Reading Reviews for An Allusion to Better Days
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Pookha An Unanticipated Invitation

8th December 2007:
You perfectly captured Percy's pomposity and lack of social skills. He always reminded me of the very intelligent, ambitious, but somehow lacking middle management type.

Ginny must be really desperate if she's accepting invitations from mysterious strangers.

Having caught up now to where your updates are, I can comment more fully on the story.

Firstly, this is not the type of story that would usually attract my eye, but I'm glad I found it through the story club. I would normally just pass it over as an angst-fest just from the description.

Secondly, I think you got Ginny's characterisation just right, with her inner anger leading to depressive type behaviour.

Thirdly, I really love your original characters. The glimmer with verisimilitude.

Fifthly (or fourthly, really), your story has intrigued me enough to add it to my favourites and continue reading.

Thank you for writing an original, not cliched story that grabs the reader's attention.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Pookha The Plumbing of Life

8th December 2007:
Ginny shows a lot of the classic signs of depression, she should really seek some help. I like very much her working with Luna.

How exactly are Parkinson's words "incestuous"? Do you mean she's only speaking to hear her own opinion? A puzzling word choice that put me off for a few minutes.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pookha Dancing with Demons

8th December 2007:
Ah, the messed up Ministry, gotta love it. I really like the nasty old witch with the well-coiffed hair, just the sort of pompous person that's attracted to important seeming, but actually minor positions of power. I like the way you show Ginny's internal temper, a quality I always thought she shared with Harry.

You have piqued my interest.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Pookha Almost Broken Promises

8th December 2007:
O.K. I would never have found this story on my own, but that's what the story club is for. I really like your writing style, with the excellent descriptions. I have a small problem with Draco calling her "Ginevra" at the point of HBP or DH, I think he would call her "Ginny" or "Weasley" or some other unflattering term. I suspect the reason for this will be revealed in the future since it's a D/G fic.

I also have a hard time with Draco being able to pin a very fierce Ginny.

I do however think the characterisation of Ginny lusting for Lucius' blood is very well done. Going to keep reading more.

 Report Review

Review #5, by joojoo Dancing with Demons

3rd December 2007:
Oh wow.
Head of Interracial Relations and she's so prejudiced herself! Well, what else can you expect from a Parkinson?
"Your hair is like a beacon, child"
That line made me laugh like hell. Actually, the dialogue for Mrs. Parkinson, as well as Ginny's internal monologue were both beautifully done.
x

 Report Review

Review #6, by joojoo Almost Broken Promises

3rd December 2007:
Fantastic introduction! You've done an admirable job on Ginny, showing her stubbornness and strength, and yet giving her a limit to make her seem more real than many others show her. We're already introduced to the Draco/Ginny ship, and there's a hint of Harry/Ginny too, I think. And it was amazingly written... straight from the start.
I'm off to read the enxt chapter!
x

 Report Review

Review #7, by Phineas Ambrose An Unanticipated Invitation

8th July 2006:
not fair! no cliff hangers! please keep writing!!!!!!

Author's Response: Sorry, I never claimed to be fair. :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by plzkthx101 An Unanticipated Invitation

7th January 2006:
I loved one of your other stories, so I've decided to read more of your material. Good choice on my part considering you're obviously in possession of some serious talent. Only one question ... Will Draco be making an appearance at all any time soon? Hehehe

Author's Response: He will, eventually. When I get around to updating. *feels guilty* :[

 Report Review

Review #9, by Thisbe Gwydion Almost Broken Promises

3rd December 2005:
hey i liked your story, i was hoping you'd check my d/g out :) http://www.fanfictionworld.net/hparchive/viewstory.php?sid=65300

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'll be sure to check it out when I have some free time ;)

 Report Review

Review #10, by braegirl The Plumbing of Life

3rd November 2005:
Lol, great stuff! One thing though, are you sure you fully comprehend the meaning of the word 'incestuous'?? lol, just a thought, you see.

Author's Response: LOL, yes, I can assure you I do. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #11, by braegirl Almost Broken Promises

3rd November 2005:
Oh gosh, this is great stuff! You're really good, you know.

Author's Response: *blushes* Thanks ^_^

 Report Review

Review #12, by Phantom Lord Almost Broken Promises

16th October 2005:
Nice beginning I like your story a lot so I am going to read more, but not before I drop a review. Check out my story too if you want and tell me what you think.

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login