Reading Reviews for My Soul Searching Trip
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Akussa My Soul Searching Trip

24th September 2010:
That was something!
You know what I particularily liked about this little piece? The fact that this journey did not allow Harry to find the answer he was looking for. That's life when you're 17; you try to find yourself in everything and anything and only end up more lost.
I loved that; it was different, original and enjoyable!

 Report Review

Review #2, by alyosha My Soul Searching Trip

10th February 2009:
What a pointless story. But i guess that was the point, no?

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ydnas Odell My Soul Searching Trip

19th November 2007:
What an interesting idea. It's flabbergastingly funny! A 10!

 Report Review

Review #4, by SilverThimble My Soul Searching Trip

18th September 2007:
random, but good

 Report Review

Review #5, by AliBlack My Soul Searching Trip

9th June 2006:
Funny you should ask me to review because I've read this before! haha. Anyway, it's very funny. Actually I immediately thought of Forrest Gump running across America. So Harry spent a whole year riding around England and Scotland and learned absolutely nothing. I knew there was something wrong with that boy... just kidding. I love Dudley's reaction when his bike was stolen. Classic!


I liked it. Very philosophical. Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: LOL So you had read it and didn't review it? ;) Nah, I'm not mad. Hmm... Interesting. You're not the first person that thought of Forrest. Funny thing is I never thought of Forrest when I wrote it, but of Honey and Clover, but like I replied before to the other reviewer I've noticed the similarity afterwards. Hehe! I loved writing Dudley's reaction. I could simply picture him and I also had fun making the Dursleys worry about Dudley's bike rather than of Harry having been absent for an entire year. Evil. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by timeturner My Soul Searching Trip

30th May 2006:
Interesting story premise here. The journey was well written - his bouncing from one attempt at meaning to another very compelling. I liked that Ron and Hermione thought he was off doing something else and you did very well with writing in first person which is always difficult to pull off in a believable manner. Good job!

Author's Response: Interesting story premise? Hehehehe! Yeah, I can come up with strange things. I truly enjoyed making Ron and Hermione believe Harry was off to something else and had ditched them. I'm glad you thought I wrote well in the first person PoV. I normally avoid it, but figure that in some fics it can actually work out, like this one. Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Quick Wit My Soul Searching Trip

21st May 2006:
I could have taken this two ways: Seriously or not. I know it's meant to be a humour but I couldn't help thinking how interesting it would be if Harry actually did that and how depressed the poor boy would be when he came up with nothing. I admit that I read it twice, looking at it both ways. The second time I read it I laughed out loud, it really was funny. I find myself wishing I could write humour like you. Very good.

CJ.

Author's Response: I know what you mean. This piece is an entirely different kind oh humour because it's philosophical. You can either take it seriously as a very strange fic or in its humoristic aspect. I'm glad you were able to enjoy it both ways. And thanks so much for the compliment! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by WickedWitch25 My Soul Searching Trip

13th May 2006:
First off, the part with him on the bicycle and having to keep going reminded me of the book I am the Cheese. But besides that, this was quiet amusing. Out of characterness sometimes bothers me (although its in a few of my older stories) but this made it really funny. I hope it was meant to be humoress. Nice job. :-)

Author's Response: I don't know abut that. The Cheese? But I guess it might be a bit cliche. I actually got the bicycle bit from an anime chapter of Honey and Clover. And yes, oocness was on purpose here for the philosophical parody. So yes, it was meant to be funny. Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Lone Fairy My Soul Searching Trip

9th May 2006:
Brill story, I really liked it. Harry acted quite Dumbledore-y in that story, but it was funny all the same. I liked Ron and Hermione's reactions at the end especially! Really super!

Author's Response: Wow... I never thought Harry acted Dumbledore-y, but it's funny if he does when we remember how he remembered Dumbledore by the end of HBP and almost felt like acting Dumbledore-y. LOL I guess I might have been handling Dumbledore's character too much lately. Hehehe! I had fun writing Ron and Hermione's reactions. They can be so special! Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Bittersweet Ending My Soul Searching Trip

9th May 2006:
That was so funny. I loved the religions parts and the ending. The simple Nope! is perfect. The plot was so odd, yet so fitting for the story.

Author's Response: Hehe! Even if it is not the usual Humor-type of fic you can find, I had fun writing it. Glad you enjoyed it and thanks so much for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Paloma Patil My Soul Searching Trip

7th May 2006:
I've read this before - I can't believe I didn't leave a review. I think it's adorable how Harry says sucks to the Horcruxes and looks for himself. It's time for him to be a bit selfish, don't you think? Nice one. Paloma

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reviewing! And yeah, I made Harry go way selfish. Haha! I know it's a very strange one-shot. Made me happy to see a review from you, Paloma! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by unknown_force My Soul Searching Trip

1st May 2006:
Haha, different from traditional humour, but funny in its own way. It reminds me of the movie, 'Forrest Gump' with Tom Hanks in it and its a great movie. Back to your story, I thought the Catholic priest thing was funny, I can see how the priest would tell Harry that he needs to have the devil exorcised out of him or something (I'm not mocking the Catholic religion or anything). There are a few things that don't make sense, such as why the Order didn't send people looking for him, but its a philosophical parody one-shot, who cares? =D

Author's Response: LOL You're the first one that mentions the Forrest Gump bit. I didn't even consider it until the fic had been written. That's why I don't mention it. I wasn't really inpired by Forrest Gump, but it's true there are similarities with the scene when Forrest suddenly starts running without making much sense.

Now that you mention the bit about religions, I tried to be very careful with that, making Harry open to everything when it comes to making sense out of life, but without bashing the religions or themes that may give people hope or meaning to their own lives, but I did have fun making the priest think that Harry was possessed.

