Reading Reviews for The Real Heroes
  
104 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hopelessromantic3 The Real Heroes

30th September 2009:
oh my god! thats so sad! and amazing! :'( :'( :'( i love this, really really love it. wow.

10/10 for SURE

Author's Response: Thank you. It was hard to write, so I'm glad it paid off.

 Report Review

Review #2, by hedwidgeon The Real Heroes

31st October 2008:
I think I've already reviewed this when i was logged in sometime and it's been on my favorites for ages, but I just keep coming back to reread this. It's beautiful - your style is amazing and this is just such a beautiful story. It gives me chills every time and that last line especially is amazing. Wonderful job!

Author's Response: I'm not sure if this one's on Gluttony, but if it is, you probably saw it there. :) Your comments mean everything, thank you so much. x

 Report Review

Review #3, by Georgia Weasley The Real Heroes

25th October 2008:
This is so beautiful! It makes me so glad that Ron didn't die, for I don't really think Harry or Hermione could recover. Especially Harry. His overdeveloped sense of guilt and responsibility would simply crush him, leaving a remorseful shell of a person in his place. I loved how you had him highlight the friendship and loyalty of the the two at each major event in his life and journey toward the end. My favorite line was how, after Ron and Hermione had found each other, "they were a much stronger rock together" for him to lean on. The imagery there is so powerful. Lovely job.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Weasleys Forever The Real Heroes

10th May 2008:
What a wonderful tribute. It brought tears to my eyes. and it says such a lot about Harry, who never thought that what he did was brave or heroic or exceptional. He just felt he had to because it was what was right, not what was easy. The choices the Trio made were what defined them.

This is very well written. Keep writing.

 Report Review

Review #5, by SiriuslyCrack The Real Heroes

14th April 2008:
*ish speechless again* I understand that you always thought that this is how it would end for Ron, but still, reading this one-shot made my eyes go all wet. After reading your stories, I've begun to like Ron more than I already do. Thank you for writing this story. It's beautiful! And the last line...God, I can't even describe how I felt when I read it. Absolutely touching!

Author's Response: *huggles Tahi* I'm glad you like Ron more now, if anything, that is my aim with fanfic! I'm so glad that he didn't die and that he had his moment as a hero! Thank you so much for reviewing! x x x

 Report Review

Review #6, by adahpfan The Real Heroes

6th April 2008:
ron...dead? no! i don't believe you!
8/10(i took away 2 because you made me cry!
-adahpfan

Author's Response: If my intention was to make you cry, surely I deserve two extra points? No? Oh well, thanks for reviewing! :) x x x

 Report Review

Review #7, by ginwannabe (not logged in) The Real Heroes

10th March 2008:
I've seen your reviews for this sitting at 99 for over a month and I couldn't stand it any longer, and even though I've already left one, I wanted to be the 100th reviewer, so forgive me for double reviewing.

There we were: The Golden Couple and their friend Harry Potter. One of the most beautiful lines ever. Truly brings tears to my eyes. I can't even begin to tell you how happy I am that this is AU, but if it had to be canon...I'd want Ron to have gone like this, fighting by Harry's side along with the love of his life. I love that this is in first person, and it truly feels like it is coming from Harry, who was so modest and embarrassed by all the glory. I love that he addresses Hermione directly and offers her the comfort that she so many times offered him. This story does an amazing job of summarizing the entire series in just barely over 1000 words...HOW do you do that? It's like you took 7 books (ok...6 since this was written before DH) and condensed them into this one little moment in time, and yet, I still didn't feel like anything was missing. And you did truly show that Harry wasn't doing this by himself, and as I said in my original review, he was destined to this fate. Ron and Hermione chose it because of their loyalty. *sigh* I think this was one of the first pieces of yours that I read, and it's still one of my favorites. *huggles*

Author's Response: Forgive you? Ha! How can I ever thank you? Not only do I get a review from one of my favourites, but also I'm up to the double zero! :D You're the best!


