Reading Reviews for Freedom and Fear
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Elf_ears13 The Weasleys

11th August 2007:
I like the subtle ways in which these drabbles tied together - well, not so subtle with the title in mind, but still. I loved the use of italics and the two-sidedness of every situation; it really brought across the optimism of the Weasley family in general, with Percy perhaps being the exception but still being tied into the vein of bright thinking - and I really liked that. Maybe I'm reading more into it than you intended, but I love how his piece was set apart from the others in that it didn't necessarily have a good side to it, but that it did have an eventual good outcome. It reflected his character and position in the series well.

Their fear and the ways in which they got over it were good examples of why all of them belonged in Gryffindor, because I'd always wondered about the older ones and how likely it would be that all of them really did fit into the same house. I thought it was sort of cute how you split up the twins, making their situations similar but with completely different outcomes. Really, just lovely. =)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! Percy's was a difficult one for me, if I remember, and I suppose his came out that way because he always seemed different from the Weasleys, but he's still one of them (like you said really, but I think you've given me too much credit lol...). Thank you so much for the great review, I really don't know how to respond to it lol.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Tiger_Cruise_Ginny The Weasleys

6th August 2006:
it was cute...i loved seeing each of the weasley's problems...very good!
-aly

Author's Response: Thanks, I loved writing them!

 Report Review

Review #3, by addictedtohp The Weasleys

13th April 2006:
They're nice, I don't know, they seem a little boring, no offense. I'm writing my own so...Well, I don't know. Mine will probably be even worse so I shant be talking, but good job anyways!:)ADDI.

Author's Response: Thanks, and I'm sorry you find them boring. It's all right though. Thanks for reveiwing anyway, and doing o in a nice manner.

 Report Review

Review #4, by PhoenixStorm The Weasleys

8th March 2006:
I'd just like to say I really admire your ability to write drabbles, I'd never be able to do it and I htink yours turned out really well. I also like, though it's probably unintentional, that your note and disclaimer and titles all add up to another 100 so this fic is exactly 800 words! sorry, I found that interesting ;).

You have a few mistakes and I know it may be hard to change them because it will mess with your word counts, but I'm pointing them out anyway :p. Bill Weasley felt so small standing the line and waiting his sorting standing in line, and awaiting or waiting for. He was barely three feet off the ground and could barely open his eyes he was so scared rethink this sentence, repetition of barely. After Potion’s was over no apostrophe. he also would have never become friends this particular word order is repeated twice before this as well. It should be either would never have or never would have (I can't decide which sounds better, but what you have should definitely be changed somehow ;), sorry I'm not being particularly helpful there *rolls eyes*).

well I think this is a wonderfully written set of drabbles. I've read one other entry to this challenge (SophiaMontgomery's) and I am very impressed with you both. This fic captures lovely moments from the Weasleys' lives, and I love how you build around canon events especially. It definitely adds something to the story.

I like how you went in order of age and started off in Bills's saying He was scared he would disappoint his parents or set a bad example for his many younger siblings because it's the complete opposite perspective to the one we get in the books (Ron's). One of them had to be first and I shuld think it would be equally as stressful to be the oldest and set the standard than be one of the youngest and live up to expectations.

I love the various humorous parts you have in here, especially Percy's already embarrassed himself by falling into the Hogwarts lake that made me grin and is something i could well believe. Also in Fred's How could this man separate him from his twin brother, his only friend, just because they had purposely caused an explosion for a laugh? It was injustice, pure and simple *laughs* very like the twins, really could picture one of them saying that :D . And I like how you mentioned Lee and how they got to be friends with him too. Wonderful fic you have here, great job on the challenge :).

Author's Response: I found that intersting too, though it was unintentional. I'll change those things, and thanks for telling me of them; I appreciate it. I'm glad that you liked it. I never really thought about Bill's feelings until taking up this challenge, but when you think about it, he had to be nervous. I try to add some humor to all of my fics; it really helps to balance things out, IMO, and I couldn't write anything with the twins without humor. I loved this challenge. Thanks so much for the amazing review; I do believe it is one of the best I've received.

