Reading Reviews for The Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver
  
34 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Boots Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

1st May 2009:
I always wondered how Hermione and Viktor broke up. I've always felt a little sorry for him. He never could compete, he never even realised who he was competing with. I wish he found someone as right for him as Ron is for Hermione... Maybe a sequel?

 Report Review

Review #2, by beautiful_wreck Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

31st December 2008:
I absolutely love Hermione/Victor and I can never find a decent story, but this was so good. You wrote it so well and I completely loved it :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Billion Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

23rd November 2008:
Aww. This was very well done. I like how you meshed missing moments with the actual plot so that everything flowed together. The conversations between Viktor and this bunk-mate were the best.

 Report Review

Review #4, by blimey Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

20th April 2008:
First off, your Bulgarian accents were great! And you wrote the scenes that already existed very well - they were familiar, but still fresh in how you told them. I loved the comparisons between a quidditch game and life. Fabulous story!

 Report Review

Review #5, by inkismyworld Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

8th February 2008:
I loved it! I find Hermione/Viktor better than Ron/Hermione and I love how you incorporated canon scenes into this, it gives the piece a lot more substance :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Girldetective85 Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

14th October 2007:
Wow this was a really good story. I love the little snapshots of scenes you pulled together to show the relationship between Hermione and Viktor that we never got to see. Very nicely written. His crush on her and her genuine affection for him is really believable. This was well put together, great job! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you appreciate your reading and reviewing this piece. Viktor and Hermione is a canon pairing that I had always found intriguing

 Report Review

Review #7, by _Emma_ Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

30th July 2007:
It's a really good story, I like the way you have described Hermione's feelings.

Author's Response: Thank you. Appreciate the review

 Report Review

Review #8, by HrXd Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

16th July 2007:
Well the beginning didn't draw me into the story, but I think that since the pairing was one that most don't write about I can't really crists you. I would give this a 7/10

Author's Response: The beginning was derived from GOF ... guess the familiarity of it wouldn't be drawing to some. :) Appreciate your review :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Proud Hufflepuff Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

15th July 2007:
Okay, it was very choppy to say the least. It hopped quickly from one thing to the next. Also, many grammatical errors are scattered throughout this. I did like the idea though. Very cute. :)

Best of luck,

Carrie

Author's Response: I guess I'll have to go look into this again. :) Thanks for pointing that out. Appreciate that :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by DarkLadyofSlytherin Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

4th July 2007:
Well, I found it a very cute fic. However, the scenes that were placed in it, I found, took away from the fic. It actually made me a little bored (unfortunately). But otherwise, I really did like it.

Author's Response: Thanks... what scene exactly do you mean?

 Report Review

Review #11, by Diandra Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

30th June 2007:
This was fantastic! I really enjoyed the AUness of everything; how you added on top of what the book already had. It was very interesting to see things from Viktor's perspective, you brought out the niceness in him that we only saw when he was with Hermione. This is extremely creative, I've never read a story like this. Really great job, the title's cute too! I think I'll read some of your other stuff soon, since this was so good! Keep up the great work,

Diandra (from the boards!)

Author's Response: GOF did give us a glimpse of his personality (that at least he's different with Hermione, through sullen and silent in Harry's POV). He must have been nice (and have some depth) to had chosen to ask Hermione instead of any other pretty girl for the Yule Ball. Although ultimately its obvious that they weren't meant to be.

Appreciate your review. Thanks.


 Report Review

Review #12, by ralj1640 Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

30th June 2007:
Intresting. I never really though about Hermione and Victor that much. Great job:)

Author's Response: Thank you. Appreciate your review.

 Report Review

Review #13, by quailsrock23 Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

27th June 2007:
that was a cute story :) i enjoyed it, i like the way you portrayed hermione & viktor and showed the reader what went on then from their points of it, it was interesting. nice job!

Author's Response: Thank you. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Malfoy_Lives_On Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

27th June 2007:
This is WittleAna from the forums.

Great story, I like how you added in the discussions between Ginny and Hermione.

Author's Response: Thanks. Figured that Hermione's gotta have some girl talk it would be with Ginny (not likely Lavender or Parvatai) :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by LostMaeblleshire Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

27th June 2007:
Oh, wow, this was so wonderful! I honestly couldn't stop reading it, even though it's a very long story, and I've had a headache since last night! XD You did such an excellent job working this into canon. It was sad that Hermione broke up with him, but all the same, I love the way you brought the story around to Viktor losing on his own terms. What a great way to tie it in with the beginning! Excellent work! ♥

Author's Response: Thank you. Romance is not usually my chosen genre but I had fun writing this. *L* It didn't start out this long ... I got some CC's and kept on revising this and before I know it ... it's this long.

Thanks for the great review again


 Report Review

Review #16, by CMC Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

26th June 2007:
I have to admit at reading Black Chronicles and given the title of this story, I had expected a light comedic fiction. Although I have to day that I was not totally disappointed, its different from what I expected but its good.