The line you've pointed out is such a marmite one...some people love it, others think it's awful. There's rarely an in between. I really wanted to convey at that point in time, it wasn't about Harry Potter and his friends, but actually his friends and him being the extra. For years and years I believed Ron would be the one from the trio to die...because people thought he was the stupid one and like in PS he would so something really brave an sacrifice himself. When I finally got round to reading DH, I already knew all three of them survived, but I'm so glad that JKR took care of making sure we all knew Ron wasn't stupid. And I think if he were to die, he would have died fighting. It's strange but I find it so easy to write Harry in first person (which is why I opted for him in Erised), but Ron I find virtually impossible. I've been working on a Ronmione since around the time I first started this fic, and I think the reason this one is up and posted and the Ronmione isn't it because the other one is from Ron's POV! I can't do it and so instead of him showing himself to be brave, I opted to show his wonderful character by killing him off. *cry* You're right though,I do think Harry is the kind to be so modest about the glory (of course except for when it comes to blaming himself). I didn't try and focus on summing up the years as I wrote this, but instead I wanted Harry to search for memories. I just so turned out that he did this chronologically, because he needed to give his friend the best eulogy he could and so couldn't forget anything. Harry is brave for not running away, but you're right, so are the others. That gets forgotten and it shouldn't be, because in some ways their act is even braver - they have things to lose. Their loyalty shouldn't be forgotten. Thanks you so much for stopping by again - 100th reviewer baby! You rock!! x x x x


 Report Review

Review #8, by HPFchamber The Real Heroes

14th January 2008:
Wow, that was a powerful one-shot. I really enjoyed it Andy. It was beautiful. It really made me think about all of the people that thought Harry was the only one that was the hero, he was a good wizard but he wouldn't have been anything without his friends. And the ending was absolutely brilliant. This is definately going into my favorites and 10/10!!! ~Crystal

Author's Response: Hey Crys! Thank you so much for reviewing and let me tell you, it feels so great to receive compliments from such a fantastic writer! The people you mention make me really angry, and it was actually an awful portrayal of Ron that swung me to writing this. Brilliant? Wow. Thank you so very, very much! *SAYS style huggle glomp* x x x

 Report Review

Review #9, by StoryLover3095 The Real Heroes

12th January 2008:
Hi! Wow. Oh, this was such a good story! I loved it! Even though it is sad because Ron died, it's so nice that you can't help but smile while reading it. I like how you go through each year and descibe Ron's biggest moments. The last sentence was my favorite in the whole story.
'There we were: The Golden Couple and their friend Harry Potter.'
I'm not sure why, but I just loved it. It was the perfect last sentence. I can't wait to go read all your other stories. Above and beyond a 10/10
~Cassie

Author's Response: This is the first one you reviewed, isn't it? I'm glad you liked it! I rather like the last sentence too...I think it's because Harry really does take the attention away from himself and makes sure that it is all about them. He's just their friend, not the other way round. I would love to do a Hermione follow up to this, just to explore her response! Above and beyond? You are far too kind! Thank you so much! x x x

 Report Review

Review #10, by ginwannabe The Real Heroes

25th December 2007:
*sob*...I'm SO glad this is AU, but you wrote it beautifully. Really, the imagery is fantastic. And you're right, as brave and daring as Harry is, he couldn't have done it without Ron and Hermione, and they weren't "destined" to have to meet up with Voldemort like he was. It really is uncanny how close to canon you came with this story despite writing it before DH came out. Well done!!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! You've really picked up on the message I was trying to convey! Yaaay! But really, your compliments are too much, this is nothing on events in DH. :P Once again, thank you.

 Report Review

Review #11, by war and peace The Real Heroes

17th December 2007:
*wipes away tears*

that was so beautiful! i liked the bit about binns at the end. Ron.. I almost feel that he [b]is[/b] dead! Amazing work. I love your writing, and i think this is one of the best AUs I've ever read.

