Reading Reviews for Cold is Outside
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by severus_lover Cold is Outside

5th June 2008:
Rebekka. I love you but you made me cry again ;_; shame on you *wags finger disapprovingly* I really loved WA and I cant believe I hadn't read this before but i guess it was a good thing because now, I wouldn't have had this late night treat. The first part in Remus' narrative just struck a chord somewhere. It was awfully sweet. Sirius is so lovable and even though this is a little less serious and a lot more fluffy, I luffed it to pieces *sniff* :(. It made me smile and fell a tinge warmness and still a little sad. The last part was incredible let me say. Couldn't picture it any other way even of I tried. You must stop playing with my feelings like this. I don't cry. I detest crying. I simply loved this. Added it to my favs in less than a second. hugs*

kay~

Author's Response: It made you cry? Oh... that's just sweet, I guess. I'm very happy that it made you feel, that it touched you, that it reached something in you. Thank you, severus_lover. Thank you for the lovely words. I appreciate it so much. *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #2, by dracomalfoylover123 Cold is Outside

15th February 2008:
Oh my Goodness! I am CERTAIN I wrote a review for this yesterday! An indepth review as well! Stupid computer *punches screen* so sorry, but this will be a small, insignificant review.

I absolutely ADORED this! I loved the ineptness of Remus, mixed with the confident Sirius. The dynamics were just amazing!!! And the emotions were just incredible! I look forward to reading more of you work! Many thanks, Becky x

P.S. Sorry for the randomness of this review but, forgive me, it's 22.47pm and I've just gotten back from rugby (I neither play nor support rugby - I cheerlead for Saints. And I hate the stigma that it entails!!! And the RIDICULOUS assumptions! But I won't bother woth speakin of that now) and I am ridculously tired, but I've mustered all my inner strength to form this review. Basically, this story was GREAT!

Author's Response: Oh noes, stupid computers. O_o But I'm so happy that you came back. And it's just amazing that you loved this one, too. This is the one story that hurts me the most, because it's so broken and somehow small and not good enough... and yet I love it dearly. It means the world to me that you love it, too. Thank you, Becky. You're truly a wonderful reader. *huggles* (And do take a rest from the demands of your life. Oh, thank you so much for leaving a review even though you're extremely tired.)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Wandering_Alone Cold is Outside

27th January 2008:
I love it. The description was beautiful!

Author's Response: You did? Yay. And you liked the descriptions? Thank you. It's just wonderful to hear that. Makes me very happy. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #4, by o0o_MoonyGirl_o0o Cold is Outside

10th January 2008:
This is my favorite ship. And that can be a dangerous thing to say in a sea of Draco/Hermione Draco/Ginny and the like but then I read stuff like this and melihobbit and I find it so sweet and delicate and it makes me happy : )
I don't have time to write a really long review like your other one (congrats on that by the way that's impressive ; D ) but let me convey my love of this ship and your conviction in portraying it as best I can in less words.
I think the best authors out there are the Remus/Sirius shippers. I think it's because of the fragility of their relationship. One can't just hammer away at a slash plot and you come away from it a better writer. I love this ship, and it's cause of fics like this : )

Angela

Author's Response: Oh, Angela, this is just one amazing review. Thank you. I love Remus/Sirius as well, but I haven't read this ship for such a long time. Maybe I should. ^_^ Thank you, thank you. It means a lot to me to hear this, because this story is for people who appreciate quiet things. *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #5, by Strawcherry Cold is Outside

11th December 2007:
This made me sigh in bliss. I seldom read R/S, because the ship has never really been my cup of tea. I find though that when I do, they're often real jewels. This one was, too.
It was a bit short, but the emotion flowing throughout the fic was very strong. I was especially moved by the present-time snippets. The form of speech you chose for Remus, as if he was talking to Sirius directly in his mind, came out very strong here and added to the power of his feelings. On top of that, it added to the powerful contrast you drew between the present and the past through words and style.
I noticed one little thingy though: the first part was also in the past, right? So just for the right effect, you might want to put that in italics too, to flow with the rest of the past-parts.
For the rest, I think you wrote a wonderful piece! I think I am going to read one of your Draco pieces next. I have never read a Draco romance fic before (I have definitely limited myself...), so that should be exciting, hehe!

Author's Response: Oh, Strawcherry (nice nickname, by the way)... you just managed to make me blush. This has to be one of the best reviews I've received because it's for a story that made me suffer so much. ^_^ I'm glad you found the essence of this story. You understood it the way I meant it to be understood. Thank you. And also, thank you for pointing out the italics. I managed to remove them when I edited the song in the beginning. ^_^ Oh, you'll read more? Can't wait to see what you have to say about some of my other stories. Thank you, dear, and happy holidays. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #6, by Andromedatonks Cold is Outside

10th August 2007:
Oh, I love this story so much! Your portrayal of both Sirius and Remus is wonderful! And the contrast between the boys and the grown-ups is captured brilliantly. I'm glad you finished it with a happy memory.
I felt a little distracted though from the constant change of the tenses - I would prefer the memories to be written in Present Tense, too. But that might be just my own preferences.

Author's Response: You liked it? Yay! Hmm... this was an experimental story. I just wanted to see if I can pull this of. The idea is that the present is happening now; it's the future, and the past is in past tense. I guess it's a bit confusing and distracting. But I'm really glad that you liked it. Thank you for reviewing. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #7, by thebfsgf Cold is Outside

7th August 2007:
That was so cute! I loved the first kiss immensely! Please do another one! Please Please!

Rebecka M.

