Reading Reviews for The Red Dress
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Oracle_Dreamer_Luna The Red Dress

5th September 2007:
I love it! You did well with Luna's character. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #2, by xElusive Memoriesx The Red Dress

17th November 2006:
Ohmygosh! At first, ages ago, when you were still writing on Quizilla, I read Protector Of Mankind, chapter by chapter. I had a few pennames; Darklordsslave, SWEETANDSPARKLY and something else I PMed you with a few times, which I can't remember. But now, I just found this page and I'm astounded. Wow, so funny. You are really gifted. Thanks, you helped me grow by letting me read amazing fanfiction like yours, all the way back on Quizilla. :) on to the faves list and 10/10. :)

Author's Response: Hey xElusiveMemoriesx! I'm glad to see one of my older fans found this story re-written and dramatized ^_^. I wouldn't say I'm gifted in writing; it's just a thing I do on the side when I'm not drawing. I hope to be reading your reviews more often. Oh and by the way, Protector of Mankind is posted here, too, in a revised version.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jessi_C The Red Dress

22nd August 2006:
I finally read this one today.. I really thought it was clever.. I like how Luna finally gets the attention she normally doesn't.. The more you write, the more I'll read. Lots a Love. -Jessi

Author's Response: Hey Jessi_C. I thought of 'The Red Dress' on a whim because I was reading 'Nana' by Ai Yazawa (the untranslated version by Shojo Beat) and the idea just popped into my head. And that was my first lame attempt at a one-shot *laughs* I'm glad you enjoyed it though.

 Report Review

Review #4, by slytheringinny The Red Dress

13th June 2006:
Lol. I can totally see Luna bouncing down the stairs, looking beautiful and she doesn't know it. Well...she got those stares now. The good ones. And possibly a good friend too. And no more hinkypunks!! Woot for Luna! Great job! ~Ginni

Author's Response: Hey slytheringinny! Thanks for reviewing the one shot. With Luna's complexion, I thought red would look best on her ^_^

 Report Review

Review #5, by silver phoenix The Red Dress

6th March 2006:
This was so funny! And adorable. I love Luna, and you caught her! ^__^

Author's Response: It was SO hard to capture her, especially with the rambling I did earlier in the story but glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by firefawn The Red Dress

2nd February 2006:
Well this was fabulous as usual! :) Of course one would expect no less coming from you! :) And as usual you have managed to create an OC in the form of the shop keeper, and while the woman is a minor role since this is really a story about Luna's 'show' I must say that you made the shop keeper come to life with your vivid, yet not overdone, descriptions. You have a real knack for character descriptions I've noticed, striking that happy medium between too little, and too much. Too much being the typical, "The boy was wearing a pair of ripped up Levis that were faded at the knees, had a 'devil-be-gone' attitude, etc.", and too little being "The woman was slender and tall..." Well gah, hopefully you can see what I am getting at here, but you strike a nice balance between the two. I also loved the illustration you made for this ;) and found the shopkeepers words about how the dress did not quite look right on anyone else, due to it having a slightly odd middle, yet the dress was still beautiful and expensive. So whether this was intentional or not, I found that the dress mirrored Luna's personality exactly. She is beautiful on the inside and out, yet just a bit different from the others surrounding her. :)

Also, I loved the repetition of how she walked to Hogsmeade, and then back from Hogsmeade alone, as usual... That was a great use of it and in a way, really showed Luna's state of mind. I adored that! And the humor in this was subtle, yet it was there in a way that put a big goofy grin on my face. Mainly it was found in the interaction in the dress shop, and in Luna's thoughts immediately after her purchase. An example was: "But for the sake of repelling the evil creatures, I bought it." Great work on this! And the amusing thought process Luna goes through at the end!!! That was a work of art! Convincing herself that people were staring due to the dress' ability to ward off evil creatures indeed! LOL Well it's not warding off Malfoy and the other Slytherins so she should be careful! Great work!

Author's Response: Yes. You know big of a predator those Slytherins are. *Shakes head* I always enjoy reading your reviews (as vague as they may seem) but it's good to hear feedback from those you know. As for the shopkeeper, I try very hard to stay away from the cliches, like the ones you listed in the review for example. Those are probably the two MAJOR taboos in my book that I told myself I'd never ever do. Hm as for the dress' symbolism, I never thought of it that way. But it makes sense. I guess you finally found time to read these one shots and I can only imagine how far behind you are in PoM hahaha.

 Report Review

Review #7, by StepUpTimneh The Red Dress

28th January 2006:
Oh, poor Luna! No one has ever found her attractive before :(. Your characterization of her is amazing, exactly how I imagine her to be. It was a little confusing at times to see what was going on, and I think you should put a line between dialogue, but that's it for constructive criticism. There really is nothing else I can suggest to you to make this story any better, it is already fantastic and very original. I especially like how you have that odd spark of Luna in here, it is often hard for writers to write Luna correctly (I hope that makes sense).

