Reading Reviews for Wherever the Road Shall Go
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by essenni Wherever the Road Shall Go

5th August 2009:
Original piece. You showed your point clearly.

Author's Response: thanks, essenni!

 Report Review

Review #2, by norapotter Wherever the Road Shall Go

16th August 2007:
this is a really really really good idea! Fantastic! you picked good exerps too! but they were just exerps. i kinda feel like this wonderful idea deserves something bigger. maybe each person gets there own chapter in a short story or maybe it can be a collection of stories (i think they have that option on the site). that way you can give more time to each person and really explore how much the weasley's are alike and differant and each of their characters. again WONDEFUL ideas.
p.s. the closure was really good too. smooth. it didnt' feel abrubt at all, i felt like u were fading me out nice and slowely. good job!

Author's Response: Ooh, I know what you mean... Thanks, I usually absolutely can not stand my endings, but you've made me feel a tad better!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Paloma Patil Wherever the Road Shall Go

31st July 2007:
I like this, and I really LOVE the first and last paragraphs. You write description beautifully - that's something I always struggle with, so I need to give credit where credit is due.

Nice work.

Paloma

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Paloma.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Imawriter Wherever the Road Shall Go

12th June 2007:
Nice, 9/10. I just didn't get Ron's... when was that? Chess game? Oh, duh, I'm blond... it must have been! *slaps face*

Author's Response: :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by TheFizzingWhizbee Wherever the Road Shall Go

28th March 2007:
Amazing, fantastic use of words.

Author's Response: You're really great! I want to go review one of your stories now. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Rupertluver2012 Wherever the Road Shall Go

6th January 2007:
Ohh!!! I love it!!! haha. Good job. 10/10.

*chow*

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you seem to like this story more than Angel; this is a later story that I've put more time into. Thank you for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Lupinslover Wherever the Road Shall Go

30th December 2006:
That was very interesting and very well written. I loved Part IX Ginerva Weasley. This was really good. Nice job! I loved how it ended with the train ride home! Wonderful job!


Author's Response: Yayy, Ginny! :) Thank you so much. Lupinslover. It just seemed logical at that time to end with, well, the end.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Candice_Sama Wherever the Road Shall Go

28th December 2006:
I. Oh, wow. You used so many beautiful words to create this scene. I was impressed with that, as well as the little bit of humour at the end.

II. Haha, I always thought Arthur's fascination with "Eckletricity" was funny, and I like how you used it for Molly. ^_~

III. Yup, sounds like Bill. :D Also, that was very true and uniquely-worded perspective on the Sorting Hat. It gave me the chills.

IV. Aww, poor Charlie. It actually reminds me a little of Charlie Bucket, only he likes Quidditch. ^_^

V. Gasp. Percy breaking rules. That MUST mean something. I liked this one a lot.

VI. Their first prank. How cute.

VII. "I like that word- Mate." :)

VIII. o.o Intense.

IX. Do you ever hear someone say "I'm going to die" with a note of finality?

X. Now, that's a note of finality.

Beautiful imagery, flowing dialogue -- I saw nothing wrong with this fic at all. Nothing to criticize on, aside from the confusion of jumping from the beginning events to the ending events in the last three.

-Candice_Sama

Author's Response: Oooh, I never realized that I jump about a lot... I always thought they were all beginnings in an odd sort of way. I mean, none of the Weasleys ever died so it sort-of is a beginning in life... Err, and an end... Anyway! Thank you so much for being so kind to me, Candice!

 Report Review

Review #9, by xElusive Memoriesx Wherever the Road Shall Go

11th December 2006:
Wow, great idea. Ooh, it gives me a plot bunny *runs off to catch it*. Well done :)

Author's Response: Plot bunny?? Ooh, PM me on the forums if you write it up! Thank you for reviewing; I'm glad I was (sort of, not really) inspiration!

 Report Review

Review #10, by padfoot and prongs foreva Wherever the Road Shall Go

10th December 2006:
nicely ritten!! u like the weasley's dont u!! i like the diff moments u chose for each..and each described their personality!!
grt job!!

lyl lyl

Author's Response: Did you know that you really made my day today? :) I was kind of feeling not so spectacular but when I read your two reviews (that I hadn't even asked for!) I definitely felt happier! Oohh, thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #11, by harrys_brother Wherever the Road Shall Go

14th November 2006:
This is excellent writing! The style is one I haven't seen before, or rather, not very often. This is, however, one little problem I saw; the very last sentence-"Away went the train, coming back from where it came from."-has a redundancy; you used 'from' twice, which isn't necessary. On the other hand, I especially liked the Ginny part, which is both canon and original, if that's possible. Keep writing! 10/10!

Author's Response: You're awesome, did you know that? Thank you for the kind review! Ahh, and thank you for pointing out the odd sentence as well. GINNY! Yes, I think we both love her; she's an awesome character.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Fenryll Wherever the Road Shall Go

27th September 2006:
Very enticing.
Perfectly executed exercice.
I could read things like this forever.

Author's Response: Aww, you so made my day! When I first saw your review I was like !!! :) :)!!! Haha. Thank you so much, Fenryll!

 Report Review

Review #13, by I_Shant_EatFlamingoTongues Wherever the Road Shall Go

17th February 2006:
I liked it. I think the concept was interesting (yes, I know it was a challenge and therefore not your idea, but you must've been intrigued by the idea too, or very bored, to have written it. So I suppose I'm merely agreeing with your choice). I like how you incorporated things we already knew (Ginny and Ron) and set them in a different light, but also created new experiences for the other Weasley children. I think that each drabble fits well with the characters as we know them, so well done! The writing itself was excellent-I especiallay like "The Train Ride Back."

