Reading Reviews for Looking Beyond the Beginning
  
117 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ronnikinschik4ever I Destroy

12th June 2008:
Wow. This was really amazing.
It was a very different perspective,
and I loved that.
Thanks for writing this.
Live, Laugh, Love--Kasey

 Report Review

Review #2, by snape!!!!!!! Hair of the Dog

2nd August 2007:
good

Author's Response: thanks!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Miyamo More Than The Heart Can Bear

14th July 2006:
I highly doubt that ....will Remus be so tender and...sweet?
It's a wonderful story but it can be suitable for many characters.James can be so and so does Sirius.It's just not entirely...A story of Remus.
After all,a brilliant story indeed.

 Report Review

Review #4, by and_then_there_was Envy

6th July 2006:
interesting.. but i did like it. so did rowena's sister really replace her??? soo interesting.... the ages were kinda odd.. don't you think they were all too young...?? great. loved it though!! :-D

Author's Response: Thnx, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by and_then_there_was The First

6th July 2006:
omg.. that was soo cool! i loved how you wrote it throught the kid's eyes.. very cool! loved every minute of it! i really haven't read anything about the Founders, but this has gotten me hooked!

Author's Response: thank you! I'm glad it was to your liking! You're like the third review I've recieved for this story THANK YOU!

~Elspeth


 Report Review

Review #6, by siriousthedog More Than The Heart Can Bear

3rd June 2006:
great! I really enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Lea I Destroy

25th May 2006:
...Wow...just, wow. That was so poignant, honestly one of the best stroies i have EVER read. (and coming from me, that's saying something) I love how you incorporated the history, the regret, the pure emotion into this piece. You've got a brilliant style; don't ever stop writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so muh for this wonderful review. I really appreciate your taking the time to say such lovely things *blushes* Thank you

 Report Review

Review #8, by Charlee25 I Destroy

24th May 2006:
wow.

Author's Response: Thanks =)

 Report Review

Review #9, by crystal allan Bane of the Wolf

20th May 2006:
I love the back story you gave to the wolfsbane. Things like that always fascinate me but I can never come up with a decent theory on how it would have occurred – you did that wonderfully. I admit fully to being envious. Now, I like the concept that the creator had been attempting to cure his son of Lycanthropy – that emotional attachment was what brought on the potion. That gave it a very personal edge to the entire piece.


The way you incorporated that scene with Belby and his son in the beginning was precious. There was something very sad, almost wistful in the way you had him turn and tell his father that he knew the potion would finally work. That was a very touching moment in the midst of a more ‘formal’ piece (not the greatest wording there but my mind is cluttered and I can’t seem to find another that will fit – hopefully you’ll understand what I mean).


The ending scene with Remus was happy and sad and just altogether a mixture of wonderful emotions. I’m not sure how to explain it but that was another bit that really made an impact emotively. You captured Remus’ reactions perfectly and it even made me wonder what Belby’s son must have felt like when he realized that the potion had worked. I don’t know if you have any plans for this but it would be interesting to see it taken further.


The formatting is a bit hard to get through at times, especially with the flashbacks and whatnot. But other than that it was a wonderful story and a very good read. Congratulations on making it to the duel and thank you for asking me to read such an inventive piece.

Author's Response: Crystal, I am seriously humbled by this glowing review, I am so glad that you enjoyed my chapter so much. I hadn't given expanding on that one scene any thought, but its a wonderful suggestion, and if I do so, I will let you know. Thank you again! ~ Jen

 Report Review

Review #10, by ;) The Colour of Water

19th May 2006:
:((

 Report Review

Review #11, by lo_zz_a Hair of the Dog

19th May 2006:
Wow. What a great idea for a story. I thought it was terrible that Sirius, although in no way intentionally, contributed to the death of James and Lily, but it made for a great story, and in a way shows what a loyal person he is. You also showed just what a pathetic person Peter really is, which I thought was great. Congratulations on a great story.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I agree, it's a terrible thought, and I'm sure it would have crushed Sirius if he knew. Pettigrew is pretty bad in this one, and I hoped to show that he acted out of weakness, so I really appreciate the review. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #12, by lo_zz_a The Colour of Water

19th May 2006:
Fantasitc!!! I love that it shows the complexity of magic, which I think is sometimes overlooked. It gives the impression that Snape really is a powerful wizard in his own right, which, although I dont necessarially like, he does deserve. Also you used the flashbacks and interuptions perfectly to breakup the story enough to keep it interesting and compelling.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Wish On A Star I Destroy

14th May 2006:
wow!! that was breathe taking!! simply amazing. Suspenseful, and just revolutionary. I've never heard anything like it!! amazing and I can't wait to read the rest!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this beautiful review. I am truly flattered.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Hani The First

12th May 2006:
This is one of my favourites for the founding of Hogwarts. Fantastic plot and tale of the first pupil!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Hani! I'm glad you liked it that much :) ~Elspeth

 Report Review

Review #15, by Hani The Hogwarts Four

12th May 2006:
Very interesting that you made griffindor and slytherin the best of friends! Having helga as the one who started the idea is nice, since she cares about most things.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Hani More Than The Heart Can Bear

12th May 2006:
That was heart breaking! I thought they would be very happy together, to find that she dies like that trying to defend her family. Good telling of the story though.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Hani Dandelion Seeds

12th May 2006:
Good story, I like the history you made for the wolfbane potion, I can imagine that it was a hard thing to do and you show the struggle well.

Author's Response: Thanks for your kind review! I'm really glad you liked it, the history of the wolfsbane potion ... in my mind it must have taken Damocles a long time to perfect it (as I put across in the story) as it is described in the books as being a very complex potion, it can't have been something done over night. Anyway, thanks again for the review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by hhh Envy

10th May 2006:
hhhh

Author's Response: Well hhh, to you too. Thnx for the review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Elivania The First

5th May 2006:
Oh wow! I love this! Very good!

Author's Response: thank you :) ~Elspeth

 Report Review

Review #20, by Cameron Firth I Destroy

4th May 2006:
Wow, amazing. You managed to turn a short story into something incredible. The details and history involved are staggering, and the way you used the flashback was flawless.

Author's Response: Wow, such a lovely review. Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #21, by PropMaster Envy

2nd May 2006:
Oh, this story was just delicious!! I love a touch of the macabre and you brought it to me on a silver platter! The sister's 'envy' was done beautifully; this envy was every bit a main character to this story as Bebe. It was a palpable, solid thing, twisted and dark. And no wimpy ending either. You've got guts, girl, and I salute you!!

Author's Response: Thnx I'm glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by PropMaster All's Fair in Love and War

2nd May 2006:
This was a beautiful little tale, made more so by your having it from Alice's POV. She and Frank seem to be forgotten by so many authors and their story is one of the most tragic of the HP world. Your pacing was perfect and your descriptions of Alice's insecurities and doubts were sooo nice. Thanks for the lovely read!

Author's Response: Thanks :) I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by mili9 All's Fair in Love and War

1st May 2006:
A nice story.

Author's Response: Thank you

 Report Review

Review #24, by mili9 All's Fair in Love and War

1st May 2006:
A nice story.

Author's Response: Thanks

 Report Review

Review #25, by Harry's_angel The First

1st May 2006:
Brilliant story! Written with the mind of the time. The only catch is that no one (apart from yourself, of course) knows which house Branwyn got sorted into! A nice cliff hanger to end a short story on. Well done!

Author's Response: lol...actually even I don't know. I was having such a hard time desciding that I found leaving it up to the reader was better (lazy, i know but it works :) *blush* THank you for the review, I'm glad you liked it ! ~Elspeth

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>