Author's Response: LOL... I'm working on three fics at the moment, but we shall see what I'll come up with after those are finished. Thank you for reviewing, dear. *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #8, by taylorj828 Cold is Outside

4th August 2007:
Me, for another review! (o:

It should have been a serious conversation, but nothing ever was with Sirius. I really liked this line. It was funny. Heh. Naturally, I don't read a lot of Marauders, so I've not experienced much of the serious/Sirius joking. Hehe, funny!

Mmm, alright so I read this one second, as you suggested, and it does have a very different feeling. Honestly, I like the past parts and the third person best, but the first person has a certain rawness, edgyness, gutting-sort of feel. It's good too, I'm just not a fan of most first person writing. Your style feels different as you switch back and forth. But it's still a nice piece.

The story of the boys as boys is very cute and funny. I like that Sirius is so adamant to get Lupin to try kissing. And Lupin's funny, how he goes back to reading. His reactions are definitely interesting, too. Heh.

There's this wonderful juxtaposition of the two times. Young, carefree, fun. Old, troubled, worn down. Young, independent. Old, dependent.. And the change in styles is so... wow. The First Person Older sections wouldn't work as well if they were written like the Third Person parts. They're so deep and from the gut, so in your face, so heavy with feeling... I dunno, it just sits really heavy on me, if that makes sense.

And then I'm thrown back into the lightness and fun and awkwardness.

It's really an intriguing piece, the more I think about it. It makes me wonder alot about the relationship, their friendship. It brings to mind all these deeper questions about the nature of friendships, how they can endure, what limits they have and where hurts become too deep.

A great piece. I find that I can read it over and over, or ponder it multiple times and each time think of something else. I like this, no matter what your opinion of it may be, hehe!

Only other thing I'll mention - the first part where Lupin is talking first person, he asks A LOT of questions, and he's talking to 'you.' It feels a bit rough. But then it smooths out and flows. Not sure what to suggest about it, though. *shrug* Anyway, lovely, dear!

Author's Response: One of my favorite reviews ever. ^_^ What a lovely piece you've written for me. *huggles* Yeah, this is actually a rather strange story for myself. I love the first scene, the third and the fourth. ^_^ Everything else is a bit... out of place. I love it, but it's just not whole. I won't fix it in anyway, because this baby was broken from the very beginning, and it's somehow dear to me like this... full of flaws. ^_^ Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It made me think about my writing, and it made me smile. I appreciate it a lot. Oh, and I haven't even realized that he asked a lot of questions. ^_^ And I don't usually like writing or reading first person, but there are times when I just have to do that. *hugs* Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #9, by sunshinedreamr Cold is Outside

3rd August 2007:
I really liked this. I liked how Remus was kind of hesitant at first. I like your writing style.

Author's Response: Thank you. ^_^ I just adored writing Remus in this story.

 Report Review

Review #10, by absolument Cold is Outside

20th May 2007:
I reviewed your other fic just a moment ago but I couldn’t help myself. Once again, though totally different from the other one, this is a perfect description of this pair. I really love the way you tell a story- you’re so captivating and convincing. And this: " It was the scent of freedom." is a beautiful line.


Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much. This is one of those stories that I'm very uncertain about... It's wonderful to hear that you loved it. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #11, by beebsy1219 Cold is Outside

7th February 2007:
loved it!

Author's Response: Hihii, thank you so much. It makes me happy to hear that (or actually read). ^_^

 Report Review

Review #12, by Elivania Cold is Outside

11th November 2006:
I think you did a very good job on this. Your descriptions are very well developed. The slash wasn't too descriptive, but what you did put in there was just enough not to turn people off. I like the back and forth between past and present, it made for a nice effect and also explained their feelings.

Really good job. *Eli*

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the wonderful review. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #13, by lothlorien Cold is Outside

5th November 2006:
i can't believe that a briliant story such as this one has so few reviews. it should be a crime. as you might have guessed i love it! it's perfect.
ps: never mind the spelling mistakes. i come from a non-english speaking country and i'm a little weak at spelling.

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you so very much. This is one of those stories that cause more tears than happy sighs. ^_^ I really had difficulties with it, but I'm quite pleased how it turned out... oh, and I'm not native either, so my spelling isn't perfect either. Thank you, truly.

 Report Review

Review #14, by NormaJean Cold is Outside

18th July 2006:
really great story! can't wait to see what else you've written.

Author's Response: Hih, thank you. :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Trisha Evenstar Cold is Outside

20th June 2006:
an unusual take to the sirius/lupin pairings. I like it, especially, the flashbacks

Author's Response: I know. It's a bit weird and different, but I kind of love it. ^_^ Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #16, by WickedWitch25 Cold is Outside

26th April 2006:
Oh, I'm so glad you added this back again. It's definetely one of my favorite R/S stories. :-)

Author's Response: Thank you, dear. ^_^ I'm so glad you like it and I'm very happy that it's one of your favorites. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #17, by Silmarwen_Nenmacil Cold is Outside

25th April 2006:
Very nice :) Nothing better than a good story to end your day with. I made me feel all cuddle even though I know the story is supposed to be sort of angsty as well. I'm normally not really into this pairing (I mean, I just read anything slashy and I love Remus and Sirius both dearly but usually don't read story centered around the two of them), but this surely was worth it. *pets Sirius and Remus and pulls them into a hug*

I really liked your use of perspective in this story: alternating between the I/you in the present and the general PoV in the flash backs, quite original and daring (kind of). Great job.

Author's Response: Aaa... that was such a wonderful review. Thank you. ^_^ And I'm really happy that you liked the perspective...

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login