Reading Reviews for The Song of the Trees
  
120 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Reuben The Hidden World

29th July 2010:
Brilliant story, sad to see you haven't updated in a while :/ I honestly have to say, I haven't found anything to complain about in this story so far, and I believe this is the first time I've given a 10/10 rating :)

Hope you come back to it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Priya The Hidden World

28th January 2010:
This story is absolutely brilliant! I love it!!

Thank you so much for posting such a great story. I'll keep reading! =)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Onna_Elwood Interlude

24th September 2009:
... oookkkaay... that was... interesting i guess...

 Report Review

Review #4, by Onna_Elwood In the Moonlight

24th September 2009:
lol, i love your story but often your chapters are so long that hpff logs me off before i finish reading! lol. good job, but my head was almost screaming twilight. not that i think you stole the idea, it's just what it reminded me of!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Onna_Elwood The Curse and the Werewolf

24th September 2009:
uh-duh... thats all i gotta say to you harry james potter!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Whimsical Diva A So Precious Friendship

4th December 2008:
I was re-reading this story today, because you haven't updated in ages (no pressure, though. I know myself how hard it can get to juggle fanfiction and real life, and real life's got to take precedence, however infinitely more enjoyable fanfiction may be), and God, every chapter is simply so outstanding it isn't true!

You write better than many of the people whose first language is English. There is just the right amount of emotion, and your action/adventure scenes are out-of-the-world. Not many people write action/adventure, which is a pity because it is such an amazing genre. Generally speaking, it takes a bit of creativity to conceive a good plot for action/adventure, but once the plot is sorted out, the story is a treat to read. I chose to review this chapter because some parts of this chapter (the shape-shifting corridors, the gearwheels, the action) are scintillating. The confrontation between Harry and Hermione wasn't rushed and neither was it drawn out. It was crisp, fast-paced and had me at the edge of my seat. Have I told you how much I LOVE your portrayal of Harry! And it's so relieving to him with someone else other than Ginny. I personally do not ship Harry/Ginny, because I feel Ginny is such a half-baked Mary Sue-ish character who was rammed down the readers' throats in HBP where Ginny suddenly becomes the it-girl of Hogwarts. But I digress...

This happens to be one of my top favourite stories on the site, and I don't know if I've said this before and the review got lost in the server crash, but I stand in awe of your talent and creativity. You must have worked very hard on the story, and it shows; the time, effort, thought and joy that must have gone into writing the story is there for all to see.

I feel this story deserves more recognition and popularity; it's not fair that fair to middling stories get overrated and overhyped for no fathomable reason but something as original and brilliant as this goes relatively unnoticed. I hope you don't mind, but I nominated the story for the Ultimate Storylist. I've also recommended the story over the forums. It wasn't done to get you more readers or reviews (because review count does not necessarily have to go hand-in-hand with the quality of the story), but just so that other readers who are into avant-garde stories don't miss out on this.

Thank you so much for writing this; I look forward to an update, but I'm not going to demand for an update, because being an author myself, I understand how sometimes we have to prioritise and that fanfiction may not always be at the top of our priority list.


Renee

 Report Review

Review #7, by cityonahill01 The Hidden World

13th November 2008:
Hello!! I just wanted to tell you that I think your story is excellent. Also...

Congratulations! A reader has nominated your story on the Ultimate Storylist and it has been accepted. Your story will appear on our website within the following weeks.

 Report Review

Review #8, by birdsong The Hidden World

27th April 2008:
Marvelous! I keep wondering about the relationship between Harry and Daphne. I figure he has to find someone else, especially now that he's "home" and has feelings when he's there. Keep those chapters coming!

 Report Review

Review #9, by jess1z1 The Hidden World

10th April 2008:
YESSS, Finally! So happy to read new chapter, so sad it was over so quickly. I love the 'and because he had nothing better to do' line. So far so good. I'm still hooked. My right leg is shaking with anticipation for the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Agdude The Hidden World

7th April 2008:
Amazing i need more i hope you update soon.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Winter_sunshine The Song of the Trees -- Part Two

13th March 2008:
I usually do not review incomplete fics, because I find the idea of reviewing single chapters quite preposterous, as quite honestly, there is not much one can gather from a single chapter. I rather prefer to follow the story over a period of time and observe how the story shapes up, how the plot is developed, how characters evolve, because these are the hallmarks of a decent story.

