Reading Reviews for The Sign of the Birtwhistle
  
67 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MileyMalfoy The Sign of the Birtwhistle

5th August 2011:
This story was incredibly funny and cute. It is so different from anything that I have ever read that it was really a breath of fresh air to me. I liked the fact that the entire ship went on inside Luna's head and that she was having no luck in convincing people to actually take it seriously.

I thought that all the reactions were really in character, from Draco looking like he was going to throw up, to Ron turning red, to Ginny shrieking and getting them kicked out of the Library. They all were well characterized and the fact that Ginny had told Luna that Ron and Hermione fighting was a sign of "disguised displays of romantic interest" really had me chuckling. Especially when that turned on Ginny.

My favourite bit was the bit about Luna having silverish eyes and Voldemort having red ones and how she didn't think Harry would like the idea of her with his enemy too much. Definitely a priceless Luna moment which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Well written and really interesting. Great job!

Miles
(Hufflepuff)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jazzeh Turnip The Sign of the Birtwhistle

22nd August 2010:
This is so ridiculous it's funny. Where on earth did you get the idea for it from?

I think Luna is characterised perfectly. It's brilliant. She really is kooky enough to do something like this. I always get slightly baffled when Luna narrates a story because so often the inner workings of her mind are insane that my brain just can't handle it. Like most of what she goes on about here; it's just so ridiculous that I can't understand it. I suppose that's the great thing about Luna though, eh? I'm quite amazed. Luna is a pretty hit and miss character. Sometimes people go too overboard or not overboard enough. This was so spot on though. -scratches head-

I like that you created so many new creatures (well, I'm presuming they're new). It really adds to the... Luna of the whole piece. The reactions to Luna's news were perfect for each character.

10/10
Lorren

 Report Review

Review #3, by JLHufflepuff The Sign of the Birtwhistle

28th June 2010:
I thought this was a very cute idea. It's so completely random and quirky and weird that it really does seem like it could have come only from Luna Lovegood's mind. The concept of Ginny and Draco being perfect matches because of their hair colors makes me laugh so much, as well as Luna's weird conclusion that the same philosophy would pair her with Voldy. HAHA!

 Report Review

Review #4, by potter_fan (too tired to sign in) The Sign of the Birtwhistle

8th June 2009:
Excellent chacraterissation. Somehow i wz reminded of phoebe from FRIENDS all through it :D

8/10 ; could do with a lot more chapters.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Slytherin_Gal The Sign of the Birtwhistle

27th April 2009:
Hilarious! I love this story. It's so like Luna :)

10/10

 Report Review

Review #6, by The Dark Temple of Light The Sign of the Birtwhistle

27th March 2009:
Hilarious. I loved how you portrayed Luna... But I cracked up laughing every time you mentioned the phrase 'disguised display of romantic interest'! I can understand how it would apply to Hermione and Ron. But I would be just like Luna for her to decide to apply the logic to Ginny and Draco...oh, poor Luna. I loved it!

The Dark Temple of Light

 Report Review

Review #7, by mascarableeds The Sign of the Birtwhistle

3rd March 2009:
This is brilliant! All the characters were absolutely perfect. Luna can often be quite difficult to get right, I think, but this really sounds exactly like her. It was really funny and well written and everything too. Just... awesome. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #8, by Random Writer The Sign of the Birtwhistle

25th October 2008:
Luna is perfect here, her characterization is perfect. I admit to being incredibly picky about my Luna but you did her fabulously. I was laughing throughout the story especially the last line- I crack up just thinking about it. All the other characters are great too, I can just imagine Rons expression when Luna asked him to help her plan the wedding. What I also loved was that each and every single word was so incredibly Luna, in fact I am surprised such a thing didnt happen in the books like this, I love the word Birtwhisle. But I really just wanted to say thank you, you made my day with your lovely Luna story.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Ollie Vander The Sign of the Birtwhistle

19th May 2008:
haha, I was practically rolling off my chair! Your work ceases to amaze me!

 Report Review

Review #10, by HermioneGranger001 The Sign of the Birtwhistle

19th March 2008:
HAHA.

That was hilarious! Great spoof. Really entertaining. Just wish it was a whole novel on Luna's attempts.

Great job!

Alix x

Author's Response: thanks so much for the review! sorry it wasn't longer... but glad you liked what was there. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Tora The Sign of the Birtwhistle

17th March 2008:
Excellent, excellent. Best thing I've read in YEARS.

Author's Response: wow, thanks for the great compliment!

 Report Review

Review #12, by . The Sign of the Birtwhistle

15th March 2008:
Loved it Yay! I think this is the best portrayal of Luna I've ever read.

Author's Response: wow, thanks! glad you liked the characterization so much. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Terapsin The Sign of the Birtwhistle

27th January 2008:
Ah, but I would like to see once proven one of Luna's ideas, and this is kind of nice one.
The first one of course, I really don't like to think about Luna with Voldemort, that already made one very bad picture in my mind I'm desperately trying to erase.

Sequel GOOD, red eye's BAD...

Author's Response: Haha, well, I hope it's obvious that the last part wasn't meant seriously at all. But I'm glad you liked the first part, and thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Pretty Purple Pelican The Sign of the Birtwhistle

22nd January 2008:
Oh. My. Lord. This was absolutely ingenious. It poked fun at every single cliched Draco/Ginny story ever, which was wonderful. On top of that, I'm not sure that I've ever seen a Luna characterization done so well (and I've read way too much fanfiction for my own good, so that's really saying something). Really, wonderful job, m'dear! I'm so glad that i read this :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm so glad you liked the characterization and everything. It was fun to write. :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Satya The Sign of the Birtwhistle

8th December 2007:
wow that is so luna.

