Reading Reviews for Dueling Destiny
  
74 Reviews Found

Review #1, by aks_potter Dueling Destiny

2nd March 2010:
a very nicely written story...kudos..bravo..

 Report Review

Review #2, by Weasley twins rock Battle in the Sky

9th June 2007:
Voldemort can side-along apparate them without holding Harry's arm, well would you look at that, me being technical once more.
This fight scene I personally think is a lot more canon than the other, apart from maybe the fact that they were jousting? That was kind of weird but it didn't dominate so it wasn't too bad, I liked how Voldemort was essentially beaten by a flock of birds.
However I would like to point out one thing in this chapter that ruined the feeling and the tension totally for me, you were building it up and up, Voldemort had smashed into the face of the clock and I was nervous to see what would happen next when:
“Think that’s another point to me, Tom,” Harry said smugly floating even closer to the hole in the clock face. “Y’know, if you wanted the right time you could have just asked.”
Sorry to be blunt, but where did that come from? For me it kind of ruined the building tension and feel, although it quickly recovered, I personally would have preferred to hear something else that would keep the suspense, I don't know about others views on that, but it was annoying.
Apart from that little bit, another chapter that was a joy to read, I look forward to see where they end up!


Author's Response: Thanks for your in depth reviews "Weasley Twins Rock". You raise alot of interesting points and with hindsight I agree iwth many of them, such as Harry's quip ruining th etension in the clocktower scene - I think I'll change that. Check out the last couple of chapters if you get time; I'd be eager to hear what you think! Thanks again.

Kained


 Report Review

Review #3, by Weasley twins rock Rooftop Rumble

9th June 2007:
Interesting fight schene you have there, I like the mixture of spells that you used although I honestly don't think that Voldemort would start with the killing curse.
In GoF when he was intent on killing Harry, he wanted to drag it out, so he started with crucio, he has been working towards that moment for the best part of nearly teo decades and would want to savour the moment, I even think as a purely human soul, with no horcruxes, he would be willing to take the chance of dallying the kill for his own pleasure, remembering that he is very confident in his own powers and still thinks that he can beat Harry.
However I still liked it, realistically written, I personally think it could have been a little more quick-fire, more rapid spell, they are going to be fighting for everthing that they have ever wanted, they would be on top form. But it was still good, I am just pointing out ways that I would choose for it to be changed if you were to change it, you certainly have written it better than I could!
I like how you have Made Harry call Voldemort Tom, it brings a little piece of Dumbledore to the fight, while in other fics it annoys me that Harry calls him that, it seems to fit in this one, probably down to your writing style.
I'm starting to ramble again aren't I, never mind I am nearly finished, I think?
I personally don't think that you should have made Voldemort get another wand, a wand is an extention of the wizard as it were and I know about the priori incantatem, but I don't think that either of them would be willing to give up almost an extension of them, perhaps they would see it as an extension of the soul. I dunno, it just seemed weird, it makes sense but I can't really see it happen, although the more I think about it the more it seems likely to happen, forget I ever said that if you want.
Finished, just one more chapter unless of course I remain hooked then you have to put up with more ramblings and suggestions.
All in all another really good chapter.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Weasley twins rock Turmoil on the Thames

8th June 2007:
Ah, the ever cheesy to be continued, don't you just love it? No, I am serious, it is growing on me.
Another wonderfully action packed chapter, when we first meet Harry in it though, I thought that he was acting a lot older and un-Harryish, while you put a bit of Harry back into him with his heart ruling his head to save the family, I'm still unsure when this is? Is it a few years after the sixth book or just seventh year? Because I am guessing and I think that you mentioned it, that Harry is a trained auror and I cannot picture him seventeen/eighteen there, I just can't.
Apart from that I loved it, Supernova I think is a little sci-fi for the name of a broom but it kinda works, wizards are into their space anyway.
It's very realistic and I'm glad that you kept Lazarus, I was sure that Voldemort would have murdered him.
Off to read the next little chap!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Weasley twins rock Downing Street Debacle

8th June 2007:
What an action packed starting chapter! Really good, so many stories start off with a chapter that is almost meaningless to the story (myself included) but this really does shove the characters into the deep end, much alike what J.K.Rowling has done in the her past first chapters, the fourth book for example.
It was written well, I think that sometimes at the beginning the sentences were unecessarily short, although I am known for barely ever using a full stop so maybe that is just my weird perceptions of such things.
Yep, a great first chappe, is giving me a thirst to read more, although I do have to say that the to be continued I think is a little cheesy.
Your auror dude is cool, although I have a feeling that perhaps we will not be seeing any more of him.

 Report Review

Review #6, by ladyemma Downing Street Debacle

4th June 2007:
Ooh, wonderfull start! I liked the whole thing with the Prime Minister, especially since people don't write about him much, and your spelling was flawless! I found no errors, which is amazing for me. I'll try to read more later, and hopefully write a longer review. Until next time!

Sophie

 Report Review

Review #7, by Malfoy_Lives_On Dueling Destiny

30th May 2007:
This is WittleAna from the forums.

