Reading Reviews for Mockingbird
  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by silviaelisa Mockingbird

27th November 2009:
I listened to this on the podcast and loved it!
I read just now that it's a collage of different fics, but I wouldn't have noticed if you hadn't told me, so good job! :)
The oneshot itself is very very very good and the picture you painted is exactly how I see the Malfoys, the line you had Lucius say about Draco going soft especially. I once wrote a little... mm... essay? about Draco's childhood and a tough upbringing is the only way I can see him being raised.
Thank you so much for this!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Tom_DracosGirl Mockingbird

27th January 2009:
I loved it, I was enthralled throughout the whole story! Wonderfully written!! You explored the nature of the Malfoy family very well, delving into the thoughts of all three of them to make them into the characters we know today.

Wonderful job!!! 10/10

 Report Review

Review #3, by sinful_sanctuary Mockingbird

11th April 2008:
I love this! I can imagine that this is exactly how Draco grew up. It's sad, but I guess it's what makes us love him:)
10/10 and favorite:)

 Report Review

Review #4, by henryjones Mockingbird

16th March 2008:
so i dont know if you liked this or not, but i liked this story a lot. i think you captured narcissa and lucius' marriage like perfectly, although now i suppose things turned out differently in dh... whatever. this was a brilliant one shot. i really enjoyed reading it. thank you for writing it! ;)

 Report Review

Review #5, by SabinaBoo Mockingbird

19th April 2007:
This was amazing. I would almost like it to be longer, novella length. But this is to perfect to change. I'll cherish it and add it to my list of favorites. You deserve much more than a ten. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Lovely_Slytheriness Mockingbird

16th April 2007:
Truly, an amazing one-shot.. I really love it. It is sad, but Dracos life isn´t really bright, now is it? I really think you have manage to capture Dracos... Well, obsession -in a lack of a better word for it- of making his father proud of him. And that he´d chosen Pansy to be his girl, just so his father would approve.. I loved that part, I thought it was brilliant.

"And he knew it was the closest to love he would ever get."

That broke my heart... And still, it was just a perfect way to end it. I won´t be begging you to continue this, because I think it´s just so beautiful the way it is, and there is nothing more to add to it.

Now, if it hadn´t already become clear to you, I am so adding this to my favs! 10/10

~Linnéa

 Report Review

Review #7, by PreTeenWriter Mockingbird

5th February 2007:
Beautiful story! It was evil, power lusting, fluffy and lovely (I use that word too much) all at the same time. A remarkable Malfoy family fiction!!! Love your style and the way you decipher Narcissa, also putting Lucius in a different light; I always imagine him as the one who spoiled Draco.

Writer's choice. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for this lovely (see, I can use that word too) review. It has been a joy to read and hear your opinions and thoughts on this piece. I am so glad you enjoyed my interpretation of Lucius and Narcissa.

 Report Review

Review #8, by scarletangel9 Mockingbird

24th January 2007:
So intricate and very believable. Lucius's and Narcissa's relationship intrigues me the most I think and you did it a great justice. Lovely rendition (sp?) of Mockingbird. Some missing apostrophes and typos I probably execute all the time, but overall an elegant story.

Author's Response: I am thrilled to know you liked the relationship between the two, as so little about it is known in the books. I shall keep an eye out for those typos too....they always sneak past me =). Thank you for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #9, by dim at best (not signed in) Mockingbird

12th November 2006:
That was so sad. I'm actually crying... you manipulated the song perfectly to suit the story, and it gave the one-shot a bittersweet feel, since it's such a loved tune but is coupled with the sad raising of Draco Malfoy.

All of Narcissa's hopes went unfulfilled within this story, and although both parents were wrong in how they were bringing their son up, at least her goals for him weren't bad. To see him so casually dismiss her was wrenching.

Draco's innocence as a baby slowly diminishing as he grew older due to his father's influence was portrayed beautifully in this story, you did an amazing job.

One note though, in between the first two lines of the lyrics and the second two lines of the lyrics (so in the second paragraph) you switch from third to first person. Just wanted to let you know.