Author's Response: I liked the idea of a new sort of writing style -- and since I usually never seem to be able to write a whole lot, it matched with me. Thank you for the lovely review! :) It makes me glad that I didn't mess up the drabble style. Thank you again!

 Report Review

Review #14, by PhoenixStorm Wherever the Road Shall Go

13th February 2006:
Decided to take a break from hunting and do this while I remembered :). I really admire your ability to write this by the way, I am useless at drabbles, completely useless :D.

I did pick out quite a few mistakes, but I am only going to list the ones that won't affect your word counts, mainly you just got a bit comma happy :p. the browning grass of fall I don't know if you're one of those writers who prefer to use britishisms where they can so I'm changing it if you are, and if you aren't then just ignore these corrections :). This one should be autumn. rose over a deep, black colored lake coloured. echo across the farmlands, nestled around a length no comma. grimaced the girl, from where they sat no comma. Arthur replied apologetically, they stood up comma should be a full-stop. George glanced at each other, from where they were no comma. grey colored pellet coloured. Hermione faded away, as the queen’s arm no comma. Past a haystack and beyond passed. from which smoked tumbled from its upward pipe smoke.

Anyway, I really liked reading this, it's really nicely put together and I like how you end where you began. You offer insights into little moments of each of the characters that I htink really touch on them well.

I'm not sure if I have a favourite one, I liked them all! :D but probably my absolute favourite line was Let’s give new meaning to the list of forbidden items that just made me grin. It really was like the opening of 7 years of hell for the teachers and I could well imagine him saying it. I also liked how in other parts you included quite major events of your own imagination, like Percy with penelope, Arthur bumping into Molly and of course the twins with their jokes and getting to know Lee. And then you balance it with new perspectives on canon events like Ginny in the chamber and Ron getting struck down by the queen. It all rolled seamlessly together.

I like how, even though each drabble is obviously short, you manage to include details like the people who looked up at the cry of the train never saw anything going rolling by. . .. It fits so well, and I bet they have stories of a ghost train or something :D. Basically this whole piece is wonderfully written and is another great fic to you name, great job :).

Author's Response: I am very comma happy. Thank you for taking them out. And the britishism too- I think that us Americans should try to make it as HP-ish as possible if it's to be HP fanfiction. It only makes sense. I'm rather confused by the 'past' and 'passed'. I mean 'beyond' in a less repetitive way. I think I'll take your 'passed'. :) I'm so happy you like it! Thank you again for letting me use your title!!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Elf_ears13 Wherever the Road Shall Go

13th February 2006:
Oh, how lovely, Sophia. I particularly enjoyed the Percy/Penelope scene, but what else is to be expected? You made each character feel so young and so perfectly canon. Including Lee was a good move - his last line was just too cute. And Ron's! Oh, I don't know where to begin. It was perfectly adorable. I don't know why, but the choice to make Ginny's drabble in first person really worked well. (By the way, nine is IX, not VIIII.) Simply put, your writing makes me smile - and you are a genius with words.

Author's Response: I knew I was going to get one of the numbers wrong! I was worried that by making Ginny's drabble different it would muss it all up. I'm glad you like it! Thank you so much, Elfy!

 Report Review

Review #16, by purplepygmypuff Wherever the Road Shall Go

13th February 2006:
Well done! I like that you used dialogue during many of the drabbles, particularly the meeting of Molly and Arthur ; )

Author's Response: I figured they had to meet eventually. :) Thank you, purplepygmypuff! Hehe, I like your name.

 Report Review

Review #17, by MyRemus Wherever the Road Shall Go

12th February 2006:
Kind of depressing, how the Weasleys closest to Harry seem to be the one in the most danger, even as mere first years?

Author's Response: I know, I do worry about them. But imagine if the Weasleys had no problems and no worries while being so close to Harry. Then it'd be like a family of Mary Sues and Gary Stus! Thank you for your review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by mbstargirl123 Wherever the Road Shall Go

12th February 2006:
That was a nice little story! It must have been difficult to write. :)

Author's Response: The word counts definitely needed to be tweaked many times. As I was writing, I hoped, ten times, that I would have exactly 100 words when I finished each portion. It never happened. :P Thank you for your review, mbstargirl123!

 Report Review

Review #19, by jenniiiiii Wherever the Road Shall Go

12th February 2006:
Okay, I wrote a response to this challenge as well, so I've come to check out yours. First off, I noticed that II (The Weasleys) is quite a bit less than 100 words. Maybe you accidentally left off a sentence? Other than that, I don't think I noticed any mistakes. I liked the Fred and George Weasley ones best, I'm not sure why. They just seemed like they captured perfectly what could have happened in their first year, and how they became friends with Lee. I liked your introduction and conclusion - it tied it all together nicely. So yeah, I enjoyed it. I can appreciate how difficult it is to do this, too. So well done, good job!

Author's Response: For 'The Weasleys' I realized I took a rough draft version. Silly me. Thank you so much for pointing it out! It was difficult, wasn't it? But fun, nonetheless. :) Thank you for reading my set of drabbles, jenniiiiii!

 Report Review

Review #20, by charmed ravenclaw Wherever the Road Shall Go

12th February 2006:
Interesting, I suppose.

Author's Response: Er, thanks, I suppose? No, I'm joking. What made it not so interesting to you? I wish you had elaborated. . . :/ I would like to know what you find to be at fault.

 Report Review

Review #21, by StepUpTimneh Wherever the Road Shall Go

12th February 2006:
You already know how much I love this fic :) There was one mistake though- "His family was always thankful for the few days they could just a single galleon in their vault." I think you forgot to put "hold" or some other verb in there. Other than that, great! You took my suggestions and made your already-excellent story even better. Fantastic!

Author's Response: O Awesome Beta, thank you! ;) I changed it. . . That was definitely a trouble sentence, wasn't it? Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login