Reading Reviews for Refused
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ember75 Refused

5th May 2010:
Your writing is gorgeous, with beautiful descriptions. I greatly enjoyed reading it. And Tom Riddle Senior ... what a... *coughs*.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! Tom Sr. is a character, that's for sure.

 Report Review

Review #2, by harryginny Refused

11th November 2006:
W. O. W THAT was amazing absolutely amazing
i have no higher praise
beautiful 10/10

Author's Response: =D Thank you very much! I appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Belle Heart Refused

25th August 2006:
This story blew me away. It was incredible! I...I'm at loss for words... *closes eyes and takes a deep breath* Okay, I think I'm okay now.

This was such an emotional piece. Poor, poor Merope. Tom is such a evil human being! He disgusts me! How could he do that do her? HOW? He has absolutely no heart what-so-ever! To just not care about her or his child...I just can't believe it. And Merope. The way you portrayed her was wonderful! All her raw emotion, all her grief. It worked perfectly. You couldn't help but feel sorry for her. After all the hurtful things Tom said to her... I actually held my breath as I was reading it. It was rather intense, but brillint all the same.

Anyway, they way you described things was phenomenal! Everything was so vivid and I can paint a clear picture in my mind of what everything looked like. It was great! I was hooked right from the beginning. The descriptions of the sky and the house were so beautiful, so breathtaking.

I really enjoyed reading this story. You never cease to amazing me.

Author's Response: Awwww, thank you! I did put some extra focus into the descriptions in this one, so it's great to hear that you had such a solid picture of everything. =D Tom really is vile sometimes. But he had to be nice to Merope at some point. I mean... she was in love with him, right? I don't know, I definitely don't see the appeal. =P Thanks again, dear!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Jessi_Rose Refused

5th August 2006:
...WOW! Oh my word. You...This...It...Wow. I can't tell you how much I LOVED this! And, to think, Tom Riddle Junior grows up more like his father than his mother... Great fic. (I'm speechless!!) 10/10! ~Jessi

Author's Response: Oh, wow, Jessi. Thank you! I'm so happy you liked it. Yeah, in a lot of ways Voldy's like his dad. Kind of funny how that works out, considering the resentment there. =) Thanks, doll.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Pipperstorms Refused

21st July 2006:
I really did enjoy this story. I had never put much thought in to Merope and Tom before, but this story shows perfect insight. Nice work

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you liked it and it showed you something you might not've considered so much before. =)

 Report Review

Review #6, by nicalyse Refused

18th July 2006:
This is beautiful. Your characterization is impeccable, from Tom and Merope to Tom's father. I love the inclusion of Bryce! You give enough backstory for the one-shot to be understood, but not so much that it takes away from this particular night, and you do it in a way that flows into the story seamlessly. The way that you set up the story is beautiful, particularly the way that you describe the Riddle home--the chandelier and carpeting and tile--you really paint the picture well, something that not everyone can do.

I love the end, how Merope is so determined to have her child and give him life, but is completely oblivious to the evil that she will be unleashing. This is extremely well-written, vivid, and interesting. Excellent job!

Author's Response: Ah, Nic. Thanks so much. For some reason I took a lot of extra care to do visual description in this piece and I'm glad I did because it seems to have paid off. I'm really happy that you enjoyed it. Thank you so very much, I appreciate your review.

P.S. I love Mr. Riddle, he was a fun bit of spice to throw in the middle of this stewing angstness. =)


 Report Review

Review #7, by delta Refused

29th May 2006:
Wow! this was an amazing portrayal of Tom and Merope. It was definitely a hard topic to tackle and you did it very well. I would just caution you to proofread the story again. There are some minor errors here and there, but overall, this story conveyed powerful emotions. Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks muchly for the nice comments and pointing out I need another read through. I'm a pretty terrible self beta. Should probably get someone else to help. =P Anyway, thank you very much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Bittersweet Ending Refused

19th May 2006:
This is an exceptional story. I liked your use of foreshadowing with the "I found out--" and your descriptions of the background before the action begins. I loved the way they called each other Tom and Gaunt, showing his definite refusal for Merope.
There was one comparison you made with voice and milkshakes, and although it's a brilliant metaphor, it seems a bit out of place, a milkshake being much more whimiscal than the whole situation.
The last sentence made me smile, although it seemed a little awkward. Maybe it would be less awkward if you changed it to, "She rubbed..., feeling sorrow for..."
These are the things that stuck out, but still, it is a beautifully written story. Thanks for a wonderful read.

