Reading Reviews for Different
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by norapotter The Story of Tom Riddle

8th September 2007:
I love this! I love stories about Voldemort that show his change. It is one of the topics that interest me most. I also liked how you had a thesis, but not just any theme one that shone light on the fact that voldemort was just a person.

I also wanted to thank you. I am writing a story that is not in first person but is sympethetic to voldemort and follows him from childhood to dying day. I am thanking you because you made me realize all the important facts i had forgotten. I really wish I had thought through the details before i started writing. But thank you so much for reminding me. i think i shall re-read halfblood prince in my research for this story and take notes before i write anymore. ch. 2 is already in que but the rest i must research. but when/if you read my story, especially in the futur. know that it was you who reminded me to look over my facts before writing and you who helped me make sure my story made sense. Even if you didn't know or mean to you helped me in so many ways. thank you. this story truly is a 10/10

p.s. his transformation was so wonderful realistic and smooth! GOOD JOB!

Author's Response: Thanks for another lovely review, Nora! Yes, the topic of Voldemort and his transition is interesting to me to. I'm glad you liked this portrayal of it :)


I'm also glad I helped you with your story :) The HP Lexicon is also a massive help for facts, and sometimes it's easier to just go there than trawl through HBP looking for the right scene. Hope your story goes well, I'll have to check it out! ~Cat


 Report Review

Review #2, by Anony_Mouse The Story of Tom Riddle

12th May 2007:
Wow. Seeing as you are now SAYS' featured author (you are aware, aren't you?), I decided to check out some of your stories and I can honestly say you deserve it. Just from this one.

You've got a very good writing style. They're aren't very many good writers on this site (not to be offensive, but it's sadly true), and it's so refreshing to read a story that's good, for a change. Your sentences flow cleanly and beautifully, and I'm not halting in the middle of one, as I am, reading so many stories. I like the style.

I also like this plot. It's very tricky to tackle something as hard as Voldemort, I'll bet, and you did beautifully with this. What also sticks out is a totally new possibility that has entered my mind with this one-shot-Tom being at first, unaware of his family's history. He's an orphan, so it's totally logical, but I never thought of it that way before. I myself like the possibility. It rings true, somehow.

The flashbacks really made this. I love your alternation between first and third narratives. This is one of the stories out there that I simply couldn't not review for-it would haunt me, if I didn't. Huggles and good job. Very nice job, indeed! ;-)

Author's Response: *huggles* Mara, thanks so much for the awesome review! Yeah, I know about the featured author - I was in utter shock when I found out, definitely don't think I deserve it ^_^


Thanks so much for your compliments. It really means a lot when people tell me they like my writing smile, especially when it's someone like you who I know is a very good author themself.


I'm also really glad you liked the story. This was the most difficult story I've ever written, and I was incredibly unsure about posting it. I'm pleased you liked the flashbacks; at first I was going to put them in first person too, but then I realised I wouldn't have the same freedom if I did that, such as seeing what Martha thought of the young Tom.


Thank you so much for your review; reviews like this mean a lot, and I love getting them. Thanks heaps, Mara! ~Cat


 Report Review

Review #3, by dracos_all_mine The Story of Tom Riddle

27th February 2007:
wow, great story. This is one of the most accurate stories i have read of about tom riddle/voldemort. Maybe you could do one on Draco?

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm flattered! :) I don't have any immediate plans for a Draco story, and he's not my favourite character to write, but I'll definitely consider it :) ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #4, by wow The Story of Tom Riddle

12th January 2007:
gr8 story

Author's Response: Thanks so much! ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #5, by tempestreigns The Story of Tom Riddle

4th January 2007:
I think this is extremely well done. It is written with much the same style JK used to write the part where Harry potter went into the chamber and 'diary-tom' spoke to him.
One thing that bothers me, though, is how much Tom refers to himself as 'polite, charming and handsome.' It just doesnt seem right. I mean, obviously we know that Tom knew how much he was worth- he knew that he could be charming, polite, blah blah, but it's odd and too repetitive for him to keep refering to himself as such.

There might be more I've forgotten, but this sentence, I noticed, was quite awkward -And for reasons unknown even to me, I chose the Potters as my family of choice.

Again with the repetitivenessXD

I loved the little rhyme at the beginning- simple, yet it quite effectivley caught my attention. I also paticularly liked how you wrote..the process in which Tom came to decide/realize that he was Slytherin's heir-It was late at night, and I was barely paying attention to the words I read. But as my eyes flickered over the Gaunts, one name caught my attention. Marvolo.

