Reading Reviews for A Serpent's Sacrifice
  
1,698 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Narcissamalfoy394 Finish the Job

9th November 2014:
This is great but why kill Ginny ?..

Author's Response: Had to happen. I did not enjoy doing it, but it was a key part of the plot from the beginning. For the rest of the story to make sense (hopefully), the death had to be of someone very close to Harry. Hope you enjoy the story anyway. G.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Greeneyedgriffin Let Them Come

20th May 2014:
Just started reading it and I can already tell I am not going to be able to stop

Author's Response: Sorry I did not respond earlier. Just saw this, and I hope that you are enjoying the story. Let me know if you have any questions or comments. G.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Teddy A Hatred of a Lifetime

13th December 2013:
Interesting approach on Snape. I must say I definitely didn't see it coming. Especially because most fanfics like to picture him as a good guy. I never had any problems with that, but it's a nice change. It was well thought out and you wrote it very well.

I must say I was glad to read in your response that you didn't turn Ron into a jealous, useless prat during the course of the story. Unfortunately that does seem to happen in most of the fanfics that have a Harry/Hermione pairing. Despite his personality flaws, Ron is a good and loyal friend who is powerful in his own way and I think he should be portrayed that way.

Apart from the fact that you have a really good storyline going, I also noticed ghat your writing has clearly improved while you were writing. The story is very discriptive (as I thought was always one of the strongest points of the HP books). I just started writing fanfiction myself and for me that's the hardest part. I don't have much trouble writing dialogue, but descriptions are not my strongest point.

I am liking this story more than I expected after reading the first two or three chapters. You have a few interesting ideas here, like the way the Horcruxes have to be destroyed. You're a good writer.

Author's Response: I truly appreciate your comments. You are spot on with your comment on the quality of my writing. I had not done any creative writing for decades when I started this story on a whim, and I was surprised at how rusty I was. It definitely took half a dozen chapters or so before I felt that my old writing style returned to me. I went over those first few chapters a couple of years ago to smooth them out a bit, but they still are not what they could have been.

For this story, Snape had to be evil, but I really do not have a bias one way or the other as far as fanfics go. I am not as fascinated by Snape as a lot of people are, and in fact feel that he is overly cartoonish in canon. In fanfiction, however, I have read a lot of stories where Snape is far more interesting than JKR's version.

I think I did Ron better justice in my other story, but I don't dislike him. For plot reasons, he kind of gets the short end of the straw later on in this story, but I will allow you to find that out for yourself. G.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Teddy Normal I Am Definitely Not

12th December 2013:
Nice moment at the grave of Harry's parents. I'm glad that what occured when he touched the graves stayed 'believable'. As believable as a story about wizards can be at least. When I read Dumbledore's letter I was afraid something extremely supernatural would happen, like Lily and James would appear or Harry would be able to talk to them. Magic only goes that far, right?

I do think the Muggle museum is a weird place for a Horcrux. Voldemort hates everything about Muggles and it seems a bit out of character for him to store a horcrux there.

You're doing a good job writing the interaction between Harry and his friends, which is not an easy thing to do in my opinion. It's very easy to go out of character there, but you grasped their relationship perfectly. I'm looking forward to seeing how the relationship between Harry and Ron will evolve when Hermione gets in the middle of them.

Author's Response: I agree that magic only goes so far, and you will not find anything so far out in this story. Harry becomes a powerful wizard, but not god-like by any means.

I wondered about the museum too. My theory was that Voldemort cared more than anything about the horcrux being safe, and nobody would ever think that it could be at a muggle museum. Probably not the best logic, but I had fun writing that chapter.

I think I had a harder time with Ron's character than I did the others. I am not a basher and I wanted to treat all of the main characters with affection, and I like to think that I did. G.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Teddy Remember Me Kindly

12th December 2013:
Great idea to include Harry's will. It makes sense he would want make sure his friends and 'family' get his posessions as he will be in grave danger.

Good job on the conversation between Harry and Ginny. I especially like the fact that they realize things might not be the same between them after the war and their feeling might have changed. In a lot of fanfics, especially after the battle stories, Harry and Ginny get back together immediately without any trouble. I always find it odd as they have been apart for so long and so much has happened to them.

