Reading Reviews for A Follower of Footsteps
  
41 Reviews Found

Review #1, by charlottetrips Reminiscence

4th February 2012:
Hola, I just decided to review the earliest story of yours I could findÖjust because really :) I like that itís a Peter Pettigrew story though. I think Iíve read less than what I can count on my hand of PP stories.

I think I read in one of your review responses on this story that you hate this. That can be understandable since itís your first one-shot, I think. But itís interesting to compare to how far you have come. Itís not a bad one-shot to be fair. Itís quite stream of consciousness actually.

Having Remus being sort of the wedge between Peter and the others is believable. Peter did join up with the wizard supremacy crowd and for him to be friends with a werewolf, a lesser speciesóI could see how that would get under his skin.

You do draw the line of when Peter turns from friendship as his source of happiness to power well. I can see how it went from needing the Marauders to needing what he could get from the Dark Lord. His inner balance is off and you can see it clearly. I can see a streak of madness, of that weakness that the Dark Lord picked up on and used against him.

Itís a good one-shot dear, donít be worried about that!

Author's Response: Ahaha, why would you review this one? D:

Peter is definitely a character that is not written about very often. I think that's part of the reason why I decided to write this. Of course, this was written ages ago so I can't quite remember.

I guess I'm glad that you got the chance to see how I've grown as a writer even if I really don't like this. I was definitely a stream of consciousness writer back in the day so I can see how that comes across here.

You've certainly been able to dissect what I was trying to get across with this story well enough, so I'm glad it wasn't too far off base.

Thanks so much for reading it and leaving me a nice review. :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Owlpost68 Reminiscence

13th October 2011:
Well, this certainly makes Peter more dynamic than we think him to be. I've always wondered though, how he met them all though, why they wanted to help him and except him into their group. I think if there was a part of him remembering about how they met it would make more sense to me. Did he maybe help one of them on the train or something? maybe Remus before he found out he was a werewolf, and that's why they trusted Peter so much, 'cause he was there for Remus in the beginning? I don't know, it's just a thought. Anyway, great job trying to get into his head!

Author's Response: You don't think they could have just accepted him based on the fact that he was a good friend? That four boys growing up sharing a dorm together can't simply forge a friendship? I can believe it. I don't think he had to help them in some way to make them want to be his friend. Wars change people and we don't necessarily know or understand that deep desire for power that Peter craved, that drove him to join Voldemort and betray his friends. I don't agree with Rowling's portrayal of Peter, at all. They trusted him to be the Potters' secret keeper and that takes a lot. This story was the first story I ever wrote eight years ago so it's not very good, but thanks for taking the time to read it and review it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by lizmusic45 Reminiscence

9th September 2011:
This was really quite good. You gave a light to Peter that he never had, and until now I didn't think deserved one. You we're able to make a hated person, and make him actually seem ok.

That is a really big talent. I'm going to have to say that even though your story was well written, that I still hate Peter for doing that to Harry's parents.

But you have a great talent. So I'm giving you 50/50

Lizzie :)

Author's Response: I understand how people hate Peter for what he took away from Harry, from the life he could have had, but we all have to remember the series of events that led up to that moment too. That Voldemort never would have gone after the Potters if Snape hadn't overheard the Prophecy, that it was just chance Harry happened to be born on the day that corresponded with said prophecy. There are so many factors that could have changed the course of Wizarding history. So we can't blame everything on Peter. :)

I find that because of his eventual betrayal, a lot people don't give him the proper credit he deserves as a character. Even villains need their stories told.

Thanks for at least somewhat sympathizing with him. That was the point of the story. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by academica Reminiscence

5th August 2011:
I really liked this! We don't hear much about Peter in canon or fanfiction, probably because he isn't as easy to invent a girl for as the other Marauders. But I really loved the depth you gave to his character. In my mind, I had never imagined that he could possibly doubt his friendship with Remus. I just sort of figured he went along with becoming an Animagus like the others, without putting much thought into it. But I enjoyed that twist, as well as the one about Lily. I never pictured him having a special hatred for her, but it definitely makes sense.

This was a great look at a character who seems simple on the surface but is actually more complex as you go deeper. I might have to dedicate a one-shot to him myself. Great work!

academica (Slytherin)

Author's Response: I think you make an excellent point about how Peter isn't really written about much because of a lack of a girl figure. So many romance stories out there! What ever happened to good old fashioned friendship fics? Peter may have been a traitor, but I hate when authors don't include him in Marauders fics...he was their friend for a reason, you know?

