Reading Reviews for The Game of Chess
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DeathMakesArtists The Game of Chess

20th April 2008:
Awww how incredibly cute! ^^ I loved the way you compared their relationship to chess, it was new and very fitting, especially as chess is one of the rare things in which Ron is better than Hermione. Lovelovelove it ^^

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by mrs_heather_grint The Game of Chess

28th March 2008:
I agree, the chess analogy was nice. The story was a really nice idea. However, I found this story a bit confusing (or maybe it's just my slightly sleep-deprived mind.) I wasn't sure about when this was supposed to be taking place. Or where, for that matter. Is it at Hogwarts, someone's house? Maybe you could make that more clear.

And I noticed that this has already been mentioned, but I figured that I'd put it in my own words. Ron and Hermione definitely didn't seem like themselves. Maybe you weren't trying to keep them in character, I don't know. But neither of them would ever come out and say "I love you" out of nowhere. And Ron would never kiss her so casually like that *laugh*. I think if you were ever to rewrite this, you could add a bit more hesitancy on Ron's part, make him a bit more awkward. It would expand the story, make it more interesting, and make Ron more relateable as a character.

That being said, it was still a very nice story, and you should applaud yourself on using the chess analogy!! :]

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm sorry it was confusing. It took place at the burrow.

Yeah, I know, I didn't really keep them in charater. I wanted this to be more of a fluff, and I liked them being like this in this story, if that makes sence.

Anyways, thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Oh_Skrewt The Game of Chess

10th March 2008:
Love this! Great idea and so true! You have a flare for writing and a superb beta!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! My beta is amazing! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Harry and Ginny_4evr The Game of Chess

10th March 2008:
very original. I've never thought of Ron and Hermione's relationship like that. Nicely written. Keep up the great work. 10/10!!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm so happy you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by purplepunkpixie The Game of Chess

10th March 2008:
loved it 100%, it was so adorable ^_^

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it! :)
~Addie!~


 Report Review

Review #6, by AK Carmel The Game of Chess

10th March 2008:
WOW Great job! This is highly original! Great job! I can't wait to see more of your stuff, so keep writting!
YAY 11/10
that was great, it really just made my day...or night rather! ;)
Luv AK

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm so glad that you liked it! :)
~Addie~


 Report Review

Review #7, by Timechild The Game of Chess

9th March 2008:
Cute and fluffy.like a baby bunny!!!

Nicely written

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I love fluffiness! :)

~Addie!~


 Report Review

Review #8, by The_Real_Hermione The Game of Chess

9th March 2008:
This was really well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the reviews!

 Report Review

Review #9, by marinahill The Game of Chess

2nd March 2008:
very good. original as well! it was sweet too! (im tell_me_what_the_truth_is, btw) im glad i read this :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading this! It means a lot to me! =]

 Report Review

Review #10, by luvinpadfoot The Game of Chess

1st March 2008:
Hey! I loved that! It was completely awesome. My only suggestion is to have spaces between each paragraph. That would make it an easier read. And I agree with your beta. I love your analogy of a chess game. I thought about it a while ago, but would never be able to write about it as good as you did. It was wonderfully written. 10/10

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. And, yeah, I'll go back and change the spacing, it's pretty hard to read, I never knew it was like that. Thanks so much!
~Addie


 Report Review

Review #11, by BertieBott The Game of Chess

26th February 2008:
Ron-Hermione Chess analogy! I thought the idea was brilliant! And I love how you've told us what Ron is thinking simultaneously as well. Good Job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I needed to hear that right about now.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Pretty Purple Pelican The Game of Chess

18th January 2008:
I'm pretty sure that you asked me to review a while ago, so here I am. Alrighty. Well, the analogy was fantastic. I really loved how you referred to Hermione as the queen. One thing that was really not good, though, was the spacing. You need to put a space between paragraphs otherwise it's difficult to read. I also recommend putting his thoughts in italics. It was really difficult to tell when he was speaking and when he was thinking. Also, although it was very sweet and everything, I don't think that you showed enough of their character. They're Ron and Hermione; I just don't think that either of them would come foward like that. Just develop things a little more. Your writing is definitely good; you just need to think about characters a little more, I guess. Nice job! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I totally get where you are coming from. I made an updated verison that was like three times this size, and I was going to change it, but I decided not to. When I think back to when I wrote this, it was amazing for me. I hadn't really ever came up with an idea and rewrote it, and stuff. So, I wanted to keep it, so I can look back, and see how far I have come. Again, I know for the reader I could do alot, but I feel like it would change it too much for me!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Andra Apple The Game of Chess

14th January 2008:
I think it's sweet. Could have more info, but, still, sweet.