I've also never read a story with an image in it before :P I know that's not a main part of your fic at all, but it's very different and unique! Congratulations, I can definitely see why 17 people have you as their favorite author :).

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind comment, STepUpTimneh. See I was going to put a line up for the dialogue but I thought that might confuse some of my other readers. Naturally, I left it out. Yeah the image was a pain in the butt to put up since I had to resize it and everything. The dress design was too simple to my own liking but I got lazy with the laces and ruffle detail ^^;. I'm glad you enjoyed it and 17 is LITTLE compared to some other people out there who have hundreds!

 Report Review

Review #8, by birdsong The Red Dress

24th January 2006:
Good story! You really captured Luna's character!

Author's Response: Thank you ^_^

 Report Review

Review #9, by LaDorki The Red Dress

23rd January 2006:
Hahah, cute story, Ich. =) I think Luna can be challenging to write because it's hard to say exactly what goes on in her head, but your protrayal is amusing and nice to read when one usually goes for angst fics. =P Although I was a bit picky about your paragraphs (I know since it's a thought process at the beginning that it's spaced out for effect, but grammatically I think a few lines should have been in a single paragraph), I don't have much else to comment on. Cute story, keep it up.

Author's Response: Yeah I was debating putting a couple of sentences together but I got lazy in fixing up the spacing, which I should do soon. But thanks for telling me that! Luna was very challenging to write because like you said, her character is very random.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Aumbriette The Red Dress

22nd January 2006:
Cute story. Little Luna, all grown up. ((Sniff, tear))

Author's Response: Thanks. It just seems like yesterday she was trying to catch hinkypuffs with her own little hands... *sniff*

 Report Review

Review #11, by SilverQuill92 The Red Dress

21st January 2006:
This was hilarious! You kept Luna completely in canon! I give this fic....an 9/10. I took a point of because when she was talking to herself it was a bit hard to understand....but besides that good job! -SilverQuill92-

Author's Response: Hahahaha. A 9 out of 10 is still good. Ah that little rambling she had... I added that in to put in the randomness she has with people and what not but eh. I guess it was a bit out of character. But thank you for your review! I really appeciate it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by fortune_cookie15 The Red Dress

18th January 2006:
This is really good! I really hope you continue this series! Forget that! I;m begging!!!

Author's Response: Hahah Unfortunately, this is going to stay a one shot. I really don't know where else I can go with it. But thank you for your review.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Peace4Padfoot The Red Dress

12th January 2006:
this story is completely Luna, i've always had trouble writing her character so i've stayed away but you capture her perfectly!

Author's Response: I don't think I've exactly captured her but the idea is there. I'm glad you liked it though!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Brooke Valentine The Red Dress

12th January 2006:
Hahaha, love the story *adds to fav*

Author's Response: Hahah thanks!

 Report Review

Review #15, by sweetgrl1988 The Red Dress

12th January 2006:
wow! this one-shot was so crazy...and hilarious! luna is too cute!

Author's Response: If you think this one's crazy, wait for the one that's still on waiting status. That one will make 'The Red Dress' look child's play.

 Report Review

Review #16, by KawaiiAce2003 The Red Dress

9th January 2006:
Lol, this was very cute. That is so Luna!! Thinking its repelling creatures instead of attracting boys. You did a great job!!

Author's Response: I think you would've done better with this, oh Queen of Randomness. But I guess I'm glad you enjoyed this.

 Report Review

Review #17, by ariella The Red Dress

6th January 2006:
this is a really cool and well written story. i like the idea of Luna earning respect and living up to her name. And btw, the shopkeeper reminded me of Tonks.

Author's Response: Thanks ariella! I think it's the pink hair and the muggle clothing that would make you think that. Hmm... come to think of it, you're right. Dang it...

 Report Review

Review #18, by SummerFrost The Red Dress

5th January 2006:
Lol! I liked that! It was a nice change from what you're used to writing to. I like to see authors go out of their realm and this was very nice! Luna is one of my fav characters in HP actually and I thought you did a nice job with her character. Lol, the way you had her think that the dress was just repelling the creatures was very funny! This makes me wanna write a Luna one-shot...Hm...Lol, I really enjoyed it! Well done :D

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind words. I was REALLY struggling with it because while I was writing this, I started getting into her psychology. And it was very hard seeing how she's very random and what not. But I'm glad this one-shot was a little bit more entertaining than the 28th chapter of PoM hahahah.

 Report Review

Review #19, by njhill22 The Red Dress

5th January 2006:
::sigh:: Guys are such perverts...all staring at her chest. Quick question though, why do you have this under Draco/Ginny one-shot? Probably just an accident, just thought I'd let you know. Good job dealing with Luna, I know I wouldn't have been able to do it!

Author's Response: I do? Huh... I could've sworn I wrote one shot Luna. But I'll change that. Thanks for letting me know!

Author's Response: I think I could've done better with Luna and made it even more random. This is something Jaed should have done and she would've done a better job than this.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login