And yeah, canon wise McGonagall would have sent the Order after Harry. She may have, but as we are seeing things through Harry, he may have simply never encountered them. lol Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by TheOne My Soul Searching Trip

22nd April 2006:
Great fic! I thought it was very origional and change is good! Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'll keep writing even if it kills me. Okay, okay, I'm exaggerating. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by silverfox My Soul Searching Trip

22nd April 2006:
I had my doubts as I first started to reading your story, but by the time I got to the end I was rolling in laughter. I found your story very witty, fresh and enjoyable. I keep thinking about the part where the wonam says... Nothing to fear! He's alive! The part as him dressing up like a monk was priceless as well. I can see it now...

Your style of writing is good. It is informative and colorful. Your story wasn't too long or too short. More importantly it got your point across.

If I had to pick at anything in this story, I would say Harry' character was not canon. But then this delightful story would not exsist if you had followed canon. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: I'm glad you found it enjoyable because I know it's a different kind of humour.

Thank you for your compliment! And yes, I concentrated in the point rather than making it long or short. :)

Everyone comments on Harry not being canon, but it's true that if he wasn't I wouldn't have been able to share this parody. Thank you for such a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by hermione006 My Soul Searching Trip

20th April 2006:
I must admit I hardly ever read humor but I found you story very unique and amusing. I loved how Harry went searching for his soul but in the end he honestly could say he never actually found it. The only problem I found was that Harry's personality wasn't really in canon. I really enjoyed all of the small comments that showed Harry's teenage side. This story made me smile and will definately have to read more of your comedy in the future.-Hermione006

Author's Response: It's strange when I meet people that hardly ever read humour, but it's true not everyone likes it. lol I'm glad you found this amusing as I know it's not humour as in the sense of making you fall off your chair, but a strange kind of humour, still. And it's true Harry's personality wasn't in canon. He would never change his purpose, but I still enjoyed making him OOC for my own evil schemes. Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Sandra My Soul Searching Trip

18th April 2006:
Very good story, enjoyable 2 read. Your writing is very well done, and the grammer is good as well. I'm going 2 check out your other stories and review them as well :)

Author's Response: Thank you! That would be very nice of you! Glad you enjoyed this one! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by PhoenixStorm My Soul Searching Trip

9th April 2006:
wow, well that was certainly different, I thought it was a very imaginative take to where the books could go :D.

You only have one mistake that I could see (apart from a few missing/misplaced commas), and a couple of words that you could change to the british spelling if you want :). “gaining incredible yells and screams from my relatives” 'gaining' isn't really the word you want I don't think, causing or something like that would be better. “I have no idea how I memorized their stuff” memorised. “I had only brought my wand for self defense” defence.

*giggles* really, imagine if Harry did wake up one day and think “Screw the Horcruxes!' I thought to myself. 'I'm going to look for my own soul!”, highgly unrealistic and very OOC, but I'll forgive you for hte purposes of writing a humour fic :D. The wizarding world would be at a bit of a loss if this happened, to say the least.

Have to say I think my favourite line had to be “Maybe he wasn't as witty and smart as he wanted everyone to believe” about Snape. Well, I'm inclined to like anything about Snape but that made me laugh. I like the tone you take with that even from canon, carelessly brushing it off and having Harry just go off on a journey to discover who he really is.

I loved all the little scenarios you put him into, though what I had to love most was the fact he went all the way on a bike! It would have been amusing if he had found his purpose in among any of those you wrote him with along the way :D. Probably my favourite part was the confession to the catholic priest “He told me that I was possessed and needed liberation or something like that” *laughs*.

Was it significant that he winded up in Scotland by the way? I thought it would've been ironic if he had discovered his true purpose in life was the purpose he was already being made to fight for. The end was also amusing, especially when we found he had been gone for a year and the part where Hermione nad Ron got confused as to what he'd been doing. Really nice fic, I liked reading it :).

Author's Response:
Wow! Huge review! lol Thanks for the pointers on British spelling. I've just learned about that recently. With supposedly "standard" English they teach us to write words like 'memorize/memorise' with 'z' instead of 's'. Even online dictionaries seem to have the 'z' version rather than the 's'. It's very strange to learn there are two two standard English versions.

I just hope than when I return to U in a few months to College of Education to make a master's in Teaching Eng. As 2nd Lang. I won't mess up. lol

And yeah, this is very unrealistic and just done for philosophical humour purposes. I'm glad you still liked it. I did think about Harry having arrived to Scotland, precisely where Hogwarts is, but decided to leave that open in the end.

I'll try to fix the wording a bit to make it more British when the archive is open for everyone to update. I'm not worried about this one to go into queue again, seeing as it is a one-shot. It won't affect other chapters or anything by disappearing, if that happens. :) Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Lyn Midnight My Soul Searching Trip

24th March 2006:
Great title, great writing, great going-ons, really can you like boast less?! Just kidding, keep updating and have a nice day. Sorry about the lack of constructive criticism but I cannot think of anything...

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I know it can't be easy to give much CC to a humoristic fic. :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Anastasia My Soul Searching Trip

24th March 2006:
I read this and I am a bit shocked! :-) This is because this fic is the first of its kind!

Really, it's totally original. I myself haven't encountered a fic that touches on philosophical issues. I admit I was a bit reluctant to read it, because I wasn't sure about it's content, but I absolutely loved it. It was a great parody, covering all the 'beliefs' people have for self-reflection. I liked seeing the Dursleys and the end was perfect! lol Nice work on that, and I hope you write more humor! ~Anastasia

Author's Response: LOL I know many people might be reluctant to read it because, pardoning the Americanism, it's just weird. Thank you! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login