Great job so far!

Author's Response: I am glad you have enjoyed these first few chapters. I think it gets better from here, as much of the set up is now complete. Regarding Harry and Ginny, I tried to deal with their relationship is a believable way. Much later in the story, you will see why I have needed to deal with them in this way. Thanks for the reviews. With a few more, you could take me over the 1700 mark! G.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Teddy Let Them Come

11th December 2013:
Promising first chapter. I can't say much about a story line yet, as there hasn't happened much yet, but it certainly looks good. I like your writing style. Spelling and grammar are fine in my opinion. There are a few problems but it doesn't really stand out.I'll read on and I'll be sure to let you know what I think :)

Author's Response: Nice to have a reader come along for my old story. Let me know how you like it. I think the first chapter was one of my weaker ones, as it took me a few before I got in the groove. I am proud of my story, but I admit readily that it is not perfect. G.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Hamza Khalid Butt You'll Never Be Normal

13th August 2013:
hey, simply put, your story is awesome, this is the fourth time i read it and i am always lead to the same conclusion that this could have been the actual 7th part.

Just want to tell you that your 24th and 25th chapters have been switched and the order is messed up so i think you would like to fix that.

I hope that you may write a story of what happened after voldermort died and everything.

If you may want to contact me, hamza_radical@hotmail

Author's Response: Thanks for letting me know about the chapter mixup. Don't know how that could have happened, as I have not done anything, so it must have been a glitch on the site.

Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed it for a fourth time, but I am not planning on any more fanfiction. Sorry. G.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Bryndie You'll Never Be Normal

24th May 2013:
I am coming to this story late, but I wanted to leave a review. I really enjoyed the author's writing style and ability to piece together a great story line. I do feel that Hermione and/or Ron could have been used more and there were moments when solo Harry in all his powerful glory got a bit annoying. Part of the beauty of the books is that Harry works with people and fiercely loves them (human and non) and while this captured beautifully in many aspects (house elves/snakes), I would have loved to have seen it reflected within the trio a bit more. It would have been interesting to see them use complimentary abilities (not necessarily magical) for example, Hermione parsing through Dumbledore's work and pitting her intellect against what he discovered and being the catalyst for Harry to jump to the next bit of the puzzle and so on. Ron and Hermione are supporting characters that hone Harry and make him shine and in this story they were a bit too passive for my taste, but then I suppose that says it all. My personal ascetic of those characters. :) Overall though, I thought the characters were thoughtfully written. I especially liked the Dumbledore/Harry bits as I thought that the actual series was a bit lacking in that area and it's nice to that role fleshed out.

To the author: Thank you for the opportunity to read a fun and entertaining story.

Author's Response: Thanks for that nice review. I would say I half agree with you. I definitely did not use Hermione and Ron well enough, although Hermione did have a chance to shine late in the story. As I have admitted in many of my responses to reviews, I felt I did not do Ron's character justice.

On the other hand, I often felt in canon that Harry was too passive, and frankly at times was a useless lump of coal. I guess I like my heroes to be, well, heroic, so I do not apologize for Harry's talents in my story. But as you say, that ended up giving Ron and Hermione the short straw.

Good review, and I'm glad you enjoyed the story. G.


 Report Review

Review #9, by john You'll Never Be Normal

30th April 2013:
a very good story i enjoyed it

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. G.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Original Name.... It's a Mess

18th January 2013:
Deathly Hallows* I mean.. I was thinking about the movie for some stupid reason although I'm not really that much of a fan of the movies.

Author's Response: Agree with you on the movies. I found them to be very wooden and at times boring. G.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Original Name It's a Mess

18th January 2013:
Always nice to see the inclusion of smaller characters like Dobby into the story line, don't think I've ever read a story where they made a house elf a secret keeper before. In hindsight of reading the chapter I can understand better why it would be a smart option, but I was a little bit unsure why he needed to become Harry's slave in order to be a secret keeper. I thought that the main reason you might have brought the story in this direction is because if he was surrounded and they tried to make him talk he could just vanish as Anti-Apparition wards don't have any effect on Elf-magic as proved in DH2.

