Reading Reviews for Illusions of Love
  
37 Reviews Found

Review #1, by fancycherriiebud Illusions of Love

3rd April 2008:
Wow. I have never read anything like this from Lavender's point of view like this, and I must say, it changed my whole opinion of her. Though her eyes, Hermione kind of seems like a bit of a cow. I loved the way you handled the different stages of the relationship, and the ending was especially good. I felt so sorry for Lavender what with Hermione stealing all her glory. And her revenge.
A very different side of the story which I always took to be great (basically, I was happy that Ron and Lavender split up)! I think I'm starting to change my mind, though.

-fancycherriiebud

 Report Review

Review #2, by georgie_greenie Illusions of Love

29th December 2007:
Wow! So pretty! loved it so much!

now i feel sad 4 lavender!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm glad the story gave you a new perspective on Lavender. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by angel718 Illusions of Love

22nd December 2007:
Aw, I feel really bad for Lavendar, and I don't even like her! You actually made me like her! Go you!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm glad my story helped you see Lavender in a new light. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by momotwins Illusions of Love

19th November 2007:
Good work here. Lavender's not my favorite character, although I do think she's a pretty typical air-headed teenage girl, and you've done a good job making her sympathetic. Not an easy job! lol. Good writing, well done.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by blimey Illusions of Love

15th November 2007:
gr, this is so good, I'm having a hard time hating Lavender now.

Author's Response: lol. thanks for the review, I'm glad it helped you see new perspectives. =)

 Report Review

Review #6, by celiacprincess Illusions of Love

29th September 2007:
Ooh... never thought of it that way... it was a good story though.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it and that it gave you a new perspecitve on the situation! =)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Elf_ears13 Illusions of Love

2nd July 2007:
I know you won't be reading this until ... well, a long time from now ... but (and I'm sure you've heard this in your other reviews) you pulled off the fragments excellently. I love how each piece starts with action, not just a description of where in time Lavender is. I think that'd come off as trying too hard to connect them, but the way you've done it here, they could all stand by themselves yet they flow together well. The time breaks actually work well; they remind me of really long ellipses to show the passage of time. They aren't intrusive at all, like some of the ~*~ stuff.

I haven't read HBP in a while, but this pretty much recapped their whole relationship and gave some real depth to Lavender's actions - the way she treats Ron how she thinks girlfriends should treat boyfriends, the way she stereotypes him but seems to really care about him. I really like this, and now I don't know how to end my review ... thumbs up? Huggle? 10/10? All of that.

Author's Response: Elfy!!! Thank you so, so much for the wonderful review! I'm so glad you liked the story and the fragmened style, and that it seemed to match up with your impressions of Lavender from HBP. =)

 Report Review

Review #8, by AndrinaBlack Illusions of Love

27th February 2007:
I like your attempt to clear Lavenders name. She seems quite silly and not really getting anything right, but how can you explain everything she does in the book and not make her a bit silly. I like it that she has real feelings for Ron in this fic and I like the way you get Lavender and Hermione to be really jealous at each other.

Oh, and I loved the beginning! How many times haven't I thought that I won't bother to answer some question, because someone else will do that anyway (not that I haven't answered many questions at school).

I also think it is suitable for this fic to have the short scenes. You've found the right moments for them and in that way we get the whole story about Lavender and Ron.

Good story!!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Annina! I'm glad you thought it helped to defend Lavender while still keeping her realistic. The realstic-ness is important to me, because if the story completely glorified her character it would look ridiculous and not make anyone sympathise with her, I think. Glad you liked the format and stuff too! =)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Misty_Rey Illusions of Love

21st August 2006:
Wow! That was a great fic! I don't really hate Lavender but she annoys me a bit, I suppose. But this fic really opened my eyes to her and her feelings and yeah, I can actually relate to here as I have been in her position a few times. You are a really talented writer. GREAT JOB!!!! 10/10

~Misty

Author's Response: thanks for the great review! i'm glad it made you feel some sympathy for her. =)

 Report Review

Review #10, by QuidditchSeeker Illusions of Love

1st August 2006:
Intriguing.
I like reading this story from Lavender's perspective. That the idea of the relationship wasn't because she loved him really, but because she wanted to be better at Herminoe at least once.
Good job!

Author's Response: thanks for the review, glad you liked it. although, i do think she really liked him too, it was just a combination of reasons. thanks again! =)

 Report Review

Review #11, by lilysmirror Illusions of Love

31st July 2006:
i really liked it!

Author's Response: thanks!!!

 Report Review

Review #12, by cliche but oh so true Illusions of Love

31st July 2006:
this is really interesting...
ive never read a fanfic from lavenders point of view.
more please!

Author's Response: thanks so much for the review, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by angelchaser13 Illusions of Love

31st July 2006:
Wow. This puts a whole new light on I-Get-Jealous-If-Another-Girl-Is-Near-Won-Won Lavender Brown. ILLUSIONS OF LOVE is probably the second best story I've read (I like blondebouncingferret's DADDY) here. (Do you really like Lavender/Ron, or Ron/Hermione?)