I'm pretty sure this was the first fanfic I ever wrote so I'm kind of embarrassed it's still up here, but thanks for reviewing it and liking it. :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Bookworm045 Reminiscence

4th August 2011:
This is really, really good. I almost expected it to be completely sympathetic to Peter, but there was such an underlying tone of darkness that he had. I couldn't bring myself to feel sorry for him! Never liked Peter as a person, he's just a vile, little, cheating, betraying man.
Ahem.
Anyway, I really liked this, despite it's focus being Peter. It was just written so. Well.

Peter had his doubts, but he stuck with his demented ideas for getting power, and that's the one thing I will sort of grudgingly respect about him because of this. He knew what he wanted [power] and he was willing to stoop to anything for the propect of getting it. I just wish he hadn't had to sell out his friends to do so.

Icky Peter, I don't like him much. But it was a really well-written one-shot! :D

-Katherine045 (Slytherin!)

Author's Response: Haha, this story is so old. I think it was the first fanfic I ever wrote. I can't believe you read and reviewed this.

I understand your feelings completely on Peter. I don't know, I just feel like fanfic authors are unfair to him in their portrayal of him so I always try to bring about new ways to write him that don't follow the usual trend when it comes to Peter. I'm glad you liked it though, despite the focus on a character you don't particularly like.

I think we all wish he never went that far for power. It's all such a tragic tale.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Nadiya Iman Lestrange Reminiscence

4th December 2007:
Wow, Peter is rather...callous, isn't he? I suppose that delving in the Dark Arts for over twenty years can eventually destroy and inkling of sympathy, compassion, and love that you might have once had, but still. I always imagined Peter to have turned traitor due to the need to protect his friends, for that makes his descent all the more tragic, but I do like this angle too, that Peter never honestly cared for anything more than protection and power. Wonderful job!

Author's Response: I finally re-read this and I can't believe I wrote something like this, LOL! Peter is rather dark, here, and a bit self-deprecating, that's for sure. I think he's spent so much time searching for Voldemort and aiding him, that he's lost compassion.

I like the angle that he turned on them to protect them as it's certainly a different approach, but then how could he justify giving up James and Lily's location knowing what could possibly happen if he was doing it to protect them? I'm not sure if it's fanfiction or if I read it somewhere, but it seemed to me that they knew they had a traitor in their midst - Death Eaters thwarting planned attacks, etc. so I guess it doesn't make too much sense to me.

Thank you again for all your reviews. You're so sweet!


 Report Review

Review #7, by xXLuna_LovegoodXx Reminiscence

22nd May 2007:
This is a great story! I really love it!

Scribble Back

 Report Review

Review #8, by iluvtomfelton24 Reminiscence

7th May 2006:
Great job, I have strong opinions about Peter Pettigrew and many reasons in which i will back up my eternal hatred, never forgiving of him. He doesn't deserve it. He did what he did, it's too late to take it back. And he wouldnt take it back anyway. He makes me so angry. You really captured his POV. Props to you. 1-4-3

 Report Review

Review #9, by bitterbutsweet Reminiscence

27th April 2006:
wow ... ... ... i am feeling something i never thought i would feel - sorry for pettigrew. i always think of him as the enemy, maybe there is something more ...? it's a really intersting take and i wish i could see what jk rowling meant by it all!

 Report Review

Review #10, by iamatree Reminiscence

13th March 2006:
I really like it. You almos feel sympathy for him, despite the fact his reasons are very stupid. I like it, well done.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Arinonna Reminiscence

27th January 2006:
Hey this is good

 Report Review

Review #12, by StepUpTimneh Reminiscence

7th January 2006:
Again, I'm left speechless. I know my reviews are probably getting repetitive, because all I'm saying is how good they are. The thing is, I really can't find any errors! I won't simply say "I liked your story", because that bugs a lot of authors (including myself). So if someone says they liked it, I want to know why. So I'm going to tell you.

You stayed in character for Peter amazingly. You kept him the annoying, evil rat he is, but you let us see perhaps why he is this way. You didn't change his character, as some do, to make him innocent. You showed him as a guilty person, which is who he is. The thing that makes it great is that you make it seem almost like he had a right to become evil. Well, not really a right...more like a reason.

