307 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Doug james Chapter 74 - Epilogue

12th April 2014:
Thank you for a very engaging HP novel. You certainly managed to replicate the Harry/Ron love/hate fight/flee narrative that JKR often brought to their relationship although I did initially think that you had broken them up for good! Excellent action scenes throughout that were well written and kept you guessing on their outcome. Nice new elements too (obviously) but the introduction of middle eastern magic and characters was very well done and I particularly liked the 'magic falls' concept within the forbidden forest that you introduced. There were some minor issues that I'm sure you've already heard - we don't sell handguns in the UK and pants are normally referring to underwear rather than trousers (don't you love english?). Anyway all minor bugbears that in no way detracted from a very good novel which I am now delighted to see I can supplement with its sequel. Many thanks again, exceptional work.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Alysea Chapter 74 - Epilogue

14th October 2012:
There are so many chapters in this story, how on earth did you stay so motivated and inspired?

Author's Response: I knew I had to write "Birth of a New Sun"!

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadySappho Chapter 41 - A Reason to Be

14th May 2012:
A brilliant story. i'm finding it very compelling.
One small quibble, though - in this chapter you have Harry saying to Goyle:
“Well, if you hadn’t been such a prig in Hagrid’s class last year, you’d know.”
A prig is 'A self-righteously moralistic person who behaves as if superior to others.' If Malfoy was a bit more, well, moral, he might be a prig. It's hard to imagine Goyle as one, though! However, he could definitely be a prat ('A fool, idiot or objectionable person.')

Author's Response: Perfect. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #4, by LadySappho Chapter 50 - A Time to Grieve

14th May 2012:
I, too, am enjoying the story - it's one of the best I've read recently - but was also struck by the gun related suicide given the UK's stringent gun laws. However, having looked into it a little, I don't think it's as big an issue as I thought. As long as the store is a registered fire arms dealer, they can sell guns, even revolvers but it can't be 'any smooth-bore revolver gun other than one which is chambered for 9mm. rim-fire cartridges or [F15a muzzle-loading gun];' ... whatever that means.

Author's Response: That's great info. I tried to be true to detail in this story. Even checking the phases of the moon against the real timeline for the year. Thanks.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Fidelio Chapter 59 - A New Game

3rd September 2011:
Best chapter of the book in my opinion. Read it throughouly up to now, and the tonks and harry switch totally had me bamboozled, so I read the whole chapter again. Brilliant stuff, although I would rather the Harry and Cho romance is explored more deeply, and clashes rather than resonates with the Gabriella romance. Surely Cho would want to try and get rid of Gab so she could have harry for herslef?

 Report Review

Review #6, by Fidelio Chapter 46 - And So It Begins

2nd September 2011:
but coudnlt they just apparate?

 Report Review

Review #7, by Fidelio Chapter 35 - The Truth Revealed

2nd September 2011:
that was the best chapter I've read so far. So full of emotion, with the plot threads weaving together with masterful skill. The way you write is so clear, and beckoning, it's quite difficult to stop reading. This is a beautiful romance mate, thank you.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Dani Chapter 4 - Tears in the Sunset

31st August 2011:
Harry's letter at the end of the chapter was a work of genius even jk rowling coudnl't muster. Thank you again.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Dani Chapter 3 - Shattered Glass

31st August 2011:
This is actually stunning. Well done. Beautiful rendition of Muggle Life:)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Dani Chapter 1 - A New Beginning

31st August 2011:
I've only read half way and still I'm going to write this review. This is the best harry potter story I've ever read on this site, it's actually pummeling my mind with how good it is. Bringing a new dimension to the story of Harry but doing it in Privet Drive, WONDERFUL idea. I love this, I love you. Thank You.

 Report Review

Review #11, by adriaans Chapter 74 - Epilogue

14th March 2011:
A truly great story, one which I have really enjoyed.
I liked many of the ideas presented, purity and kindness especially.

Now to start on the sequel! :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by Lazaro Garza Chapter 74 - Epilogue

21st October 2010:
I read the whole novel and loved it. One of the best I have read. It will be in the top three stories I have ever read ever in regard to harry potter fan fiction. It wasn't the longest I have ever read but it was awesome never bored.

Author's Response: Don't forget the sequel!
Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Caramel13 Chapter 30 - The Stone of Cinnabar

27th September 2010:
oh good god i want to shoot harry! He has a lovely and caring girlfriend already, and was so bloody in love with her that you cannot just write off his attraction to Cho!...Although then there's the hint you're giving that he's he's being oddly emotional due to some unexplained magicky thingy. Meh.

On the other hand, this story has completely captured my interest, as much as I think some characters need to smarten up. Curses to realism!

Author's Response: Spot on with the magicky thing. Though I have overdone it, according to some that lost hope in Harry halfway. Do not dispair he comes to his senses, nor does he abandone Cho - he never could. Read the sequel!

 Report Review

Review #14, by HG_HP_fan Chapter 58 - Darkness Returns

31st July 2010:
This had been a very good story up until two chapters ago. Then things happened to Harry with no explenation, no trips to the library, and no talks with the headmaster. I hope explanations are coming.

