him and Fawkes. The bit about the Headmasters - "Once Headmaster of Hogwarts, forever Headmaster of Hogwarts" - I really enjoyed that as well, very touchy. The Divination teacher prophecied his own retirement - that was really interesting and funny. I can easily picture him doing that. I also loved your descriptions of the weather and the strange phenomenon going on, people ignoring the war - it had many meanings inside. You're extremely talented with descriptions, I can tell that much. When you wrote the odd relationship between Dumbledore and Tom, it was extremely well portrayed, almost as if it was written by JK herself. I see you noticed the bartender was actually Aberforth - so did I. Yay! Well, I really liked this chapter and I'm off to read the next. Sorry if I'm a bit slow on reviews, I do read chapters several times before I review them, I hope you don't mind. Much love, CJ [Black Kitty]

Author's Response: This fic was the very first fic I wrote in English - English is not my mother tongue, and I know it shows sometimes.

When I re-read it not so long ago - I was thinking about editing it - I was almost surprised. I mean, I've read so many fics since then that I'm not sure I could still write Dumbledore in character, like I did in this fic. We've always seen Dumbledore through Harry's eyes, except in the very first chapter. And that was the Dumbledore of the first chapter I wrote here - Dumbledore without the "Harry filter".

So I know I used some clichés like the watch, the sparkling eyes... but they are part of the characterization of Dumbledore. You made me blush when I read you thought I wrote the relationship between Dumbledore and Tom almost as if it was written by JKR herself. Thanks for the compliment. For all of them.

I'm very glad you like this fic. I know it lacks some details - I guess my skills have improved since I wrote it. And most people ignore it because it's no romance, it's just a little fic trying to fill a blank.
Thanks for reading and reviewing. :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by loony86 The One

26th March 2007:
Alastor, clueless?! *gasps* That once and for all showed me just how serious the situation was. And no, I'm not joking here. Or maybe I have too much confidence in Alastor's abilities and knowledge...

All in all, a nice little story that really brings some light into the events we only learn about one by one in canon. The way you brought Regulus into the plot was... interesting. I always figured Severus would have told Voldemort about the prophecy and not turned to "the good side" until some time later but I guess that's open to interpretation.

I haven't looked closely at the reviews you already got but I bet juls (I saw she read it) was incredibly happy with your version of Severus. And so am I even though my own Severus always turns out to be more... noble... more Albus-like... but that's not canon, and I think that once I stop admiring him, your version is the better one. ;)

I really enjoyed your story! =)

Author's Response: I guess they all were clueless. Even Alastor. But CONSTANT VIGILANCE! lol.

Actually, I know a couple of people who believe Severus was never a true Death Eater. That he's always been Albus's spy. I don't know... It's possible, of course. One thing I'm sure of is that Albus would never have given him a job at Hogwarts if Sevy wasn't on his side. And in OoP, Sevy told Umbridge he'd been teaching at Hogwarts for 14 years.

Ah, yes, Severus. Yes, Juls liked/s the way I wrote him in this fic and the way I'm writing him in Two Lives. I like that character the way he is in the books. So I try to write him that way, and yet as a human being.

I'm so glad you enjoyed this story! Thanks for reading, and for your wonderful reviews, loony. *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #7, by loony86 A New Ally

26th March 2007:


I'm curious what it was that Severus showed Albus... It was probably the grand mysterious proof that Albus keeps talking about in canon. Hm... interesting, interesting...

As for the concerns you expressed in your A/N: I think you did very well with both of them. They are both difficult, that's true.

There's one tiny detail... Fawkes wouldn't fly out of the open window. ;) He's a Phoenix.

Author's Response: I would like to know what Severus showed Albus too... lol. I hope JKR is going to give us a better reason for Albus being so sure Severus was on the good side than the one he gave in HBP!

Yeah, Fawkes is a phoenix... but I've always loved to see him fly in CoS! lol. I always hear that music when I imagine Fawkes flying.