Author's Response: thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by celiacprincess The Sign of the Birtwhistle

30th September 2007:
Love it!! It was soo funny! The whole silver and red meaning hair, or eyes was kinda funny.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it. =)

 Report Review

Review #17, by wallflower The Sign of the Birtwhistle

28th August 2007:
YOU NAILED LUNA!

But then I’d have to marry someone with red eyes. And no one has red eyes. Except, well, Voldemort. I suppose I should make a test calculation, just in case. Somehow, I don’t think Harry would like that idea very much, though…
- FALLS ON FLOOR LAUGHING.
This was perfect! So hilarious, an absolute awesome parody, and I loved the way you made Luna know about all these weird things but it was completely believable!


Author's Response: thanks for the great review! i'm glad you enjoyed the story and found the characterization believable... i admit the plot idea is a bit strange, lol...

 Report Review

Review #18, by tonks5hp The Sign of the Birtwhistle

6th July 2007:
Wow that was a hilarious story! I love Luna's pov! You nailed her.

Author's Response: thanks for the great review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by AndrinaBlack The Sign of the Birtwhistle

4th July 2007:
That's so funny, and so cute! I love the way you write Luna. She has this thing that she believes in everything, especially if it is strange, but still does it in a somehow intelligent way. You get that through so well. She believes that it conserns everybody when Ginny says that people fight when they love each other, but she makes her own theories as well, that go much farther. You had me really cracking up every now and then, when Luna told about the Balkan Birthwistle and other things. Oh, walpritters, and the things you had to keep your ears ventilated to not get them. Wow, you're such an awsome Luna-writer!

Author's Response: Thanks so much Annina, I'm glad you liked this fic. You're entirely right with the "intelligent as well as gulllible" idea, I never thought of it in exactly those terms before. And I'm happy you found the random creatures I made up amusing as well!

 Report Review

Review #20, by FrogsofChocolate The Sign of the Birtwhistle

2nd July 2007:
Well, I saw that you favorite'd my Luna fic, so I decided to come check out one of yours. A Draco/Ginny from Luna's POV? Very intriguing... I must read this! (I write my reviews as I read... so this may become strange. ;) )

I love Luna likening Draco and Ginny's fights to Ron and Hermione's. Very cute. :D

Or maybe I should plan Ginny and Draco’s wedding.

Hahahaha. I can only imagine the chaos that would ensue. "Luna, I'm not wearing this dress." "Why not?" "It makes me look like a radish!" "I know, isn't it darling!"

That darn Norwegian government! ;-)

"...I need you to help me plan a wedding for her and Draco Malfoy.”

Hahahahhaha! She's enlisting Ron's help? Oh lordy... here comes the crazy, protective brother overreaction! *cackles*


At this, Ronald turns bright red and shakes me by the shoulders, letting out an extremely inappropriate stream of curse words.


Ron never fails to deliver. :-D


“You and Ginny Weasley are destined for each other.”

For some reason, he looks like he’s about to throw up.


LOL.

“You and Draco Malfoy. You’re going to get married.”

“WHAT?” she shrieks.


Oh joy! :-D

I like this Balkan Birtwhistle.

But then I’d have to marry someone with red eyes. And no one has red eyes. Except, well, Voldemort.

Can you imagine the courtship between Luna and Voldemort. Two completely different kinds of craziness going on there. (She'd probably kill him with the power of love accidentally... "NO!!! NOT THE SNUGGLING! *dies*" "Voldie? *wah*" Hehe what fun.)

Hm. Would you mind if I wrote a Draco/Ginny one shot based off of this (with due credit, of course. It could be a sequel of sorts.)? *grins* I could start off where this leaves off. I've already got tons of plot bunnies bouncing around in my head. ;-) "The Wrath of the Birtwhistle" :-P

Wonderful one shot. Obviously! Going in my favorites right now! :-D 10/10

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ms Irony The Sign of the Birtwhistle

28th June 2007:
lol. It really does seem like it is coming right out of Luna's head.

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you thought it was realistic. =)

 Report Review

Review #22, by hermiones_patronus The Sign of the Birtwhistle

27th June 2007:
I can't breathe.I'm laughing so hard. I must say, you write the character of Luna very well. I can actually see this story happening. Great work there!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it and found it somewhat realistic despite the ridiculousness. =)

 Report Review

Review #23, by SiriuslyCrack The Sign of the Birtwhistle

19th June 2007:
Oh God, Lena, that seriously cracked me up. I was just going through someone's favourites and I found this story there. I thought, 'why not?' and a moment later, I was on the floor, cracking up with Luna's wierd (AND funny) thoughts. I almost fell off my chair when she mentioned Ginny and Draco's wedding to Ron. It was so funny...and so was her conversation with Draco. However, the best part was "Hermione Granger chooses this exact moment to walk past, and soon she and Ronald are engrossed in their disguised display of romantic interest." LOL! Great work, Lena. 9/10.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the great review!!! I'm so glad it made you laugh. =)

 Report Review

Review #24, by hedwidgeon The Sign of the Birtwhistle

16th January 2007:
Wow, I loved this! You write Luna so well!! E veryone was really in character and it was hilarious. Great job!!

Author's Response: thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Shona The Sign of the Birtwhistle

3rd November 2006:
Balkan Birtwhistle. Hehe. I love this, I'm rofl. 10/10

Author's Response: thanks! =)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>