Reading Reviews for The Dark Side of Harry Potter
  
177 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Frank Nightmares

19th July 2011:
pleaase keep writing

 Report Review

Review #2, by cannis_lupus Nightmares

29th January 2008:
Awesome story. Can't wait for the next chapter. Your story line is unique and I can't wait. Thanks for the good story.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Sugarquills23 Nightmares

10th September 2007:
Wow, Stefania!! I'm so sorry it's taken me so long to review, but this is wonderful! I can't wait to find out what the secret meeting at Durmstrang will bring...where Ginny and the Weasleys are...how Harry and the others will handle what's to come...

You've left so many unanswered questions! Great job developing an intriguing cliffhanger with this installment. I look forward to their visit to Grimmauld Place and what awaits for them there. Thanks for a great update, Stefania! *Hugs* Donna

 Report Review

Review #4, by Wingnut1974 Nightmares

16th August 2007:
Great Story Waiting on the next Chapter

10/10

 Report Review

Review #5, by desertfox1987 A Train Ride

3rd August 2007:
Read the first chapter of this story and have to say I'm impressed. You're a talented writer and hope that you continue to nurture that gift.

 Report Review

Review #6, by shaki Nightmares

7th July 2007:
i m in love with your writing style. i am dieing to read next chapter when harry and ginny are goinng to meet. how many chapters are left ? please let me know.

 Report Review

Review #7, by ackb Nightmares

29th June 2007:
These thirteen chapters have taken me somewhere incredible; thank you!! Sugarquills and Princesspotter are wonderful guides to have along your writing; they are two of my absolute favorites...I'm thinking that I need to add you as the third!!
Thank you for all the time and creativity you have spent fashioning this story!! I like how you made Ron need Hermione's support in this chapter; I hope that in subsequent chapters Ginny will flay Harry for his self-imposed protection...I am looking forward to a Ginny that is as strong and capable as Harry!
Thank you, again!!! Cannot wait until your next post!!

 Report Review

Review #8, by thediarywithin Nightmares

8th May 2007:
Wow...keep up the good work.

 Report Review

Review #9, by irishdaddy0204 Nightmares

27th April 2007:
This is one incredible story. I really enjoy how you have sudden twits just when things start to get 'comfy'. Keep it up & update soon !

 Report Review

Review #10, by hdtdgd Nightmares

24th April 2007:
good stuff

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ethera Step Coming Back Home Part 2

21st April 2007:
wow, that was really good.
I would rate it a 100 if that was a choice, you really get into the character's minds and realise what they're up agains.

 Report Review

Review #12, by AceShooter Nightmares

20th April 2007:
Wow! I'm loving this so far. Cant wait for the next chapter. Good luck!

~Ace~

 Report Review

Review #13, by PrincessPotter Nightmares

19th April 2007:
You know what's cool about your story? I seriously have no idea where you're going with it, lol...you have so many ways you could go and I can't wait to see what you've decided to do. I loved the dream part and the new moments with Voldemort holding Ginny...very creepy! What does he want her for? Just to get to Harry? or for something else? I can't wait for Harry and Ginny to see each other again, there are so many ways you could go and I'm looking forward to finding out how you handle it. What are the cookies going to do? and What about Draco? lol...apparently you have questions to answer so write fast!! lol...great job! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Ethera Step A Train Ride

17th April 2007:
That is really good!
I like your outlook on the characters.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Ely_Baby A Train Ride

14th January 2007:
Hey Stefania!

Avevo un po' di tempo libero (tempo libero? certo come no, crediamoci.. ho semplicemente disertato lo studio..), e ho deciso di leggere almeno il primo capitolo della tua fanfiction. E' meraviglioso! No, seriamente, è scritto molto bene, ricalcando lo stile di J.K.Rowling in persona, e la storia promette proprio bene. Nove punti su dieci (il punto in meno è perchè il pairing principale è Harry/Ginny.. -_- Scusa!)!

Comunque, ho appena inviato il primo capitolo di una mia fanfiction su questo sito, diciamo che mi hai convinta a tentare la fortuna anche qui ^_^..

Spero di non aver infranto nessun ToS scrivendo il commento in italiano.. giusto per sicurezza: Wonderful first chapter. I simply loved it, and can't wait to find out what's going on next! KUTGW!

 Report Review

Review #16, by pandalover32 The Next Step

14th January 2007:
:O talk about a cliff hanger!!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Opus Violations

19th December 2006:
A fabulous series. I just spent the whole evening reading it all in one go. Please write the rest quickly! A real page turner. Don't worry ever about chapter length. The longer the better!


A few critiques:

You have gotten so good at the characterizations, plot and writing style, you should go back and re-edit the first couple of chapters. They are rougher than the later text. The later chapters have incredible pacing, writing techniques and character writing. I am really impressed!


The whole Ministry plot line is missing. JKR would have already started following the plot line of the politics in the Ministry, probably by the second or third chapter. Adding that in would make the story feel more complete and more cannon-like.