Author's Response: Yeah, I know what you mean. I would go back and change it, but I think it's pretty good, for when I wrote it, and where I was with my writing then. Anyways, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Kristen The Game of Chess

25th December 2007:
That was extremely good! I agree with Jenna on the good idea for using chess as an analogy. Keep writting because you're an awsome author!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm having a really bad day, and it means a lot to me to hear that from someone!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Pegasus1979 The Game of Chess

14th December 2007:
That was great! Very cute and very original!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! =]

 Report Review

Review #16, by kissedbyavampire The Game of Chess

11th October 2007:
Pink_Princess12

I loved this. I admit, I would have liked it to be a bit longer, but still, very good. The analogy is AWESOME!

10/10

kissedbyavampire

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It just kind of came to me. Anyways, I really love the review! =]

 Report Review

Review #17, by Wizardora The Game of Chess

30th September 2007:
“Ron...”
“Yes?”

Lmao! That was so funny!

And I loved how you made Ron intelligent because he is and so many fanfictions play him down to be some kind of idiot!

*turns nose up at Amber* I dislike this 'Amber' psh! No one can stand imbetween Ron and Hermione! Not even in a hypothetical game of chess!

I really loved how you compared love and chess and Ron's definition of love! Bless him!

10/10 for you!

Lv Wizardora

Author's Response: Haha, thanks! I also really love that line!

And, I totally agree, his isn't an idiot. I wanted to have the line in there, to show he is smart, but has a low self steem and never really thought of it.

Lol. I know what you mean, I totally agree, but you know you've got to have the love triangle in there some place!

Thanks! I tried to do my best to compare it, without going into to much detail, seeing as how I don't know how to place chess, lol!


 Report Review

Review #18, by seriouslypurple The Game of Chess

23rd September 2007:
Nice. I like how you combined chess and love as Ron's life. It was really sweet and it was cool, the way you made his feeling for Hermione like a game of chess to him. Of they would be! He's good at chess! I liked it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! I love when I get new reviews! And, thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Kagome Higurashi The Game of Chess

20th September 2007:
wow! that was beautifully written and I LOVED IT! It was soo good! Wow! OMG! WOW IS ALL I CAN SAY!!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! This made my day!! :DD

 Report Review

Review #20, by Rhea Silverkeys The Game of Chess

4th July 2007:
Um...not much of a build-up to the ending, honestly. I felt that it was rushed, so I didn't really *feel* it much when they kissed. Also, sometimes I wasn't sure who was actually talking, because you put commas instead of full stops before things like "he smiled at her". You should also space out the paragraphs because right now it's just all one big chunk, makes it harder to read. I do like the idea you had, especially the whole approach Ron takes towards Hermione, the whole chess thing, but the only thing was it all sounded very rushed.

Author's Response: Yeah, yeah, I get it. I did the best I could at the time.

 Report Review

Review #21, by HerRon The Game of Chess

16th January 2007:
Really original and very cute.

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #22, by DemetersChild The Game of Chess

21st December 2006:
Hehe, very cute and fluffly and very well written. =D

Author's Response: Aww thanks!

 Report Review

Review #23, by scarletangel9 The Game of Chess

12th December 2006:
Great chess analogy..really excellent. You've got talent, keep giving it oppurtunities to grow

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I love when i get new reviews!

 Report Review

Review #24, by HP_freak94 The Game of Chess

9th December 2006:
That is soo beautiful! i luv it!

Author's Response: Thanks, I always say the word "beautiful" in my reviews also! lol.

 Report Review

Review #25, by RON n Hermion The Game of Chess

3rd December 2006:
SuPeR CuTe
i ToTTaLy LoVed iT
:D

Author's Response: HaHa ThAnK yUo VeRy MuCh FoR tHe ReViEw! LoL!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>