Again, thanks for r&r, dear! *SAYS style huggle glomp attackle*


 Report Review

Review #8, by loony86 The Prophecy

26th March 2007:
Hm... so Albus wants no further Divination classes, and yet he knows a true Seer when he sees one, thus admitting he believes in Divination after all? I think he's a bit too hard on Sybill in the beginning of this chapter. Then again, his reasons for accepting Sybill as a teacher at Hogwarts were very logical. It's probably difficult to make him sceptical and believing all at the same time.

Psst... I think you should put in an A/N stating where the prophecy came from... it's a direct quote after all, and while we all know that it is, it still can't hurt to give credit. ;)

A wonderful second chapter, Anne! And now I'm off to 3...

Author's Response: In my opinion, Albus believes in divination, but he also believes in choice, and he said more than once that a prophecy doesn't mean anything, and doesn't have to become true, unless someone decides that it has to be fulfilled. He told Harry that the prophecy would have had no incident on his life IF Voldemort had not CHOSEN to believe it was true. So Albus is not really skeptical, he's cautious.

You're right. I'm going to add an A/N... I don't know how this chapter was validated that way - and I didnt think about it.

Thanks for reading and reviewing! *huggles*



 Report Review

Review #9, by loony86 The Interview

26th March 2007:
Ah yes, dear Albus, I agree - Phoenixes are amazing creatures. ;)

I like the idea of the old divination teacher seeing himself retire and therefore deciding to retire. It's a nice new variation of a self-fulfilling prophecy.

Your first ever fanfic, eh? You knew I couldn't possibly resist that. And I really love the beginning! One thing though; in the first few paragraphs, you've got just a few too many clichés about Albus and Fawkes. The strange golden watch, the sparkling eyes behind half moon spectacles... all of that is true. Maybe I've just read it once too much. It doesn't disturb the flow though, and really, I've seen worse things. ;)

The last sentence makes me wonder... do we actually know of a case where Aberforth had refused any real and important directives from his brother? Hm... I hardly know this character, and you may well just have set a bunnie free.

Now I'm curious what this flashback meant, the one where Albus thinks he should have done something before Tom came to Hogwarts...

Another note on the issue of "first ever fanfic"; first thing, it's not obvious at all that it was your first one. And second... I always like first stories because they're usually quite original, and they show what an author really wants to write. Especially in your case, I have the feeling that you wrote this before you were "spoilt" by reading too much fanfic and by discussing it too deeply *coughIBlameSAYScough*. You have certainly developed since then, but I'm glad I have the chance to get a glimpse of the writer you once were when you started. Our first steps in the world of HPFF were so similar... Yeah, that sounds really cheesy, and I'll just stop not and read on. ;)

Author's Response: I must admit I used the clichés on purpose. They are part of Albus characterization - we don't know much about him, after all. lol. (I know I'm weird, lol.) About the old divination teacher... I told to myself that when you can see the future, you believe what you see, thus you have to make sure what you saw will become true. LOL.

Sorry for the bunny. Aberforth is a mysterious character... We know he's the bartender of the Hogs Head, that something happened with a goat and that he and Dung had some dealings in HBP...

I agree with you concerning your first story being your most original. In an attempt to find back that originality, I'm writing an OC/OC fic! You're right, I wrote this fic before I was "spoilt" by reading too many fanfics. lol. Maybe I said this in the A/N, but this fic is based on my theory on the night of the prophecy. Then I found out I like filling in the blanks left by JKR.

