Reading Reviews for Final Chance
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by merrisunshine Final Chance

29th October 2006:
I love it! Write more please!

Author's Response: This one is finished, sadly. I'm glad you enjoyed it, though! Thanks for R&Ring!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Ravenclawchik6 Final Chance

11th August 2006:
i would be SOOOO happy if you wrote an Oliver/Katie Bell story it is my FAVE ship along with Lily/James which you are amazingly talented at writing!

Author's Response: Haha, I'll consider that for you. How's that for a deal? Unfortunately, until I hit inspiration, that probably won't be happening soon. Thanks for the compliments, reading, and reviewing, dear!

 Report Review

Review #3, by FredWeasleysGF Final Chance

14th July 2006:
This was short, sweet and to the point and I really liked it!!! U should have kept going I was disappointed to see it end!!!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks for the compliment, dear, as well as for R&Ring!

 Report Review

Review #4, by author of seven Final Chance

22nd May 2006:
The ending was meaningful, and although you could have perhaps drawn this out a bit further, I understand and I don't think I could have done so either. You have some minor errors with punctuation, but it doesn't interfere with the overall story. It was like a small video clip of Oliver's life, complete with feelings and descriptions of the outside world. Great job!

Inspirations come from the strangest places, don't they? I have a friend who wrote around 1200 words based on one sentence she found in a book of mine that she happened to pick up for no particular reason. Sisters are wonderful things [I need to remember that the next time mine starts talking with her mouth full again.]\

Anyhoo, you deserve a 9.5 on this one. Well done!

Hugs, Al [Oui, 'tis I, Elaine... and 'oui' sounds better, even if I prefer Spanish XP]

Author's Response: I'm sure I could have drawn things out, but in doing so, it may have lost the attention of several readers. I'm rather fond of how it turned out, even if it is shorter than I wanted it to be.


Ha, yes, sisters are something to be reconded with, especially when it comes to inspiring things. Mine are pains in the rear end, but you have to love them when it comes to writing things, as they are good for something at times.


Glad you liked it, Allidear. :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by unknown_force Final Chance

26th April 2006:
I see the Oliver/Angelina hints here. Its a good start, I liked how you showed Oliver's Quidditch ambitions. It would be even better if it was longer.

Author's Response: Mm, once more, I didn't want to take away from the overall feeling of it all. I don't think it would have worked out if I lengthened it, so I kept it the way it was. Glad that you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by hermione006 Final Chance

23rd April 2006:
This was a little short but very sweet! I think if it was a little longer you could have really developed the characters a bit more and have an excellent story. You had a lot of really good discriptive parts which really let you imagine the story such as this...

The pair stood for a moment, staring out at the Quidditch Pitch as the sun rose on it, casting long, dark shadows upon them and the various locker rooms just behind them.

I thought that the ending fit well and closed the story nicely. Good writing-Hermione006

Author's Response: I tried to make it a bit longer, but it was a struggle to get it to reach the 500 word line as it was. I'm glad that you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by sheila1990 Final Chance

13th March 2006:
its great keep going

Author's Response: Thank you; I shall!

 Report Review

Review #8, by bball33 Final Chance

18th January 2006:
short, sweet, and to the point. Just a tad short, it would've made a more enjoyable read if it was a bit longer. Other than that it was a sweet little fic, and Fred and George were awesome as usual. Bake a cake? Go fishing? lol, good job!

-sarah

Author's Response: Thanks, Sarah! Glad that you enjoyed it! I'll try to go through and add more to it when I get the chance.

 Report Review

Review #9, by jynx67 Final Chance

16th January 2006:
I must admit that this is so darn cute. I just like the look that passes between Angelina and Oliver. It speaks of so much more. Oh, and the twins are perfect. "Go fishing" *LOL* So George!

Author's Response: Glad that you enjoyed it! The twins are fun to write, so even doing this brief passage with them was enjoyable. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #10, by andharrywokeup Final Chance

14th January 2006:
I just read your a/n. In that case, this is a wonderful story! You managed to fit in a lot of detail into the same number of words I would spend waffling!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you! Waffling, what a fun word!

 Report Review

Review #11, by andharrywokeup Final Chance

14th January 2006:
WOooo! Go Gryffindor! Once again, very short. You could have put a lot more in about how Oliver was feeling!

Author's Response: Yeah, you saw the A/N, then? Glad that you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by dracos_girl121 Final Chance

11th January 2006:
For a short one-shot, pretty good. Spelling and grammar are good to go. Good detail squeezed into a small space, and it's not over-the-top. This is a story, I think, to just show your talent for writing. ~abby~

Author's Response: Thank you!

Did I really get the grammer and spelling down all right? That's awesome! Glad that you liked it. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by crystal allan Final Chance

11th January 2006:
I like this story very much. It is laced with an air of confidence and stableness that I love seeing in those pre-Quidditch match scenes. The interaction between Oliver and Angelina was sweet, it really was. And you even managed to make me smile. Not many people can make the Quidditch team have such an affectionately friendly atmosphere, but here you did that very well and I thought it was touching. I enjoy stories that focus on lesser characters, so this was certainly my cup of tea, and I’m actually glad that you never even mentioned Harry. I think that would have brought it to another level – not necessarily in a bad way, but how you have it here is just a perfectly quaint moment in time passing by. Your descriptions, as always, were wonderful, full of great imagery. I have no CC for you - this was a great little piece and I enjoyed it thoroughly ;-)

Author's Response: Thank you once again, crystal!