A lot of people think that Peter Pettigrew is just an evil little man that doesn't care about his friends. That is partly true, but Peter is more complex than that. You showed the many sides of his character; of his personality- I look at Pettigrew in a new way after reading this. I see how he feels.

I see how he feels, but I don't agree with it. It's hard to get the reader to feel that way; usually if the author wants to communicate a reason for doing something bad, the reader ends up feeling sorry for the character and agreeing with their thoughts. You showed me his thoughts, and yet I still don't agree with them! (that's a good thing!)

Sorry if I didn't help much, or if you don't understand the review. Sometimes when I'm so into a story, my reviews get a bit messy. If you have any questions about this, please PM me :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by CJ_Black Reminiscence

12th September 2005:
Ever since I read HP3 I've hated Peter Pettigrew with such passion I would've probably killed him literally if I had the chance.I never understood how someone could be such a <<tag not allowed="red">tag not allowed="red">censored, but there it was! I hate traitors more than anything else. So, anyway, I just read your story and I realized with horror that I could understand, actually understand what that vermin felt!!! I thought I was going mad. But the point is, you actually give the same answer as everyone else to the question "Why", but your fic made me actually understand how he felt. Completely. I think that's brilliant! Fabulous! I think I might havfe read more of your stories, the name sound familiar. I'll go check!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Vicky Reminiscence

29th July 2005:
nice:)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Katielynn Reminiscence

12th May 2005:
wow...love it!!!!!!!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Ron Reminiscence

8th May 2005:
Very good, and original. I was shocked when Peter talked about Remus with such loathing, but the was a very excellent twist on your part. Great job.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Sue Bridehead Reminiscence

20th April 2005:
I liked this story. It does ramble a bit, but that didn't seem all that odd, since we're "getting inside someone's head." I liked the way Peter hates Lily - it makes sense (jealousy, etc.). There were a few places where verb tense and punctuation could have been changed to make it read smoother, and there was one sentence in particular where the meaning was unclear. (I think it said "thought" and you may have meant "though" - ?) Still, it's a pretty good one-shot. :-)

Author's Response: Well, thanks for reviewing. Not quite sure why you'd pick this story out of the 9 other one-shots I have. This was my first one-shot, and I hate it. But I'm glad you liked it. In response to the verb tense and punctuation, I don't even think I've re-read the story since I posted it more than a year ago. So, you'll have to excuse the lack of editing.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Lucid Reminiscence

13th April 2005:
Fantastic! I love the way that you write your unique perspective on the Marauders. It doesn't make me feel sorry for Peter at all, but it really does give insight into Peter, and his reasons for all that he has done. You know how much I love the way you write, you never disappoint :) ~ Lucid

 Report Review

Review #19, by sparkycobalt Reminiscence

28th March 2005:
i like it. i think the movie made him seem too evil. but anyways, i liked it. the repetition was fine, i think it was that kind of story.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Sophia Montgomery Reminiscence

6th March 2005:
That put me in a very sad mood... The feeling of lonliness, of following, never leading...

 Report Review

Review #21, by peeperduff Reminiscence

25th January 2005:
This is amazing. The comparison of falling house of cards to the Marauders is just SO simple, yet such an exelent idea. It had such a poetic factor that I was just stunned. All I can say is "Wow!" ~peeperduff~

 Report Review

Review #22, by VagrantFantasy Reminiscence

22nd January 2005:
Superb, I'm glad to see a story that actually attempts to explain Peter rather then condemn him. It seems to me you gave this story a lot of thought because there is so much logic within it. It IS logic that Peter would despise Remus, It IS logic Peter would feel utter contempt for Lily. I'm not trying to justify what Peter did but under the circumstances that you described I do understand why he turned and what seduced him to the dark side. I am not a Peter hater, I am a Peter sympathiser. The feeling I gained from the conclusion of this is that the tragedy of Peter is that within all his glory of 'being one of the most feared men in the world' he will never really feel completely content or his own person.

 Report Review

Review #23, by jynx67 Reminiscence

6th January 2005:
Hm, very interesting aspect of Peter. I like. Very different from my own, but very good nonetheless.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Ruperts_luver_000 Reminiscence

31st December 2004:
Good job! Your right, I think this does explain Peter's life.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Hermione Weasley Reminiscence

31st December 2004:
Now I hate him even more, though I pity him a little. The filthy git. Good story though.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>