11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Fuego Second Best

6th September 2006:
That was a great story. I lovr the way you made us see through his point of veiw. Mioner chracters are so fun.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ms_Malfoy Second Best

18th July 2006:
i love how you protray McLaggen...haha... hilarious! great job! exactly how i imagine he spends his time... giving himself pep talks in the mirror... haha

Author's Response: Such an arrogant cuss, isn't he? :) Thank you so much for reading!


 Report Review

Review #3, by dm_hg4ever Second Best

8th July 2006:
LOVE IT! I loved the fact that you stayed very true to McLaggen's triats, that's y I loved him so much in HBP. I planned to make a post-Hogwarts McLaggen fic, but the time never occured to me. Anway, love it! Awesome job.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. Minor characters are so interesting to me, and McLaggen is ripe for the picking. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by ilovecandy62 (not signed in) Second Best

29th June 2006:
This is funny!

Author's Response: Thanks so much :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by AliBlack Second Best

29th May 2006:
Wonderful. So out of the way and quirky. I actually didn't even remember who Cormac was at all (eek! that's probably HP sacrilege!) so it was a surprise. The story is quite short but it's good that way. Just a little snippet of his (arrogant, delusional) life. =) You write him so well, without making him over the top or particularly....what's the word? 'Slytherin.'


I can't think of anything to criticize! Good luck in the future!


Author's Response: I thank you so much for the read :) Cormac is a character that I took great pleasure in dissecting, and I'm glad you've enjoyed him too :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by HermioneG Second Best

19th January 2006:
Haha! Great! He's just sooo arrogant!

Author's Response: He sooooooo is. Thank you for reading!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by crystal allan Second Best

10th January 2006:
I never put much thought into McLaggen’s character. He was just one of those characters that pass by without much thought, other than the general ‘brute’ characterization. But here, you gave that impression reasoning, you showed us the inner workings of his mind and suddenly everything seems to click together. I loved the ‘personal pep talk’ that he had with himself – that only amplified his seemingly obnoxious nature.

I really enjoyed the way his peers treated him. We’ve only ever seen this boy through Harry’s eyes, and I thought it was interesting to see him through a girl’s ^_^ You captured that arrogance there perfectly. I can just imagine that scene in my mind, and the pure conceit that he showed had me laughing.

Even though I adore stories that delve into the lives of lesser characters, I thought this would be boring, mostly because of the chosen character. Forgive me for that thought, dear. This was brilliant and it is certainly up to par with the other stories of yours that I love so.

Author's Response: To tell you the truth, I never put much thought into McLaggen either... I wrote this story for my dear friend Amanda, and only thought to write it because she expressly asked for a McLaggen fic. :)

I'm so glad that you enjoyed the 'personal pep talk'! It gave me such a kick to write that part. :)

Of course I forgive you, my dear... it's not hard when you say such lovely things about me all the time :) Thank you so much for reading!!!!


 Report Review

Review #8, by nomikkin Second Best

22nd December 2005:
hey Jax! lol, i wanted to review for this cuz you sooo deserve it! your writing is phenomenol (sp?) and i simply love the ideas about him the come up within this little one-shot. him feeling as though he could get any girl if they were all ... well "right in the head" i suppose he would put it. lol. again, i loved it. it's fabulous and it's down under my favs. great job! much love! ;) ~nomikkin

Author's Response: Oh Nomi!! :) Thank you darling :) Aren't you just the sweetest thing? Yep.... you are!

 Report Review

Review #9, by forget_me_not Second Best

21st December 2005:
Great story. I loved it. It is always good fun to read fics that provide an insight to a minor character who is rarely explored.

Cormac was an egotistic, conceited and pompous git-your characterisation of him was perfect. His thoughts, feelings and actions were extremely appropriate, and exactly what I expect of him.

Your writing was up to my usual expectation of excellence from you, so don't worry.

Overall, a fantastic one-shot. Keep writing more :-)



Author's Response: How do I respond to such an amazing review? I'm very glad you that you liked my characterization of McLaggen... he's such an idiot, isn't he?

"usual expectation of excellence"... You cannot know how much that means to me. My heart skipped a beat when I read it. I thank you so much... You're a joy to hear from. :) Hugs, J


 Report Review

Review #10, by ....... Second Best

18th December 2005:
that was a funny story

Author's Response: Thank you dear :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by TomFoolery Second Best

18th December 2005:
It's an interesting spin. There were a few mistakes here and there. One of the very first sentences:

“I swear is he weren’t Dumbledore’s little angel, I’d curse Potter to next Tuesday.”

I think you meant to say "if" instead of "is." Also, the writing is a bit choppy in some places but not incredibly so. It's a very interesting inner-monologue on a character I never gave much thought to. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you for pointing that out... This story was written so quickly, that I just must've missed some things.. :) I'll go and fix it now!

I'm so glad that you were amused by his inner monologue... he was pretty funny to write :) Thank you again!!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login