That was goodXD

I also liked how Tom finally found the chamber. Overall, this is one of my favorite Tom-one shots.:)


Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much for this review! I'm glad you think I've used the same style as JKR, I really tried to stick to that formal sort of language.


Thanks for the CC - I suppose I really wanted Tom to come across as very self assured, very arrogant, which, of course he was. I'll be sure to check that over though! I agree with you about that sentence; very awkward. I daresay that was one of the sentences written late at night when I should have really been sleeping! :P


I'm so glad you liked the rhyme! I thought it seemed like something little kids might make up to tease some other kid. As for the Slytherin's heir bit; I'm pleased you enjoyed that too, because I honestly had no idea how to write that bit.


Thanks so much for reviewing! ~Cat


 Report Review

Review #6, by mc The Story of Tom Riddle

20th September 2006:
very insightful. i fell like this---THIS---is how it really happend.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm flattered! :) ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #7, by LeafyLaughter The Story of Tom Riddle

17th September 2006:
Oh.my.god.... that was amazing cat! You've definatley remembered your stuff about Riddle.... I don't really know what to say, i fear it will be an injustice to your work. It's gobsmacking. the way he has no emotions, feels nothing. Challenges everything, its stunning.

Some of my favourite parts were when he was asking for his father, it came across marvelously. Also his thought on Dumbledore dying and Harry not 'finding' his horcruxes. And the part before that when he almost gave up hope of winning..... it's brilliant. You have a real knack for writing!!!

My favourite quote is the one that sums up Voldemort for me. "I am Lord Voldemort, and I remain different." It's perfect....

Well done! 10000000/10!!!!
~Cadi
x

Author's Response: Cadi, thank you so, so much! This review really means a lot, specially as Different doesn't have many reviews ^_^


I am really, really flattered by this review. I'm so glad you liked it, and thank you heaps for the compliments! And I have to admit, that was my favourite quote too$ ;) Thank you so much for reviewing! ~Cat


 Report Review

Review #8, by Red Pheonix The Story of Tom Riddle

17th August 2006:
the ending is fine, really good. its a brilliant story so dont worry.

Author's Response: Thank, I'm so glad you liked the ending! ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #9, by Serenity0047 The Story of Tom Riddle

26th July 2006:
i really liked it, it seemed like something JKR would actually write about Voldemort. great job!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it! ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #10, by firebreathingradishes The Story of Tom Riddle

16th June 2006:
Oh wow. It's absolutely brilliant. You really got Voldemort. I felt like it really was him telling the story. Great job! :]

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm really pleased you enjoyed it! ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #11, by Potterholic The Story of Tom Riddle

15th June 2006:
1. Wow, that was a really deep insight on Voldemort! Truly well-written. I love this paragraph: So you see, I have changed over these years. I have claimed what is mine. Once upon a time I was the victim of the tormentors. Now I am the tormentor. Once I was the one being taunted, now I am the one who taunts. It’s sort of psychological, and I never thought of it that way. One thing that I noticed though, that you used a lot of ‘threw”:
- I threw off a kind, accepting image, when I actually hated most of the people there.
- I threw myself into discovering as much about Salazar Slytherin as I could
- And it was with this discovery that I threw myself even more so into learning about the Chamber.
- I threw away my handsome looks in favour of ones that would cause more fear.

Maybe you want to change some of those. But other than that this is amazing! Keep writing!!!


Author's Response: Aw, thanks Priscilla! I'm really pleased you enjoyed this, because I haven't received much feedback on it :) I did try and get a psychological analysis on him in it, but I'm not sure how I succeeded. And I agree that I used 'threw' a lot; it occurred to me when I was writing it, and I meant to change some. I'll have to remember to do that. Thanks for the review! ~Cat

 Report Review

Review #12, by jellyrulz The Story of Tom Riddle

13th June 2006:
I loved this story it's wonderful!!!!


Author's Response: Thank you; I'm glad yo enjoyed it! ~Cathryn

 Report Review

Review #13, by tulpylak The Story of Tom Riddle

16th May 2006:
The story is great!The end is a bit too short,but I liked it very much!

Author's Response: Thanks heaps, I'm so glad you liked it!! I agree that the ending was short, I'll probably fix that up someday...thank you ~cathryn

 Report Review

Review #14, by HPGurl123 The Story of Tom Riddle

7th May 2006:
Oh my god. This is a wonderful story. Kodos to you. A bunch of them. You are a terrific writer and were able to stay with the story line that Jo had given us. That makes you better. 5 stars for you.

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much for the wonderful review! I'm really glad you enjoyed it; I tried incredibly hard to keep in canon, I spent more hours on Lexicon that I can count! Thanks enormously for the review, it made my day :) ~Cat

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login