 Report Review

Review #15, by HG_HP_fan Chapter 31 - Opportunity for Disaster

29th July 2010:
Very active imagination sub plots and twist. What is Gabrelles connection? I half expect her to show up at school.

 Report Review

Review #16, by HG_HP_fan Chapter 19 - Hidden at Honeydukes

29th July 2010:
this a very unique view. I had hoped with the hints that I read so far, that Harry would work with Draco. This chapter has Harry giving up without trying.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Zach Chapter 74 - Epilogue

11th July 2010:
Excellent, one of the best fanfics ive ever read. Thanks for posting!

Author's Response: Reviews are wonderful! Thanks! It was fun to write.

 Report Review

Review #18, by centaur68 Chapter 74 - Epilogue

30th June 2010:
Humanity and humility, power and poise. Glory and girlfriend. Probably the only fic that I loved that had Hermoine with Weasleby, err Won-Won, err Ronald.
Love the tatoos, and earrings, just so much to love about this one. Left a grand opening for a follow up novel...BRAVO!!!

Author's Response: I hope you enjoy the sequel. A little more action and faster pace.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Mr Black Chapter 16 -- The Sword and the Snake

23rd June 2010:
wow this chapter gave me chills, quite literally in fact...it was amazing

Author's Response: Thanks. It was tough to write the song. I hope you can stick with it. The later chapters, I think get better.

 Report Review

Review #20, by arunheros Chapter 74 - Epilogue

19th April 2010:
Excellent
Sorry for reveiwing at last chapter but you can count as equal to 73 reviews for each chapter.
But story was good , as sherlock holmes fan and mystery centric reader , the story was upto my liking as mystery story .

The Best i liked about the story that it was based on riddles
The chapter names never suggested whats going to happen which kept me intrigued

one thing important was that you focused the importance of love which is every harry potter should be about and not giving extrordinary powers since he has prophecy , harry has only one power that is to love which you used to 100%

now criticism time
it will not bad
1.i think it should have been two part series because the story need to kept to understand wholly as being mystery genre which was difficult

2.somes the story kept revolving around same point to drag but we here read not critcize

10/10!
CHEERS CAD HOPE YOU WRITE MORE SO I CAN CRITICIZE LOL! HAA HA!!

Author's Response: Burden did drag in spots. Partly because I was collaberating with my son and using those bits for inter-family discussions. There is a sequel! Birth of a New Sun and it's far tighter in the story approach and, hopefully, just as mysterious.

 Report Review

Review #21, by hermionesheart Chapter 67 - Dreaming with the Snake

8th April 2010:
That's funny, I got to the part about an hour to midnight, at 11:30 PM. Great story, 10/10.

Author's Response: Spooky. I'm glad you're liking it. Take a look at the sequel too!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Marleen Chapter 74 - Epilogue

17th January 2010:
I can give you just one word: wow. This must be THE best fanfic i have ever had the pleasure of reading. And that says a LOT because i started reading fanfictions several years ago. This story took me quite a long time to read and i was amazed by the complexity of the storyline. How did you manage to conjure up all that? I especially loved the verses, i really admire how you were able to think of them. I know it must have taken an awful lot of time to write this, but i am grateful you did. I think i can even go as far as suggesting that you send this to J.K Rowling to let it be judged. You can take this comment and add it as letter (comment) of reccomendation (sp?) ^^. I wish you great luck with the stories that are sure to come and hope that they are as good as this one.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words. There's a lot I'd do differently... the racism thread was poorly developed and Harry's anger issue was not well explained. I tried to be tighter in the sequel "Birth of a New Sun" and I hope you read it!

Thanks again. - Cad


 Report Review

Review #23, by nano Chapter 8 - Nowhere to Run

6th December 2009:
I'm not sure if You'll agree, but I don't think Harry would ever leave her like that...

Author's Response: I think you might be right. Although I wonder if at age sixteen he would have the maturity to deal with the moment. Still, even if Harry could, or would, there are specific reasons why Harry, in this story, can't, and you'll find out by the time the story is over. Thank you for the review and comment!

 Report Review

Review #24, by CnConrad Chapter 43 - Holiday Surprise

16th October 2009:
Just to let you know. I was meaning I did understand where you were going with those characters. As I read more I liked where most of what the characters ended up.

However, to me they just jumped around a bit much. Liking to hating to loving to dropping off the script ect.

By the way the OC's were handled pretty well. They did not take up too much of the story and were not too Overpowered.

 Report Review

Review #25, by CnConrad Chapter 72 – The Razor’s Edge

16th October 2009:
All in all this was a very good book. One thing that I did not care for was the whole Harry loving all enemies and never wanting anything bad to happen to anyone.

It's just a personal pet-pev It was the one problem that I have always had with the Superman persona. Never letting any "Badguys" die. By forcing this ideal onto the hero's of stories it prevents them from being viewed as normal, human, identifiable with.

How many good people die because of Harry's forgiving nature?

It was a wonderfully written story and I will continue to the next one. I'm just hoping that Harry becomes a little more realistic.

Author's Response: So Harry's still got some loving enemies things going on in the sequel. I'm not sure I see him killing anyone, but in a real war situation I suspect he'd be more unforgiving. Thanks for the review and please comment as you read the sequel.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>