Reading Reviews for The End
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshp The End

8th March 2013:
Hi again, Ash!

OMG this was so heartbreaking! I am almost in tears now after reading this =( Please excuse me if this review doesn't make much coherent sense!

This was really a very powerful piece of writing. The AU take on the war - of almost everyone dead but Ron alive - really touched me. I loved how you referred to him as "The Killer" yet gave clear indications that he was Ron (I am sure) - it was a nice touch.

You wrote this entire thing in a very believable and heart-wrenching manner. I could really feel Ron's pain through it all, and the anger and vengeance coursing through him as he killed the Death Eaters. The idea of funny innocent Ron becoming such a horrifying killer is very unique, and so shattering, yet the way you captured the situation justified it all.

I especially liked (if 'like' is the correct word to use) how he kept on sending the Killing Curse to Bellatrix's already dead body as that moment really showed the depth of his pain, and had a great impact. The way he quickly killed Fenrir was really shocking too and his little "speech" after that truly expressed a very vengeful and dangerous side of him, so different from what we see in the books. Yet it was all very plausible that he'd turn out this way after the deaths of his loved ones.

I liked the little flashback too, it expressed his pain at a deeper level, and the part where he finds a dead Harry and then a dead Hermione really shook me to the core.

The ending was really well done too, I think it tied everything together in a weird way and did justice to the rest of the piece (I say this because I've seen some beautifully written one-shots with awful endings) and I am glad for that. The last sentence really struck a chord, asddfghjkl; I have so many feels right now!

Over all, this was such a beautifully written yet such a heartbreaking piece of writing. Your descriptions were all amazing, and certain parts, like Ron killing Bellatrix, were very vivid, so good job. Your characterisation was perfect - I can really imagine Ron losing it this way if his loved ones died. The plot idea itself is unique, as I have mostly seen fics where Hermione or Harry deal with the deaths of loved ones, but not Ron. All in all, a brilliant piece of writing and I have no CC for you. Great job!

10/10

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hi Aditi!!

Oh my goodness, I wrote this story so long ago! I'm so happy you took the time to stop by my page and read it!

I am a very canon writer, so when you say it's AU, I'll have you know when it was written, it still had the possibility of being Canon because it was written before the 7th book. hahaha. But you're right now it seems super AU

I really enjoyed not referring to Ron by his name. I think at this point he has almost dehumanized himself and is just a crazy killing machine. It was fun to kind of step into this weird alternate sort of universe where he is ruthless and stops at nothing to get his revenge!

Thank you so much for your kind words about my description and everything. I really appreciate that :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by BKL8008 The End

9th December 2012:
Excellent read. I can see it happening just like this, if things had gone differently. There is only so much loss that one can take before madness sets in, I think, and this is a fantastic capture of it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Wow this story is so ancient I'm glad that someone is still reading it :P I really appreciate you taking the time to come and read it. and you're definitely right, there is only so much death and heartbreak that someone can take before they snap, unfortunately.

 Report Review

Review #3, by SerpentineOffering The End

30th March 2012:
I loved this! I love how you refer to him as 'The Killer' I thought that was great. You described Ron's pain very well, I definitely felt for him in this story! I enjoyed that he was willing to sacrifice his future to get revenge for the death of all his loved ones!
Speaking of death, there was a lot of it in this story!! I really enjoyed that, it shows that anyone can really die in a war and that you might not still have everyone you care about when it's finished. All in all a great one-shot, fantastic job!

Author's Response: For some reason this story always holds a special place in my heart. I think I like it because it is so...different for Ron, arguably out of character but honestly I think that it works in this instance. But you know I think if he legitimately lost EVERYONE he might go on a killing spree??!

Thank you so much for your kind words I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #4, by LadyMalfoy23 The End

5th February 2011:
This is so sad. Did you write this one before or after Deathly Hallows came out?

I preferably love how it shows how a war can screw up a person. I also like how it never refers to him as Ron, but as "The Killer". Makes you really have to think. I really love this piece :)

Author's Response: This one was definitely BEFORE DH came out lol.