Author's Response: I rather like hte Binns bit too. And Ron is dead...that's the point. :S Thank you very much for your kind review! *hands tissues over*

 Report Review

Review #12, by exodus The Real Heroes

13th December 2007:
That gave me intense goosebumps. Absolutely amazing! I'm so glad I stumbled upon it. Bravo!

Author's Response: Heee - a little bit of self advertisment, but if you liked this one, you might wanna check out my more recent trio featuring one-shot. It's called 'Beneath the Trees' and deals with the same themes. :) I'm sooo pleased you liked this, thank you so much for the kind review. x x x

 Report Review

Review #13, by RavenclawAtHeart The Real Heroes

9th November 2007:
DO YOU ENJOY MAKING TEENAGE GIRLS CRY? 10/10.

Author's Response: As a teenage girl who is made to cry a lot - I'm sorry! Thanks for the 10! x

 Report Review

Review #14, by AndrinaBlack The Real Heroes

9th August 2007:
That was very beautiful! A tribute to the Weasleys and Hermione. You wrote it very well from Harry's point of view. You caught his feelings so well and the way he is. There was the feeling of guilt he always has and that longing for Ginny through that and the love for his friends. Very beautiful!
-Annina

Author's Response: Hey there Andrina! When I wrote this fic I wanted it to be about Ron and I was so angry with myself for chickening out and using Harry's POV instead, but I think now, it was probably better this way.It means so much to me that you think I have written him well! I am so pleased you enjoyed it, thank you so much for the review! *huggle glomp*

 Report Review

Review #15, by candlesflame The Real Heroes

6th August 2007:
I've always been a great fan of the Trio. Like you seem to, I agree that it is all three of them, and not just Harry himself, who are the brave heroes in JK Rowling's books. You did a splendid job of recapping the entire history of the trio and how much they depended on each other. Though most of your story consisted of things already written in the books, you didn't bore me with recapping what I already know. Anyway, this is a wonderful piece and a good tribute to the loyalty of Ron and Hermoine, something people often forget. Excellent job!!!

Author's Response: While Harry is intensely brave and there will never be anyone quite as selfless as him, I think the bravery that his friends hold is something quite different. Although I am over a 100% certain that Harry would do the same for them, it has really got to take something not to just hide under a scary new regime in hope of saving yourself and your family. I think we often forget that from the beginning Ron and Hermione have had to scarifice so much and I wanted to use their history to remind people of this. Ovbiously this fic is AU now, but at the time it was something I wrote for myself in hope of trying to understand why people talking badly of Ron made me so angry. All of their arguments were ompletely true, and yet I knew they were wrong - he was an essencial part of their group. I think this fic really helped me to understand how the trio, and especially Ron, worked, and so I'm so pleased that you enjoyed it. You are right, people do often forget them, and we can't let that happen, can we?

 Report Review

Review #16, by dragongirl2006 The Real Heroes

4th August 2007:
u made me cry.and i hope that hp & The DH is not that sad (I haven't read it yet)...
ioana

Author's Response: As a not-yet-read-it-author I hope it isn't that sad either! Thanks very much! andy x x x

 Report Review

Review #17, by twouble The Real Heroes

26th July 2007:
WOW! Just.brilliant.

Author's Response: Thanks! x x x x

 Report Review

Review #18, by xoxo The Real Heroes

19th July 2007:
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! wow. no other words can describe the intensity off this story. danng. you nailed everything about the trio. congreats on the dobby award. (main reason i read this) wow again. good job.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much! Your compliments fill me up. ~ andy x x

 Report Review

Review #19, by RiseAKnight The Real Heroes

16th July 2007:
oh i really like this...

Author's Response: Thanks! x

 Report Review

Review #20, by Zacharias_Smith The Real Heroes

14th July 2007:
Oh my God this made me cry so much. Absolutely wonderful story, I hate Ron dying, it's too awful. This story was just so poignant and you captured the whole history of the friendships so well.