Sadly, one hardly gets to see any of the aforementioned features in a fanfiction, some of the stories are such embarrassing excuses of fiction, others are exasperatingly cliched (and ironically, these amass a cornucopia of reviews). A handful of fics amongst the avalanche of fanfictions that inundate this site are actually well-written and not pseudo, but even most of those well-written fics lack a fundamental, cornerstone PLOT.

Unfortunately, people in general lap up a fic ONLY if the story is peppered with ideas/plots etcetera which they WANT to read about, about which they have been reading for a long time, something which they don't get tired of reading, in other words, CLICHES. I won't make any bones about it, these particular cliches are in existence and in vogue only because a great number of people are addicted to them and thoroughly enjoy reading them repeatedly, time and time again.

Only a select few authors do not give a fig about reviews and do not sacrifice their creative satisfaction on the altar of general acclaim. I feel so completely and incredibly overwhelmed after reading each chapter, I can't even begin to imagine as to how much creative satisfaction and exhilaration you must be deriving being the author of this story. Each and every sentence is so beautifully constructed, a plot woven together so neatly, so assiduously, only a writer of great prowess and confidence can achieve that. Creative satisfaction of that kind is unparalleled, something even a thousand reviews can't fetch you. I'm so eager to find out how this story ends, will wait even if it takes a couple of more years.

I haven't written any fanfiction, don't intend to pen one in future either, but any any fanfiction writer worth their salt would feel so inadequate after reading a story so rich in plot, so impeccably detailed and so wonderfully written. Or perhaps they'd bury their heads in the sands of self-delusion.

Author's Response: Thank you, for a most welcome review in this particularly dreary day. I cannot say much about the relative merits of other fictions, since I'm afraid I'm a poor reader -- I hardly get any time for writing at all, and therefore rarely read -- but I can at least say this: you are right when thinking writing this story gives me immense satisfaction. I am loving every minute of it, even if I can't do it nearly as often as I'd wish; my studies recently developed a quite nasty tendency to take up most of my time.

Your review, after having me recoil slightly before your eloquently expressed dislike of most fanfictions, left me staring wide-eyed at my screen in stupefaction. I am amazed and thrilled that you appreciate the story so much; I must even admit, to my embarrassment, that I was seconds from blushing and giggling with exhilaration, thus forgetting what little dignity I have. Thank you so much for writing this. I'll try to hurry with the next chapter, but being really busy at the moment, I can't promise anything. I swear I'll do my best though.

And please disregard the eventual grammar and spelling errors in this reply -- English isn't my first language, and when I'm writing in a rush I tend to make mistakes.

Thank you once again, and I'll update as soon as possible. I, too, hope the last 5-6 chapters won't take two years to write!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Cyan Green Zephyr The Song of the Trees -- Part Two

4th February 2008:
Great! Once again your plot developements caught me by surprise, and though they may make little sense now, I am sure you will explaing them amply. You've done so quite well so far. This story is well thought, keep it up, and thanks for hard work and sharing, Ran.

Author's Response: They make little sense? That's not very good news. Well in fact, stories usually are all tidy and crystal clear in their authors' minds, but they often become a real mess when written down... I hope it makes more sense in the chapters to come; the story is nearing its end. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #13, by John The Song of the Trees -- Part Two

1st February 2008:
Funny thing about the HP fandom, unimaginative over used cliches that call themselves fanfiction have thousands of readers, hundreds of reviews, and a huge amount of "fame".

Then something like this comes along, a new, clearly original fanfiction that is nicely written and its got...Six reviews for a chapter? I hope you update soon, Love this and can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: The fewer reviews, the more I appreciate each and everyone of them ^_^. I'm happy you liked the story, and I hope I update soon too.

 Report Review

Review #14, by birdsong The Song of the Trees -- Part Two

27th January 2008:
Your story is amazing; I've no idea how this will end. How did the war start? Maybe I missed that. Post again soon.

Author's Response: I haven't explained it, I might do later on; in fact, it started from fear -- wizards fearing the Third Kind, just as Muggles will come to fear wizards in the Middle Age. They feared their power, so just decided to remove them. Again, think of the Muggles' feelings towards witchcraft in the Middle Age.