Author's Response: The whole Dobby as a slave thing was a little contrived, to be honest, because of what happens at the end of the story. I definitely could have done better here. G.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Original Name The Game Is On

18th January 2013:
Couldn't review second chapter because I've already done it before apparently.

I like the way you've resented Dumbledore as the admirable, quirky and loving person that I picture him as. It seems in a lot of fanfiction that Dumbledore is constantly made to seem the bad guy as canon is disregarded or pushing into the background to make him seem more of an evil or deceitful person. That is always something that's left a bad taste in my mouth. Even though according to canon his past wasn't exactly all sunshine and daisies, I've always just though the point of his darker past was to prove that he is human just like everyone else and not on godlike status. That he could be manipulated by power or greed just like any other person in his shoes. So that's just one more reason why I enjoy your stories.

Author's Response: I am definitely not a Dumbledore basher, and you are right, it seems that bashing the old man is now in fashion in the fanfic world. Certainly he is a man with faults, but he also accepted the supreme responsibility to oversee the salvation of the wizarding world. Though Harry is my favorite character, I enjoy writing Dumbledore more than anyone, and I think that comes through in the story. G.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Original Name Let Them Come

16th January 2013:
Back again.
I've read a lot of fanfiction and when the urge hits me I will spend hours scrolling through the first few characters of various author's attempts to make an interesting story.

One thing that keeps me coming back to this story is the characters. In the first chapters of so many other stories there is some event catastrophic or not that changes the character or attitude until I can no longer picture them as the character (Harry in most cases) portrayed by Rowling and that usually does it for me and I stop reading. What I love about your stories is that it keeps enough to canon that I can read, imagine, feel the character to be the same one that Rowling created all those years ago, but still feels like I'm reading something almost completely original.

I wish you'd write more. But I've pretty much given up on that hope by now. I might do my part and review after each chapter this time and with the hope that might encourage you to write another fanfic.

I wish I could just forget the whole story and read it again with the awe and wonder from the first time, but unfortunately my brain's already trying to piece together which story this is and is likely to try solve it like a jigsaw puzzle the further I get through it. Fortunately it's had no luck yet and although it's triggering a feeling of nostalgia I can't remember the plot thankfully and hopefully I'll be able to enjoy the story once again.

Author's Response: Well, welcome back and thank you for that wonderful review. I hope you enjoy the story again. I did make a few small changes to it (hopefully improvements) a year or two ago, so you may or may not notice them.

Occasionally I think about writing a new fic, but frankly the last two books of the series disappointed me and dampened my enthusiasm, and though I like to read a good post Hogwarts story, I just do not feel compelled to write one. I will never say never, but I have nothing planned for the foreseeable future.

I appreciate your comments on how I write my characters. I was very satisfied with how I wrote Harry and Dumbledore in this story, and they come easiest to me. In my mind, I like to think I did OK with Hermione, but I do not think I did Ron's character justice. I'll be interested in your comments. G.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Christine You'll Never Be Normal

1st November 2012:
LOVED the story!!! Wished there was more Harry and Hermione but it was awesome!! Loved how Dumbledore was brought back to life even if it was for a short period of time! cried when he died again!!

THANKS :D

Author's Response: My other story has a bit more Harry and Hermione, so you may want to give it a read. Dumbledore is one of my favorite characters, and I really enjoyed writing his scenes. Thanks for reading and for the nice review. G.

 Report Review

Review #15, by jlal32 You'll Never Be Normal

30th September 2012:
I loved this story, kept me hooked until the end. Keep up with your talent for writing.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for reviewing. G.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Concused_Duck He Fears You More

19th September 2012:
So I'm back for what I think is my 4th (5th?) time reading this fic. It honestly never gets old, I love it. Its one of the most imaginative, convinving, well written stories on this site and my only complaint is that you don't have more stories for me to read! Ah well, I'm content with having this sit in my favourites list, there for me to re-read whenever I want.

Author's Response: I am honored and humbled to have you back again. I did make a few changes to the story a year or two ago, so you may notice a few differences. I'd be happy to read your comments again. Unfortunately, I do not have any more fanfiction in me, so you'll have to be satisfied with my two efforts. G.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Robert Schoen You'll Never Be Normal

14th July 2012:
I liked the story. Ginny and Ron's fates in the story was suprising, to say the least. I like the story anyhow.