Please show Harry and Ginny using birth control! Can be some spell she learned instead of an actual muggle-style condom. But please mention something!






 Report Review

Review #18, by sugarquills23 The Next Step

9th December 2006:
I'm sorry it's taken me so long to review this chapter. You've done a good job of portraying the stress Harry's under through his training, both physically and mentally. Your 'old woman' character is an interesting addition to the players of the story. I will look forward to seeing how you incorporate her more in the future. The pub scene was sad I thought. I was surprised a bit by Harry's draw to drinking heavily given his age and lack of history in canon, but circumstances change a person and Harry couldn't be more different now that he was before. He's hardened, jaded it seems. The dark force of his mission seems to be filling him up. I hope that when this is all over, it won't be too late to let in some light.

Good work keeping us enthralled with your story!! I look forward to more. Sugar

Author's Response: Thank you, sugar!!
I'm sorry this part of the story features a very angsty Harry - I couldn't avoid that, given the plot of my story... hopefully there'll be space for some lighter moments later on.
The Old Lady was an interesting character to develop, she is a different sort of seer in comparison to Trewlaney, and a person who's able to give some good advice to Harry... if he wants to listen to it.
Harry's experience is surely hardening him, bringing him more and more on the brink of the dark side. I just hope Harry doesn't look too OC, I would hate that!

Thank you so much for the lovely review and for the long-lasting support, my friend!
Stefania


 Report Review

Review #19, by sugarquills23 Violations

9th December 2006:
Great installment, Stefania! There was so much happening here. Developing Ginny's healing abilities was brilliant. It has all kinds of potential for good...and for bad as Voldemort was advised in the end. I'm glad they've finally found the solution. I thought it was great that Ron was the one to find the book. You know how I love Ron's character. I just think there is a lot of untapped potential, just under the surface. :) I look forward to seeing where that information takes Harry. And...where will the knowledge of the plot to use Ginny effect his ability to focus on his mission. I look forward to seeing how you take things from here! *hugs* Sugar

Author's Response: *hugs back*
Hey, sugar, thanks again for the kind words! I'm glad you liked this chapter, as we didn't have the time to discuss it at all!
I wanted Ron to find the book. Hermione was obviously going to decipher the text, but Ron had to be fundamental in finding it - Yay Ron!
Ginny's healing power wasn't present in the first plot draft of this story, but I thought it had a great potential... I just hope I'm not complicating things too much. But it seemed good to have Voldemort wanting Ginny for a specific reason.

Thanks again for leaving this review! And don't forget we're all hoping to see your own story updated, sugar! *winks*
Stefania


 Report Review

Review #20, by bgii_2000 The Next Step

8th December 2006:
Sorry this has taken me so long. I’ve had the outline sitting on my desk for more than a month now. Writing these reviews takes a lot of energy, and if I write a lot of them in a short period of time, I sometimes feel like I’m just cranking out the same review over, and over again. So, I take a little time, step back, and get a fresh look at things.

This chapter was brilliant. With every update your writing and story telling improve and it’s great to see that happening.

You’ve chosen thoroughly interesting names for Crabbe and Goyle. Somehow I never realized that Rowling had never given them first names. Good show.

You’ve done an excellent job here, of showing the both the physical and mental toll of Harry’s training. I feel so sorry for him. The path that Harry has chosen, and continues to walk in this chapter has enlightened me of another fact. Harry has many similarities to the Dark Lord, but there is a new one emerging. Harry hasn’t yet made the “love connection.” Like Voldemort, he believes it to be a useless thing. I like how you’ve shown this. Yet another thing that Harry will have to reconcile when the time comes.

I found it slightly odd that Viktor would divulge secrets, such as hidden passages, to outsiders, although I enjoyed your veiled commentary on weak passwords.

And then we come to it. I dismissed it the first time is mere coincedence, but have you been watching “The Matrix” again? You’ve written an old woman, who knows everything of the short term, makes vague allusions to the long term, smokes, bakes cookies, and offers said cookies to the protagonist? I think that’s The Oracle. Not that I don’t like the character. In fact I love her. But I wanted to be sure that you know what you’re doing.

There was a great sense of torment, as Harry wrestled with the decision of whether or not to send Ginny a birthday gift. His ultimate conclusion adds evidences to the fact that he does not know her as well as he thinks.

I do wonder a times within this story however, if Ginny is quite as strong as she makes out to be. Will she ever truly doubt Harry’s love for her? I have a feeling that this will play a powerful part in the closing chapters of this tale.

Alcoholic Harry. Wow. Alcohol has always been a prevalent force in the Harry Potter series; it has been slowly gaining more attention as the books moved on to a more mature audience. But turning Harry into a hard drinker? That’s a bold move. But a logical one. Poor guy, you’re really punishing him. I’m starting to hope that you’ll write an epilogue at the end so I can see how you write Harry when he’s happy.