-Terri

Author's Response: Aw, thank you very much! The song took me ages to write (you'd be amazed how difficult wizarding rhymes proved to be), but I Was very pleased with the end result. The original has that sad edge to it too, I've always felt.

I've never thought Draco's parents were bad parents, although possibly misguided. You cannnot deny that they love their son, and I didn't want to portray them as emotionless towards him. They did influence him, though, and made him into what he is.

The POV switch is intentional too. I know it isn't necessarily correct to do it in the mid-fic, but I felt it was a rule that could be bent. =)


 Report Review

Review #10, by xXsilent_tearsXx Mockingbird

26th September 2006:
Such a lovely story! I love this, you've really captured the characterization I figured for the people! I love your style of writing!

Author's Response: Thank you veyr much for the lovely review, I appreciate your kind comments

 Report Review

Review #11, by Martini_Kiss Mockingbird

14th September 2006:
Everytime I read one of your wonderful fanfic's that outstndingly protray every minor detail of the characters of the Harry Potter series, I have to tell myself that you are not JKR! The way you write is so amazing, and It almost seems as if you were the one who made up these characters the way you present them. I think that if anyone who has never read Harry Potter before, and who read one of your stories, would beleive the creation was all your own.

The way you protrayed Narcissa as just merely his wife but wishing it was more of love, really brought out the emotions behind the whole Malfoy family.

I also loved how you displayed Lucius, especially in the Nursery scene. Always fussing over Draco's dependency and willpower, it made me feel as if I was in one of the house elves shoes witnessing their bickerings from a darkened corner of the room. Your way of introducing and showing the characters from the inside out is breathtaking. I love reading your work! Keep it up! Please! 10/10

Author's Response: I am absolutely floored by your lovely review and I just don't have words to convey my appreciation. Thank you many hundreds of times over, your comments have lifted me and made my day, especially to hear your thoughts on Narcissa and Lucius. I spent some time trying to get the balance between live and that certian distance that always seems to be present in the family. Thank you again.

 Report Review

Review #12, by KML Mockingbird

2nd August 2006:
Your stories are great! I love your picture of the Malfoy family, in this one especially. And it means so much to find stories that have good grammar, and if they're supposed to be canon, they really do follow the books. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely comment. I am very pleased you liked my portrayal of the family and that you think it keeps with canon. I am also flattered by your thoughts on my grammar. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Dracana Mockingbird

21st July 2006:
Oh, how cute, how sweet! And yet terribly depressing. What I mean is, Draco doesn't k now the meaning of love and it's all because of his father's influence, despite his mother's efforts.
Once again, well done, another brilliant one-shot.
Dracana
x x

Author's Response: Aw, thank you very much. You captured exactly what I was trying to achieve!

 Report Review

Review #14, by sammy lupin Mockingbird

23rd April 2006:
i love this fic, very cute poem...

Author's Response: Thank you very much =)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Bittersweet Ending Mockingbird

19th April 2006:
Wow... it really puts Draco in a good light.

Author's Response: Thank you, and it does to an extent...More because it explains why he is the way he is than anything and perhaps starts to justify it.

 Report Review

Review #16, by MarissaPotter Mockingbird

12th April 2006:
Wow! a really good short...i like the history of Malfoys family...it really explains why he is the was he is. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the lovely review

 Report Review

Review #17, by PhoenixStorm Mockingbird

9th April 2006:
ok wow, firstly let me say I simply loved this fic, it’s such a good portrayal of the Malfoys and I can’t believe I’ve never read anything of yours before. Secondly, you have that song stuck in my head, and it’s creepy, this is your fault, I hope you’re satisfied ;) .

You have a few mistakes in here which I’ll just quickly run through but not that many :) . as he lifted he heavy robes the. regardless of need, he have them had to have them. the brief flicker of love he had held for had quickly diminished held for her. revulsion evident in every word that past his lips passed. Shall Dobby be fetching the Masters trunk Master’s. Also, would Dobby address him as THE Master? Surely that’s Lucius, you could just drop the ‘the’. missing the pained look that past across his mothers face passed.

I think my favourite part of this has to be your use of the lullaby, it’s very cleverly changed and used within the fic. I love the changes you made to it and think it fits Draco perfectly, and hearing that lilting tune in my head at each interval in the fic was very eerie and effective.