I like how you focused on Krum's character and how he accept loss at his own terms. I never really looked into his character at this level before.

The scene with Hermione and Krum are sweet and light, puppy love is th best way I could describe it. In a sense your relating it to fairy tales is fitting. It's not the type of love that's akin to deep and strong relationship, but a great first-love nonetheless.

Hermione is one lucky girl to experience a fairy-tale like first love and maybe eventually have a strong relationship based on long standing friendship with that red-headed doofus.

Author's Response: *L* never thought of it ... but in a way Viktor's accent is a bit funny. The 'Loss at his own terms' is actually canon ... Harry mentioned it in GOF and I just transferred it here,

You're right her relationship with Viktor would be puppy-love - still a sweet guy nonetheless given that he continued to correspond with her although it was over.

I agree ... lucky girl that Hermione. Thankd for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by toomanycurls Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

26th June 2007:
Don't even start vit me.

I'm saying that, with that pronounciation to people ^_^ It's funny.

This is *wonderful.* I had the idea that Hermione and Krum didn't talk much at all before the Yule Ball. I did like how you wrote their conversations, her annoyance, his shyness. ^_^ I also liked how well you wrote the accent for the Bulgarians. I don't know much about it, but it seemed to be consistant. Really good job taking a look at a relationship taht has perhaps 10 seconds in the book :D

Author's Response: Thank you. I did enjoy writing this and especially the Bulgarian accent ... I agree with you it is funny in a way. *L*

 Report Review

Review #18, by pigwidgeon385 Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

26th June 2007:
Wow - that was amazing. Really - one of the best fics I've read that ties actual things from the story together. I have no CC - this was fantastic. Nice work!!! :D

Author's Response: Thank you. Appreciate your review

 Report Review

Review #19, by mischiefmanaged Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

26th June 2007:
Wow. This is one of the best Viktor/Hermione fics I've ever read. There was plenty of description and dialogue. Everybody was in character. The additional scenes that you've added are wonderful. The scene where Karkaroff disapproved of Hermione was well-written. I could actually imagine that happening. And the library scenes... yeah, I can see that as well. There were some small typos, but that's all right. Great job! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you. I've corrected those typos as well. Thanks for reviewing and telling me how you've enjoyed this. :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by PadfootBlack16 Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

26th June 2007:
that was really good...its the first time i read a story that is happening at the same time as one of the books, just from a different POV...and i really liked it.

The description is good, the plot is very well done and the dialouge is great.

There are a few spelling mistakes and stuff here and there, but not to many.

Good job!

8/10

cheers,
pad

Author's Response: Thank you for pointing that out. I found the mistakes and corrected them.

For the record those mistakes were not my beta's fault. The scene where it was form was newly added and I'm sloppy at self-betaing. :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by BitterSweetFlames Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

26th June 2007:
SkitsandBits from the HPFF forums here.

This was skillfully crafted and beautiful in its artistry. You gave us a deeper look and understanding of Viktor Krum and all the in-betweens that seemed really possible in canon. Though there were parts in the fic that were confusing and unnecessary/dragging, all in all it was a very enjoyable read.
There were a lot of times that I could not help but sympathize with Krum because it was obvious that he really liked Hermione. I loved the ending. It was poignant and heart-wrenching. It showcased how much of a wonderful person Krum is. In fact one could just kill Hermione for letting him go (or thank her, I’m not so sure. Lol.).
All in all, it was a stunningly written fic that involves one of the rarest written about couples in fan fiction. And even if it ended up Ron Hermione, the parts with Viktor were to read even if you’re heart got broken in the end.
Rating: 9/10- for those parts that seemed a bit unnecessary. Don’t be discouraged for in its entirety, it was really good.


Author's Response: Thank you for the constructive criticism. I guess I can figure out the dragging and unneccesary part. (The one outside the yule ball?) - I revised that to be the one where they kissed so that it'll have more of a point. Thank you for pointing that out.

Really appreciate your honesty - helps me find ways to revise and improve upon it. :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Might Have Ben Hur Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

25th June 2007:
When I read the title, I giggled for about an hour. As you have probably surmised, I rather love Viktor Krum. This was well written and I wish it weren't a one-shot, though then it'd be competition with my story. ;-) In all my random Viktor reflecting, I never really focused on the "losing on his own terms" part of him. That was really cool. I like your style. Feel free to add another story to my review post... once I get around to clearing the list.

Author's Response: I know I've read your Krum fic. Decided to focus on losing on his own terms because that particular line caught me... Most of the time Krum just looks sullen and silent - the Quidditch game did give me a glimpse of what may had been beneath that facade.

