Reading Reviews for Silenced Whispers
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by regulussiriusgirl Moaning Myrtle

22nd May 2008:
omg i luv these stories especially the grey ladys one tht was my fave :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! The Grey Lady's continues to be my favorite, as well.

 Report Review

Review #2, by thedarklordvoldy Moaning Myrtle

28th October 2007:
This was a really good idea, the stories of the ghosts because you dont tend to think of them much. My favorite was the grey lady, it was so sad though, how could they burn her?!

Author's Response: Thanks! I have a special fascination with the ghosts in Harry Potter, and it's sad to see that not many people write about them... at least, not as much as I'd like! The Grey Lady's seems to be everyone's favorite, and I'd have to say that hers is my favorite, as well.

 Report Review

Review #3, by ClosetxLovin Moaning Myrtle

9th July 2007:
this was such a good story. it was so interesting to see how they died and it all made sence. 10 out of 10

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It's nice to get a review for this story... it hasn't got a lot of attention lately. :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by hplssrmntc313 Prologue

20th May 2007:
very nice. This prologue was written magnificently. I look forward to reading the rest.

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope that you enjoy the rest.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Snitchsista Nearly Headless Nick

27th January 2007:
What a fab idea, writing about the ghosts!! Great work! x :) x

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #6, by nwk4044 Moaning Myrtle

11th January 2007:
Nice set of stories. They bring attention to some of these characters that we readers often take for granted.

Author's Response: Thank you! That was precisely my goal. ^^

 Report Review

Review #7, by Islander Moaning Myrtle

8th January 2007:
Wow, you're just full of good endings today! This last chapter was fun to read, easy to follow, and quite a creepy sort of ghost story (that's what "Silenced Whispers" is, after all: stories about the Hogwarts ghosts).

I thought it was interesting how Myrtle was so quick to judge the Slytherins, but at the same time she reminds herself that she shouldn't believe everything she hears. "Minerva McGonagall certainly wasn't studying to become an animagus, after all!" she thinks. But it just goes to show how skewed our judgement can be sometimes.

The last part with Olive Hornby--ha! Serves her right, the jerk! Ew, she's such a meany. You did a great job portraying her, even better than the books themselves (after all, Hornby only got a few mentions in the books). She feels nasty and sounds so, so icky!

Great ghost stories! I'm going to put them on my favorites.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that you liked it. I was worried it wouldn't be good enough, what with the slight change in style. It was simpler, I think.

It was fun making her contradict herself; I was hoping it was something she'd do, because I was worried I was making her far too unlike the Myrtle we know in the books.

Olive was terrible, wasn't she? It was hard to make her so mean. She kept rattling off insults... *shivers* I'm glad that you liked how I portrayed her, though. And I'm happy that you enjoyed this story. ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by Islander Professor Binns

10th November 2006:
Wow, this was one of the best yet! Aren't the augureys the birds that cry before someone dies? Wow, that's sorta creepy, and a really great ending! It wasn't too sudden for me :) Write write write, and I'll read read read!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I started getting into it, and I wasn't sure if the writing would be okay. I really like the beginning, though, which I started while on a camping trip in September. XD And yes, in Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, it says that auguries were once thought to predict death, but then wizards figured out that they only predicted rain. I thought I'd play off of the first belief. ^^ I'm so excited to have only one last chapter: Moaning Myrtle. I don't know when I'll get it done, but I have to make it pretty much perfect; that's why I saved her for last (to feed off of my Tom Riddle era obsession).

 Report Review

Review #9, by Mistydiamond Professor Binns

5th November 2006:
Neat Story! I was the first one to leave a review-YAY!~ 10/10! ~`~`~`~`~

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that you like it! And thank you for reviewing, as well. I'm afraid you'll probably be the only one that does. ^^

 Report Review

Review #10, by pigwidgeon385 Nearly Headless Nick

26th September 2006:
Oooo... very nice! That was intense. Wicked awesome!!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope it was everything that you hoped it would be. ^^

 Report Review

Review #11, by pigwidgeon385 The Fat Friar

26th September 2006:
Not my favorite chapter, but still very good. Ooo- I'm so excited- Nick's chapters next.... ^_^

Author's Response: It isn't mine either... I was at a loss at how to stretch the chapter to more than a few hundred words. But I do like this chapter a bit because of Nicholas and Perenelle. ^^ I'm glad you still liked it, though.