He still hasn’t learned to stop wearing his heart on his sleeve though. Not that alcohol helps with that problem. This in my opinion is his biggest weakness. Not even Ron, the Un-Socialite, broadcasts his feelings as widely as Harry does. Once again I commend you for picking this out of the series and weaving it into your own character of Harry.

And we end on a Cliffhanger: Crabbe and Goyle’s “big” plan.

I’m not sure when I’ll write the next review, what with the Holidays coming and all, but I very much enjoyed the next chapter, and I hope to write my opinion of it soon.

Sincerely,
Brad

Author's Response: Oh, don't excuse yourself for leaving me a review! Sooner or later, they are always warmly welcomed!

Thank you so much for saying that my writing is improving. It's so nice to hear! You know, sometimes I have so many doubts about what I write...

Oh, Harry's training is certainly consuming him, and bringing him towards uncharted territories of his soul... I'm happy you noticed the fact that he considers "Love" as unnecessary at this point to win over Voldemort (I disagree with Harry, obviously). We'll see if he'll have to change idea in the next future.

Ah, the Old Lady! Now, the very first idea about her comes, strangely enough, from an old English nursery rhyme I was reading to my daughter one evening, called "There was on old woman" - well, this woman bakes apples and cramberry pies, and "never tells lies".

Well, I've certainly have watched the Matrix many times - and liked a lot the character of the Oracle. So, I guess involuntarily, I used a bit her character to create my own. Hopefully it doesn't sound too fake... I liked to have a seer completely different from Trewlaney, a bit strange, but not mad - a bit like Luna, perhaps. At least that's what I tried to do.

As for Harry and alcohol, well, as you said, it's strange but not surprising that he would turn to it to find some kind of numbing.

I'm sure I'm trying to punish Harry a bit with this fic - I still have to forgive him for breaking up with Ginny at the end of HBP... I'm a vengeful type I guess!

Ok, thank you so much for letting me know your opinion on this chapter, it was nice hearing from you and knowing that you liked it!

Ciao Stefania


 Report Review

Review #21, by NicerDraco2025 Violations

30th November 2006:
This is probably the best book 7 fic I've found on here. This bit with Ginny healing is interesting, as well as Harry @ Durmstrang. Can't wait for whatever comes next.

Author's Response: Wow, this is really a big compliment - I hope I'll be able to keep up the plot nicely enough in the rest of the story, then!
Thank you so much for the kind words!


 Report Review

Review #22, by PrincessPotter Violations

29th November 2006:
! How could you stop there!?!? lol, that was great! ooh, so much happening, I'm not sure what to mention...Ginny and her healing, Harry wanting to do the killing curse, Ron and Hermione cuteness, the Dumbledore influence (leave it to him to have his hands in everything even after his death) lol...and what about this spell they've found?? Man, now I know how my readers feel when I only tease them with information! lol...nicely done, stefania! I have so many questions at this point, I can't wait for the next chapter! what is harry going to do with the info he got from his vision? Are they going to leave drumstrang? is he going to try the killing curse before he goes? what is draco going to do? and when will ginny and harry be in the same room again? lol...yeah, ok...so write quickly... and obviously, you odn't have to try to answer all of these questions in your response...lol. :)

Author's Response: Hey, thanks, Princess! I'm so happy you liked this chapter, which was a bit difficult given the action scene (which I'm sure could have been better, but nevermind), and the number of thing happening at the same time in different places.

To answer some of your questions... it's pretty obvious, I think, that Harry will want to leave Durmstrang at this point, knowing what he knows. Harry will have a go at the Killing Curse... but I can't tell you when...
And Draco, well, now he's got his own reasons to be working underground against Voldemort. I don't think he's becoming good, exactly, but his point of view has been shaken quite a bit by the things that have happened to his mother and to Goyle.

Harry and Ginny... will meet again soon. How will the meeting go? A storm is approaching, I guess...

I'm not sure when I'll be able to post the next chapter, but I'll try to do my best and write it asap!

Thanks for the lovely review!
Stefania


 Report Review

Review #23, by 365 letters_ryan gosling 20 Violations

29th November 2006:
Love this story and loved this chapter! Can't wait for the next one!!!

Author's Response: Awesome! Thanks a lot!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Mr_Potter Violations

22nd November 2006:
I really enjoyed this whole story and I can't wate intel the next chapter comes out but you fo have alot of spelling mistakes on the same words. Good Luck writing the next chapter

Author's Response: Oh, I'm glad you liked the story so far!

I'm sorry if sometimes there are spelling or grammar mistakes, but I guess that should be considered normal as I'm Italian and English is my second language... I'm just doing my best.

Bye!


 Report Review

Review #25, by thechosenone Violations

22nd November 2006:
As fantastic as ever!! I don't know how you do it!!

Fla

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words! I appreciate them a lot!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>