First of all, I love the flow. You have very smooth transactions and you can also describe the characters personalities like J.K. Rowling and you really have the feel of it. I liked the action-ness, it was wonderful not to read a romance for once.

I did think the ending could have been a tad bit better. It wasn't bad or anything, but the way your story had been going, it probably would have been better if he died, or maybe if you mentioned some of his injuries he obtained from the battle. Believe it or not, pain makes a good addition to any story.

Overall it was quite good, you have a great potential to become a great writer. 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for your kind input. I'm glad you enjoyed my story and I'll keep what you said in mind next time.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Dramionefan Turmoil on the Thames

30th May 2007:
This was very good, but it was rather short to my liking. I think that it could have been longer, but it is your story so do what you wish, the plot is comming along nicely, and the characters are becoming more and more interesting.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Dramionefan Downing Street Debacle

30th May 2007:
This was a nice way to begin the story, I think that you have a good plot line, and the chapter wasn't too long or to short, so that was a plus in your story, the emotion was great, and the way that you kept me wanting more was nice.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Dramionefan Hollow Havoc

30th May 2007:
I really like the way that you keep us in suspence the whole time, I think that it is truly amazing how you have so much emotion in the story, and having the battle really got me excited, I think that you also did a wonderufl job on the description of the place, and feelings of the characters.

Nicely done.

 Report Review

Review #11, by LovelyDays Dueling Destiny

30th May 2007:
Oh wow.. I never would have expected it to end like that.. What an amazing ending! I'm pretty much speechless. You have a lot of talent, and I must admit that I loved every second, every word of this story. I hope that in the real seventh book Harry comes out on top just like he did in your story. Fabulous job, this was great writing. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #12, by LovelyDays Battle in the Sky

30th May 2007:
I'm going to guess that they are either at Godric's Hollow or the grave yard. But you never know.. you could have thrown in a twist. =] Good chapter!

 Report Review

Review #13, by LovelyDays Rooftop Rumble

30th May 2007:
Well I can assure you that this is like nothing I've ever read before. You are a very talented writer. I just want Harry to beat Voldemort's face in. I bet he is shaking in his cloak now that he has seen what Harry can do! I'd write more but I really want to move on and continue reading!

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind review. I'm glad the story seemed to suck you in and make you invest in Harry's struggle, exactly what I wanted.

 Report Review

Review #14, by LovelyDays Turmoil on the Thames

30th May 2007:
Ahh..! I can feel my heart going crazy in my rib cage! This was such a good chapter. I absouloutly love Harry. He always does the noble thing, and I never doubted that he would go back for the Minister's family. Speaking of his family I'm glad they are ok, and Lazarus too! Going to go read the next chapter now. =)

 Report Review

Review #15, by LovelyDays Downing Street Debacle

30th May 2007:
Wow! Great chapter! It was action packed and written magnificently. I've never read an actual Book 7 fic, but now that I've started there's no turning back! You've definately caught my attention. =]

 Report Review

Review #16, by VeniceLily Downing Street Debacle

25th May 2007:
Hey there! Finally here to review!

This is really interesting. Much better first chapter then any other fic like this I've read! I really like it. You write very well, and that's a nice cliffhanger at the end there. I love the part about it being Harry Otter waiting. Very nice touch. Can't wait to read more!

xxLils

Author's Response: Thanks for reading! Hope you enjoy the other chapters!

 Report Review

Review #17, by _Emma_ Dueling Destiny

18th April 2007:
Brilliant story! You're a brilliant author.

10/10

Emma

 Report Review

Review #18, by _Emma_ Battle in the Sky

18th April 2007:
Brilliant!

10/10

Emma

 Report Review

Review #19, by _Emma_ Rooftop Rumble

18th April 2007:
I Love this story!

10/10

Emma

 Report Review

Review #20, by _Emma_ Turmoil on the Thames

18th April 2007:
Ooo! Interesting!

10/10

Emma

 Report Review

Review #21, by _Emma_ Downing Street Debacle

18th April 2007:
Good start!

10/10

Emma

 Report Review

Review #22, by SlytherinSweetheart6 Dueling Destiny

13th April 2007:
That was a superb story! I absolutley loved everything about it! Wonderfully written, the descriptions were so clear and crisp, I felt as if I was standing there watching it all unfold, you have quite a talent for writing, don't ever stop. Sorry for gushing, I just really loved it! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #23, by lolhee Dueling Destiny

12th April 2007:
this was so good, it was really amazing, and I totally loved it to picese. I can't wait if you plan to make a sequel. I really hope to see a sequel posted.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Regina Noctis Dueling Destiny

2nd April 2007:
Yahoo! Excellent roller-coaster ride, there! I love how it ended, with that Patronus duel and Voldy dying of love. Hee hee! Keep it up, keep it up! RN

 Report Review

Review #25, by secret_witch Dueling Destiny

31st March 2007:
That was a fantastic ending to a brilliant story 10/10.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>