Reading Reviews for Buckbeak's Ferret Dinner
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Wishful Dreaming Buckbeak's Ferret Dinner

22nd March 2008:
Poor BuckBeak! That was soo cute. I really loved it.

Author's Response: Ah, but in the end Buckbeak gets a happy ending and a new beginning. Of course, Sirius is still dead. His death made me cry more than any other death in the series, even Dumbledore's.

 Report Review

Review #2, by strangegirl6125 Buckbeak's Ferret Dinner

10th December 2007:
Yay! Animal POV's are fun! I hope you write one about Filch's cat! Lol

Author's Response: Lol, thanks. "Under the Emerald Spell Light" has Filch's cat in it, though it's not from the cat's POV. It's also a very sad story, if you like sad stories. I also did one with Crookshanks called "Heat", but I wasn't able to post it on this site.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Anony_Mouse Buckbeak's Ferret Dinner

18th April 2007:
Hippogriff angst. You know, I'm not sure exactly what it is, but I've always had a soft spot for pets mourning their owners (if you call Buckbeak a "pet"), since it's always the other way around. This not take leave me disappointed, and satisfied my craving. Very nice job. =)

Author's Response: Oh, I'm quite fond of the Hogwarts animals. I've stepped away from them lately, but I want to get back to them, because they're so fun to write about. They're easier to flesh out than the main characters, because JK's already done the main character to perfection, and anything I'd do would seem pretty measly in comparison. But, as is proper for the story she's telling, she keeps the animals in the background. I simply search through all that wonderful background tapestry she created and grab the things that neither she nor other fanfiction authors have explored. I'm glad this animal fic satisfied your craving. :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by tuppence Buckbeak's Ferret Dinner

4th September 2006:
I read one of your other stories last night and loved it, so I decided to give this one a try, too, and wow.

It was sad in parts, but occasionally comedic. I really enjoy your style and originality, not to mention insight into usually unexplored characters' minds. Way to go! I will SO be back for more. :-)

Author's Response: This is one of my favorite one-shots I've done (which, by the way, is not limited to the three on this site; I can't post many of my stories here because of the lengthy restrictions in the ToS). I'm really quite big on originality, and I sort of despise myself if I end up writing something that seems normal. Which is why I have also spent a while trying to find my own style (This I have done mostly in my original stories, which are much more numerous than my fanfics). If you want to read more of my stories on this site, there's "Woes of a Midget Owl", and coming soon is "Their Neverending Reflection". Thanks once again for the reviews! It really inspires me to write more fanfiction; I sometimes actually read over my reviews before I start writing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by firebreathingradishes Buckbeak's Ferret Dinner

1st August 2006:
Wow. You've got a really really original "voice".

I feel so bad for Buckbeak. :/ I love how you drew parallels between Buckbeak and Sirius--- how they wanted to leave Grimwauld Place, caught ferrets and what not. Great work. :]

Author's Response: "Original voice". . . I try my best :) I'm quite proud of this story (actually, I'm proud of most of my stories). Buckbeak is a wonderfully fun animal to write about, and I really did like the ferret dinner motif.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Ugly_Duckling Buckbeak's Ferret Dinner

30th July 2006:
All I can say is that I loved this so much I'm putting it on my favourites.

Author's Response: Oh, really?? Thank you sooooo much! It's reviews like this that makes me want to write more and more and more fanfiction (which, of course, I am).

 Report Review

Review #7, by The Master Intent Buckbeak's Ferret Dinner

11th March 2006:
awwww......poor Buckbeak! you do seem to enjoy your characters' misery! but so do i....so its cool. (if i do something, of course it must be cool.) nice ending tho.

Author's Response: Yes. Poor Buckbeak. And I do enjoy my characters' misery (glad to see you put the apostrophe in the right place--your punctuation and capitalization, however, are TERRIBLE! Haven't you learned _anything_ from me??) But you know all about my characters' misery (and, by the look of your penname, you seem to be a cause of that said misery). And if you do something, it's much more likely NOT to be cool! So there. Thanks anyway. See if you can victimize any more of your friends by making them read my story!

 Report Review

Review #8, by BiG MaMa Buckbeak's Ferret Dinner

4th March 2006:
awww poor buckbeak :( i love your stories...they're a bit strange but hey thats why i like it. and i hope buckbeak is happy with hagrid...are you thinking of doing an epiloque...whatever you call it?