What I can’t get over are your characterisations, they’re just so spot-on, completely accurate in my opinion. I like how you start and end with a canon event of Draco, though I feel the fic is more about Narcissa. Right from the start of this you have Draco’s mindset down as the only son he had been required to attend; it had been his duty to attend. and After all, they were the best money could buy; comfort ranked only a close second were just so fitting for his thought patterns. And I had to love how Narcissa fussed over his hair and he said I am fine with my hair just the way it is, mentioning Draco and not his hair seems never to happen.

Now Narcissa, wow I thought you wrote her perfectly. I particularly loved the whole part with her when she was pregnant with Draco and fighting to regain some of the man Lucius used to be. It was a wonderful take on their relationship and very well written. It was also really touching, especially when you wrote She was, after all, merely his wife.

Lucius was also captured perfectly, with the whole scene with the lamb and the snitch. He was chilling and manipulative and I just felt so sorry for Narcissa, she was never going to win that battle. Very sad when you ended that part with He never noticed the lamb was even missing. It was like it was showing how it would always be from then on. You just wrote the whole dynamics between the family so well and it’s such a good look at the environment Draco grew up in. Really great fic and I loved reading it :) .

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed this, and flattered that you think it a good portrayal. I'm afraid though that yes, I am satisfied. You have no idea how long I suffered with it going round and round in my head, and I think it only fair that others suffer too. :P


Thank you also for taking the time to point out the little mistakes. I can never spot them myself, and had to read the piece several times to find them now even with you telling me where they are. I can be incredibly blind in that way. They are all fixed now though.



I took me ages to change the words the the lullaby, and I am very pleased to know they had the intended effect. Trying to find rhyming Wizard alternatives was, to say the least, a challenge. The first part of the fic was actually taken from a different fic I wrote on Draco/Pansy. And yes, I couldn't avoid mentioning Draco's hair. The two are inseperable.



I was surprised by how much this fic seemed to centre around Narcissa at the end. She rose from a minor part as I enjoyed writing her so much. She was, after all, merely his wife. This was one of my favourite lines, so I am incredibly happy to have you point it out to me. Lucius was a bit harder to write, as I had to play with his character to get the right balance between his coldness and his love for his family.



Thank you again for taking the time to leave such a wonderfully detailed review. It means so much to me, and all you kind words and comments are greatly appreciated.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Paige Mockingbird

25th March 2006:
omg, thats awesome

Author's Response: Thank you very much =)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Bookangel Mockingbird

13th March 2006:
wow that was a great story. i'll add it to my favourites

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #20, by malfoy_meltdown Mockingbird

17th December 2005:
Loved the story. Love the way you write. Wonderful job. It was great.

Author's Response: Thankyou very much for the wonderful review.

 Report Review

Review #21, by siobhan_malfoy Mockingbird

8th December 2005:
i love the story you rock are you going to continue?

Author's Response: Thankyou veyr much for the lovely review, and unfortunately not...it is just a one shot.

 Report Review

Review #22, by kortni Mockingbird

2nd December 2005:
beautiful, absolutley beautiful. banner too.

Author's Response: Thankyou very much for the lovely review *blushes*

 Report Review

Review #23, by kira_riddle Mockingbird

26th November 2005:
I love this story, it's just how I pictured the Malfoys and just how J.K Rowling would write them, I wish you would keep going but I understand that this is better as a one-shot. Oh, and I love your banner. kira

Author's Response: I did consider making it longer, but it just seemed to finish itself at this point. Thankyou for the lovely review. The banner was actually made by Andegora, and I shall be sure to pass your compliments onto her. Thankyou again.

 Report Review

Review #24, by unknown_force Mockingbird

26th November 2005:
I liked how you changed the lullaby so the words matched in Harry Potter terms. The story's sad...but well written.

Author's Response: Thankyou very much. That song took me ages to change. Finding rhymes is harder than I thought it would be. Thankyou for the lovely review

 Report Review

Review #25, by daydreamr09 Mockingbird

14th November 2005:
*sniff* This was really well written.

Author's Response: Thankyou very much =)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>