I really liked referring to Ron as "The Killer" because it's something that's just different and maybe a way you wouldn't normally think about him.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by PadfootBlack16 The End

5th September 2007:
Once again, I loved it but think it could be so much better.

Once you get through the killing spree (:P) you start giving us much more emotion, really making us understand what Ron feels. However, the first scene is lacking. Really try to go into it, make us feel what Ron feels as he kills those people. Is he happy about what he is doing? Does he feel regret? Really delve deep into his feelings in the opening scene, and I think you could have a masterpiece.

Still, I love the story and am putting it in my favs. As well as you as an author. Shall be back soon to read some moreo f your earlier work.

9/10

cheers,
drew

Author's Response: I tend to agree with most of your criticism. I think oftentimes the biggest problem with my work is the descriptions. At this stage in my writing I wasn't paying attention to it per se. But now I am highly critical of it, so perhaps I should go back and change it, eh? I'll do it someday when I find time to pay attention to my neglected stories :)

Thanks so much for your review, Drew, you're very honest and it is much appreciated!


 Report Review

Review #6, by musicgirlhp14 The End

22nd April 2007:
This was a very emotional piece. I liked how you made the deaths more personal, and how you added in bits of his past. Good job!
~Alex

Author's Response: Thanks very much. At first I didn't like it much, but when I went back and read it I decided that it might not be so bad after all!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Varda The End

22nd April 2007:
Wow, that was intense! Just. . . wow! That was wonderfully written, I actually feel Ron's pain. Beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you. I know it's a little intense for Ron, but if everyone I knew died...I think I might go insane!

 Report Review

Review #8, by MysticalE The End

24th January 2007:
Hello! I figured I should read some of your other stories! :)

This is really dark. Very dark. Being a 'fluffy' person, it's doesn't top my list of favorites, but it's still reall good. I can only imagine if I were the last person left of everyone. I'd probably be like that too.
I like how Ron was methodical and detached from what he was doing. I also like how it's still questionable whether Draco was actually on the good side or not. Was Ron just lashing out - or was he right? No one will know.
Re-skimming it reveals that he killed them all at the Burrow, didn't he? Wow... that makes it even more dark. :\
Great story!!

Author's Response: haha, well yeah..I told you I like to write angst, haha. I don't remember really writing this story, and there are parts of it that I don't like, but I just hadn't seen a lot of stories in a Ron angst kind of thing...at least not at this point. Killing them at the burrow was kind of a symbolism like...it was the end of his era, the final thing that had to go. I don't know. Sorry it wasn't your thing...haha. If you want fluff, and I am SO serious, check out Muggle Jammies and Muggle Jammies 2. Seriously, I thing I wrote this after Muggle Jammies 2 because of the cotton candy like feel of it. haha. Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by rosso_bass The End

18th January 2006:
Nice, I love how you always refer to him as "The Killer." I also love seeing such violence from Ron.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I think that Ron is really underestimated in a lot of stories- he's kind of the goofball or whatever- portrayed a lot as incapable of complex emotions. Well, I kinda wanted to show that he IS, and that if pushed to the limit he will do things not characteristic of the "funny" Ron. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Hobbits01 The End

13th January 2006:
Aw, you're welcome, dear, this was one of my favorite jobs to do.

As I said in the beta's note, I love the mystery of the whole thing. It adds to it, and makes things very mysterious. I do not think that I said this before, but the ending is genius; I love that Ron sleeps knowing that things will never be peaceful for him again despite the fact that the war is over.

It was a lovely story, and you are such an excellent author. I hope that I am able to help you in the future.

~Hobbits01

Author's Response: Thanks so much for betaing my story, you did a wonderful job!! And thanks for the kind words about my story, I really enjoy writing, and this one just came to me really quickly. It's always a pleasure!

 Report Review

Review #11, by menime_jane The End

13th January 2006:
Wonder if you cud write the "prequel" 2 dis

Author's Response: I hadn't thought about it, I might do that, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by menime_jane The End

13th January 2006:
W

Author's Response: X

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login