Author's Response: I'm glad you find my stories strange--shame on me if they were original! Yes, I do believe Buckbeak will be happy with Hagrid--and because of that, the story doesn't need an epilogue. Besides, it's sometimes best to leave smaller, less important details to the reader to figure out :) Thanks for your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Shii and Nel Buckbeak's Ferret Dinner

21st February 2006:
When I saw the P.O.V., I admit I expected humor. But what I got was better. It was from an animal's point of view, but it was just as good as if a human was talking. (Not to say humans are better, humans just write better about humans.) It wasn't cheesy, it didn't misinterpret Buckbeak's personality, and you didn't make him some dumb beast. I enjoyed it greatly. =^.^=

Author's Response: I'm glad this story exceeded your expectations. It exceeded my expectations as well, mostly because Buckbeak's misunderstanding about Sirius's disappearance was a sudden inspiration that came just as I was writing the story. I'm glad you had fun reading it--I know I had fun writing it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by LostMaeblleshire Buckbeak's Ferret Dinner

20th February 2006:
Ah, yet another wonderful story! I think I've figured out what I like so much about your writing. It's that you tell it from a view that no one ever writes things from. (I don't see why they don't really, this was spectacular.) I've never, ever seen a fic centred around Buckbeak (or even Pigwidgeon and Hedwig, or Argus and Irma for that matter), so it's rather sad for me, because I've now read all of the stories that you have posted. I loved how you wrapped this up with the appearence of Hagrid. He seems to have a habit of making people (and animals) feel better, doesn't he? I won't tarry long, so I'll just say wonderful story! I hope that perhaps you'll decide to post another story soon!

Author's Response: Thanks for liking my writing. I do tend to pick viewpoints no one else writes from. I love it when other people do the same thing, but most people who write such obscure stories are crazies with bad grammar and no storytelling ability. So I decided to up the ante (I think that's the word I'm looking for) and create some extremely weird, but (hopefully extremely) well-written stories. As Aunt Josephine said in A Series of Unfortunate Events, "The greatest joy in my life is grammar." Okay, maybe the same doesn't apply for me, but I love to write. As for updating soon, I hope so! I have quite a few ideas stored up (beware--one of them is halfway-normal!!), but I don't know when exactly I'll find the time to write them--I'm beginning revision on my original fic soon.

 Report Review

Review #11, by LongbottomsLady Buckbeak's Ferret Dinner

20th January 2006:
Sweet! I think it is perfect prose! I haven't read your other story but the animal magnesium, for lack of better words, you have is great. You wrote Buckbeak perfectly, just like I imagined. It was so sad when he remnisenced the good life he shared with Sirius and thought that Sirius would come back. You should do one like this with Fawkes and Dumbledore. This is original and really wonderful!

Author's Response: I'm so glad I was able to evoke emotion from this story (I thought it might be too much of an obscure idea for that!!). And about the part where he thought Sirius might come back--I've had this story idea for months, but didn't put in that part until the day I wrote it out! It goes to show that sometimes the spontaneous can work out really well. And if you want to read my other story, it's called "Woes of a Midget Owl", and it's on this site.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Something Wicked Buckbeak's Ferret Dinner

19th January 2006:
I thought this was a very interesting story. I've never read anything like it and it impressed me a lot. Its very original, well-written and realistic. I really enjoyed it

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked this story, and I'm very tickled by all the compliments! I'll have to keep writing more. I have quite a few creative ideas already, but the question is how long it will take me to get around to writing them down!

 Report Review

Review #13, by sauerkraut_poet Buckbeak's Ferret Dinner

17th January 2006:
This was wonderfully original! It's so interesting to see something from Buckbeak's POV, and your portrayal of him was realistic and believable. I especially loved your description of Sirius creating the feast. The ending was so sweet, too. Great job, and I think I'll go recommend this on the forums. =)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I loved writing from Buckbeak's POV (and from Pigwidgeon's in my first fanfic). I thought it quite sensible that Buckbeak would also be grieving over Sirius's death, though I knew nobody else would think of it. Which is why I wrote this story :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by slytheringinny Buckbeak's Ferret Dinner

16th January 2006:
Oh my gosh! This one almost made me cry! The perpestive(sp) of Buckbeak was humorous and heartwrenching at the same time. You have a good animal POV. Keep it up! -Slytheringinny

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! It's nice to know the story was good enough to almost make someone cry :) And I do so love the animals in HP--there are so many, and they're so creative. And the best fun of it is that most of the other fanfic authors don't even think of writing from Pigwidgeon or Buckbeak's POV!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login