Author's Response: =) Thank you very much for the great review. I see what you mean about those few out of place/awkward bits. I'll definitely keep that in mind when I do my next edit. Thanks x 100000!

 Report Review

Review #9, by purplepygmypuff Refused

16th May 2006:
Once again, that was incredible. You get so many of the small details right that other authors seem to miss. The fact that while she called him Tom, he called her Gaunt, for instance, or the fact that he was too proud for his parents to know that she had tricked him. My heart was in my throat for her when he told Merope to drown it. Imagine Harry's life if she had followed Tom's advice.

Author's Response: Awww, thank you! =D I can't tell you how much I appreciate this review. There'd be no books if Merope followed Tom's advice. =P

 Report Review

Review #10, by Kaitlyn Refused

6th May 2006:
Wow, that is soo chilling. Nice one.

Author's Response: Thanks, that's great to hear =)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Violet Gryfindor Refused

27th April 2006:
Poor girl. She may have deceived him, but I still can't help but feel sorry for her. If only she knew what would happen to the child. Wonderful story, Chelsey. It's such an interesting pairing to write about and it fits perfectly into what was said about Voldemort's past in HBP. The idea to write about them is very original, and you did it so well too. ^_^ The whole thing is amazingly written - all the descriptions are vivid, the dialogue flows really well, and the portrayals of the characters are excellent. Great work! This was a great one-shot to read. =)

Author's Response: Hee, my brain's doing that "fffvvvshhh" thing again. Thank you ever so much, lovely. =D It's actually partly bebe's fault. She was telling me about the challenge and I asked a couple questions ("would this count?" type of thing), and I guess it sprouted from there. =D Thanks again, dear, for the wonderful review. *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #12, by Yuu Refused

26th April 2006:
This was very dramatic! I liked it very much. Never thought I'd see something like this written. I get surprises every day. A few typos that I didn't list, but all in all very well written and I like your writing style and your use of description. The way Riddle senior acted was a little funny and I liked how you brought Frank Bryce into a small scene. That was a nice touch. I pity Merope even more now, especially since she didn't know how her baby would turn out. That's quite sad.

Author's Response: =DDD Thanks, Yuu! I've scanned through it quickly and found one typo, but I'll go back and give it a more thorough read. Thanks for pointing that out. Hearts for Frank! I thought it'd be neat to have him there, considering Merope was trying to tell Tom she was pregnant with the being that would eventually cause his death. Anyway, I appreciate your review, thanks for taking the time to write it. =)

 Report Review

Review #13, by rocky Refused

26th April 2006:
Wow, Crowbar-ey... this story is amazing! I especially loved the first paragraph... your description of the sky is just... beautiful. Also, the way you portray Merope's emotions is so deep and heart-felt. Bravo, my buddy!

Author's Response: My first review from Rocky! *does a jig* Thank you so much, darling! I'm glad you liked the sky part, it's one of my faves.

 Report Review

Review #14, by mzsmarty Refused

26th April 2006:
Wow. That was really a very emotional piece that you have written there. It really showed the pain that Merope went through as she suffered unrequited love. You protrayed both characters so well. Merope is so real with raw, emotional pain. While Tom is so evil and uncaring. I wanted to hurt him for pushing her away from him. He obviously doesn't love her, that we know. But he couldn't even care for their child. What an evil human being! It's so disgusting how he said, "your kind". I really liked what you wrote at the end. We know that she did have the child, but what she said was deep. Great job with this one-shot! You responded to Rory's challenge so well. ♥ Lisa

Author's Response: Your review has me all smiley. Thanks so much! Tom was really easy to write for some reason, I don't know why. *sketchy glances* Everything he said just seemed to roll out of my fingers, you know? I don't like him much as a character, but otherwise he was fun. I'm really happy with the way he came out. Anyway, you've got me gabbing now, so I'll shush. Thanks so much, lovely. I so appreiate your words.

 Report Review

Review #15, by dauntra Refused

25th April 2006:
WOW. This piece completely blew me away. You showed Merope's devotion REALLY well, as well as Riddle's cruelty. I'm going to admit I wasn't expecting something with such raw emotion, and I also wasn't expecting there to be heartbreak in the end. Basically, this delighted and surprised me. Excellent job!

Author's Response: Ah, squee! I'm so happy you liked it. =) I really liked writing it, most of it came really smoothly and easily. Tom was surprisingly simple to write considering we don't know very much about him. Thanks for the great review, always good to hear from you! =D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login