 Report Review

Review #5, by michelle The Weasleys

18th February 2006:
awesome drabble

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Anastasia The Weasleys

13th February 2006:
Amazing!!! Wow!

You handled each one of them perfectly, showcasing the characters' weaknesses, beliefs, learnings and likings.

I. I loved it. The insecurity a big brother feels when it comes to setting an example. You depicted it greatly!

II. Yes! That was fantastic. Really, Charlie could be connected with nothing other than Quidditch. The last sentence was so striking, I adored it.

III. That was fun! I liked the ''Oliver Wood'' part lol .

IV/V. Comic relief. You handled the twins really well, showing their witty and funny self.

VI. I liked the reference to PS/SS -especially the sad feeling over the loss of 10 points. The last sentence was incredible.

VII. Terrific. I loved Ginny's POV. One of the best drabbles!

To sum up, you wrote excellently (as always). Very well done! ~Anastasia

Author's Response: I'm glad you thought I did a good job with them. My favorite one was Charlie's - he's like, never written about and he has so much potential! I may not have ever noticed it without this challenge. I'm glad you liked the twins - I feared I didn't capture them too well. Thanks for the awesome review, Ana!

 Report Review

Review #7, by purplepygmypuff The Weasleys

13th February 2006:
Of course it was Snape that would separate the twins! Good way to get Lee in there... I definitely enjoyed it, and I think probably others did as well.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it! It seemed like a Snape-ish thing to do, no?

 Report Review

Review #8, by Sophia Montgomery The Weasleys

12th February 2006:
I don't understand what the part in the middle is of this sentence - 'Ginny Weasley no way I could, plus I’ve never done a drabble.), and I hope that Linaewen is satisfied with this, as well as anyone else who’s reading this.was scared to death.' I like all of the emotions they went through, though.

Author's Response: Somehow, my author's notes meled with that part...it's fixed now, as is the tease/d thing. I'm glad you still liked it, and thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by steve34 The Weasleys

12th February 2006:
It looks like some of your author's note got caught up in the Ginny drabble, and there's a small typo in the George drabble "Fred did teased him" should be "tease". I think you did manage to capture the essence of each Weasley in 100 words. Well done! What a great writing exercise this is!

Author's Response: I've corrected those. I'm glad you think I did a good job. It was a good exercise for me, I think. Thanks for the review, steve!

 Report Review

Review #10, by jenniiiiii The Weasleys

12th February 2006:
I did this challenge too, so I decided to see what everyone else came up with. I noticed (yes, I'm pathetic and counted) that very few of them were exactly 100 words, most were a couple of words under. Also, what happened with the Ginny Weasley one? I think you meant to put some brackets in there somewhere! I noticed a couple of mistakes, one being that you put 'teased' instead of 'tease' in this entecne; "Fred did teased him, but George would get payback for that, one way or another." Another was in Charlie's - "He was barely three feet off the ground and good barely open his eyes he was so scared." It should read 'could', not 'good'. Okay, apart from those things, I thought it was good. I really liked the ending to the Charlie one - I thought it was a really good capture of his personality. I also liked the way that Fred and George had to be split up for them to make new friends. Overall, well done, nice job.

Author's Response: I've fixed the tease and the other part (author's notes got misplaced). I went by my wordcount in MS word, but it could be off. I'll fix the Charlie one soon. I loved writing Charlie. I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by charmed ravenclaw The Weasleys

12th February 2006:
It was okay :)

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #12, by RoverDroverTiger The Weasleys

12th February 2006:
I liked it! I also saw this challenge but didn't post in it. I think you did well. Drabbles are hard to write. (not that I did one)

Author's Response: Thanks! It wasn't as difficult as I'd imagined, but it still was hard at some points. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by troublemaker The Weasleys

12th February 2006:
Wow! That was really unique and refreshing! I loved it! I especially liked the George part--I'm a big fan of George/Alicia!

 Report Review

Review #14, by troublemaker The Weasleys

12th February 2006:
Wow! That was really unique and refreshing! I loved it! I especially liked the George part--I'm a big fan of George/Alicia!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad tht you liked it! I never even thought of George/Alicia before this, but I think I like it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login