Author's Response: wow, thanks so much for the awesome review! in terms of what I want to see happen in the books, I really do like Ron/Hermione. I mostly wrote this cause it annoys me how much people hate Lavender just for going out with the guy she liked, and I hoped that in reading this some people would feel a little pity for her too. =)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Ginny At Heart Illusions of Love

27th July 2006:
Wow I used to not be able to stand Lavender, but now you wrote this I understand her side so much better. This follows the book great and I enjoyed hearing her side of the story! A great read, especially if you have read THBP.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad this story helped you symphasize with her feelings. I wanted to write something cause even though I love the R/Hr ship, I know how it sucks to be dumped, and felt pity for Lavender rather than hating her... I'm glad you felt so too. =)

 Report Review

Review #15, by ilovecandy62 Illusions of Love

27th July 2006:
aawww... poor lavender. Loved the way you pictured her =)

Author's Response: thanks for the review! i'm glad it helped you symphasize with her. =)

 Report Review

Review #16, by LookingThroughTheEyeGlass Illusions of Love

19th July 2006:
I havent ever in my short time of Harry Potter devotion in fiction, have I read a Lavender Brown ficlet that wasn't written very poorly (Like I should be talking ^_^) its written wonderfully well, and I like your views on her world, its quite.. Enjoyable.

Its on my fav stories list, ^_^ yes yes it is.

Author's Response: wow, thanks so much for the great review! i'm glad you enjoyed it, and found a story about Lavender you liked. =)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Pigwidgeon_Rox Illusions of Love

18th July 2006:
this story really makes me pity Lavender. it's really well written, and i like the style in which you wrote it.

Author's Response: thanks so much for the review! I'm glad it made you connect with her character. =)

 Report Review

Review #18, by meena Illusions of Love

11th July 2006:
u really are wondergul writer coz this such a nice chapter seriouslly u should write more

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing. I'm glad you liked it. =)

 Report Review

Review #19, by CRAZYFORHARRYGURL101 Illusions of Love

7th July 2006:
awww.....it made me feel bad for Lavender, lol, it was really good!!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad it helped you to feel some sympathy for her. =)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Hermione Fan Illusions of Love

5th July 2006:
That was brilliant! I usually hate Lavender; I'm an obsessive R/Hr shipper. But that was sooooo good. 10/10

Author's Response: Lol... In all reality, I support the R/Hr ship too. What I don't like is the way so many people hate Lavender just for dating Ron. It's not as if she committed a crime or anything. I just wanted to show that she's a normal girl, not some evil bimbo on a mission to destroy the R/Hr ship. I'm glad it worked for you. =)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ignatz Illusions of Love

28th June 2006:
Wow. Excellent insight into a much-maligned character. It would have been very easy to paint her as just another predatory fangirl, but you've handled her quite nicely. I like the fact that she's smart as well as socially apt; that tends to be considered mutually exclusive in a lot of fanfics. Nicely done. For this I give you eleven out of ten.

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much for the wonderful review! =) I guess the whole reason I wrote it was to contradict that stereotype - I get so sick of seeing her portrayed as a brainless bimbo. I'm glad you agree. =)

 Report Review

Review #22, by RubyRed Illusions of Love

18th June 2006:
amazing job. i now actully feel sorry for lavender! Something i thought I'd never say

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! I'm glad my story helped you to understand her POV. =)

 Report Review

Review #23, by StepUpTimneh (nli) Illusions of Love

12th May 2006:
I thought this was brilliant! You portrayed excellently the possibility that Lavender could be the victim here. I loved the way you drew it back to canon with events from the books. There were a couple of typos, but this story is still wonderful. Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I really do think she is a victim in this situation. Hermione is too, of course, but I think it's Lavender that's hurt more in the end. I'm glad you liked the story! =)

 Report Review

Review #24, by hermione_wazlib Illusions of Love

11th May 2006:
well written:)...but I'll never feel sorry for Lavender Brown

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm sorry that you weren't able to put yourself in her shoes. I was hoping to at least get people to appreciate some of the pain she must be feeling, even if they don't like her.

 Report Review

Review #25, by unknown_force Illusions of Love

10th May 2006:
I actually wrote a HBP missing moment of the Ron/Lavender relationship from Lavender's point of view, called 'So Into You' which was why I was curious to read your version. Its definitely a more interesting look at the relationship than all the Lavender-bashing fics out there. I liked how you showed Lavender's dislike for Hermione went back deeper, so their hatred wouldn't just be about Ron. But I think the story would seem more together if you just used a few sentences to connect the scenes instead of having seperate flashbacks and then using dots to seperate the scene. It just seems more like a story that way.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'll have to check out yours sometime. Unfortunately, I don't think just a couple sentences would do the trick, as these scenes often take place months apart. It probably would have worked better as a chaptered story, with a separate chapter for each scene, but I didn't have time to write that much. But perhaps I will eventually. =)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>