Author's Response: I meant them to be surprises, as surprises have more of an impact on a story. Glad that you enjoyed it. G.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Goddess of Gryffindor He Fears You More

20th May 2012:
I just feel for Harry. I think I would feel the exact same way after I read that letter.

I am glad that I do not have to wait for updates, haha :)

Author's Response: A lot of tough times are ahead for our unfortunate hero. And you are right, there's nothing like reading a COMPLETED fanfic. G.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Goddess of Gryffindor Let Them Come

19th May 2012:
I got bored with Twilight fanfiction, so I came back to this site, and I am glad I did, because I found this story. It captures my attention quite easily, and I am extremely happy to see that there are no grammatical or spelling errors. I know that sounds silly, but I have abandoned stories that I have been into before because that stuff has been so bad.

I am looking forward to finding out what happens next!

Author's Response: I hear you about the spelling and grammar. While it is only fanfiction and a few errors are bound to slip through, I have abandoned many stories that are lacking in that area. Glad to have you aboard, and I look forward to your comments. G.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Sean Let Them Come

12th May 2012:
Great start with this fic. I just finished your other story and was greatly pleased with that one as well! Also the fact that you have gone back to edit and revise both stories shows clearly in the quality of the writing. Keep up the good work, I hope to see new stories from you in the future!

Author's Response: You read my second fic first, but I hope you enjoy this one too. It is a little more canon in nature and epic in scope. Let me know how you like it, and I'll be happy to answer any questions. G.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Kelly Think Before You Jump

24th April 2012:
Not really expecting a response to this, althought it would be nice. Why didn't Harry "feel" the presence of this horcrux like he did with Hufflepuff's cup in the museum? He felt that one as soon as he entered the room, yet he didn't feel the locket even when it was sitting at the same table? Is there a reason for that? Just wanted to share. THanks!

Author's Response: Well, the "defensive" answer would be to say that the locket was not on the table but was in Amelda's purse on the floor until she took it out. But truthfully, I did not really think about that, and probably the best answer would be that since Harry was not expecting Amelda to have the horcrux, he did not feel it, or if he felt something, he did not realize what it was. It's a good point, and I could have dealt with it easily enough if I had thought about it. Thanks for the review, and let me know if you have other questions or comments. G.

 Report Review

Review #22, by HugefFan You'll Never Be Normal

15th March 2012:
Absolutely amazing story, as i probably mentioned in my other review.
It's definetly on my top 3fanfics fighting for spot nr1.
The way he coped with everything, with Voldemort inside him, Ginny's sacrifice and then Ron leaving.. It makes sense the way you told it, and glad Harry got out of the coma and finally managed to understand his love for Hermione!
Can't find words to describe the story, but it was excellent, excellent writing I just want more!
So, off to the other story you have then!:)

PS: Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you for the nice review, and I'm pleased that you enjoyed the story so much. I put a lot of effort into it. Let me know what you think of my other story. G.

 Report Review

Review #23, by HugefFan Only One More to Go

14th March 2012:
I'm not much of a 'revier' or particulary good at revi'ing, but this chapter was one of the best iv'e ever read in any story! Even fell a tear when Dumbledore died, and two when he told his friends about it and with Winky!
I can imagine how it all happened, so well written!
Now to continue with the story! :)

Author's Response: Kind of a tear jerker chapter, isn't it. Glad you like it, and let me know what you think about the rest of the story. G.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Mediwizard You'll Never Be Normal

17th January 2012:
Great story! The ending was perfect, better than any of the other 7th year stories (logicalraven, comes to mind). Thanks for writing, it was my pleasure to read!

Keep writing, you've got something.

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind words and for all of your reviews. I was especially happy with my final two chapters, which I felt wrapped up a complicated story fairly well.

I hope you give my other seventh year story, The Bottom of the Lake, a try as well. It is quite different from Serpent, but you may find it interesting. G.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Mediwizard It All Went to Hell

17th January 2012:
Good few chapters, I should be finished by tonight!

Author's Response: Glad you liked them. This was the part in my story that I had in my mind when I started. G.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>