I like Oliver and have recently gone into an "Obsessive Mode," so this was bread from that. My sister told me to do this in 103 words, but I couldn't stop.

I'm not a big fan of throwing Harry into these sorts of things, as they are minor character fics. Since they aren't the focuses, Harry should jump in; he's more secluded than that.

Glad that you enjoyed this one, and thanks for yet another great review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Riddle Wood Lupin Final Chance

8th January 2006:
That was adorable. ;) Fred and George bringing in the ever present humor, I see. I loved the numbers bit at the top, although I'm not certain as to why. I don't think I've ever read anything with Oliver and Angelina as the main characters. I love how Oliver got choked when he tried to thank her. Just brilliant. ;)

Only thing I could spot was a missing period. Honestly. :) It's Angelina's little bit. Right before "Trust me."

Anyway, lovely, once again. I can't wait for more of your stuff. It's amazing. :)

-Riddle Wood Lupin

Author's Response: Why thank you! Do you have any idea how much your reviews mean to me, Riddle? It's like, perfect sanity, because you are so completely honest. It's great! Fred and George, yes. What would we do without them? I like Oliver and Angelina as main characters, so this was a fun piece. Only a period this time? I'm getting better! Yay! I'll go fix that one. Thanks once again, mate!

 Report Review

Review #15, by PhoenixStorm Final Chance

7th January 2006:
Hey, sorry for the delay in reviewing, but I'm here now! :). Just to let you know, I will review this, Do You Miss Them? and Someone to Protect, as I've added to my restrictions of 3 per person :).

Anyway, if this was anything to go by, you're a wonderful writer. I don't often read fics with the more minor characters, and I like how you've done this here. You keep to the characterisation we know, but add your own dimensions, and I think that's really great.

You have a couple of mistakes here, but nothing big. nether air or fog should have been 'neither air nor fog, and scared of your wrath then we are of the Slytherins should be than instead of then. Very very small mistakes, but this was so almost perfect I wanted to point them out.

You've packed a lot of emotion and description into a very short piece, and it was really very well done. I think you've really captured the moment and emotions of the moment terrifically.

My absolute favourite part has to be when Fred and George make their appearance :D. Even this short part in your story was so spot-on with their characters that they shine through, even thought he story is not about them. Their answers to Oliver's question just made me laugh, and offered light relief from the intensity of Oliver's emotions. A brilliantly written one-shot in all, great job :)

Author's Response: All right, let's go bit by bit here. No problem with the number of fics, three is more than enough, really. Thanks very much! There isn't all that much to go off of for Angelina's or Oliver's characters, so I had to go on my own thoughts of them to a point. I had "neither air nor fog" at first, but that's a double negative and so it's cancled out. Did I put then? I'll have to fix that up. I think that emotion is what I do best. I can't come up with extensive plots, but feeling I can do. What is a Quidditch-like fic without Fred and George? And Oliver's answer is sort of a Lord of the Rings spin-off; if you have seen the Fellowship, you'll understand. Thanks a lot!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Lily Evans Final Chance

7th January 2006:
*chuckles* This one made me laugh. This was a cute drabble, and I loved this line! “Nope,” Oliver replied, turning to the Gryffindor locker room. “We’re going to kick some Slytherin arse. Let’s play Quidditch.” made me laugh when I read i for some reason. I like how determined Oliver is to win, and I really enjoyed this. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks! I see Oliver as very competitive at Quidditch above everything, probably because he is, and the last line sort of reminds me of the Fellowship of the Ring, so that was fun to write. I'm thrilled that it brought a smile to your face. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by StepUpTimneh Final Chance

7th January 2006:
Wow. That's all I can say. This was short- but expressed a lot of emotion. I like your style. You use a variety of words, and still convey your message to the reader. Nice.

The last part with Fred and George was funny, you kept them in character. Oliver was also in character in this fic, you could tell that he clearly HAD to win.

It's cute that Angelina calls him "Keeper", and Oliver calls her "Chaser". Could that turn into romance? *ponders* It gave the story some color, so it wasn't just all facts; there were some but not too many details.

You are a skilled writer, that I can tell from just one of your pieces. I haven't read enough of your work to tell about your voice as a writer yet- but as I've said, I like your style. Keep up the good work...while I go and check out some of your other fics ;)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! What a great review! Mm, I think that I'm going to go for a Angelina/Oliver romance one of these days, but I don't quite know when. I love Gred and Forge, so I couldn't just leave them out of this. One of my favorite authors wrote a fic that used nicknames like that, and I wanted to do something similar without doing just that, so that's where it came from. Glad that you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by timeturner Final Chance

5th January 2006:
lol! This is why I knew your name...I validated this story in the queue...I saw your author's note and had to double check the word count! *giggles* Anyway, I love Oliver as a character and you've done a good job with him. I like the moment you chose as well...its very original and I adore the characterization you've given him. Very good work on this one!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot. Was there something wrong with the word count? Hm, glad that you liked it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login