You're right, our first steps in the world of HPFF were similar. *hugs*

Anne



 Report Review

Review #10, by juls The One

12th January 2007:
Interesting twist on how Voldy finds out about the memory. Good job on your characterization of snape. And yes, Snape loved lily in his way. huggles juls

Author's Response: Yes, in his way. But I don't think she was the love of his life, like so many people think she was... *does a happy dance* I'm glad you liked my characterization of him. I was said he was a bit OoC in that one. lol.
Thank you for reading and reviewing, juls!
*huggle*

Anne


 Report Review

Review #11, by juls A New Ally

12th January 2007:
Thank you... thank you for allowing Severus to admit he was wrong, not always bad or good. I for the most part hold onto the good of him. Eh, I'm a git. juls

Author's Response: I don't think he's a bad man, and I'm positive he's not on the bad side. He's a shady character all right!
I'm glad you liked the way I portrayed him.
*huggle*

Anne


 Report Review

Review #12, by juls The Prophecy

12th January 2007:
Yup, a not so fake fraud. That's our Sybil. Another wonderful chapter, a squee of delight in seeing Severus make his appearance. The deadly night for the Potters now set in motion. But not just for the potters, for the longbottoms and everyone else. Sadly, it all happens for a reason. huggles juls

Author's Response: I knew you would like the moment when he finally appears. lol. Yes, so many people suffered or died because of that prophecy... that's why Voldemort has to get the axe and Harry has to live!
Thanks for r&r.
*hug*

Anne


 Report Review

Review #13, by juls The Interview

12th January 2007:
Great beginning Anne. One of those wonderful not in the book moments. huggles juls

Author's Response: You know I like to write not in the books moments - we have the books for the rest. No need to re-write them. JKR's doing a wonderful job. lol.
Thanks a lot for reviewing.
*huggles*

Anne


 Report Review

Review #14, by Weasley twins rock The One

24th December 2006:
As you asked about the fourth chapter in the forums I will tell you honestly what I think. I couldn't quite follow the happenings all the way through, I had to go back and read it again (maybe I am just slow). Perhaps the reviewer you mentioned had the same problem as me. You just need to go through the discussion between Dumbledore and Snape, Dumbledore's words are clear and understandable but in patches Snape is confusing. It is a good discussion just needs a tiny bit of tweaking. If you need any help ask on the forum again or ask someone who will beta it for you.

Author's Response: Ah, thank you. I needed a second point of view. Now I know I have to edit that chapter, especially Snape's parts. I'll do it before I'll add the last chapter - some sort of epilogue, in fact. And I'll ask a beta to do his/her magic for me.
Happy holidays!

Anne


 Report Review

Review #15, by Weasley twins rock A New Ally

24th December 2006:
Nearly as good as the other two, not sure about the characterisation of Snape although in those days we no very little anout him as a person so you get away with it in your writing as it works. Keep up the hard work.

Author's Response: Ah, yes, Snape... He's far more easy to write as Professor Snape than as Snape the Death Eater who wants to change sides. And we never really heard him talk with Albus in private - and we never will. I'm glad it works, really.
Thank you for R&R.

Anne


 Report Review

Review #16, by Weasley twins rock The Prophecy

24th December 2006:
This chapter is just as well written as the others. I only spotted one spelling mistake or perhaps it is because I am British I spell 'completly' completely. Sorry if you think that I am picking bones. As with the first chapter the characterisation was right on the mark and the quality of the writing wa really good. Keep up with your writing style it is captivating.

Author's Response: You're absolutely right, I mispelled "completely". I swear that sometimes my fingers have a life of their own! lol. I'll correct that error as soon as I can.
Thanks for reading and reviewing... and once again for the compliment.

Anne


 Report Review

Review #17, by Weasley twins rock The Interview

24th December 2006:
Wow, that was a really promising start! The quality of the writing was really good and the charatcerisation (if that is a word) was really good. It was like J.K. writing about Dumbledore in places. It only just struck me that the barman at the Hogs Head could be Aberforth thanks for highlighting that for me! Sorry if you find this review disappointing I will tyr and be more constructive in the next ones.

Author's Response: No, I'm not disappointed... but I'm blushing. I wasn't expecting such a compliment. Thank you. I always try to do my best, and though it was a challenge to write Dumbledore, I loved it from the first to the last words.