Thanks for the review, I'll try to update soon.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Jc The Song of the Trees -- Part Two

24th January 2008:
Wow. What a chapter. Your story is so complex, and just - amazing really!
If this is what you can do with other peoples ideas i can't even imagine how good you're original writing must be.
My respect for your writing skills has increased yet again.

Author's Response: Actually it's much easier to have ideas with characters that are already created than to make up my own characters -- at least from my experience. It doesn't mean I'll never try original writing, but for practice, fanfic is just easier. :) Thanks for the lovely review.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Seph The Song of the Trees -- Part Two

21st January 2008:
Wow, it just got all the more complex, the story is so long so far and yet we're barely into the story line. But I've been enticed all the so I'm not complaining. Can hardly wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you... I guess? We ARE pretty far into the storyline, actually. :P At least two-thirds of the story are done. I'll get the next chapter done as fast as possible. Thanks again for the review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by infested_with_NaRgLeS_14 The Song of the Trees -- Part Two

11th January 2008:
Wow, all I can say is wow.You have completely stunned me!!

 Report Review

Review #18, by infested_with_NaRgLeS_14 The Song of the Trees -- Part One

11th January 2008:
HOLY GOD!!! THE PEOPLE HAVE THE SAME EYES AS HARRY!!!How do you come up with these ideas. So it wasnt just that Harry went into the woods, it was that he was born into this!!! God that is amazing!! I absolutley loved your story!! I am so glad that you updated! Your creativity is astounding and knows no boundaries!!! I cant wait to see what you do next!! I am off to read more!!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!!! ;) I had the idea several years ago (6 years ago, to be specific), when I was still unable to understand a word of English. It was one of my favourite twists in the story, I'm glad you liked it as well!

 Report Review

Review #19, by DeliaDee The Song of the Trees -- Part Two

9th January 2008:
There is so much going on inside my head and soul that I can't find the words to tell you how much I appreciate this story. I was so afraid that it had been abandoned, relieved to find an update after so long, and now I fear I'm being ungrateful for thinking how much I want to know what happens from here as quickly as possible.

Author's Response: I am very sorry about my admittedly pathetic update rate. The reason for it is that I'm very busy with university right now, which also explains why I stopped responding to reviews -- although I do take the time to read and appreciate each of them. I've started the next chapter but can't tell when it'll be ready -- thanks for being patient with me!

 Report Review

Review #20, by stagata A So Precious Friendship

22nd November 2007:
lovin your stories. hope u post more soon

 Report Review

Review #21, by birdsomg A So Precious Friendship

18th November 2007:
Another great chapter! The duel was incredible -where do you get these great ideas??? You had Hermione so in character when she faced one of her greatest fears: the obliviate spell. Looking forward to your next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Seph A So Precious Friendship

12th November 2007:
And just when I had almost given up on any updates you bring this most excellent chapter. I can hardly wait for the next hope.

 Report Review

Review #23, by infested_with_NaRgLeS_14 A So Precious Friendship

11th November 2007:
No NO!!! STUPID CLIFFHANGERS! OMG!!! Your story ceases to amaze me!!! I loved how Harry and Hermione dueled. I had been waiting for that just because they know each other so well it would be a very fascinating fight. And it was!!! I cant believe Hermione lost because she actually forgot something (call the record books) Its so intresting how they used to be such friends and now they are both involved so deeply in this investigation and the ministry that it becomes Auror against Unspeakable. But the way you wrote the fight was at a personal level as well. It was so amazing!!! And at the end where they start to be sarcastic with one another like old times was so sad. I liked when they were friends but in a way I like them enemies better. Then when Harry returns home.jeesh Harry gets his freak on (sorry I'm bored). I was not expecting that. LOVE ur story! please PLEASE update soon, this is so amazing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by darksideofthemoon A So Precious Friendship

7th November 2007:
i was nearly crying in parts. it's so sad, what harry and hermione have become without ron to hold them together. that was an awesome duel though..man what a cool set that would be in a movie!!!

 Report Review

Review #25, by rex_kaiden A So Precious Friendship

7th November 2007:
i hav been waiting for this for a long time mate.nicely done. waiting for ur next post.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>