 Report Review

Review #12, by pigwidgeon385 The Grey Lady

26th September 2006:
That was great! I really liked the ending! Your writing is so descriptive, although when she was burning it toally freaked me out. I suppose that is a good thing though- It made your story real. ;)

Author's Response: Thanks! I am particularly fond of the ending myself, and I admit that I'm grimly satisfied that the burning part managed to freak you out a bit. I suppose that was my [truly morbid] intention. ^^

 Report Review

Review #13, by pigwidgeon385 The Bloody Baron

26th September 2006:
Great chapter- I love your writing style SO much!

Author's Response: Thank you! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #14, by pigwidgeon385 Prologue

26th September 2006:
Hey- it's pigwidgeon385, from the "Nearly Headless NIck" challenge thing. I was going to just read chapter 5, but your story has me captivated. It sounds so great I'm going to read the whole thing- can't wait!

Author's Response: Hello! I'm glad that you decided to read the whole thing. I hope you enjoy it! ^^ (Especially Nick's chapter.)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Islander Nearly Headless Nick

20th August 2006:
Is that where it ends??? What about the 52 whacks with the blunt axe? We barely got the first one! Though I suppose HPFF would have suspended you like they did me if you had included much more. Wow, if you had gone further, this could have been VERY VERY violent. Great story, though, even if it did end before his death. Heehee

Author's Response: Alas, yes. I didn't think I could write any more, so, I suppose in a way, having him pass out was a way to sort of escape that. I was originally going to go through the first few, but then thought it would get a bit redundant... aaand then, the last line, once again, began formulating in my head, and I couldn't give it up. ^^ Although, if I did decide to make it very violent, I probably would have gotten away with it unless the mods decided to read my story. (I'm finally a trusted author, after a year...) Anyway, I'm glad that you enjoyed it, regardless of where it ended. And thank you for reviewing! This story doesn't get visited very often.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Islander The Fat Friar

20th August 2006:
I loved it! It was pretty funny/morbid (yes, both) at the end how Perenelle saw the Friar as a ghost, but he didn't know he was dead. I'm sure that would creep anyone out.

Author's Response: I'm happy that you did! I tried to make this one more light-hearted than the rest; I really couldn't see the Fat Friar having anything dark about him, even in death. And that would certainly creep anyone out, indeed!

Oh, I think I forgot to mention, in my response to the Bloody Baron chapter: In the films, he is rather horrendous, what with him smiling and acting like an idiot in the scenes he appears in. It made me cringe when I was looking for banner pictures...


 Report Review

Review #17, by Islander The Grey Lady

20th August 2006:
Wow, even better than the last! Especially at the very end when they burn her. I really liked Netta and Nicky's relationship as sisters. What a sad story!

Author's Response: This one was definitely my favorite, and, I think, the best of the chapters I have written thus far. I can't seem to top it! Ah, and the end. The last line inspired most of the story; it sort of popped into my head when I was brainstorming reasons why she would be called "The Grey Lady," and I decided I had to go with it! Anyway, I'm really glad you liked it! Netta and Nicky, I loved writing them, especially Nicky, and the contrast between her and her sister.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Islander The Bloody Baron

20th August 2006:
What a nice chapter! I really like the Bloody Baron in this story. In the first HP movie, he was PAINFUL to watch; they made him look FUNNY!! Rrrrgh! But you did a very good job with him, especially at the end.

Author's Response: Thank you! I rather like him as well. It's so much fun to bring life to a somewhat unknown character; and indeed, the idea of the Bloody Baron is what inspired me to write the rest of the story. (The prologue, even! Heh.) And the end was especially fun to write, (that does sound horribly morbid, doesn't it?), with Celia.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Islander Prologue

20th August 2006:
Good start! I should have started reading this ages ago, but I never got around to it. Please forgive me :) Let me keep going. . .

Author's Response: Thank you! And that's quite alright, that happens sometimes. I've just gotten around to reading and reviewing your poem on ff.net, so the same thing happened with me. ^^ I hope you enjoy the rest.

