Reading Reviews for Despite My Best Efforts
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lily flower Despite My Best Efforts

23rd May 2008:
This is really good

keep on writting

*hugs*

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #2, by michelle Despite My Best Efforts

18th February 2006:
i feel as if i could burst into a chorus of "it's a hard-knock life"!

Author's Response: Lol, is that good or bad?

 Report Review

Review #3, by steve34 Despite My Best Efforts

21st January 2006:
I really like the idea here, and it's really well written. However, I'm not thrilled by the perspective. I would have preferred to go through this with Petunia, experiencing the angst first-hand with her rather than listen to her rant about it in the future. It would have made the angst stand out more, I think, to have the author experience the unfairness with Petunia because then it might have evoked more sympathy from the reader. In this format, you leave the reader the choice of thinking that Petunia is just whiny. Still, the story is well-thought out, you portray Petunia's feelings very accurately and give us a big insight as to why she's so hateful of her little sister. Very good work here!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, and now that you mention it, it may have been better to write it in third person. I never even considered it - this story came to me in first. I would consider doing it differently, or perhaps writing another Petunia fic, except I'd probably have to make it multi-chaptered and I don't have time for that right now. Thanks for the feedback, and I'm glad you liked the idea.

 Report Review

Review #4, by MargaretLane Despite My Best Efforts

6th January 2006:
Really, really, brilliant story. It puts my story about Petunia to total shame. I actually wanted to end mine a bit like this-with part of the reason why Petunia took Harry in being that she wants to redress the balance: instead of her being ignored and Lily spoiled, her child would be spoiled and Lily's ignored, but I couldn't work it in. I never thought of adding on that her plan had failed as Harry turned out to be the saviour of the world, though. The end was so sad-that she thinks she has failed at everything, even Dudley. Of course, we all know that Dudley is a bully and a fool, but she is his mother and it is obvious that SHE loves him.

Author's Response: THanks, I'm so glad you liked it. You have a Petunia fic? I'll have to read/review it sometime. THanks for the kind review, MargaretLane.

 Report Review

Review #5, by timeturner Despite My Best Efforts

3rd January 2006:
Surprising character choice but nicely written. Shows a more regretful side of Petunia that I think we may very well have had hints of in recent books and may see in the last one. I loved the approach you took to her younger life and her opinions of her sister. Very well done on that part especially.

Author's Response: Thanks, and Petunia's interested me for a while know, and of course she had to hit me with a plot bunny since she's hardly written about. I always thought that Petunia and Lily had to like each othar at some point, but that Petunia's hatred of her had to go deeper than magic. Thanks again for the review.

 Report Review

Review #6, by StepUpTimneh Despite My Best Efforts

22nd December 2005:
This was great. You expressed Petunia's emotions so well, and gave a good reason as to why she tortured Harry so much. Great job!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by CelticIce (Quizilla) Despite My Best Efforts

22nd December 2005:
A great explanation of why Petunia hated Lily...interesting... ---Lea

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Anastasia Despite My Best Efforts

19th December 2005:
Thanks for answering Lynn! It is indeed a perfect story... I also read The Perfect Gift, it's exceptional! Can I ask you sth: Which fanfic do you REALLY like on this site? In other words, can you suggest one to me?

Author's Response: Hmm...Vol de Mort by Wintershadows, Hogwarts, A History: The Founders (and its sequel) by steve34, the present and Surrender by timeturner, everything I've read by jynx67 is good (same with Llewellyn McEllis), and Welcome to my Litterbox by firefawn. I think that list should satisfy and will keep you busy.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Anastasia Despite My Best Efforts

17th December 2005:
Hello Lynn! This story is exceptional. You gave depth to Petunia, an often underestimated character, and even explained why she's so mean to Harry -- ''Dudley would have lots of friends and would have anything his heart desired and Harry would be lonely and unwanted like I [Petunia] always was.'' EXCELLENT work. Congratulations!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks Anastasia! i'm glad you liked it so much, because I liked writing it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by rainbow92 Despite My Best Efforts

16th December 2005:
I really liked this story. In may stories, peole just regard Petunia as cruel and nasty and thats all there is to it. I like it people show Petunia's thoughts and feelings. Really good work.

Author's Response: Thanks! People (sometimes including me) rarely regard Petunia as an actual person, but she is and she has real legit emotions. Thanks for reviewing, and I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Zaphira Despite My Best Efforts

14th December 2005:
aw...this is so sad! it's written really well; i've read a couple of your stories, and they're all really good. Well done! i'm off to read some more of your stories!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you like it/them!

 Report Review

Review #12, by xobebeox Despite My Best Efforts

8th December 2005:
Wow... this is sort of depressing for Petunia. It really explains why she acted the way she does, but I don't fully think of her as a failure. Obviously she wasn't as successful as Lily, but she wasn't a full failure and I think the hatred was overemphaisized. Other than that, you did an awesome job of expressing her feelings. Good job with this story. I really liked it.

Author's Response: I don't think of her as a -complete- failure, either, but I do see her secretly thinking herself a failure when compared to her sister. I'll try to re-do some of this and make the hatred a bit less emphasized, especially since I know sometimes a bit too much of something takes away from a fic. Thanks! I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by volition112 Despite My Best Efforts

8th December 2005:
Wow, that was totally believeable! I can see sorta why they treated Harry the way the did and why Dudley was spoiled. I've never really thought about Petunia too much to be honest. So this story opened my mind to different ideas and possibilities to what makes Petunia tick. Excellent job Lynn! I really liked this one-shot =D ♥ Sara

Author's Response: I'm glad this helped you see a different perspective. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Scarhead Despite My Best Efforts

6th December 2005:
Definitely an interesting story! I found it enlightening to read about things from Petunia's point of view! you really portrayed in in the way that i really think her character would act and react. Good Job!

Author's Response: Thanks! I must admit, it was fun writing a character people rarely write about. Thanks for reviewing/complimenting; I'm glad someone found it enlightening!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Tonks_girl_4eva Despite My Best Efforts

30th November 2005:
i like the idea of the story, very original :)

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #16, by megs Despite My Best Efforts

29th November 2005:
I see what you mean by inspiration, this was very well done, and I'm very impressed because I've never seen this side of Petunia before... it's very interesting to see your perspective on her! There was one thing I noticed though, this sentence seemed rather off to me: this wild change things for the better. I think it should be will, instead of wild. Other than that, everything was verywell done, and I enjoyed reading your stories! Megs

Author's Response: I guess I overlooked a typo. Thanks for telling me; I'll correct it. I'm glad you liked it, and Thanks for the compliments/reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Nephele de Tourmalin Despite My Best Efforts

29th November 2005:
This is a really good start! I really like the part where she said Lily had "bewitched" everyone to like her. Seemed like the type of thing Petunia would assume. CC: I feel like Petunia might be more in denial about her jealousy, if that makes sense. Like she would word it any number of other ways but the reader would know her true meaning. Does that make sense? I'm sorry if it doesn't. This is a good one shot regardless. I can't wait to see it after a bit of fine-tuning!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you liked it. IThe "bewitching" part was my favorite part to write. I'll do some editing soon and may word things differently to make it more Petunia-ish (it's a tad hard to completely get into her character, though).

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login