 Report Review

Review #23, by VampireKisses Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

24th June 2007:
Hello! This is VampireKisses with your very belated review! I'm really sorry for making you wait...I had alot of unplanned things going on. Anyways, lets get back to the review, shall we?

I have never read a Krum/Hermione fiction before in my extstence at HPFF.com, so this was one of those fics where I approached with caution, you know? But I thought this was a cute fic. However there were a few matters in which I found rather disapproving.

You, even though this was beta'd, had tense errors in alot of different places. An example of which is this:

Hermione watched the Bulgarian Seeker, his red robes shone with blood from his nose

It should be:

Hermione watched the Bulgarian Seeker, his red robes shining with blood from his nose.

Another negative aspect was copying JK's book. I know you said you put it in your own combination of words but I've thought that took away from the story. Because technically a quarter of it wasn't technically your creation. Maybe you could re do those parts (like the scene with Harry I thought you didn't need at all.) and twist it to your originality. And the last point is flow. I think you could have made everything connect together much better if you, after putting the break in between going straight into dialoge. I know for me, I got lost a few times.

Now onto the good points!

Characterization was a very strong point. I felt like the actual characters were speaking to me! Krum was the best by far. You got into he depths of his character exceptionally well. I really liked how you talked about how he disliked being subjected to the publicity. Hermione (the redheaded doofus part made me smile *looks at R/HR badge pinned to shirt)and Ginny were good too. I can tell you enjoy working with these chaacters! But I felt Ron and Harry were the worst only because you took so much from GoF and most, or all, of their dialogue was from those excerpts.

The ending, I liked. It was well worded and it does fit the profile of Viktor!

Congrats, and I hope you continue writing, you got talent.

XxVampireXx

Author's Response: Thanks for that tip. *lol* I guess I went overboard when the challenge called for 'canon'. I'll see if I can slowly correct those scenes from the book.

 Report Review

Review #24, by DandN Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

23rd June 2007:
This was certainly a rare treat! A well written canon fic with a rarely featured pair, you've made me a happy camper for sure :P

I really enjoyed all the aspects of this fic. In my opinion it was well paced, well planned, the characters were well portrayed and you explored their feelings and thoughts in a very belieavable manner. I especially enjoyed how you had tied the actual books to the story, the transistions were smooth and everything really fell on their places splendidly. I'm horribly sorry that this is such a short review but I can honestly say I can't think of anything to even nitpick on :P

Be proud of this fic!

Author's Response: Thank you. Actually this is for the out-of-realm challenge since I don't write romance especially canon-based one. (*lol* I just can't get myself to write what everyone else is writing) Viktor and Hermione's romance intrigued me and its also canon (and not overly used).

Thanks for the review and glad to hear that you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Potterholic Herm-Own-Ninny Maneuver

22nd June 2007:
Nice! I’m not a supporter of Viktor/Hermione, but I love how you wrote this. Viktor’s character is portrayed really well, and I like how he singled out Hermione because she didn’t try to get his attention. His accent is well done too. I could never do accent. ^_^ Ginny’s part in this is really nice too. She’d probably the only girl Hermione trust enough to share about guys. And I love that you brought up the ‘Wonky Faint’. ^o^

I like how you brought up the S.P.E.W through their discussion about History of Magic. I could see Viktor taking it better than Harry and Ron, he wouldn’t call it stupid right in Hermione’s face. Karkaroff’s interference was interesting and I love how Viktor just stood up and left. Anyone else wouldn’t dare to do that with the Headmaster. Luben’s character is interesting too. He’s only in there briefly, but I like him.

I really like how you wrote the conversation after the second task through Viktor’s eyes. I could see how it bugged him that she paid Harry more attention, just when he’s asking an important question. And Viktor’s interrogation toward Harry was always my favourite scene with Viktor. It was somewhat amusing how he was feeling insecure because of a boy three years younger than him.

Hermione’s conversation with Ginny was really well written. I love how she thought about Ron. Hermione hated to admit it, but that something was some insensitive redheaded doofus – an adorably funny redheaded doofus… Lol. =D Ginny’s little speech was really good too. Who wouldn’t fall for that sort of fairytale prince? And I like how she was ready to attack Viktor when she thought he broke up with Hermione. ^_^ The break-up scene was sweet. I love how he took it, and being a gentleman that he was, wanted to stay friends. The line at the very end was brilliant. All in all, good work!

Oh, you asked me in the forum to review either this or The Healer, and I'm doing both. It's going to take me some time to get to The Healer, but I'll review it as soon as I can. ^_^

Author's Response: I know what you mean about accents ... Viktor I can do after re-reading GOF and taking note of his accent, but I can't do Hagrid for the life of me.

I always did found Krum fascinating ... I mean he's a famous Quidditch star yet the fact that he chose to be with Hermione seemed to show that he's a much deeper person and values things beyond looks.

Thanks for that great review. Look forward to hearing from you again :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>