Reading Reviews for Playing By Ear
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by kayla Christmas Eve

4th March 2008:
oohhh this is sweet..i do like charlie and tonks =)

Author's Response: Thanks, so do I!

 Report Review

Review #2, by xWonWonsGurlx Christmas Eve

8th September 2007:
I Love It!!
I Thought Charlie/Tonks Would Be Interesting So I Searched..
And Found This... I Was Very Happy With My Prediction Being Right =P
Keeping Writing!
My Newest Pairing =D
10/10 x

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! It seemed a natural, as they were about the same age. Of course it's all AU now, and since JKR revealed that Tonks was a Hufflepuff, she and Charlie wouldn't have been team mates. But I liked writing it. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #3, by --- Christmas Eve

31st August 2007:
i love it

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you did.

 Report Review

Review #4, by witch wanna be Christmas Eve

28th June 2007:
HA really like this one

Author's Response: Thanks. I had never written a challenge piece before. Not sure I could have done it had it not been so general- the request was for a Christmas story. Thank you for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #5, by trixytonks Christmas Eve

14th February 2007:
Aw Jen ^^ I checked your page by chance to see if you had written anything new, and how lucky am I? A Tonks/Charlie fic! Sheesh woman, you rule. "Godric’s bits" made me snort, I had forgotten how creative you could be ;) I'd also forgotten how in-depth, too. You really research things, I noticed in the first few paragraphs in particular. I love how you write them both, and I think that even though it's more like a one-night stand, it seems like it would work best that way, in this context. I'm well proud, and delighted at having something good to read!

Author's Response: Bless your heart! Thanks for the kind words, Trix! I wrote it for a Christmas challenge over on a site that is now off line, but it turned out pretty good, considering I'm not a one-shot kind of girl. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #6, by emenem10 Christmas Eve

6th September 2006:
That's awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GOT to love Tonks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! She's great! This was Wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Much Love, Emily

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked that.

 Report Review

Review #7, by iamatree Christmas Eve

28th February 2006:
Brilliant! The banter between Charlie and Tonks is really lively. I love it!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #8, by zoe1 Christmas Eve

28th February 2006:
ha! good, kinda a suprise ending there! still a good story...kep writing!! ~zoe1

Author's Response: (^_^)

 Report Review

Review #9, by zoe1 Christmas Eve

28th February 2006:
ha! good, kinda a suprise ending there! still a good story...kep writing!! ~zoe1

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by steve34 Christmas Eve

9th January 2006:
Aw, what a sweet story! I still say Lupin is too old for Tonks, and though you didn't say this was anyting more than one night (if even), I wish this was a glimpse of how the two finally got together. I like how you managed to keep the characters canon. Excellent little one-shot. :-)

Author's Response: Why thank you! That means a lot to me, coming from you. I wrote this in about three days for a Christmas challenge on another (almost inactive) site. It fits into the backplot for Grainne/STL, so Tonks does not end up staying with Charlie. Whether they have even one night is a matter of speculation. As for Lupin, I rather like that pairing (I had a thing for older men when I was in my twenties, so I can sympathize). Haven't thought up a permanent pairing for Charlie, though. Any opinions? Besides Tonks!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Fish and Bird Christmas Eve

5th January 2006:
I do so hate to pick people up on 'Americanisms' as it sounds like you're being a snobby Brit. J.K. Rowling, however, does write in British English. 'Bite me' would be 'sod off', as you say, or 'up yours', possibly a 'shut it'. If anyone wants advice on SMALL pieces of text, mail me. ALways happy to help.

Author's Response: That helps me so much! "Up yours" could work out nicely here, since Tonks follows through with innuendo instead of insults. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Igraine Christmas Eve

5th January 2006:
Thank you, for giving us readers another opportunity to read one of your marvelous works. You take two characters that we normally only see on the periphery and give them dimensions. I love how your Tonks talks about Auror training and how she is concerned about her ability to get through it. It shows that she has emotions and foibles, it makes her real. Charlie is also well written. All in all, this is a fun and entertaining ficlet. Your consistancy of great writing has me in awe.

Author's Response: Thank you for the thoughtful review. It's much more helpful than the bulk of what's given (although the flattery and encouragement of random "Oh that was great!" helps in its own way).

 Report Review

Review #13, by Fish and Bird Christmas Eve

4th January 2006:
A little belated beta-reading: 'Bite me', is definitely American English and not what you would expect of a Weasley. Bundt pan? Humph! Also unknown in a Devonshire kitchen, I fancy. :-)

Author's Response: Really? What do they call those pans used to make angelfood cake? You're quite right about the other thing. "Bite me" is not only American but anachronistic. It wasn't a saying in the US either, at that time. See, that's the problem with ripping out a short in a few hours and not getting a second opinion. So what would they say? "Sod off"?

 Report Review

Review #14, by Fish and Bird Christmas Eve

4th January 2006:
You've been holding out on us! If you have anymore stories like this one in your secret cache, it's time to dust them off and post them. It was a believable interaction between two less well-known characters. Nice read!

Author's Response: Thank you! Unfortunately my secret cache is more like the inside pocket of last year's winter coat--small and forgotten. And rather empty at the moment.

 Report Review

Review #15, by andharrywokeup Christmas Eve

4th January 2006:
Very sweet, and Godrics Bits? HAHA! Reading this was so much more fun than revisig History! Thanks!

Author's Response: You are so welcome! And thank you! I wrote this for a Christmas challenge at another site, so fast I never had it beta-ed. I just posted it here on a whim. Glad you liked it, and thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login