Anne


 Report Review

Review #18, by ginnyp The One

15th December 2006:
Ooh... Cliffhanger! I like how you wrote this. Snape's innocence is preserved- and Regulus Black's actions were perfectly fitting with his Slytherin identity.

Author's Response: I thought this story was done... but a friend of mine talked me into writing a sort of epilogue. I will. I know I will. lol.
Now I just hope JKR will tell us how it really happened! lol.
Once again, thanks for your great reviews.

Anne


 Report Review

Review #19, by ginnyp A New Ally

15th December 2006:
Good job. This is a good theory on how Snape decided to help Dumbledore. And I agree with you- Snape is his own man.

Author's Response: Oh, yes, I do think he is. lol. Of course, I know a few people who think Snape has always been Dumbledore's man, even before he was a Death Eater... but I'm not sure I agree. lol.
Thanks for your great reviews!

Anne


 Report Review

Review #20, by ginnyp The Prophecy

15th December 2006:
Wow! The timing of this scene was absolutely perfect. Excellent job describing everything, and writing Dumbledore's reaction. The one thing that might be nice to add-you don't need it, though- would be to have Dumbledore be a little skeptical upon hearing the prophecy.

Author's Response: Once again, thank you for the compliment. And to tell you the truth, I thought of making Dumbledore a little skeptical... but then I told to myself: he's Dumbledore, he would know a true prophecy when he heard one. lol. I loved writing him!
Thanks for R&R.

Anne


 Report Review

Review #21, by ginnyp The Interview

15th December 2006:
This was really good. You have an excellent command of English, and you're a skilled writer. There were a few grammar problems, and some mispellings, but nothing major. If you want to know what they were, just PM me. It wasn't noticeable- I'm just a nitpicker. I also like the premise behind this story.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm a far better writer in French, but writing in English helps me to improve my skills. Ah, yes, sadly I couldn't spell to save my life... But being a nitpicker myself, now I know I'm going to hunt down those spelling and grammar errors.
Thanks for reading and reviewing.

Anne


 Report Review

Review #22, by scarletLady666 The One

18th October 2006:
Is that the end?? I expected at least a little more closure, like who is found to be the one (obviously Harry)but it would have been nice to see it from a different angle.It was well written and very intrigueing.I don't get how Voldemort found out about the prophesy if Snape did not tell him and Regulas didn't either??We no from the books that Snape tells Voldemort of the proph and then confesses to Dumbledore, wouldn't this have been the easier and less complicated option to go for?

It is a little bit muddled up when it comes to that part. I would have thought if Dumbledore new Snape extracted his memmory Dumbledore would have had more commonsence to keep it safe for Snape.I see how it gives way to Regulus and his part in it all, interesting use of him again not sure i like it but on the whole it was ok.

Author's Response: No, it's not the end... a friend of mine convinced me to write another chapter. lol. So I will, as soon as I'll have some time. Thanks for reading and reviewing.
~Anne


 Report Review

Review #23, by SYN The One

11th July 2006:
I like this. I had always thought that Regulus would be the one to figure out about the horocruxes. Good job

Author's Response: Well, if you consider him to be R.A.B.... At first, I hadn't planned that part about Regulus. It was supposed to be, like I said, a 3 chapter story. Then I told to myself: if Snape was not the one who told Voldemort, who did? One name immediately crossed my mind: Regulus.
Thanks for reading and reviewing.
~Anne


 Report Review

Review #24, by SYN A New Ally

11th July 2006:
I always new that inside Snape was good. He was bad in the beginning becasue he wanted power but he was always fighting internally with himself.

Author's Response: I wouldn't say that Snape is good... he's mainly self-serving... but he's on the good side. That's my opinion, anyway.
~Anne


 Report Review

Review #25, by SYN The Prophecy

11th July 2006:
Good chapter. a little short but damn good.

Author's Response: Yes, it had to be short, because I had first planned a 3 chapters story... Lol.
~Anne


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>