Author's Response: I hate Ron dying too and I think he will in the last one! :( I'm sorry that you cried, but thrilled that you think I captured the trios nature well. Thanks you so very much! x x x

 Report Review

Review #21, by White_Dragon The Real Heroes

12th July 2007:
Andy,

First of all, congrats on the nomination for the Dobby!

Another well done one-shot! Although maybe it does reflect back on the material from the first six books, it does so from Harry's POV, which is refreshing.

One thing I realized after having read the end of the story is that; What if the thing Harry fears the most is not actually facing Voldemort at the end, but having to use the Unforgivable curse to kill him? Whether he realizes it or not, and we'll find out in a few days, maybe it is the act of having to kill him that he finds so revolting. It's one thing to hate someone and wish them dead; it's another to actually seek them out and do it.

10/10

--Jim

Author's Response: I know it's taken me awhile to respond, but this was what alerted me to the nomination - so thanks! I am sooo thrilled!


This was a post HBP, furious at Ron-haters piece, and I wanted to get my head arounf the trios relationship and why it was that they worked so well. I had a feeling that most people wouldn't have stuck my Harry in all his moodiness and I wanted to know why. I mean if Ron and Hermione are so argumentative and can go so long without talking to each other of such seemingly trivial matters, why is it that they are so leniant with Harry who, by know fault of his own, subjects them to much worse problems. This piece was more me figuring them out for myself than a story to share with others.


Looking at your last comment I am incredibly jealous. You know all about Harry's fate and while my stupid sister told me of Ron and Hemrione's fates, I have to wait over two weeks before I can find out the rest! But you are right, isn't the fact that Harry is not a cold-blooded murderer and that ha has compassion and can love that separates him from Voldermort? I don't think that the prophecy alone could have made Harry do anything, but more the fact that Voldemort took action on that prophecy and took people away from him. He has something to avenge and something to fight for, no? I don't know if that made any sense - but thanks for your insightful review. I am so honoued. ~ andy x x x


 Report Review

Review #22, by cookiemonster The Real Heroes

7th July 2007:
I liked how you write from Harry's point of view. That part was all very good. However, thought the first three-quarters of the story, I felt as if I was reading a summary of all the Harry Potter books. It was nothing I hadn't heard before. I like your writing style, but I think this could use a little more originality. =)

Author's Response: That's what you were reading. :) This piece was me trying to figure out why the trio worked, and I think that their experiences are a huge factor to this. I wanted to find out why Ron and Hermione could stop talking to each other of the most trivial of problems and yet they could stick my Harry, who without, the trivial problems would be the worst in their lives. Does that make sense? Thank you. x

 Report Review

Review #23, by SilverShadow04 The Real Heroes

7th July 2007:
Aw that was beautifully sad tale. You wrote it very well I may not have cried but it did pull at my heart strings.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so very much. :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by GryffindorGirl29 The Real Heroes

7th July 2007:
Sad, but great, I just hate when people write that Ron dies, it depresses me. I love him too much. Okay, I'm done blabbering, good job!

Author's Response: I hate it too. I really can't decide if I want him to die or not in DH! Thanks! x x

 Report Review

Review #25, by ElissandrAnne The Real Heroes

28th June 2007:
OMG! You made me cry! That was beautifully written, really. You captured Harry's emotions perfectly. The way he talked about the Weasleys. Then about Ron and Hermione, and finally of their love... that was just beautiful.
This is one of the best one-shots I've ever read! 10/10.

Author's Response: Hey Anne! :( It's a bit sad, isn't it? I've always thought that at lovely as the Weasley's are, they're a bit too modest for their own good. I mean I guess it's great that they take Harry in without the bat of an eyelid and without realising how much it means to him, but it's time they're told, eh? Thank you so much for reading and for your kind review! :) And one of the best? Eeek, you make me blush!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>