 Report Review

Review #20, by TheBlooodyBaron Nearly Headless Nick

7th August 2006:
Are you going to do Moaning Myrtle, Peeves, Sir Patrick, or The Wailing Widow? ooo bytheway love the story

Author's Response: I am going to do Moaning Myrtle, although hers is last. Next is Professor Binns. I contemplated doing the others, but decided against it. But perhaps in time, I'll write a separate one-shot for one of them. Who knows? ^^ Anyway, I'm really glad that you like this!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Magiclivesintwined The Grey Lady

6th August 2006:
ohh these are so good, but i think this one is my favorite. kepping going i want to hear of more ghosts

Author's Response: Thank you! The one about the Grey Lady is my favorite as well. ^^ I'll try to get the chapters about Binns and Myrtle written as soon as I can.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Peinguino The Fat Friar

18th June 2006:
So...I read this chapter a while ago and didn't review. BUT now I am! Yay. Anyway, I guess I liked it...I only skimmed it though. :) I was reading the other reviews though and apparently there was something about "an abnormally long nose" and you know what they say about people with really long noses, eh? *winkwinknudgenudge* You know another interesting fact I saw? There are 34 reviews for Silenced Whispers, yet there are 53 for Witches Nine. I think you should give the public what they want, because remember...I know where you live. ;)
---
P.S. I gave this story a 2, because you haven't updated W9. ^_^

Author's Response: Next time you update, I'm giving you a one. Lol. Okay. Well, I know. I've tried to write Witches Nine several times, and quite frankly I've found that I just can't do it. Ugh. I'm sorry. I haven't been in a writing mood at all lately. :(

 Report Review

Review #23, by Lyn Midnight The Bloody Baron

4th June 2006:
Such fine language you use there. The chapter pleased me very much. It’s exactly what expected to read from you. Your writing is really well thought of and captivating. That story is really original. Not to mention that the title of the chapter is fantastic! There were a couple of type-ohs again, but nothing that bothered me too much. I was confused about one line though. I understand it’s a reference to the three houses, but does it have another meaning, future or past? “Remember that the snake can bring down the mighty lion with but one strike. But beware the eagle, my son, as its talons are quick and sharp.” Overall, great job! I will continue reading the story but as soon as I get back from my trip!

Author's Response: Thank you, I am very happy that you liked it! You are so kind to say so. ^_^ I cannot remember if I spell-checked this chapter, as unfortunatey, I have only started doing so a few months ago or so, so I'll have to look into it. Originally, I was going to include a bit more about Celia, especially the fact that she would have been in Ravenclaw. I really had meant to mention it, but it must have slipped my mind. Sorry about that, but again, I'm glad that you liked it regardless! Have a nice trip! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #24, by Lyn Midnight Prologue

4th June 2006:
This is really a great introduction. Seeing that I did not understand every word of it, I dare say you managed to impersonate Dumbledore quite skillfully! It is so like him to dig up the past. Not to mention that he can! He was very good with the timeturner event. There is only one little mistake, a type-oh if you will. Amongst instead of amonst! I very much like the style in which you write. Also, I got drawn to your story by the banner, the title, and the summary. I can honestly say that all impressed me greatly so far! There is not much to comment about such a short chapter, though. I can only say that I am most intrigued by the looks of this story, therefore I shall read it!

Author's Response: Thank you! Heh heh. I'm glad that I was able to get his character down. (Sorry you didn't understand it, though.) I will look into the amonst, though I'm not quite sure... Ah well. I shall look into it. I am happy that you liked this, especially the banner! (I made it myself! ^_^) I hope you enjoy the rest thus far, and perhaps I'll have the next chapter updated by the time you get back...

 Report Review

Review #25, by raylees_12 Prologue

13th May 2006:
Grr, I'm so mad at ppl cuz now I can't review a chappy more than once... :( Anyway, I'm missing this story. pretty plz update it...plz? It is sooo awsome. what characters are you gonna do after Sir nick? you cud do moaning murtle, or ninette's sister? Nicola, ya. i was thinking that she probably didn't live long after her sister...or, omg! I wud just love if u did a story about her, maybe watchin her sister's death. I'm sry, but i can not get over how good the chapter The grey lady was, oh, and your last sentence in that! 'grey as the ashes she left behind', that was so sweet-as in holy censured cool1

Author's Response: Lol, yeah, it's a bit bothersome not to be able to review more than once. Lucky you didn't review the prologue, right? Heh. ^_- I'm really hoping to update soon. Indeed, my fingers have just been itching to get started, yet I decided that I'd finish the next chapter of Riddles in the Dark first. Hopefully, that will be done this weekend, so I'll be free to start on Sir Nick! After Nick, I've only got two left: Professor Binns and Moaning Myrtle, and in that order.

Actually, you've given me an idea for something... Or rather, it sort of adds fuel to an idea I've been toying with for a while. You just might end up seeing Nicola again, but not in this particular story. As for her living... If I go with this new idea, then she didn't die soon after her sister. But if I don't go with it, then she passed on instead of choosing to become a ghost. And I'm glad that you liked The Grey Lady chapter! The last sentence just sort of came to me a little bit into writing it, and it inspired the rest. ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>